Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Local elections 2014

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

?Cee?view wrote: »
    Just watched that. Impressive. Personally find it kind of scary when I find myself agreeing with a member of the Green Party :D The world has certainly changed in the last few years.

Agree with there some very common sense stuff said there... I heard him before on Newstalk and I thought the English Market idea is great and I have seen it abroad.
    I also thought Eamon Ryan was right when he was talking about when Sherlock was blocking websites... I think they got lost in the past but they do bring up some common sense now and again.
    Hope he gets elected.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Candidates, please contact hello@boards.ie to be verified.
    Please do not post more until verification is finished.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 Pottymouth

I feel all candidates should be challenged to produce a tax clearance certificate prior to being added to the ballot sheet.

That they do not have to is to me a disgrace.

So I want to challange here and now each candidate to prove that they are tax compliant in advance of the election.

Could all interested parties support this intiative so we can at least be sure that those that are running are above board in their obligations as cistizenas of the state. If they cannot do this then they should be avoided as candidates at all costs. It should be a minimum acceptable standard.

I bet few if any will be able to produce one. This will speak volumes for each and every one of them.

Prove your tax compliance, produce a tax clearance cert or be-gone!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭sgthighway

While I don't know David Burke personally I know he plays football with his local team Salthill/Knocknacarra. I have played against him and see him play against my club on a regular basis. If he is committed to his local club and is playing he must be attending training sessions. So I don't see why it would matter if he goes to Dublin. The company he works for KPMG specialise in financial audits. They can't audit an external company by sitting in an office in Eyre Square.

These are local elections and a lot of the questions are not relevant to local politics.

MODS: I think people should not be allowed to post here unless they where registered prior to this Thread been setup. People registering just for this topic is an opportunity for people to attack opposing candidates.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

sgthighway wrote: »
    These are local elections and a lot of the questions are not relevant to local politics.

+1 on this 100 times.

99% of the time, people asking national questions to local candidates is pointless.

It's like asking Alex Ferguson if he'd consider playing ROG or Sexton centre back for United.

Related but completely different.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 NiallMart42

Hi Everyone,

David Burke is my name, and I have put myself forward as a candidate in the Galway City West Ward for Fianna Fáil.

I will try my best to respond to your posts on this board ...

Thanks,

David Burke

Hi David,

My name is Brian, I seem to think you have some good plans set out in the above post, I just hope its not all talk!

Anyhow, my main questions to you regard your membership of Fianna Fáil;

1) How long have you been a member ?

2) What role have you played in the party?

3) Is it true you held or hold a position as Finance Director in the party?
    Did you hold this position during the years of economic collapse, 07,08,09,10,11 ?

4) What are your views on corporate donations to political parties ?
    This question originates from an article I read here, publicinquiry.eu/2009/05/22/angry-fianna-fail-denies-any-wrongdoing/
    I'am not 100% if the name mentioned is referring to you ?

5) Finally, is it true you spend the majority of your working week in Dublin?

Looking forward to hearing from you David,

Kind Regards and all the best for may 23rd,
    Brian Allen

Hi sgthighway,

Unlike you I have never met David Burke, I don't know what company he works for or where he works hence I would like to see the questions raised by Brian Allen answered.

If Mr. Burke is willing to put himself forward, both for the elections and on this forum he should be willing to answer relevant questions raised. As he said himself ;
    "I will try my best to respond to your posts on this board "

The questions may not be directly relevant to local politics, but they are directly relevant to the politician running in this local election. If this person wants to receive the vote of the people in the Galway City West district he should be open and transparent on such issues.

I feel David Burke's response was an attempt to very much avoid the issues raised, which has made me very skeptical of him as a Fianna Fáil candidate, especially as I had no prior knowledge of these points of contention.

Other posters since including you shthighway have tried to discredit Brian Allen because he only has one post, this is unfair why is his voice any less important than that of a person with 1,000 posts ? Both if in the district of GCW have the same equal vote.

David Burke, you have made yourself visible on this forum to publicise you election campaign, I now appeal to you as a constituent in the GCW district to answer fully and truthfully the questions put forward to you by Mr. Allen.

Regards,
    Niall

sgthighway wrote: »
    While I don't know David Burke personally I know he plays football with his local team Salthill/Knocknacarra. I have played against him and see him play against my club on a regular basis. If he is committed to his local club and is playing he must be attending training sessions. So I don't see why it would matter if he goes to Dublin. The company he works for KPMG specialise in financial audits. They can't audit an external company by sitting in an office in Eyre Square.

MODS: I think people should not be allowed to post here unless they where registered prior to this Thread been setup. People registering just for this topic is an opportunity for people to attack opposing candidates.

The problem is that he does NOT work for KPMG. He worked for them many years ago. Her is the finance director for Fianna Fail for many years now. <modsnip>allegations removed</modsnip>

It is his duplicity in this matter and his attempt to shield himself from his association with Fianna Fáil that concerns me most.

As to his involvement with the Salthill Knocknacarra GAA club. That should not count for much really. Donal Lyons was also involved in the committees. I know that Pearse Flannery also played for them for years as did Peter Keane. So this is really hedging the issue.

The reality is he lives in Dublin and works for Fianna Fáil fulltime. If people do not see Michelle Murphy from Corofin as being unsuitable when she has absolutely no ties to the area whatsoever then where David Burke works should not matter either. He at least has ties to the area, family friends and involvement in the community.

The question is why is he trying to hide his real job and pretend that he is with KPMG when he has not worked for them for years. Maybe he could clarify his involvement with Fianna Fáil <modsnip>allegations removed</modsnip>

• Registered Users Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

Pottymouth wrote: »
    He is the finance director for Fianna Fail for many years now.

The reality is he lives in Dublin and works for Fianna Fáil fulltime.

The question is why is he trying to hide his real job and pretend that he is with KPMG when he has not worked for them for years.

Exactly

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭sgthighway

@Pottymouth - Very fair points.

The problem is that he does NOT work for KPMG. He worked for them many years ago. Her is the finance director for Fianna Fail for many years now. <modsnip>allegations removed</modsnip>

It is his duplicity in this matter and his attempt to shield himself from his association with Fianna Fáil that concerns me most.

As to his involvement with the Salthill Knocknacarra GAA club. That should not count for much really. Donal Lyons was also involved in the committees. I know that Pearse Flannery also played for them for years as did Peter Keane. So this is really hedging the issue.

The reality is he lives in Dublin and works for Fianna Fáil fulltime. If people do not see Michelle Murphy from Corofin as being unsuitable when she has absolutely no ties to the area whatsoever then where David Burke works should not matter either. He at least has ties to the area, family friends and involvement in the community.

The question is why is he trying to hide his real job and pretend that he is with KPMG when he has not worked for them for years. Maybe he could clarify his involvement with Fianna Fáil <modsnip>allegations removed</modsnip>

Pottymouth,

I was talking to one of his canvassers during a few weeks back. He has been in Galway for the last 3 months canvasing in person himself. The guy said that they are pretty sure that himself and his team canvased more than anyone else in the West Ward.

So when it comes to commitment he seems OK to me. He is still playing football.

CowboyTed wrote: »
    Pottymouth,

I was talking to one of his canvassers during a few weeks back. He has been in Galway for the last 3 months canvasing in person himself. The guy said that they are pretty sure that himself and his team canvased more than anyone else in the West Ward.

So when it comes to commitment he seems OK to me. He is still playing football.

Yes but we are not electing footballers. I dont really care where he lives. I do care that he is covering it up.

The question remains unanswered - why is he trying to hide his real job and pretend that he is with KPMG when he has not worked for them for years?

Maybe instead of could he should clarify his involvement with Fianna Fáil and as I referenced earlier for ALL candidates let him produce a tax cleareance certificate.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,998 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

• Registered Users Posts: 25,732 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

An interesting campaigning tactic from one of our candidates for Europe - sure who needs to campaign based on issues!

I notice David Burke seems to have gone to ground on this one. Some straight talking could save him considerable approbrium at the ballot box.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 jmapell

So I want to challange here and now each candidate to prove that they are tax compliant in advance of the election.

Prove your tax compliance, produce a tax clearance cert

Pearce Flannery posted his tax clearance cert on Facebook page, and he just came off Galway Bay FM challenging all candidates to do the same. It makes sense to me..

You shouldn't work in local or national government if your tax affairs aren't in order. It's absolute hypocrisy to ask people to pay tax and then not to pay it yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Well, imagine most would have one. Guys like Burke, Connelly, Flannery, Lyons, etc I'd imagine in their line of work would be all over that.

It would cause some ruckus if someone campaigning for a government party couldn't produce, or someone already in council.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

jmapell wrote: »
    Pearce Flannery posted his tax clearance cert on Facebook page, and he just came off Galway Bay FM challenging all candidates to do the same. It makes sense to me..

You shouldn't work in local or national government if your tax affairs aren't in order. It's absolute hypocrisy to ask people to pay tax and then not to pay it yourself.
    He probably should have blanked out his PPS number (top left, Data Protection fans). It would also be best practice for him to obtain a more recent cert. Not that there's anything wrong with that one (dated July 2013, valid for one year) but given that he's trying to imply that his rivals aren't tax compliant, he might want to reflect the most recent position given that he would have filed a return in October 2013.

Just on Tax Clearance Certs in general, there's a requirement for TDs and other important publicly paid types under the SIPO Act to hold one but not Councillors. It's worth noting that the SIPO Tax Clearance Cert is obtained by a different process to the one Pearce Flannery has supplied.

Captured for posterity.

I notice David Burke seems to have gone to ground on this one. Some straight talking could save him considerable approbrium at the ballot box.

Pottymouth,

All the candidates are hard at it at now... I don't blame him for staying well clear... Those two guys were asking set up questions not policies.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

Those two guys were asking set up questions not policies.

That's just insulting other posters.

I want to know why he is running in Galway when holding down a full time job in Dublin. There's nothing "set up" about that. I would like to know if he will move to Galway or if he will commute; nothing "set up" about that either.

Anyone can trot off a list of impressive sounding policies. Has he any track record whatsoever of actually doing or achieving anything in Galway or for Galway?

He unfortunately strikes me as a party staffer parachuted in by Fianna Fáil head office and nothing he has said or done disabuses that notion.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,977 ✭✭✭thesandeman

While I have no interest or intention of voting for him, in his defense Biko has told him not to post here again until his account is verified. I presume this takes a bit of time.

?Cee?view wrote: »
    That's just insulting other posters.

I want to know why he is running in Galway when holding down a full time job in Dublin. There's nothing "set up" about that. I would like to know if he will move to Galway or if he will commute; nothing "set up" about that either.

Anyone can trot off a list of impressive sounding policies. Has he any track record whatsoever of actually doing or achieving anything in Galway or for Galway?

He unfortunately strikes me as a party staffer parachuted in by Fianna Fáil head office and nothing he has said or done disabuses that notion.

As far I know guy has been the recent Chairman of Salthill Football club... They have 90+ Teams and 1800 members...

He has been one of the hardest working candidate in canvassing.

HE has been asked not to post until verification by Biko. ?Cee I wasn't complaining about your questions as much complaining about the other two who arrived up asking loaded questions quoting anonymous sources.
    Any candidate that comes on here is using there real name, we are anonymous. What happened there ?Cee is those users was taking advantage of their anonymity in setting up to give unfair questions. Suppose that was just another candidate in the race.

Listen if we ask candidates on here to prose their idea and their views we have to be respectful of the risk taken from there side who ever the candidate is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1 dd.danceriver

Hi guys,

I think the election here in Galway City West will be a very close battle for the 6th seat, I believe McNelis will hold onto his seat, he has been very good to small local volunteering and charity groups.

How do ye think SF will poll in GCW ?

RE: prior posts

I know David Burke a little, I would not be of the view or opinion that he is one of the hardest working candidates out canvassing he is yet to call to my door nor the door of my two relatives in the area.

Cowboy Ted, just because he was chairman of a club of 1800 members does not mean he has the backing of 1800 members. It would be my honest opinion that it is the complete opposite, haven't recently left the club just over 2 and a half years ago, their was a lot of unrest and distaste at his chairmanship.

What has been raised on this forum has cast a major cloud over his campaign. I view the move to publish a tax clearance cert by FG candidate P. Flannery to be very open and transparent I commend him for this and believe the others should follow. This should not be a difficulty for David Burke who claims to be chartered accountant.

Mr. Burke has numerous election posters up around the city west area which I presume are provided for him by his party, just because his face is on every second light pole does not make him any more hard working than that of Marc Anderson (Ind).

I understand and respect the request biko has made, I wounder could biko inform us if he has been in contact with Mr. Burke. Because I like many others it seems want to know the answers to the questions raised by previous posters.

Finally I find the deceitful nature in which David Burke has taken to hiding his position in Fianna Fáil as Finance Director to be vastly misleading to his constituents.

Looking forward to your views on the elections guys :D

Pottymouth,

All the candidates are hard at it at now... I don't blame him for staying well clear... Those two guys were asking set up questions not policies.

Fair point and agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

#1 for Mick

Hi guys,

I think the election here in Galway City West will be a very close battle for the 6th seat, I believe McNelis will hold onto his seat, he has been very good to small local volunteering and charity groups.

How do ye think SF will poll in GCW ?

RE: prior posts

I know David Burke a little, I would not be of the view or opinion that he is one of the hardest working candidates out canvassing he is yet to call to my door nor the door of my two relatives in the area.

Cowboy Ted, just because he was chairman of a club of 1800 members does not mean he has the backing of 1800 members. It would be my honest opinion that it is the complete opposite, haven't recently left the club just over 2 and a half years ago, their was a lot of unrest and distaste at his chairmanship.

What has been raised on this forum has cast a major cloud over his campaign. I view the move to publish a tax clearance cert by FG candidate P. Flannery to be very open and transparent I commend him for this and believe the others should follow. This should not be a difficulty for David Burke who claims to be chartered accountant.

Mr. Burke has numerous election posters up around the city west area which I presume are provided for him by his party, just because his face is on every second light pole does not make him any more hard working than that of Marc Anderson (Ind).

I understand and respect the request biko has made, I wounder could biko inform us if he has been in contact with Mr. Burke. Because I like many others it seems want to know the answers to the questions raised by previous posters.

Finally I find the deceitful nature in which David Burke has taken to hiding his position in Fianna Fáil as Finance Director to be vastly misleading to his constituents.

Looking forward to your views on the elections guys :D

Another one post wonder, Am I talking to Neil or Brian at this stage. Another post with a lot of allegations and no proof. I think everyone know his job, it was on Galway Bay FM, where are you going with the hiding.

I am just concerned why you are so interested in Burke... To me Burke and Flannery seem to be the best qualified in the race...

By the way Burke canvased my door last February when no one else seemed to be started... Honestly for a first time poster to come on and call any candidate deceitful and distasteful tells us much more about the poster than the candidate.

Now does anyone want to talk about any of the candidates policies or continue is making snide remarks (especially from first time posters with no history).

Can some one tell me where the policies of the candidates can be found... Anderson, Burke and Flannery are easy found online but the others are harder...

• Registered Users Posts: 55,466 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Another one post wonder, Am I talking to Neil or Brian at this stage.

Yup. Banned (3rd account in as many days).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Mr E wrote: »
    Yup. Banned (3rd account in as many days).

What party did he represent (I think I can guess)?

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭R28

I wouldn't be too impressed with Burke to be honest. If someone wants to get in on a Fianna Fáil banner, they'd want to be something extraordinary to get over the stench of ****e, but Burke comes across as just average at best. Being part of the GAA is hardly a reason to vote for somebody either.

R28 wrote: »
    I wouldn't be too impressed with Burke to be honest. If someone wants to get in on a Fianna Fáil banner, they'd want to be something extraordinary to get over the stench of ****e, but Burke comes across as just average at best. Being part of the GAA is hardly a reason to vote for somebody either.

R28,

This started back when someone said the the few candidates who have polices which they are open about (could look up online) were Flannery, Burke and Anderson...

Then we were talking about the the debate where we we talking about who we thought did well... Again Burke and Flannery were thought to represent themselves the best...

Your opinion on any candidate is grand... But you post like the others is again just unsubstantive.

Is any one looking for actual policies that help.
    I have asked what are there views about companies paying rates during there first couple years of business?
    I would like to know more about the overspend in the city council and what is there proposals to fix it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

The councillors have very little power, most of it has been transferred to the unaccountable executive. It's mainly a stepping stone to national politics/get a job with expenses imo.