Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 4,568 ✭✭✭straight

My jeep passed the test first thing this morning, apart from 4 new tyre's it only required a few light bulbs so I'm happy out. I wore the old tyre's out to the last so I couldn't complain and I opted for some all terrain BF Goodrich which although pricy look the business and are way ahead as regards grip and road holding.

My original CVRT was out in June but it got extended 3 months until now (October). Will my new cert be backdated until June or will I have gained 3 months on it? I was that pleased when the tester said it passed I forgot to ask him.

Your new anniversary date will be October. How much were the BF Goodrichs?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

My jeep passed the test first thing this morning, apart from 4 new tyre's it only required a few light bulbs so I'm happy out. I wore the old tyre's out to the last so I couldn't complain and I opted for some all terrain BF Goodrich which although pricy look the business and are way ahead as regards grip and road holding.

My original CVRT was out in June but it got extended 3 months until now (October). Will my new cert be backdated until June or will I have gained 3 months on it? I was that pleased when the tester said it passed I forgot to ask him.

The GF’s are brilliant in muddy poor grip surfaces

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,874 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

straight wrote: »
    Your new anniversary date will be October. How much were the BF Goodrichs?

€160 fitted, I don't know if that's value or not as I didn't price around. My usual garage man has always been competitive and given good service so I left it too him.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,064 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

orm0nd wrote: »
    well done

Last Saturday moved in the hard shoulder to avoid a BMW who's driver (male) reckoned a 4x4 with a 14' trailer was less of a risk than the light briars . :Dof his passenger side

wrote off the back passenger side type on the jeep, must have been a rock there dislodged by a hedge cutter

tyre was about 50% but would have done for a while yet

The difference between a BMW and a hedgehog is the the hedgehog has the pricks on the outside :D

€160 fitted, I don't know if that's value or not as I didn't price around. My usual garage man has always been competitive and given good service so I left it too him.

That’s great value
    I was quoted €220 fitted

Sounds good to me. I dropped mine around to local guy and he put two normal tyres on it for 120 each. I don't even know what brand they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,194 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Good value. I put Chinese made copies of the BF Goodrich AT on the last jeep I had, and they were €95 a corner.
    Good grip, to be fair, but there wasn't the same "last" in them.
    That was for 270/70/16

• Registered Users Posts: 2,209 ✭✭✭Suckler

The GF’s are brilliant in muddy poor grip surfaces

+1 for BFG. I've had Cooper all terrains as well which lasted as long but weren't as good off road.

Suckler wrote: »
    +1 for BFG. I've had Cooper all terrains as well which lasted as long but weren't as good off road.
    I use to have standard tyres from local shop
    When I got the BFG you could go into a wet field with posts and come back out without leaving tracks from spinning

90% of my driving maybe on road but when you have to go off it’s great confidence

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The gift that keeps giving :D

Supposedly the "IFA snowflakes" are "freaking out now over the label burger and sausage being used on veggie products." following a recent EU campaign to prevent vegan marketing companies using words such as steak and burger to sell fake food

Anyway the Journal has a Vox Poll going so we can cast our vote on the issue.

https://www.thejournal.ie/poll-should-vegetarian-foods-be-allowed-use-words-like-steak-and-burger-5238520-Oct2020/

For a bit of comedy take a read of the comments. ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

If you clear your browser cache and cookies you can vote multiple times. :)

Just don't blame me if any of ye have website passwords saved in your browser and can't remember them after that :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Looks like Wexford is going to win the All Ireland this year in the hurling.

You heard it here first!

Is Davy after moving to Wexford? Cris crossing the country from Clare a few nights a week is hardly essential travel

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

gozunda wrote: »

Supposedly the "IFA snowflakes" are "freaking out now over the label burger and sausage being used on veggie products." following a recent EU campaign to prevent vegan marketing companies using words such as steak and burger to sell fake food

https://www.thejournal.ie/poll-should-vegetarian-foods-be-allowed-use-words-like-steak-and-burger-5238520-Oct2020/

I saw this on some other article lately... I have to say, my first reaction was one of surprise...

As long as the product is clearly called out for what it is - "plant burger" vs "beef burger"...

It should be clear what the product you're buying is, and what's in it. I dont think. I'm not sure this was the way to go about it?:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,064 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

And the voters agree with IFA, :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,874 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

That’s great value
    I was quoted €220 fitted

I wouldn't know whether they were value or not tbh but I was expecting him to quote me nearer €200. As I said he's always been competitive in the past and honest about what's needed and why. He took a quick look at the jeep one evening and said it needed 4 tyre's and a few bulb's. He stuck in the bulb's and said he'd WhatsApp me list of tyre prices if I wanted or would I get my own. I said I'd take the BF's at that price and that was the deal. The jeep passed first time so I couldn't complain.

Edit to say he does my work when it suits him as a nixer and gets paid in full plus the price of a few drinks before I leave the garage so maybe that helps a little.

I'd be more concerned about calling almond juice or oat juice and the like "MILK".

straight wrote: »
    I'd be more concerned about calling almond juice or oat juice and the like "MILK".

I'd have no problem with anyone using the term Milk, Burger or Butter... once they prefix it with words like imitation or knock off... so for instance - Vegan Imitation "Icecream", Bogus Burgers, Pretend "Pork", Spurious Pseudo "Sausages" or Simulated "Yogurt"..

I think quotation marks should also be used around the meat or dairy product that is being ripped off so as not to deceive the consumer.

Another one that has popped into my head there is honey... an alternative honey that does not come from bees could be called Hoax "Honey" ?

I think that would be an acceptable middle ground to myself and be very friendly terms that consumers would easily understand in a busy shopping environment so they can make an informed choice..

• Registered Users Posts: 11,194 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Ah, Hoax Honey is widespread in some Cultures and their foods.
    Called "High Fructose Corn Syrup".

• Registered Users Posts: 11,120 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Is Davy after moving to Wexford? Cris crossing the country from Clare a few nights a week is hardly essential travel

Garda escort. Half the travelling time. :D

Buford killed Fungi!!

Nice few maps in this tweet.

Forest cover one is interesting.

https://twitter.com/teagasc/status/1318538951909662721?s=20

• Registered Users Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Buford killed Fungi!!

WHAT

Reggie. wrote: »
    WHAT

Seemingly so.

The baxtard!.

Apparently there was fingerprints found on the box of findus fish fingers that was found floating at the crime scene.

Has he been arrested yet say my name or is he gone on the run??

Seemingly so.

The baxtard!.

Who's organising the torches and pitchforks

NcdJd wrote: »

Has he been arrested yet say my name or is he gone on the run??

Stone cold alibi apparently but he was seen accepting a brown envelope in the Bantry Bay blue whale tourism office.

Who's organising the torches and pitchforks

Dairygold have a sale on sprongs and hayforks.

Stone cold alibi apparently but he was seen accepting a brown envelope in the Bantry Bay blue whale tourism office.

That man has no morals

I wonder was Buford in Miami, Florida around the time when poor Flipper was found dead... there could be a connection. That was never solved.

NcdJd wrote: »
    I wonder was Buford in Miami, Florida around the time when poor Flipper was found dead... there could be a connection. That was never solved.

He's getting a bit of a name for himself alright.