Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sunderland Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Paully D wrote: »
    Sunderland FC :pac:

Noticed that myself mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Sessegnon deal completed.

£6m, 3 and a half year deal :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,295 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

So where are we going to see Sessegnon fit into the team when he finally signs?

Is he going to partner Cattermole in the middle? can he be used on the wings?

Or are we going to see him play behind Gyan? especially if we don't see another striker come in before the window shuts.

So where are we going to see Sessegnon fit into the team when he finally signs?

Is he going to partner Cattermole in the middle? can he be used on the wings?

Or are we going to see him play behind Gyan? especially if we don't see another striker come in before the window shuts.

The good thing is he's so versatile we can have any of those options you've proposed and Bruce loves versatility (see Richardson).

I think we'll initially see him on the wing, probably in place of Steed, and then when Richardson's (who can't be dropped this week after his performance last week) inevitable 10 poor performances after his recent superb game V Blackpool we'll see Sess playing off Gyan.

There's no chance of him playing in the middle of a midfield though IMO, I think we'll go like this when everyone's fit, which should be very soon:
    Gordon

Onouha Bramble Turner Bardsley

Henderson Cattermole Muntari Sessegnon

Gyan Welbeck

We can also play variations of 4-5-1, such as this:
    Gordon

Onouha Bramble Turner Bardsley

Henderson Cattermole Muntari

Sessegnon
    Welbeck

Gyan

And when Welbeck goes back next season we can move Sess over and play Al-Muhammadi on the right.

As we know better than anyone, we'll inevitably have injuries and suspensions so it's good to have lots of options.

We have joy, we have fun,
    Watching Stephane Sessegnon,
    Midfield class, from Benin,
    That's why all the Sunlun' sing

Tune - Seasons In The Sun

I've just seen that chant posted on Twitter, it's quite good to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭BeanFlicker

stolen from the SMB but well worth a mention

To the tune of 'Lets talk about Sex Baby'

Lets talk about Sess baby,
    Lets talk about Muntari,
    Lets talk about Titus Bramble,
    Danny Welbeck,
    And Phil Bardsley,
    Lets talk about Sess.

Da Silva has gone to Zaragoza for an undisclosed fee.

It's a shame it hasn't worked out for him with us, there's no doubting he's an excellent defender (along with being a really nice man) but the pace and strength needed to compete at this level doesn't suit him. He'll be a success in La Liga IMO.

Good luck Paulo.

Team for the Chelsea game, Sessegnon makes his debut :D
    Gordon

Onouha Anton Bramble Bardsley

Elmo Henderson Richardson Malbranque

Sessegnon

Gyan

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,242 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

lol - nice one!

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    lol - nice one!

It's seems he's not too liked by his peers as he's being messing around with Bramble, Richardson, and Anton's conquests. He's also had run-ins with Defoe and Carlton Cole in the England camp over women.

That's according to an Arsenal fan on the Sunderland forum who has said the same for ages but is only being believed now that Bent has gone.

It's interesting to say the least.

A report of the Steve Bruce talk-in, from Iceman on RTG:
    We have a deal sorted for Muntari, didnt say on what basis other than the lad has taken a 40% pay cut to come here.

Got offered Kuqi 3 days ago (cue him pissing himself laughing) but we politely declined

Darren Bent wanted to go to Turkey, Bruce couldnt understand why, Villa made first enquiry day after we beat them 1-0, Bruce thought it was one of them approaches where the club doesnt really mean business, used to happen all the time at Birmingham, then they came in again 3 days before derby game. We could have easily matched villas offer but Bent had his head turned and didnt want to be here so no matter what player it is, time is to go with best deal possible... is he good enough to be Englands number 9 ... "I dont think so" enough said.

Gyan has had a great first season, lights up the dressing room etc, scored 11 goal (NO PENS) and we will do whatever possible to get best striker in for next year, had meeting with scouts yesterday and we will leave no stone unturned. Money is available.

Quinn and Short are both top class and have made promises for the summer, the club needs to kick on and will and a manager always has to want more.

Who got most fines ..... Jones, always late, wouldnt run, laid back etc, you get the point

Longest in the shower.... Titus Bramble, infact he feeds it, all the players get urine samples to see if they dehydrated, other week he was positive bramble was feeding it buns

Song if we beat the mags..... "who let the dogs out"

We are a well run club with a top class chairman and owner who do everything by the book etc, we not "low class" like some or words to that effect about the mags

Couldnt have dreamed of been able to attract Muntari and Sessegnon 18 months ago but its all about league position, if we can remain where we are after next 6 games got great chance of europe with all players fit and the games we got.

Cant imagine what it would be like playing the likes of Bayern Munich at Sol, thats got to be our aim

No reason why we cant compete with Liverpool and Spurs

Got young squad, he was naive when we played mags away, worst result of his carear and wont ever forget it, lessons learned.

Henderson best 20 year old he ever saw even when he was at Utd, played constant for 20 months or so but he is down to earth, loves the club and is sland through and through. Could he do with a rest.... may be but then they see him in training and he's flying and is sharper than ever and does things that makes the coaches go wow with endurance etc.

Told loads of stories about Man Utd, best one when they play Galatassary, drew 3-3 at Old trafford and 0-0 in turkey which meant they went out, Cantona tossed a right hook on coppers chin in tunnel who had rotweiller and all hell broke lose, Robson, Keane, Schmeichel etc were all toe to toe with coppers and never saw anything like it, Robson got 16 stiches in elbow and dislocated shoulder, others cuts, bruises, black eyes etc. Even Fergie was into it with the jacket getting tossed off etc.

Bruce tonight was absolutely top class, loads loads more of stuff which Im sure others will pick up on, spoke about how you need good staff and Keane probs needs a "grey haired old fella" just to have a word now and again but footballs a worse place without him.

Brilliant night overall, loads of money raised for charity and hopefully other nights to follow.

I'll end on the fact that Bobby Robsons family was there, his wife and son etc were on table near us, Bruce spoke about Sir Bob and said he wrote Quinny a letter when Sbragia left saying get Bruce on board and he will be forever grateful for that, said Sir Bobs wife goes to sol alot and Brucey said his own mother now thinks she is the queen of sland and never misses a game.

Buzzing leaving the venue tonight, we on our way...........

Class :D

Team for the game against Spurs:
    Gordon

Onouha Bramble Mensah Bardsley

Malbranque Muntari Henderson Sessegnon

Richardson

Gyan

Sessegnon and Malbranque could well be playing on opposite wings, but they're the 11 players starting!

Great read that by Iceman.

Spurs are light today with attacking options VDV, Bale & Modric out and possible Crouch.

Load of ****ing ****e.

Decent performances from Gyan and Sessegnon. The rest can **** off - pricks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Huge win for us with only half a team , SOL is always a bogey place for us to go down through the years , i didnt expect anything today when i saw our teamsheet.

BERBA wrote: »
    Huge win for us with only half a team , SOL is always a bogey place for us to go down through the years , i didnt expect anything today when i saw our teamsheet.

Fair play to you, a very good three points and as you say we've been a bogey team to you at home.

For 40 minutes we played like a top, top side. Quick triangles, keeping possession, excellent movement, pressing all the time, but once that goal went in we just fell to pieces. Once again our inability to defend set pieces costs us a game, because IMO if we had got to HT at 1-0 we'd have gone on to win it. Turner's a big, big loss from a set piece point of view.

I'm absolutely gutted because I can't see where our next 3 points are coming from. We've got Everton and Arsenal away, followed by Liverpool at home and Manchester City away. We need Welbeck and Cattermole back ASAP so hopefully the break next weekend for FA cup games will allow them time to get back.

Anyway, well done and good luck for the rest of the season and the Champions League game midweek.

very disappointing result for us yesterday, imo we deserved the win. On a positive note, sess looks dangerous everytime he's on the ball with swift moving & passing, richardson is doing well in his new role, bardsely's been fantastic this season & showed that again yesterday, mensah got thro a full game & gyan's excellent finish & general hold up play & slick passes

negatives, henderson badly needs a rest, muntari gave a lot of wayward passes but don't think he's fully match fit, gordon has been letting in sloppy goals & we can't defend set pieces.

cattermole, campbell, turner & ultimately welbeck are all needed asap for us not to fall into a slump.

we're still on track for Europe but have a v.tough run in for the next few weeks

very disappointing result for us yesterday, imo we deserved the win. On a positive note, sess looks dangerous everytime he's on the ball with swift moving & passing, richardson is doing well in his new role, bardsely's been fantastic this season & showed that again yesterday, mensah got thro a full game & gyan's excellent finish & general hold up play & slick passes

negatives, henderson badly needs a rest, muntari gave a lot of wayward passes but don't think he's fully match fit, gordon has been letting in sloppy goals & we can't defend set pieces.

cattermole, campbell, turner & ultimately welbeck are all needed asap for us not to fall into a slump.

we're still on track for Europe but have a v.tough run in for the next few weeks

I agree with all that, except I'd say a draw would probably have been a fairer result.

When everyone's fit, what would you think of:
    Gordon

Onouha Turner/Mensah Bramble Bardsley

Sessegon
    Welbeck

Gyan

I actually think playing Bardsley RB and Kieran LB, allowing them to bomb forward whenever they get the chance would work a lot better, allowing Onouha to go back to Manchester City if they want anything over £5m for him would be a good idea.

Have the three centre midfielders playing narrow, with the RB and LB offering support all the time.

Just swap Sessegnon over to the other wing and play Campbell instead of Welbeck when he goes back next season. We can also play 4-4-2 when we get a new striker in, in the summer.

Our accounts for the year ending July 31st 2010 are out, taken from RTG:
    Key highlights are:

Turnover is flat at £65m. However in there you have TV revenue +11% being offset by reductions in gate receipts (-9%), sponsorship (-4%), conferencing (-22%) and retail (-16%).

Wages:Turnover ratio has increased to 82.2%, up from 76.8% in 2009.

Loss for the year has increased to -£27.9m, up from a loss of -£26.5m in 2009.

The 4 directors (Quinn, Walton, & Byrne) paid themselves £1.12m, down from £1.94m the previous year. The highest paid director (doesn't state who) earned £326k (down from £888k in 2009).

Ellis Short wrote off £19m of existing loans due from the club and invested a further £22.4m in the year to July 2010. These are interest free unsecured loans.

Due to the losses made, Sunderland's directors have had to request a commitment from Ellis Short that he is willing and able to continue to support the operations of the company for the foreseeable future. Short has provided this.

The club spent £39.3m in transfer fees in the year and recouped £12.0m.

The club still owes £15.5m on transfer fees plus potentially another £6.5m depending on performance of players bought.

Although that might look poor, it's not too bad. Those set of accounts include wages for a large squad and it has since been reduced considerably.

More TV money etc next season will strengthen us too, and Short has given assurances he's happy to keep spending. Also, we've £24m + from the Bent deal to take into account too.

The amount spent on wages is shocking though, but we have to spend it to stay on a level playing field. It's a sad indictment on the wages in football in general.

Overall though, those accounts aren't too bad, certainly not bad enough to cause any sort of panic amongst the sane and sober, and next years will make better reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Cattermole is out for the rest of the season with his back injury according to Ben Smith from the times.

When everyone's fit, what would you think of:
    Gordon

Sessegon
    Welbeck

Gyan

I actually think playing Bardsley RB and Kieran LB, allowing them to bomb forward whenever they get the chance would work a lot better, allowing Onouha to go back to Manchester City if they want anything over £5m for him would be a good idea.

Have the three centre midfielders playing narrow, with the RB and LB offering support all the time.

Just swap Sessegnon over to the other wing and play Campbell instead of Welbeck when he goes back next season. We can also play 4-4-2 when we get a new striker in, in the summer.

I think ye have it fairly spot on with that, although I'd rather have Henderson playing on the right( I think he's too weak in cen.mid), with Cattermole & Muntari breaking up the play & playing it out wide

Gordon

Cattermole Muntari

Henderson
    Sessegon

Gyan Welbeck

Our subs bench when everyone fit (strong bench & full of pace):

Mignolet
    Steed
    Campbell
    Elmo
    Richardson
    Meyler/Riveros
    Turner

Like you said 5million for Onouha would be the top I'd pay for him, I do rate him & seems like a decent lad and can play in centre defence.

It'd be unfortunate to see Welbeck gone as he's been vital for us, but wouldn't be surprised if there is some option with Henderson swapping over, even maybe a 2nd season loan? Providing utd buy someone in the window although looking at their options DW would sit as 4th choice striker?

Cattermole is out for the rest of the season with his back injury according to Ben Smith from the times.

I seen that earlier, cheers.

Horrible news if true as Henderson really needs a rest but won't get it if Cattermole's finished for the season. We've really missed him these past few months.

Turnover is flat at £65m.
    Wages:Turnover ratio has increased to 82.2%

That doesn't make very good reading, considering the strict wage cap we have, thats just frightening! More info on here:
    http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11695_6754565,00.html

That doesn't make very good reading, considering the strict wage cap we have, thats just frightening! More info on here:
    http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11695_6754565,00.html

I agree.

However, bare in mind that those accounts are for the year ending July 2010. We've since got rid of Bent (£50,000,), Murphy (was after July IIRC, circa £25,000 :eek:) Reid (circa £35,000), Da Silva (circa £35,000), Healy (circa £20,000), and replaced them with Gyan, Muntari who has taken a 40% paycut, and Sessegnon who won't be on a massive wage either. Mensah will be on a big wage and we'll probably be paying most of it and it's unlikely we'll have him on the books next season. We'll also be getting rid of McCartney, Kilgallon and Nosworthy from the wage bill in the summer, along with probably Angeleri and Riveros too.

In a sense we're still paying for Keane's unlimited spending and massive contracts that were given to players under his regime, but it's clear that we're doing everything to shore things up and that will take time. We're reducing the massive squad on high wages and replacing them with a smaller amount of top class and young players.

Short has given assurances to shareholders that he's still prepared to pump money in, so don't worry mate :)

We're still pretty much in transition.

A poor FA Cup draw as far as our Europa League chances go. We now need a Manchester United V Manchester City final for 7th to get Europe.

Yeah was thinking this when Arsenal and United were drawn together provided Arsenal win their replay of course.

Am I right in thinking though that Sunderland only need a team from the top 4 to win it - I was thinking that the runner up won't receive a place in Europe - it will go to the league but I'm not 100% sure.

Yeah was thinking this when Arsenal and United were drawn together provided Arsenal win their replay of course.

Am I right in thinking though that Sunderland only need a team from the top 4 to win it - I was thinking that the runner up won't receive a place in Europe - it will go to the league but I'm not 100% sure.

AFAIK it has to be both finalists in the top 4 as the runner-up gets a Europa League place if the winner is already in Europe? I'm open to correction on that though as it seems nobody is actually 100% sure about what happens :pac:

Actually, it seems you're correct mate:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/p/portsmouth/8558580.stm
    Portsmouth will not be allowed to play in next season's Europa League after a joint decision by the Football Association and Premier League.

The cash-strapped club had appealed to the FA asking for a Uefa licence to compete in Europe - despite missing the deadline for applications.
    Portsmouth would have qualified for the competition if they were to beat Chelsea in the FA Cup final on 15 May.

The team finishing seventh in the Premier League will now qualify.

Pompey, facing debts of £119m, were not in a position to file their accounts in time because the club is in administration - a criterion for a Uefa club licence.

A place in the Europa League is handed to the winners of the FA Cup, while two other Europa League places are handed to the fifth-placed team in the Premier League and the winners of the League Cup.

Yet with Manchester United already winning that trophy, a subsequent spot will be handed to the sixth-placed team in the league, while seventh place will also qualify.

Good news. Hopefully Manchester United, City or Arsenal win it and will need Arsenal to win the Carling Cup too.

AFAIK it has to be both finalists in the top 4 as the runner-up gets a Europa League place if the winner is already in Europe? I'm open to correction on that though as it seems nobody is actually 100% sure about what happens :pac:

Actually, it seems you're correct mate:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/p/portsmouth/8558580.stm

Good news. Hopefully Manchester United, City or Arsenal win it and will need Arsenal to win the Carling Cup too.

Hopefully indeed! and the same with the League Cup,

We still need a bit of luck and some returns from injury for Sunderland to get that elusive 7th spot.

European nights at the SoL would be magic!

Lets see if I have this correct, hypothetically:

Top 4 for champions league:
    Man Utd
    Arsenal
    Chelsea
    Man City

FA Cup Winners:
    Man Utd/City/Arsenal

Carling Cup Winners:
    Arsenal

Therefore 5th, 6th & 7th placed finished take Europa League spots?

Arsenal vs Birmingham on the 27th February so not long for that.

It going to be a tough ask but no reason why we can't push on, 11 games left to play, Liverpool finished last season in 7th on 63pts, what do yee think is a realistic point total to achieve 7th this season?

Lets see if I have this correct, hypothetically:

Top 4 for champions league:
    Man Utd
    Arsenal
    Chelsea
    Man City

FA Cup Winners:
    Man Utd/City/Arsenal

Carling Cup Winners:
    Arsenal

Therefore 5th, 6th & 7th placed finished take Europa League spots?

Arsenal vs Birmingham on the 27th February so not long for that.

It going to be a tough ask but no reason why we can't push on, 11 games left to play, Liverpool finished last season in 7th on 63pts, what do yee think is a realistic point total to achieve 7th this season?

That is correct from my knowledge on it, as PaullyD said though it is hard to find the official lines on it.

Not too long for the league Cup Final as you say, hopefully Arsenal can do the business, will not be easy though!

Sunderlands fixtures: Home games in bold

26th Feb - Everton
    5th Mar - Arsenal
    20th Mar - Liverpool
    2nd April - Man City
    9th April - West Brom
    16th April - Birmingham
    23rd April - Wigan
    30th April - Fulham
    7th May - Bolton
    14th May - Wolves
    22nd May -West Ham

Some great home fixtures there, with Liverpool the only team currently above Sunderland to visit the SoL.

Coming to the end of the season though you would much rather be playing teams with not much to play for, than the likes of Wolves and West ham who should be still fighting for survival at that stage - it looks as though the relegation battle will go to the wire. Everton, Arsenal and Man City away are tough ties away from home too.

By the time the Bolton game comes up, that could still be a big one, you'd expect them to still be in the hunt for 7th at that stage.

According to the Physioroom.com this is the current injury state at the club
    D Welbeck Hamstring Injury 20th Mar 11
    D Meyler Knee Injury 19th Mar 11
    L Cattermole Back Injury 12th Mar 11
    M Turner Knee Injury 26th Feb 11
    F Campbell ACL Knee Injury May 11

Campbell won't figure this season bar maybe a few sub appearances near the end. The sooner Welbeck is back the better, According to the above he might make the Liverpool game - but he will need fitness work too i'd imagine.

Cattermole along with Welbeck are the big ones, the team is so much stronger with them in it - they could end up coming back at around the same time - which would be a big boost!

It really is difficult to tell, Sunderland need a good few things to go in their favour to finish 7th and secure a European spot by doing so. It would be really harsh if they end up finishing 7th and not getting anything for it.

Good posts lads!

The good news from our remaining fixtures is that if Birmingham (H) beat Bolton in the next round of the FA Cup which they will be favourites to do, then our game with them will be rescheduled and we'll have 3 home games in a row against West Brom, Wigan and Fulham which should result in 9 points, 7 at a minimum IMO which would be great for confidence and we should have an almost full side again by then.

I actually think Turner is also one we need back big time. I feel that he's under appreciated when he does play and we have missed him when he's been absent. He's a rock at the back in terms of his aerial ability and we need his presence when defending set pieces as we're struggling from them big time.

By the time the Liverpool game comes around I'm hopefully of a starting 11 like this:
    Gordon

Onouha Turner Bramble Bardsley

Sessegnon Cattermole Muntari Malbranque

Gyan Welbeck

Allowing Henderson to have a much needed couple of weeks rest as he's jaded to say the least.

I still feel Europe may be out of reach for us this season based on the need for cup winners to go our way. However, it looks like we'll definitely finish top 10 and there's no Sunderland fan can say we've had a bad season.

Even though we've still got 11 games left, it's safe to say 2010/2011 has been a great one for Sunderland which has served up some great memories (Chelsea away), some bad one's (Newcastle away), but which has resulted in fantastic progress.

Things are looking good lads :D

Bad news, Stuart Atwell's the referee for the Everton game.

Easily the worst referee in the Premier League and no doubt he'll be at the end of some controversy come the end of the game.

Remember this, the last time he refereed us:

http://www.sundaysun.co.uk/sport/sunderland-afc/safc-news/2010/09/26/steve-bruce-furious-at-referee-stuart-attwell-s-display-79310-27342781/

....and this:

dzi6i8.jpg

Bruce signs a new contract until 2014 :D

Good to see, has done a good job so far,

a few bad signings, but some great ones to balance it off.

Now news on starting line up for Everton PaullyD?

Good to see, has done a good job so far,

a few bad signings, but some great ones to balance it off.

Now news on starting line up for Everton PaullyD?

Nothing on today's starting line up unfortunately mate. It's hit and miss with getting it for away games because Bruce prefers to name it at around 12pm on the day of the game, whereas he names the team for home games on the Friday.

Apparently Onouha's out for a week though.

Well done to the Blues yesterday, bye Europe but we need to concentrate on the highest we can finish in the league now & not be side tracked about the possibility of what could have been. I'm gutted we can't seem to push on when things are in our favour but its still been a good season for us & progress for next.

Don't know if ye seen this but its a good article on the clubs finances & how the club record the transfer fees

http://www.safc.com/news/20110225/walton-sheds-light-on-accounts_2256213_2301215

Well done to the Blues yesterday, bye Europe but we need to concentrate on the highest we can finish in the league now & not be side tracked about the possibility of what could have been. I'm gutted we can't seem to push on when things are in our favour but its still been a good season for us & progress for next.

Don't know if ye seen this but its a good article on the clubs finances & how the club record the transfer fees

http://www.safc.com/news/20110225/walton-sheds-light-on-accounts_2256213_2301215

Yep well done to Birmingham. We don't seem to take cups seriously at all and it's a shame as we're well capable of doing what Birmingham did yesterday in knock-out competitions if we played our full team. As has been said, he who dares wins, so well done to them.

I seen that article and I have to say that I really like Walton. The club's in safe hands financially with him in charge there.

Positives: 1 pt bagged from a tough game, Mig was class, Danny is back, kept a clean sheet & the end of a bad run..... :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Boo. ;)

I blame Paully D. Building up our confidence like that during the week. Ya bollocks. :pac:

Absolutely over the moon with that. A great point gained, a clean sheet again finally, and another week off to get the injured players closer to a return. Oh, and we're still above Newcastle ;)

''That_Guy'', I honestly thought you would win today, but I won't complain ;)

Excellent stuff from the big man and Bruce on today's 'Goals on Sunday':

Absolute Legends. Both came across excellent & showed great vision for the club. The tackle SB made on Quinn was funny as fook:D

Dave Miliband sounds like a great addition

Bruce really does look like a bouncer in that interview :D

Some great insight from Niall Quinn's roadshow over the last couple of days:

http://www.rokerreport.com/2011/3/9/2039257/quinn-walton-speak-about-ellis-short

http://www.rokerreport.com/2011/3/10/2040076/snq-roadshow-bruce-hendo-more

Fair play to Niall and Walton. There's not many chairmen who'd put on one date in which they take questions from supporters for the whole night and Niall has done 4. The man is just simply amazing IMO.

My favourite quote of the whole two articles:
    Quinn spoke highly of Short, adding that much like he, the club had gotten under the skin of the Missouri native, citing the 3-0 win at Chelsea earlier this season as a prime example. Short was away on business in Singapore, watching the game from his hotel room at 3am. Such was the noise and passion shown by Short, the hotel asked him to keep the noise down as neighbouring rooms had filed complaints. Harking back to that winning mentality Walton spoke of, Quinn even said he's scared to speak to Short after defeats.

:pac::pac::pac:

Meyler's latest tweet:
    Just at nandos with @PKelogs @TuxedoSmall @dwelbeck19 Jordan,Sulley,Fraizer,James and Asamoah all paid for by @19tmb from our bet last night cheers Titus!

Good to see the team spirit is alive and well!

Meyler's latest tweet:

Good to see the team spirit is alive and well!

Never been to Nandos myself yet, everyone keeps going on about it too!

Must give it a try!

Never been to Nandos myself yet, everyone keeps going on about it too!

Must give it a try!

You haven't lived until you've tried Nandos mate. It's unreal!

More refreshing honesty from Bruce, this time regarding the South America lads:
    STEVE BRUCE has conceded his transfer policy of bringing South American players to Sunderland has failed.

The Black Cats boss thought he had pulled off three coups with the purchases of Paraguayan World Cup stars Paulo Da Silva and Cristian Riveros, and Argentine international Marcos Angeleri.

But none has come to the fore as part of Sunderland’s Premier League progress.

And Bruce has conceded that with Paraguay captain Da Silva having departed in the January transfer window to Spanish side Real Zaragoza, and Riveros and Angeleri (right) facing uncertain futures, he might have to look again at how and where he does the club’s transfer business.

“It hasn’t really worked out as well as I hoped it would do with the South Americans,” he admitted.

“I thought that all three had the potential to make a real impact over here.”

Read the full story in tonight’s Sunderland Echo.

We'll either break even or make a small profit when we sell them anyway so there's no harm done and it was worth a go.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

More refreshing honesty from Bruce, this time regarding the South America lads:

We'll either break even or make a small profit when we sell them anyway so there's no harm done and it was worth a go.
    Nearly every transfer is a risk to some degree.
    A dumb priest never got a parish
    Fair play to Bruce imo for thinking outside the box