Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users Posts: 11,387 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Lukekul wrote: »
    Ger Caff has packed it in

Great servant, got way more abuse than he deserved, no account taken that he was left 1-on-1 all the time against top class full forwards all the time

• Registered Users Posts: 7,325 ✭✭✭naughto

Green&Red wrote: »
    Great servant, got way more abuse than he deserved, no account taken that he was left 1-on-1 all the time against top class full forwards all the time

Isn't that what a full back job is

naughto wrote: »
    Isn't that what a full back job is

Not really in modern football. You never really see a full back being isolated like caff was, there’s always a sweeper to protect them

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

The game against Cavan in the league earlier this year showed how good Ger was at his peak. Hopefully he'll get over the injury problems and have a good run with the Stephenites over the next few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

He'd a great game that night and got a good reception from the supporters.

All the best to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Senior championship quarter final draw

Ballintubber v Belmullet
    Castlebar Mitchels v Knockmore
    Breaffy v Ballina Stephenites
    Ballaghaderren v Davitts.

Relegation Draw:
    Claremorris v Hollymount Carramore
    Westport v Moy Davitts. Dates,venues and times to be confirmed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

seligehgit wrote: »
    Senior championship quarter final draw

Ballintubber v Belmullet
    Castlebar Mitchels v Knockmore
    Breaffy v Ballina Stephenites
    Ballaghaderren v Davitts.

Relegation Draw:
    Claremorris v Hollymount Carramore
    Westport v Moy Davitts. Dates,venues and times to be confirmed

Breaffy and Ballina pick of the quarters there. very interesting. Knockmore will make C'bar work for it though

Would have been a bit of craic if Westport and Claremorris got each other in relegation. Both should win those with little enough fuss

jr86 wrote: »
    Breaffy and Ballina pick of the quarters there. very interesting. Knockmore will make C'bar work for it though

Would have been a bit of craic if Westport and Claremorris got each other in relegation. Both should win those with little enough fuss

I think Holly/Carra will beat Claremorris. They're a much stronger side when the 2 Coens are around. Claremorris have been poor this year.

They'll still escape relegation however. Moy Davitts look the weakest by far.

Seems fair that we play Castlebar in McHale Park!
    What’s changed between now and two years ago?

Dempsey should refuse to send out a team ala Kildare

Seems fair that we play Castlebar in McHale Park!
    What’s changed between now and two years ago?

Dempsey should refuse to send out a team ala Kildare

Green and Red.

Plus ca change.

There'll likely be two double headers in Mac Hale Park as has been customary for the quarter finals in recent years.

I'll be relying on Mayo GAA TV as I'll be out of the country.:(

Double header on the saturday nite
    Breaffy v Ballina & Davitts v Ballagha

Ours is a stand alone fixture on the sunday

I preferred it when Castlebar were sh!te and we could play all the big games in Ballina or Crossmolina

• Registered Users Posts: 7,325 ✭✭✭naughto

Double header on the saturday nite
    Breaffy v Ballina & Davitts v Ballagha

Ours is a stand alone fixture on the sunday

I preferred it when Castlebar were sh!te and we could play all the big games in Ballina or Crossmolina

Is there any dates or times set?

MAYO AND THE UNDERDOGS

Ahead of tonight’s series premiere we can announce that Mayo will be taking on the the Underdogs next month.The match will be played under lights in Elverys McHale Park in Castlebar,on Saturday 26th October 2019 and TG4’s GAA Beo will provide live coverage on the night.

This year the Underdogs management team will have two new members joining former Cork Ladies Footballer Valerie Mulcahy.They are former Kerry All-Ireland winning Captain and Manager Mickey Ned O’Sullivan and Gaoth Dobhair legend and former Donegal Footballer Kevin Cassidy.

The Underdogs is a unique group of players,from different GAA clubs all across the country.These footballers have never played at a senior intercounty championship level before.

James Horan,Mayo Manager says:
    “We are looking forward to being involved in the Underdogs event this October.A really interesting game in McHale Park that will see many talented and ambitious players take to the field.”

I did not watch The Saturday Game as yet but I'm led to believe that 2 Mayo defenders made the cut.I'm presuming it's Paddy and Boyler.

Colm Boyle was our outstanding baller this championship,Paddy excelled too in spite of his injury.Aidan O Shea post an excellent league and great start to the championship,understandably his performances tappered off a tad considering all the football he's played.

Nonetheless considering our three losses and couple of trimmings they might be considered fortunate to make the team.

Doubtful the all stars will be as kind.

Looks like Stephen Rochford has got the Galway gig,best of luck to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,038 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

seligehgit wrote: »
    I did not watch The Saturday Game as yet but I'm led to believe that 2 Mayo defenders made the cut.I'm presuming it's Paddy and Boyler.

Colm Boyle was our outstanding baller this championship,Paddy excelled too in spite of his injury.Aidan O Shea post an excellent league and great start to the championship,understandably his performances tappered off a tad considering all the football he's played.

Nonetheless considering our three losses and couple of trimmings they might be considered fortunate to make the team.

Doubtful the all stars will be as kind.

Looks like Stephen Rochford has got the Galway gig,best of luck to him.

Yea both Durkan and Boyle mage TSG team of the year.

I hope the Rochford appointment does not come back to bite Mayo, it has happened before.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭spakman

Rochford staying in Donegal according to the examiner.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

spakman wrote: »
    Rochford staying in Donegal according to the examiner.

The Galway job has alot more implications with the county board. Walsh and O'Donohue had serious issues with them around simple stuff like training grounds, funding for the teams and the board putting certain people into positions that were out of their dept. There is a serious divide between hurling and football even go to the extent of hate with some people.

Its not straight forward job for who ever takes it and if Rochford does take it then fair play to him. He may do an o'Mahoney on it but it could easily go the other way.

Anyway, we need to concentrate on ourselves and start by delivering connaught next year as a top priority. The back door is killing us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

If he does take the job Rochy has fine talent to work with there in Galway. Some serious underage teams in recent years, and some young lads showing brilliantly in the Galway club championship. No-one will beat Dublin for years, so he won't win an all Ireland with them, but if he does get their house in order he might get them to a final

• Registered Users Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PressRun

Rochford would be mental to take the Galway job. County board is a circus.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

If he does take the job Rochy has fine talent to work with there in Galway. Some serious underage teams in recent years, and some young lads showing brilliantly in the Galway club championship. No-one will beat Dublin for years, so he won't win an all Ireland with them, but if he does get their house in order he might get them to a final

Club football is not in a good state in Galway. Corofin are dominating it and that is not good. If you talk to serious gaa football heads they say the standard of football outside of corofin is not good.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

PressRun wrote: »
    Rochford would be mental to take the Galway job. County board is a circus.

Maybe, but the Mayo Co board has a few clowns as well.

RobbieRuns wrote: »
    Maybe, but the Mayo Co board has a few clowns as well.

As Rochford well knows, which is why he should steer well clear of another county board that couldn't organise a piss up in a brewery.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Club football is not in a good state in Galway. Corofin are dominating it and that is not good. If you talk to serious gaa football heads they say the standard of football outside of corofin is not good.

They were taken to a replay last year. Annaghdown should of beaten them the year before. Like Dublin they have two things going for them 1) stronger panel 2) an aura that mentally affects teams before a ball is thrown in. Hardest games Corofin have had has been in Galway over the last few years. Don't think many would say there is any issue with the standard of club football in Galway. All in all its still quite competitive with Corofin a step ahead. I think they'll be given plenty of it next weekend too.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,386 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Mr Walsh wasn't too keen on the corofin lads. Some slight apparently. The defined a drinks ban order. When the Galway manager is disregard the best club team in the country. No wonder galway has issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Who are you referring to here?

Mountbellew have ran Corofin closer than other club team in recent years. They are a serious team who have been desperately unlucky to meet that Corofin team. They meet each other in the QF stage this year and while I expect Corofin to win, Mountbellew could run them close again.

irishgeo wrote: »
    Mr Walsh wasn't too keen on the corofin lads. Some slight apparently. The defined a drinks ban order. When the Galway manager is disregard the best club team in the country. No wonder galway has issues.

He started 4 Corofin players against us this year and none of them played well. Good club teams don't always have lots of good county players.

Just look at Kerry. Dr Crokes are probably the 2nd best club in Ireland but Gavin White is the only guy playing with Kerry, and he was dropped for the replay at the weekend.

I'm hearing that Horan is already organising a little bit of clear out with the senior squad? Some peripheral names being dropped and youngsters brought in.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,888 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

PressRun wrote: »
    I'm hearing that Horan is already organising a little bit of clear out with the senior squad? Some peripheral names being dropped and youngsters brought in.

Well thats hardly exposing the Third Secret of Fatima in fairness, :rolleyes: always going to happen. What nemas you hearing?