Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

The Healy Raes

• Registered Users Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Apologising for an earlier statement where he stated he would make no apologies for.

Does anyone know why DHR apologised for his comments on the planet? Like his views on god made climate change are well known so his contrite apology came as a bit of a surprise given he wouldnt care less what people outside of Kerry think of him. Anyone know did he get some sort of backlash off his own constituents over the comments or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 37 dwmcdos

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Does anyone know why DHR apologised for his comments on the planet? Like his views on god made climate change are well known so his contrite apology came as a bit of a surprise given he wouldnt care less what people outside of Kerry think of him. Anyone know did he get some sort of backlash off his own constituents over the comments or something?

I think it was just that he upset Cleo Murphy tbh, she's on a hiding to nothing here as a Green candidate but she's well thought of all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

What did Cleo Murphy say about his comments on the planet?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭Bellview

I see kerry has got a large increase in speed van detection area... is it a parting gift from Ross to Healy Rae .. and we are now all paying the price of big brother watching our driving

• Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 5,736 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quackster

Bellview wrote: »
    I see kerry has got a large increase in speed van detection area... is it a parting gift from Ross to Healy Rae .. and we are now all paying the price of big brother watching our driving

The more the merrier to keep our roads safer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

What a stupid comment

Slow down and you won’t pay the price

No harm in that, hopefully it'll slow the idiots and boy racers down.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

dwmcdos wrote: »

Yup. Many's the time driving to Killarney on the N21, and you'd see rubber on the road from lads doing doughnuts. Muppets. But then DHR is all for the couple of jars is grand, then jump in behind the wheel...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,924 ✭✭✭threeball

dwmcdos wrote: »

Speed vans do nothing for boy racers. They just catch people going to work and back who are marginally outside the limit.
    If you want to tackle road deaths you put out unmarked cars and have them drive around. I was on a regional road the other day and was overtaken on a bend on a hill. No speed camera will catch the likes of that lad and that's the crap that kills people, not doing 60 in a 50 zone on a dead straight road.

threeball wrote: »
    Speed vans do nothing for boy racers. They just catch people going to work and back who are marginally outside the limit.
    If you want to tackle road deaths you put out unmarked cars and have them drive around. I was on a regional road the other day and was overtaken on a bend on a hill. No speed camera will catch the likes of that lad and that's the crap that kills people, not doing 60 in a 50 zone on a dead straight road.

All speed cameras have a 10% allowance. So marginally outside the speed limit is BS

If you in a 100kmph zone you need to be over 110kmph, and if in 120kmph then you need to be over 132kmph

The reason the zone is 50 is because it is built up and the chances of a human standing out in front of you is higher, the chances of you killing that person doing 60 instead of 50 is also massively increased as well.....only an idiot would think speeding in a built up area makes sense

Everything has been tried to stop road deaths, unless you want to pay millions extra in tax to fund for thousands of Garda to drive the road looking for gobsh*ts then speed cameras is the best method......

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Quackster wrote: »
    The more the merrier to keep our roads safer!

Keep believing that!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    All speed cameras have a 10% allowance. So marginally outside the speed limit is BS

If you in a 100kmph zone you need to be over 110kmph, and if in 120kmph then you need to be over 132kmph

The reason the zone is 50 is because it is built up and the chances of a human standing out in front of you is higher, the chances of you killing that person doing 60 instead of 50 is also massively increased as well.....only an idiot would think speeding in a built up area makes sense

Everything has been tried to stop road deaths, unless you want to pay millions extra in tax to fund for thousands of Garda to drive the road looking for gobsh*ts then speed cameras is the best method......

The law states that anyone driving over the speed limit is liable for prosecution, even if the limit is exceeded by 1mph.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,924 ✭✭✭threeball

There's thousands of places around the country where the speed limits are set at 50 and not a pedestrian in sight. Plenty of speed vans though.

Perhaps you'd like to outline how many pedestrians are killed every year due to excessive speed? It's a scam.

Our major issue is assholes taking risks and also the twats who can't drive and cause massive frustration that leads to people taking chances. You can only tackle these with unmarked cars and you don't need thousands as the very threat that they are about is enough to deter people. They might also have the handy side effect of deterring the tsunami of scumbags coming down from Dublin and robbing rural Ireland blind before returning with their haul safe in the knowledge that they won't be challenged. 100 cars would be more than enough to police the country. Nail anyone taking stupid risks and straight off the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

There's thousands of places around the country where the speed limits are set at 50 and not a pedestrian in sight. Plenty of speed vans though.

Perhaps you'd like to outline how many pedestrians are killed every year due to excessive speed? It's a scam.

Our major issue is assholes taking risks and also the twats who can't drive and cause massive frustration that leads to people taking chances. You can only tackle these with unmarked cars and you don't need thousands as the very threat that they are about is enough to deter people. They might also have the handy side effect of deterring the tsunami of scumbags coming down from Dublin and robbing rural Ireland blind before returning with their haul safe in the knowledge that they won't be challenged. 100 cars would be more than enough to police the country. Nail anyone taking stupid risks and straight off the road.

It is accepted as fact drinking and or speeding kills people. Don't ask someone to prove that The world is not flat.
    People that break road laws not only kill others but seriously injure many others and make the roads seriously scary and unpleasant for the decent law abiding people.
    Your anti Dublin rhetoric is unjustified, is poisonous and has no basis. In my experience travelling it's usually locals that drive like twatsa as they " know the road" sure they even do it drunk over the speed limit, others are far too scared.

Plenty of scumbags in Kerry, just look at the Healy Rae family....gang of them beating up a person on his own.....

100 cars to police the country???

Yes speeding is a scam, never heard such nonsense in all my life. As posted most asshats are the ones that “know the road”....

• Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 5,736 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quackster

Feisar wrote: »
    Keep believing that!

I will cos it really cheers me up knowing speeding scum will be getting letters in the post! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

jmayo wrote: »
    Yeah everytime I see that clip I also realise how nepotism and who you know rules the heart of D4 as well as the likes of Kerry.
    I mean how many shyte comic wantabees get gigs on RTE apart form those whose grandfather was an ex chairman of RTE, cousin of one of the highest paid current employees, son of ex minister and brother of MEP and ex minister of state.

I suppose all that political inbreeding and shenanagins gave him unique insight into how politics in Ireland really works.

Another I hate Dublin and Dublin hates rural Ireland post :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭thequarefellow

Wealthiest politicians in Ireland:

No.1 Michael Lowry, €6.4m
    No.2 Michael Healy-Rae, €5.4m

speaks volumes

“If people in certain sections of society want to laugh at or insult me they’re insulting the people that support me as well,”

He's no fool. His PR stunts, outlandish proposals and controversial statements elicit negative commentary which he twists to be 'an attack on rural Ireland', reaping him more and more votes every time.

speaks volumes

“If people in certain sections of society want to laugh at or insult me they’re insulting the people that support me as well,”

He's no fool. His PR stunts, outlandish proposals and controversial statements elicit negative commentary which he twists to be 'an attack on rural Ireland', reaping him more and more votes every time.

At some stage you have to hope someone in Kerry will ask him

“So Michael what’s your goals and manifesto for the next 5 years”

• Registered Users Posts: 9,152 ✭✭✭limnam

Well for people who lack an education. They seem to have a lot of respect in their area and they also own several business and are very well off!

Have you seen their expenses. Course there well off!

At some stage you have to hope someone in Kerry will ask him

“So Michael what’s your goals and manifesto for the next 5 years”

https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fimgflip.com%2Fi%2F1rnj5m&psig=AOvVaw0KD-WEk-ITzWxCQq2rvf9Z&ust=1582052147410000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CAIQjRxqFwoTCICopNWh2ecCFQAAAAAdAAAAABAU

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭satguy

We all know where Michael Lowry got some of that money from..

He should have did time.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/give-up-the-nonsense-michael-healy-rae-wants-parties-to-form-govt-without-second-election-982412.html

Nice short and sweet read there now for ye lads, plenty for ye to get outraged about, one at a time....

• Registered Users Posts: 16,109 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

“People voted for change, the majority voted for Sinn Féin..."

Eh, no they didn't.

Next.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,283 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Next.

To be fair it’s not ridiculous to expect someone about to negotiate or at least meet SF to know how the figures stack up.

salmocab wrote: »
    To be fair it’s not ridiculous to expect someone about to negotiate or at least meet SF to know how the figures stack up.

To be fair, it's not too hard to deduce from his comment that he may have meant that of all the parties involved in the election, Sinn Féin received the most first preference votes.

But maybe you were unaware of that.

You may also be unaware that of the top ten poll toppers in Ireland 9 of them were Sinn Féin candidates, no prizes for guessing who the only non Sinn Féin candidate was.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,283 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

To be fair, it's not too hard to deduce from his comment that he may have meant that of all the parties involved in the election, Sinn Féin received the most first preference votes.

But maybe you were unaware of that.

You may also be unaware that of the top ten poll toppers in Ireland 9 of them were Sinn Féin candidates, no prizes for guessing who the only non Sinn Féin candidate was.

No not unaware at all, he made a mistake. I’ve no issue with it but he should really be able to use correct language. You posted the bit to provoke outrage and someone pointed out that he was wrong on something. Not sure what you were hoping for, someone will say something you’ll argue and absolutely nobody will change their opinions.

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭thequarefellow

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/give-up-the-nonsense-michael-healy-rae-wants-parties-to-form-govt-without-second-election-982412.html

Nice short and sweet read there now for ye lads, plenty for ye to get outraged about, one at a time....

The Healy-Raes have been around for a long time now and it is well recognised that they would go into government with the Nazi party if it meant they got some work for the family business back in Kilgarvan. I'm not sure if anyone is outraged.