Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Karl Lagerfeld R.I.P

• 19-02-2019 12:38pm
    Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭

Rest in peace, fellow cat lover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Stone Gossard

Not PETA's favourite designer if I recall, but rip to probably the most recognisable male in fashion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

who?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,236 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

who?

Karl Lagerfeld

Fcuk Putin. Glory to Ukraine!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I don't think there was more iconic designer around after YSL died. It will be interesting to see who will replace him and how Chanel profits will hold.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 2,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chorcai

An amazing designer but a rather terrible human being!

Chorcai wrote: »
    An amazing designer but a rather terrible human being!

Who did he offend?

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

meeeeh wrote: »
    Who did he offend?

Vegans, models, jews, the me too movement to name a few.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,236 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Who did he offend?

He hired strippers and adult film stars as models. Caused fashion gurus to walk out of his show.

He also used a verse of the Qur'an in a 1994 outfit. How he wasnt killed for that I'll never know, maybe it was just too stylish.

Called Adele a bit fat. So...fat shaming?

Fcuk Putin. Glory to Ukraine!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

BuboBubo wrote: »
    Vegans, models, jews, the me too movement to name a few.

Was he one of those gay lads who thought he could say terrible and outrageous things to anyone because he was a camp gay man?

That doesn’t wash anymore. He was rich and white. That completely overrules any slack he might once have got for being gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

He sounds like an English football hooligan character Harry Enfield would invent.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Never heard of him until now tbh. Not sure why it's at all noteworthy

VeryTerry wrote: »
    He sounds like an English football hooligan character Harry Enfield would invent.

Mine's a pint of bitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

seamus wrote: »

You don’t strike me as a fashionable sort, Seamus. Bootcut jeans and a Next jumper sort of lad.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Fair play. That's exactly what I'm wearing right now :D

And no, fashion is not something I care about in the slightest.

He hired strippers and adult film stars as models. Caused fashion gurus to walk out of his show.

He also used a verse of the Qur'an in a 1994 outfit. How he wasnt killed for that I'll never know, maybe it was just too stylish.

Called Adele a bit fat. So...fat shaming?

Adele is a bit fat. So basically nothing major.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Bet he made jocks that were very expensive...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,232 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

He never had a diffusion line in Dunnes

• Registered Users Posts: 13,120 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

He was from Monaghan, Carrickmacross to be precise. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Such a miserable looking dude in all of his photos. A picture tells a thousand words. Nuff said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭ohfa6muwtsvkc1

I loved that show he had on BBC a while back, talking to politics heads about their clothes. Got to see a human side of them.

The fashion world morns.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

Ive a tshirt of his...its lovely , real quality.

I enjoyed him upsetting people too. Miserable offended fu8ks.

Rip great man

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

God Ted, do you remember that lad that was so good at fashion they had to shoot him !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭sxt

who?
    Naco-Paris-Karl-Who-Bag.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 13,106 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Sounds like quite a guy in fairness!

RIP ur an angle now xxx

He's as recognizable a name to people uninterested in fashion as any number of soccer players names would be to me, doesn't mean his passing isn't noteworthy. He was a hugely successful and influential figure in his area. It's a creative art form.

Anyway, I know nothing about him as a private person but I have enjoyed his work (via couture magazines, my guilty pleasure). I'm not a stylish person and the opposite of a fashionista but I liked what he created in the same way that I'm not in the least bit artistic but I can enjoy looking at the works of Modigliani or Banksy for that matter.

He'll be remembered as one of the greats of his industry.

Are there people confusing John Galliano with Lagerfeld on this thread or did both men have the same anti-semetic outburst?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

Candie wrote: »
    Are there people confusing John Galliano with Lagerfeld on this thread or did both men have the same anti-semetic outburst?

No seems that he had an issue with muslims

I think he was opinionated enough that if someone wanted to be offended by him they would could find a suitable quote from him. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

Adele is a bit fat. So basically nothing major.

He was quoted as saying "She is a little too fat but she has a beautiful face and a divine voice" - not bad really.

He himself lost over 90 lbs so probably thinks a lot of people need to lost some weight (which is true).

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Candie wrote: »

Come to think of it Mr Lager sort of dressed like a distinguished German Army Officer, circa 1940.

Very stylish individual.