Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

If you could go on the beer with one person from history who would it be?

• 25-09-2020 3:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

SIGGY FREUD; don't think we'd be staying on the beer for long if you catch my drift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,559 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I'd say Freud was an obnoxious bore and cocaine would only have made him even worse.

I'd probably take Jesus for a beer and ask him: dafuq?

Bet you nowadays he'd be turning water to craft beers and aged whiskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Oliver Reed

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Richard Harris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Oliver Reed

Snap. It would be a hell of a long session but that fella could tell a good story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Arthur Guinness just as he starting brewing and offer him a tenner for his brewery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The Bard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Bobby Mugabe......... ledgeball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Winston Churchill or Christopher Hitchens

• Registered Users Posts: 545 ✭✭✭CageWager

Hitler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

CageWager wrote: »
    Hitler
    He'd never shut up! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭the immortals

Marilyn Monroe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Padre Pio

Came across as sound when he was on I'm a Celeb

• Registered Users Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Denny61

The lad or lassie who invented the stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

The guy who invented god/religion!

Hands down the greatest practical joke ever played on the human race... I'd shake their hand and buy them a beer just for the sheer audacity of it. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Jenna Jameson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,039 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Vivian Stanshall.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

Einstein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

John Hume.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee

Jesus Christ

he can turn water into wine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Definitely Hitler or one of them mad fellas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Hibernicis

Michael Collins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,833 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Blondini wrote: »
    Padre Pio

Came across as sound when he was on I'm a Celeb

He hates that whole stigma.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Doug Stanhope. He would be a great laugh and the session would probably go on for days.
    Richard Pryor for a dead person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭Trouser Snake

Watty. Would love to pick his brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

Tony O'Reily, he's supposed to be great craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Socrates

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Socrates

The footballer , I'd want to know if he ever thought of playing for UCD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Socrates

I will join ye, if ye don't mind. I will bring Gráinne Mhaol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Has to be Jesus Christ..even to ask him straight out did he really come back from the dead? If so, it kind of turns the whole question of an afterlife on its head and would give immense peace and comfort to the world. Without that, we just have to take the word of the bible..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭TheBlackPill

I'd say Freud was an obnoxious bore and cocaine would only have made him even worse.

I'd probably take Jesus for a beer and ask him: dafuq?

Bet you nowadays he'd be turning water to craft beers and aged whiskey

He also stated that Irish were too congenitally retarded to benefit from psychoanalysis. ie nothing going on upstairs to analyse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭TheBlackPill

Arthur Guinness just as he starting brewing and offer him a tenner for his brewery.
    Would probably only sell to a fellow loyalist

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Tom Crean.

Would probably only sell to a fellow loyalist

800 years of blah di blah and all that.

He also stated that Irish were too congenitally retarded to benefit from psychoanalysis. ie nothing going on upstairs to analyse

An urban myth , its attributed to the score from the film " the departed " , so in effect Martin Scorsese is responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Jenna Jameson
    A quick beer a couple of blue tablets and straight to the cot.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

has to be JC

Lots of questions to ask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

has to be JC

Lots of questions to ask

Ask him why did he really hit that producer and did the bbc really beg him to come back .... get all the mud man !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Robin Williams, had a great sense of humour. Maybe Dean Martin or going back Brian Boru.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,384 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

My old man, we often used to go for two pints and a serious chat and then the very odd time ended up having an unplanned session with his friends in his local.

Jesus they were some characters and they thought the world of him.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,559 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I'm pretty sure he said we were so practiced at repression that we were impervious to free association (that was the basis of his therapeutic technique at the time). Not sure he implied they were thick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

CageWager wrote: »
    Hitler

I think he was a bit of a goody two shoes guy. Wouldnt touch a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,706 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Socrates

Go easy on the hemlock, the hangover is a killer.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭beachhead

Joan of Arc to convert her or ask her burning question.Dean Martin as wing man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Julius Caesar.

A soldier, celebrity, general, statesman, dictator, poet, historian. He literally created the Roman Empire.

Besides the language barrier, I can't think of a better person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I think he was a bit of a goody two shoes guy. Wouldnt touch a drink.

Hitler didn't smoke, hardly ever drank and didn't eat meat. Must have got his kicks in other ways.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

saabsaab wrote: »
    Hitler didn't smoke, hardly ever drank and didn't eat meat. Must have got his kicks in other ways.

Fair dues.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

saabsaab wrote: »
    He did smoke quite heavily in his younger years, found them a nightmare to give up and became an ardent born again anti smoker later on. Kicked off the first anti tobacco legislation in the world. He was big into being a vegetarian alright, apparently because - and as it turned out a horrific irony and blasphemy against mankind - he couldn't abide the suffering of animals... Brought in the first anti animal experimentation legislation too. Human experimentation on the other hand... :mad:

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Hitler was a ******t