Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tourists or Refugees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

Whilst I agree most of these people probably do need and deserve refuge. They should be sent to the doors or the bill should be sent to the US, UK , France etc etc who destabilised their countries of origin. It’s unfair the Irish people picking up the tab for this.

Actually the Dublin Protocol means that asylum seekers that fail application ( and most do in ireland ) are returned to the country that first allowed them into the EU

Our problem is our application process can take years and you have to house them during that period

The vast majority of asylum seekers are economic migrants claiming bogus asylum, hence they are not from countries that are " destabilised " other then just being poor and wanting a better life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

A vast majority of these people just become illegal immigrants while waiting for asylum. Someone offers them work and they take it.Once they go missing This is where it will become a massive strain on the gardai the customs and if we have such a body immigration control. Sorry thing is our politicians don't give a damn about what's coming down the road or that we don't have the resources to police these issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭Corb_lund

Good to add a bit of colour to Ireland. Dodged turning like Britain for too long. Time for cultural enrichment here.

I'm very interested to see Ireland in 2 census time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

BoatMad wrote: »
    Most irish people that are technically homeless, at least have a place to stay , Since Asylum seekers cant access the normal range of homelessness services, you have to house them somewhere , or do you suggest we let them sleep in the middle of roundabouts

How about the first safe country they passed through??? As per the Dublin convention??

• Registered Users Posts: 7,004 ✭✭✭conorhal

The refugee industry is booming. How do I get a slice of the pie?

You've probably missed the boat there.

Firstly you would have to have built a white elephant of a hotel in the middle of nowhere during the celtic tiger era for the very generous tax breaks the government were offering at the time to increese bed capacity for tourism.

Secondly you would also need to be in with your local councellors and TD's as they will be required to grease the way for your failing business to become highly profitable again.

And finally you'd have to be posessed of little or no conscience about imposing this burden on a small rural community that's already under resourced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Actually the Dublin Protocol means that asylum seekers that fail application ( and most do in ireland ) are returned to the country that first allowed them into the EU

Our problem is our application process can take years and you have to house them during that period

The vast majority of asylum seekers are economic migrants claiming bogus asylum, hence they are not from countries that are " destabilised " other then just being poor and wanting a better life[/QUOTE]

Proof please. Thank you

Whilst I agree most of these people probably do need and deserve refuge. They should be sent to the doors or the bill should be sent to the US, UK , France etc etc who destabilised their countries of origin. It’s unfair the Irish people picking up the tab for this.

If Ireland wants to be part of the modern world and the wold economic community then it needs to share the burdens of that world. it is called community, shared responsibility

You need please to read Irish history. The million or so Irish who fled after the famine and expected the US, Canada, Australia etc to take them in, feed them, give them work.

And the huge numbers of Irish who emigrate to other countries and live there on welfare.
    Now Ireland's turn to do that for others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,155 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Graces7 wrote: »
    If Ireland wants to be part of the modern world and the wold economic community then it needs to share the burdens of that world. it is called community, shared responsibility

You need please to read Irish history. The million or so Irish who fled after the famine and expected the US, Canada, Australia etc to take them in, feed them, give them work.

And the huge numbers of Irish who emigrate to other countries and live there on welfare.

Are there huge numbers of Irish in other countries living on welfare there ? Have you any statistics for that fact ? Then the vast majority of Irish who move abroad do so to work and better themselves and their lives .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Corb_lund wrote: »
    Good to add a bit of colour to Ireland. Dodged turning like Britain for too long. Time for cultural enrichment here.

I'm very interested to see Ireland in 2 census time...

Utter rubbish that I'm afraid.

The vast majority of asylum seekers are economic migrants claiming bogus asylum, hence they are not from countries that are " destabilised " other then just being poor and wanting a better life[/QUOTE]

Proof please. Thank you

The United Nations do you ?

https://www.express.co.uk/news/world/824794/migrant-crisis-refugee-Italy-Libya-UN-figures-Mediterranean-boat-crossing

Proof please for the last part ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Proof Please thank you

Anything to back this rubbish up??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Ehh the USA and Canada were the main two.
    The ones from Ireland that went to Australia in the 19th century went courtesy of the English crown.

And the USA and Canada weren't offering to feed the Irish, they took them in to work and build their countries.
    By 1860 there were 1.5 million Irish born in America.

Hundreds of thousands of Irish fought in the US Civil War.
    An estimated 150,000 Irish served in the Union Army, while about 30,000 are believed to have fought for the Confederacy.

And a fair chunk of them probably died in the slaughter.

So don't make is sound like some great altruistic venture, ala what you now want us to do for others.

The only place the Irish ever got to live on welfare has been laterally the UK.
    And you probably damn well know it and hence haven't come back to back up your statement.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

Proof Please thank you

There is no proof of that and there wont be.. a sweeping statement if If ever I saw one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

rafatoni wrote: »
    There is no proof of that and there wont be.. a sweeping statement if If ever I saw one.

A sweeping statement indeed and an insulting one to all the Irish who emigrated to work who were entitled to claim neither shelter or welfare and worked for every penny they got. No hotels or social payments when I left to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

I lived a part of that Irish history and you have been misinformed I think.

For example, in the 80s, many of my friends went to the U.S. If they tried to go legally, they were required to provide proof of funds in a bank account to show they could sustain themselves while they found work.
    They also had to submit medical reports paid for by themselves. Anyone thinking the Irish could have had access to welfare or social housing is wrong.

Illegal Irish immigrants were dealt with harshly and quickly.

Look also at the countries the Irish went to and look at the record of military service by Irish in those countries and the hight cost paid by Irish . The one country I'd have thought a minority of Irish may have got a welfare ride was the U.K but I'd argue the U.K has got plenty of hard working professionals, soldiers, builders and factory workers from here

All of that is academic however - I could care less about how other bigger richer countries conduct their affairs.
    It's this country and the cost to the ordinary person I'm concerned with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Doylers

As an Irish person living in Canada I couldnt tell you a single sole on welfare, mainly because.......... we're not eligible for it! To get welfare you need to be a refugee or a permanent resident and with all the PR conditions you can be sure anyone on welfare in Ireland or without decent education and cash wont be let in.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭DaintyDavy

Proof please. Absolute rubbish from you again.

20 migrants already moved in, no f**in about here. Rooskey DPC not going ahead anytime soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭2013Lara

DaintyDavy wrote: »

20 migrants already moved in, no f**in about here. Rooskey DPC not going ahead anytime soon.

And the anti social behaviour has already began unfortunately

2013Lara wrote: »

What has happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Not condoning it but perhaps if govt agencies engaged with local reps or councillors instead of riding rough shod over them and sneaking people into centres behind their backs their mightn't be an issue.

The people in Roosky only found out through the media, they thought the hotel was being done up as a tourist amenity.

And then people wonder how Casey can jump from 2 to 25% in an election or how Brexit could happen or a Trump be elected.

Its not rocket science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭2013Lara

DaintyDavy wrote: »
    What has happened?

Not entirely sure to be honest . Guards called on three men, all that was said is that they were behaving in an antisocial way. And they are staying in the grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

Ireland reminds me of a dysfunctional family who put on a good outside show pretending to have the resources and skill to house people from outside the country when we cannot even house and take care of our own in several key areas, health, housing, and public transport. All that seems to matter to the elites is the good show while the natives suffer in furious and impotent silence.

The refugees will not be allowed to work and will in many cases lack the skills to do so. They will be out on the streets with nothing to do from early morning to late evening. They are not allowed to reside in their living quarters during daylight hours, which I have been told by a local Wicklow resident. This I find hard to believe or understand.

What development and integration resources will be put in place to prevent public order issues and other disturbances?

While the speaker in the video talks of Pakistan and Nigeria as being safe countries this is far from the case. The North East frontier of Pakistan is adjacent to Afghanistan and suffers from a spillover of the violence that afflicts that country. Nigeria is divided between a Christian south and a mostly Muslim North, the infamous Boko Haram operate in the middle regions of Nigeria, kidnapping Christian children, mostly girls and forcibly converting them to Islam. Female genital mutilation is also common in Nigeria. Many people escape from these situations by getting out by any means they can. Both countries suffer from what is now called low intensity conflict.

If the Government was any good it would publicise these situations and seek widespread public support but they do things on the sly for fear of public fears and opposition to any direct provision plans.

No planning permission seems to be needed for what is a substantial change of building use and a substantial impact on adjacent private and public facilities.

Hotel residents overnighting in a town bring added benefits to adjacent shops, bars and restaurants in the form of increased trade. Unless the government can allow refugees to work and gain the necessary skills to do so then this is going to be a disaster for Wicklow town. At least I think that both Pakistan and Nigeria have some skills in English because of their common colonial past, this knowledge may have become greatly eroded since Independence, Pakistan since 1947 and Nigeria since 1960. Both countries have a less than stellar reputation for honesty and industry but the same accusations were levelled at the Irish in centuries past. The government needs to tread carefully in handling each application as impartially and expeditiously as possible. They are not noted for speed in decision making unfortunately.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Not entirely sure to be honest . Guards called on three men, all that was said is that they were behaving in an antisocial way. And they are staying in the grand.

sorry lara youve been mis informed

This is entirely untrue , and the person who put it up on facebook knows the facts of this incident

three non nationals (Romanians ) were stopped by gardai as they had been acting suspicious in a nearby shop . they had thier details taken by the gardai and left town . im told they are staying in kildare . nothing whatsoever to do with the grand hotel or refugees or asylum seekers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,626 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Same in Roosky, Co. Leitrim. Another FG deal according to Roscommon People last week.

Rooskey... A small village with an aging population of something like 400, about to get over 80 refugees into a hotel that has been closed up for over 7 years. No facilities, no amenities, nothing constructive for these poor people to do. What are they going to do all day, wander the streets, a recipe for disaster. Nothing to gain for anyone.... Oh wait, the lad running the direct provision center (a former FG Councillor) will coin it.
    Great little country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Dank Janniels

"No facilities, no amenities, nothing constructive for these poor people to do. What are they going to do all day, wander the streets, a recipe for disaster. Nothing to gain for anyone...."

If theres nothing for the refugees to do then I doubt it will be flocking with tourists if the hotel was running normaly. Atleast its been used for a worthy cause

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

Does anyone know how these contracts are being awarded? Are they advertised or subject to a tender process?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,929 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Absolute nonsense!! (and that's saying something in threads that have seen a fair bit of it on this topic). Also.. as I pointed out previously, we ALREADY give over half a BILLION Euro annually to "save the poor people of the world".. and CONTINUED to do so during a massively damaging recession here!

We've MORE than done our part. Time to look after our own problems - which we have plenty of!
    jmayo wrote: »
    Ehh the USA and Canada were the main two.
    The ones from Ireland that went to Australia in the 19th century went courtesy of the English crown.

And the USA and Canada weren't offering to feed the Irish, they took them in to work and build their countries.
    By 1860 there were 1.5 million Irish born in America.

Hundreds of thousands of Irish fought in the US Civil War.
    An estimated 150,000 Irish served in the Union Army, while about 30,000 are believed to have fought for the Confederacy.

And a fair chunk of them probably died in the slaughter.

So don't make is sound like some great altruistic venture, ala what you now want us to do for others.

The only place the Irish ever got to live on welfare has been laterally the UK.
    And you probably damn well know it and hence haven't come back to back up your statement.

Poster in question has form in that regard. It's that ridiculous notion of "it's our turn now!" and other such virtue-signalling ridiculousness that actually prevent us (as a country) having a real and badly needed discussion on how we want to handle this ongoing and worsening migrant situation.

Given that we are a small island nation with limited resources and significant domestic issues, it's neither practical nor desirable that we throw open the doors as people like Grace there would have us do (and again, we ALREADY do more than our fair share to support foreign aid causes - sorry to be pedantic folks, but this point continually gets conveniently left out of the argument).

Charity begins at home.. when we've sorted out our (latest) housing crisis, welfare dependency, seemingly perpetual healthcare mess, cost of living pressures, social issues..... THEN come talk to me about the "refugees" welfare tourists! (and you better have a plan to handle all the social, religious and economic risks they bring with them!)

It's time for those of us who would otherwise end up paying for this dangerous idiocy (and not just in financial terms) to start saying "enough is enough!" when the next election rolls around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Stuart Carolan was on Matt Coopers show yesterday with one of the actresses from his new series that is being shown on RTE at the moment.

Stuart thinks we need to vote again on the 2004 referendum that closed the loophole granting automatic citizenship to kids of asylum seekers who are born here.

This is something I would be strongly opposed to, citizenship of our country is a privilege, not an automatic right.

The African actress was someone who went though the direct provision process, now there is no doubt it needs to be restructured to ensure a quick turnaround and not have people waiting for years for a decision but she conveniently left out the part where asylum seekers can delay things for years with multiple appeals all at the expense of the taxpayer.

And of course Cooper would never point that out to her.

She also compared direct provision to the Magdalene Laundries, now to suggest any similarity between women who ware kept against their will and basically slaves who had their babies taken off them with people who came here of their own free will and are given free health care and accommodation is ridiculous.

Carolan is just another leftie idiot with too much to say. I doubt anyone is taking that much notice of what he says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,626 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

"No facilities, no amenities, nothing constructive for these poor people to do. What are they going to do all day, wander the streets, a recipe for disaster. Nothing to gain for anyone...."

If theres nothing for the refugees to do then I doubt it will be flocking with tourists if the hotel was running normaly. Atleast its been used for a worthy cause
    It's a very rural area. Perhaps the asylum seekers are into course fishing or drinking pints in country pubs... Perhaps they will use the hotel as a base to see the general North Midlands/Connacht/South Ulster area, all within a short drive, including good country towns like Roscommon, Carrick on Shannon etc....

No, its not suitable at all. I wouldn't like to be stuck in Rooskey without language skills, living out of a hotel room, in the middle of winter.

It's a very rural area. Perhaps the asylum seekers are into course fishing or drinking pints in country pubs... Perhaps they will use the hotel as a base to see the general North Midlands/Connacht/South Ulster area, all within a short drive, including good country towns like Roscommon, Carrick on Shannon etc....

No, its not suitable at all. I wouldn't like to be stuck in Rooskey without language skills, living out of a hotel room, in the middle of winter.

Well they could always go home if the locale/facilities aren't to their liking - or maybe back to whatever safe country they travelled to first before they got here.

The sense of entitlement is crazy.. Especially from people allegedly fleeing persecution, prison or death. You'd think a warm bed, food and a roof over their heads in a safe stable environment would be all their dreams come through.

It's a lot more than many natives and legitimate migrants have tonight.

Roosky is split by the river Shannon and consists of three pubs, a mini market, a post office a church and a school.

It also has about 2 doz berths for cruisers for such as Emerald Star and Carrick Craft and a refuelling and pump out station. The pubs and shop during the summer are busy with foreign and homegrown tourists from the different boats.

When the hotel was open the bar and restaurant was also busy, however the location of same for bed guests would be poor as this place is no Killarney, or Westport or even a Carrick on Shannon. People come here on boats and are no more than a passing trade.

To increase the population of this little village by 20% over night is wrong. Wrong for the locals and wrong for those in a DP centre who will have no idea how long they are going to be based there.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Absolute nonsense!! (and that's saying something in threads that have seen a fair bit of it on this topic). Also.. as I pointed out previously, we ALREADY give over half a BILLION Euro annually to "save the poor people of the world".. and CONTINUED to do so during a massively damaging recession here!

We've MORE than done our part. Time to look after our own problems - which we have plenty of!

Poster in question has form in that regard. It's that ridiculous notion of "it's our turn now!" and other such virtue-signalling ridiculousness that actually prevent us (as a country) having a real and badly needed discussion on how we want to handle this ongoing and worsening migrant situation.

Given that we are a small island nation with limited resources and significant domestic issues, it's neither practical nor desirable that we throw open the doors as people like Grace there would have us do (and again, we ALREADY do more than our fair share to support foreign aid causes - sorry to be pedantic folks, but this point continually gets conveniently left out of the argument).

Charity begins at home.. when we've sorted out our (latest) housing crisis, welfare dependency, seemingly perpetual healthcare mess, cost of living pressures, social issues..... THEN come talk to me about the "refugees" welfare tourists! (and you better have a plan to handle all the social, religious and economic risks they bring with them!)

It's time for those of us who would otherwise end up paying for this dangerous idiocy (and not just in financial terms) to start saying "enough is enough!" when the next election rolls around.

You are ignoring the fact that Ireland agreed as part of its EU membership deal to take a certain number of refugees.

There is no choice in this. Not my choice, not your choice. Ireland made the obligation. Has to be honoured
    Most of your post is emotional irrelevancy. Scaremongering.

And I have never said any such thing as I have bolded. form? So having a different view is ?

Nothing anyone can do about it. And what point taking it out on the refugees?

Short of withdrawing from the Eu and that would scupper Ireland financially .

Exactly so. And it will increase facilities and trade in the town. A good business move on the part of the hotel owner

Over and out from me on this.... it is a settled matter

[/B]

Exactly so. And it will increase facilities and trade in the town. A good business move on the part of the hotel owner

Well if you say so.... or not. You've made a lot of unsupported claims about the 'truth' about what outcomes can be expected from the opening of such a center and not one is supported by fact.

I'm curious to know exactly what facilities and trade in the town will be enanced by the opening of this center? Because that statement seems at odds with the experience of other small downs graced with such centers, like Lisdoonvarna.
    What business are likely to benefit from gangs of unemployed asylum seekers with no money hanging about the streets? How many American and German tourists wants to birth their Shannon cruiser in Mogadishu for the night?

An asylum center fpor Lisdoonvarna didn't do much to 'increase facilities' there, they just got stretched instead, particularly the local school facilities when promises about resources went unfulfilled

http://www.clare.fm/news/lisdoonvarna-school-can-apply-additional-supports-department/

The Department of Education says it will continue to engage with Lisdoonvarna National School as it deals with an influx of pupils from the recently opened direct provision centre there.
    However, it’s stopping short of providing called-for additional supports.
    Thus far, only a half-time language teaching post has been allocated and Junior Education Minister Mary Mitchell O’Connor says the school can continue to apply for more supports.

It seems your Pollyanna outlook on the situation doesn't reflect the reality on the ground at all ...and I suspect that both you and the people that support this nonsense KNOW that.... otherwise you wouldn't see people mysteriously choosing to refuse all the ' increased facilities and trade' in their area when offered the clear benefits of an asylum center, like what happened in Dublin 4

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ballsbridge-centre-for-asylum-seekers-is-closed-1.299420

'Refugees Welcome!' when it arrives in their own back yard, suddenly became 'to hell or to Connaught Rooskey' with them.

I've said it before and I'll say it again.
    We'll never see a sensible response from the virtue signallers until it's in their own back yard.
    I'd love to see an asylum reception center opened in the old Jury's Hotel in Ballsbridge, Herbert Park turned into a halting site and string of homeless shelters and methadone clinics all along Ailesbury Rd.
    Then I suspect the 'great and the good' would be happy to discuss realistic answers to the problems they're happy to see dumped in voiceless communities.

[/B]

Eeh actually its not. Currently being decided in the High Court who even owns the hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,475 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Stuart Carolan was on Matt Coopers show yesterday with one of the actresses from his new series that is being shown on RTE at the moment.

Stuart thinks we need to vote again on the 2004 referendum that closed the loophole granting automatic citizenship to kids of asylum seekers who are born here.

This is something I would be strongly opposed to, citizenship of our country is a privilege, not an automatic right.

The African actress was someone who went though the direct provision process, now there is no doubt it needs to be restructured to ensure a quick turnaround and not have people waiting for years for a decision but she conveniently left out the part where asylum seekers can delay things for years with multiple appeals all at the expense of the taxpayer.

And of course Cooper would never point that out to her.

She also compared direct provision to the Magdalene Laundries, now to suggest any similarity between women who ware kept against their will and basically slaves who had their babies taken off them with people who came here of their own free will and are given free health care and accommodation is ridiculous.

The whole aim of that ****e on RTÉ is to butter up the public to be favorable towards so called refugees and precipitate a vote to remove the very wise and logical 2004 result- if we returned to the pre 2004 status quo we will be immediately swamped with economic migrants rocking up, using our already strained health services popping out kids as “Irish citizens “.
    The snowflakes will be hedging their bets too far on this one I reckon, no way would it pass and rightly so

Well they could always go home if the locale/facilities aren't to their liking - or maybe back to whatever safe country they travelled to first before they got here.

The sense of entitlement is crazy.. Especially from people allegedly fleeing persecution, prison or death. You'd think a warm bed, food and a roof over their heads in a safe stable environment would be all their dreams come through.

It's a lot more than many natives and legitimate migrants have tonight.

Never once hear them thank the Irish taxpayer or country. Majority are economic migrants- if they were genuine refugees seeking a safe haven then they’d arrive in the first country of entry and be grateful to be alive...ireland is practically the last country in Europe they’d get to.
    We need to reform the Asylum process, make it rapid and stop all appeals with immediate deportation thereafter.

Well if you were a genuine refugee fleeing genuine terror then you would be thrilled to be in a very pretty part of a wealthy country that is providing you with free food, Accomodation and safety.

• Registered Users Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Ashleigh1986

This is what.....been a member of the EU is about.
    We have signed up to this agreement.
    We are committed to take in our share of refugees.
    The way some people are going on here you would swear Ireland is the only country they're going to.
    It's one if the main reasons Britain voted to leave the EU.
    Down tru the years all the benefits we have received from the EU to get our country out of the crap it was in ...well now it's payback time.
    Did ye actually think it was all going to be for FREE ???

The way some people are going on here you would swear Ireland is the only country they're going to.
    Down tru the years all the benefits we have received from the EU to get our country out of the crap it was in ...well now it's payback time.

These aint refugees.

Congratulations, literally every sentence you typed managed to be wrong!

We have signed no agreement. We're not signed up to the Schengen agreement. We're signed up to the Dublin agreement which by rights should be seeing fewer rather then more non EU migrants given asylum here, but in a fit of stupidity our government volunteered to take 5k of additional migrants as a good will gesture to the EU in the current crisis.
    One that's gone largely unfulfilled because our government's virtue signalling to Angela was writing cheques that the country couldn't cash. The EU did however attempt to use Schengen to FORCE quotas on countries and that was largely resisted.

Yes we have received benefits from EU membership, but swamping your country in migrants because of the mistakes of Germany are not the bill coming due you seem to think it is.
    The bill coming due is the fact that we are net contributors to the EU budget. The commitments we do meet regards refugees are ones to the UN, not the EU, a fact you're largely ignoring.
    We're paying back, but no debt is due to Somalia or Syria.

conorhal wrote: »
    Congratulations, literally every sentence you typed managed to be wrong!

We have signed no agreement. We're not signed up to the Schengen agreement. We're signed up to the Dublin agreement which by rights should be seeing fewer rather then more non EU migrants given asylum here, but in a fit of stupidity our government volunteered to take 5k of additional migrants as a good will gesture to the EU in the current crisis.
    One that's gone largely unfulfilled because our government's virtue signalling to Angela was writing cheques that the country couldn't cash. The EU did however attempt to use Schengen to FORCE quotas on countries and that was largely resisted.

Yes we have received benefits from EU membership, but swamping your country in migrants because of the mistakes of Germany are not the bill coming due you seem to think it is.
    The bill coming due is the fact that we are net contributors to the EU budget. The commitments we do meet regards refugees are ones to the UN, not the EU, a fact you're largely ignoring.
    We're paying back, but no debt is due to Somalia or Syria.

Cheers, saves me typing up a similar reply :)

This current situation is largely the result of Zappone leveraging her position to push her own personal agenda and ideology, Coveney being an EU sycophant, and Leo being all about his personal profile/ego and the 'likes' and so going with whatever he thinks will further that.

And again for the virtue-signalling types... We ALREADY do our part for foreign aid. We're under no obligation to ship waves of unemployable economic migrants here.

You are ignoring the fact that Ireland agreed as part of its EU membership deal to take a certain number of refugees.

There is no choice in this. Not my choice, not your choice. Ireland made the obligation. Has to be honoured
    Most of your post is emotional irrelevancy. Scaremongering.

And I have never said any such thing as I have bolded. form? So having a different view is ?

Nothing anyone can do about it. And what point taking it out on the refugees?

Short of withdrawing from the Eu and that would scupper Ireland financially .

Stop telling lies from your home in Canada. Ireland has the option of a veto on refugees as secured in the Nice Treaty. We have zero obligations to take refugees.

IRELAND HAS A VETO!!! What is so difficult to understand about this. We don’t NEED or are OBLIGED to take in anyone!!

Cheers, saves me typing up a similar reply :)

This current situation is largely the result of Zappone leveraging her position to push her own personal agenda and ideology, Coveney being an EU sycophant, and Leo being all about his personal profile/ego and the 'likes' and so going with whatever he thinks will further that.

And again for the virtue-signalling types... We ALREADY do our part for foreign aid. We're under no obligation to ship waves of unemployable economic migrants here.

Zappone a foreigner herself, in a position of power dictating to the Irish people and taxpayer so she can feel all warm and fussy inside as she hangs around sipping wine with UN types.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Where do you live.I bet its not in the west of Ireland.Its the same people always going on about we have to take more refugees but not in my backyard.
    The west of Ireland is becoming a dumping ground for them.