Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Just popping to the ATM machine

• 03-07-2018 10:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,512 ✭✭✭

What's your personal pin number?

Mine is 9999.

Most secure pin number if iirc correctly. If someone is going through every combination starting at 0000, it'll take them ages :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,099 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Automated Teller Machine Machine????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

When someone steals the hole-in-the-wallmachine, what are you left with?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

When someone steals the hole-in-the-wallmachine, what are you left with?

The hole in the wall?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The hole in the wall?

No money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,512 ✭✭✭Wheety

No money.

Mo problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,946 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Wheety wrote: »

Mine is 9999.

Most secure pin number if iirc correctly. If someone is going through every combination starting at 0000, it'll take them ages :cool:

I always start at 9999 and work backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Mine is 9999.

And for those that count down rather than up?

Far more secure would be to use the number of posts you've done, i.e you are at

2108, when you reply or put up another post it will be 2109, so you change your pin to that and so on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,316 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The hole in the wall?

And if it's a hole in the wall machine that's made a hole in the wall, it's doing it's job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

RIP in peace this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,223 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I use the wind speed velocity of an unladen African swallow.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Mo problems.

Mo Farah

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Here's my PIN

randomnumber-crunchify.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Quazzie wrote: »

You missed personal Personal identification number number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

if 9999 is the best, is 0000 the worst ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Here's my PIN

It is a PIN Number, dontcha know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

And if your ATM machine card gets swallowed by the machine, you can use your PSC card as ID when you pick it up.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

seagull wrote: »
    And if your ATM machine card gets swallowed by the machine, you can use your PSC card as ID identification when you pick it up.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

It is a PIN Number, dontcha know

That's almost as bad as ATM Machine :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,934 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

That's almost as bad as ATM Machine :mad:

or AIB Bank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Thought you were just popping it. Wuz gunna call da cops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭Nollog

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    or AIB Bank

I loved when AIB had the AIB bank bank link automated teller machine machines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

NFC ftw, I don't use cash or have a need for an ATM any more...

... my account is always empty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Remember if you are getting mugged at the ATMachine, if you type your number backwards it alerts the guards and they will come help you. I assume your attacker will wait around for their arrest.
    https://metro.co.uk/2017/06/27/does-entering-your-pin-backwards-at-an-atm-summon-the-police-6737938/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,464 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Ipso wrote: »
    Remember if you are getting mugged at the ATMachine, if you type your number backwards it alerts the guards and they will come help you. I assume your attacker will wait around for their arrest.
    https://metro.co.uk/2017/06/27/does-entering-your-pin-backwards-at-an-atm-summon-the-police-6737938/

Hard to tell whether you're serious or not with that post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

lawred2 wrote: »
    Hard to tell whether you're serious or not with that post

Ah here, give me some credit.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,796 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Quazzie wrote: »

In fairness it was posted at 10am in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

passing atm today windows xp loading :D

actually doesn't really matter whats the pin if your at least smart you'll notify bank immediately, then there's attempted number of tries 3 think and it gets blocked, and in theory dictionary attacks are designed to run easiest combinations first like admin pass etc, so your 9999 would be at the top of the list with 0000 and 1111s.

Im more intrested given how cheap it is that most money carriers dont use some form of gps tracking when handling large amounts of cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

1.jpg

hole.png

download.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    or AIB Bank

DC current....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Snowseer

Meh. I do most of my banking online. All I need is my IBAN number.

Those ATM machines are filthy yokes anyway. People handling them with their hands all greasy from their KFC chicken. Use the wrong ones and you'll end up with the HIV virus.

scamalert wrote: »
    Im more intrested given how cheap it is that most money carriers dont use some form of gps tracking

Eh - *gps system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Virtanen

Doesn't concern me, I spend all my money on DC Comics anyway

jester77 wrote: »
    NFC ftw, I don't use cash or have a need for an ATM any more...

... my account is always empty

NFC communication is a great technology tbf fair.

scamalert wrote: »
    passing atm today windows xp loading :D

actually doesn't really matter whats the pin if your at least smart you'll notify bank immediately, then there's attempted number of tries 3 think and it gets blocked, and in theory dictionary attacks are designed to run easiest combinations first like admin pass etc, so your 9999 would be at the top of the list with 0000 and 1111s.

Im more intrested given how cheap it is that most money carriers dont use some form of gps tracking when handling large amounts of cash.
    Snowseer wrote: »
    Eh - *gps system.

Track your own Euro cash

https://en.eurobilltracker.com/

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Track your own Euro cash

ZOMG. I fcuking love the EBT tracker!

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Track your own Euro cash

I created an account and entered serial numbers of notes I don't have.
    What are you going to do now eurobilltracker??

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    I created an account and entered serial numbers of notes I don't have.
    What are you going to do now eurobilltracker??

No you didn't :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Snowseer wrote: »
    Meh. I do most of my banking online. All I need is my IBAN number.

Those ATM machines are filthy yokes anyway. People handling them with their hands all greasy from their KFC chicken. Use the wrong ones and you'll end up with the HIV virus.

International Bank Account Number number?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Virtanen

e37.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

prinzeugen wrote: »
    International Bank Account Number number?

Lord spare us... It's been running for a few posts...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

jca wrote: »

I know. Do try to keep up!

jca wrote: »

This, for FFS sake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    FYP

Surely that should be "FYP Post"