Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Hydraulic ram

• 05-07-2019 12:34pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭

The vertical ram on my forklift is leaking a lot of oil.
    I removed it last night and have it in the trailer. What sort of money is a repair costing? The chrome is 100% and it isn't bent.
    A lad told me in the phone last I'd be looking close to 1000!!!! If that's thats the case I'll scrap it.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,475 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I’m sure you could get the seals and have a go yourself, I haven’t done it in 20 years but it’s not that complicated.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Couldnt cost 1000 euro, that's insane for replacing seals.
    Over 250 and I'd be feeling a bit put out.
    Priced having a single acting ram made from scratch for a tractor loader and it was 450 plus vat, at a local engineering place.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭hopeso

I removed it last night and have it in the trailer. What sort of money is a repair costing? The chrome is 100% and it isn't bent.
    A lad told me in the phone last I'd be looking close to 1000!!!! If that's thats the case I'll scrap it.

Make a few more phone calls........You needn't go to a specialist hydraulic repair place either if it's only seals. Any competent mechanic, especially one working on agricultural machinery should be able to tackle it.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭dzer2

Where are you in the country most farm and machinery suppliers should be able to sort it if not get the seals out and try Abbey seals in Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Odelay

dzer2 wrote: »
    Where are you in the country most farm and machinery suppliers should be able to sort it if not get the seals out and try Abbey seals in Dublin

Yep, Abbey seals. Not a big job.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

It's a seal kit you need.

'The Bishops blessed the Blueshirts in Galway, As they sailed beneath the Swastika to Spain'

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

And an ability to open the end cap :D

Ya, some have circ clips, others need hook spanners.
    https://performancetools.ie/product/adjustable-hook-spanner/

'The Bishops blessed the Blueshirts in Galway, As they sailed beneath the Swastika to Spain'

• Registered Users Posts: 943 ✭✭✭tellmeabit

About to go price same thing for old massey loader for my 590. Can't make out how to open the ram to have a go at seal myself. Nothing obvious to me anyways. Will throw up pic tomorrow

• Registered Users Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

I can open the top with a c Spanner.
    There's a lot of play in it - there might be a guide bush worn maybe.

Have a pic but it's too big to upload.
    I agree with above the price I got was crazy. Bear in mind it's still on done deal, needs tidying describes it well...
    A guy came to look at it and it was him that said that price to dad when I wasn't there that evening. I suppose it was in his interest to make the repair sound more expensive than it was... He didn't buy it anyways. Could end up keeping it yet. The phone hasn't been exactly hopping. And it's the cheapest on done deal I think. There's two others, one is a Yale in Donegal with a cab and that hasn't shifted either in a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I agree with above the price I got was crazy. Bear in mind it's still on done deal, needs tidying describes it well...
    A guy came to look at it and it was him that said that price to dad when I wasn't there that evening. I suppose it was in his interest to make the repair sound more expensive than it was... He didn't buy it anyways. Could end up keeping it yet. The phone hasn't been exactly hopping. And it's the cheapest on done deal I think. There's two others, one is a Yale in Donegal with a cab and that hasn't shifted either in a while.

As I said above, I priced getting a ram made for a tractor loader (Grays)
    450 plus vat was too rich for my liking, and ended up buying a complete second hand loader, complete with brackets and spool valves for 400 euro.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭148multi

There's a place in athenry, have a chat with them, can't think of their name, but they are sound to get advice off, Muckit might have their number.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭orm0nd

148multi wrote: »
    There's a place in athenry, have a chat with them, can't think of their name, but they are sound to get advice off, Muckit might have their number.

Burkes?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

148multi wrote: »

Yes Burke hydraulics. Busy spot. Good work. Used them a few times. Have done a few myself before but only single stage, no trailer rams. Even taking the ram off a machine can be work enough when you are busy.

Burkes are good but whatever you do don't utter the words "no hurry with it" or you may be a year waiting for it!! You need it yesterday and you might see it in a fortnight.

• Registered Users Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

tellmeabit wrote: »
    About to go price same thing for old massey loader for my 590. Can't make out how to open the ram to have a go at seal myself. Nothing obvious to me anyways. Will throw up pic tomorrow
    If it's the rams I'm thinking of there is a circlip which sits in a groove in the gland.. The gland cap is flattened on one side to let you get a pliers down beside the rod to squeeze the clip.. Need to squeeze the clip a pull out the rid at the same time... Could be completely wrong without seeing a picture but I think that type was on Massey loaders.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

Where are you in the country?

1000 euro to put a seal in a ram would be nice work if you could get it.. Be surprised if that cost much more than 60-70 to put seal in that ram.. Presume that ram is single acting displacement with just a seal inside gland and o ring on the outside.. By sounds of it Say you could be right about worn bushing if there was a bushing otherwise gland itself could be worn.. Probably need a new gland made then which would be a bit more costly but nowhere near a grand..

North tipp.
    I've found a Polish lad through work who used to do this work for himself but now gone working direct for someone. Waiting on him to get back to me, that might be the way to go.

North tipp.
    I've found a Polish lad through work who used to do this work for himself but now gone working direct for someone. Waiting on him to get back to me, that might be the way to go.
    OK. If you fancied a trip to Mayo, there's lads outside Knock who worked miracles on a load of rams and hydraulic motors for me a few years back. Very reasonable also. Western Hydraulics

Just to post an update..
    I got the ram out and left it in the trailer, dad brought it to a guy and he replaced the seal. So it's home now in the trailer. He asked how we took out the ram without removing the mast. what we did was when everything was unbolted and pipes off, I jacked up the base of the sliding mast which pushed up the ram. When it was far enough up, I tied the ram from it's base to the cab roof of the forklift. Then I dropped the sliding mast, and slewed the base of the ram forward over the fork shelf, towards the forks, and then slackened the chain from the cab and lowered the ram to the ground.

Anyhow, it's ready to go back in some day I'm feeling energetic.

Going to post a few pics,. There's a silver piece, I think it's a non return valve, where does it fit, I saw it on the ground after I removed the supply pipe. Doesn't look like it fits in the ram?

Here's the pics

Pics are too big.

Just to post an update..
    I got the ram out and left it in the trailer, dad brought it to a guy and he replaced the seal. So it's home now in the trailer. He asked how we took out the ram without removing the mast. what we did was when everything was unbolted and pipes off, I jacked up the base of the sliding mast which pushed up the ram. When it was far enough up, I tied the ram from it's base to the cab roof of the forklift. Then I dropped the sliding mast, and slewed the base of the ram forward over the fork shelf, towards the forks, and then slackened the chain from the cab and lowered the ram to the ground.

Anyhow, it's ready to go back in some day I'm feeling energetic.

Going to post a few pics,. There's a silver piece, I think it's a non return valve, where does it fit, I saw it on the ground after I removed the supply pipe. Doesn't look like it fits in the ram?

Is that you Mr Elmer Fudd, Surgeon to the Mighty Many?

It's just that you did a great operation on me and had a piece or two left over. .. I had a great recovery up until I just died!

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

How mush

Sacrolyte wrote: »
    How mush

80 euro. A lot cheaper than I thought.