Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Blink 182 Update Thread

• 03-09-2010 1:13am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭

this is a thread for updates on blink 182 regarding news on the new album etc.most people may not like this thread and may not see the idea behind it but some people would love boards to be a thread to find news on blink 182 , and i thought it was a good idea to start a thread ,separate to the thread about the blink gig thread :) as i am a massive blink fan and follow them nearly everyday (dont actually follow them :P) so i will keep this thread updated as much as i can :P and i hope others will post news if they have any aswell :)

also videos ,pictures etc will be added,but please do not post your favorite songs or videos, past interviews etc , just relevant videos pictures , articles and tweets.

i understand some people may not like blink 182 but please if you don't like them , do not post rubbish and don't troll either , if you dont have nothing constructive to say please don't post as i don't want this thread getting cluttered with rubbish :):)

cheers lads :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

Nice. Guess we can let the Blink 182 gig thread die out now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

Nice. Guess we can let the Blink 182 gig thread die out now.

please any talk related to the blink 182 gig i would prefer if it was chatted about on the gig thread :P:P:P

shoit cant find the link any more sorry

From NME:

Blink-182 goaded Guns N' Roses during their Main Stage headline set at Reading Festival tonight (August 29).

Early into their set, frontmen Tom DeLonge and Mark Hoppus referenced Axl Rose and co's chaotic Friday night set at the event's southern site.

"I'm sorry you guys missed out on Guns N' Roses on Friday night," Hoppus said. "But Tom's going to play the intro to 'Sweet Child O' Mine'."

DeLonge then attempted to play the song, though after trying he said: "I haven't practised it! Axl Rose is naked with my dad."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Aw if only blink and gnr days were the other way around. Lol

this is a documentary being made about blink 182 getting back together and following them through the whole process of the come back american tour , european tour and the recording process.its being shot and filmed by two guys both from the states , haven and matt , and together they go by the name HND$M RND$M

heres a few teaser clips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

....just add the band on facebook/myspace/twitter.

dont get you ?? some people dont go on facebook like myself ,and plus its handy to have because most people do be on boards most of the time in work bored and things like that etc

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Trev C

Nice idea for a thread, fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

A V A wrote: »
    dont get you ?? some people dont go on facebook like myself ,and plus its handy to have because most people do be on boards most of the time in work bored and things like that etc

I just don't understand why you've created a thread on a forum for discussing music in general, that deals exclusively with "updates" about the recent goings-on of a single band. And why Blink182, are they the most popular band on this forum?

smokedeels wrote: »
    I just don't understand why you've created a thread on a forum for discussing music in general, that deals exclusively with "updates" about the recent goings-on of a single band. And why Blink182, are they the most popular band on this forum?

Would you rather loads of different threads clogging up the forum?

There's going to be the new album, side projects and then the documentary.

It is a general discussion forum but specific threads (like this one) have gone down well in other sub forums.
    The PW forum, for example.

no they are not better than other bands and im not going to start an argument saying that they are etc i was on the blink 182 gig thread and i just asked everyone would they mind if i started an update thread and if they minded and the moderators though it was a good idea :) im not going to change it for just a few people , and most people think its a good idea :)
    CMpunked wrote: »
    Would you rather loads of different threads clogging up the forum?

There's going to be the new album, side projects and then the documentary.

It is a general discussion forum but specific threads (like this one) have gone down well in other sub forums.
    The PW forum, for example.

cheers :D

K!'s intrepid work experience kids Josh Franceschi and Dan Flint quiz Blink 182 bassist Mark Hoppus about the pop punk legends' reunion and forthcoming album.

marks twitter
    Did we ever figure out what it was that Meatloaf wouldn't do for love?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

Exactly how I feel. If people want to know about the new album there's Blink 182 fan sites and forums out there. And they can always just do an internet search and read the latest updates.

....just add the band on facebook/myspace/twitter.

I don't use facebook/myspace/twitter/bebo etc.

This will turn out to be a very handy thread for me anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Tenks

This is a discussion forum, and this is the music section of that forum.

Is it so horrifying that people wish to discuss a band on it? :rolleyes:

I don't use facebook/myspace/twitter/bebo etc.

This will turn out to be a very handy thread for me anyway!

same here i refuse to use those site !!!

i don see whats wrong with this, people use boards everyday and use it as ther bebo facebook etc all those things!!!

please can we get back on topic , if you dont see the point in this thread , please stay off it and it wont bother you , its not doing any harm, this thrad is much better than later on down the line when more updates come in and there are way more separate thread on blink etc!!!!

Good to see my favourite band is being taken as controversial as they used to. :)

Feels like I'm a teenager again. :D

Won't someone please think of the children?

blink on stage in austria last night

2535.jpg

What a mad looking arena! Looks like it's under a bridge or something!

CMpunked wrote: »
    What a mad looking arena! Looks like it's under a bridge or something!

ye i know its so weird , look were the seats are :S:S:S i thought the exact same thing when i first saw it

Anyone notice that Blink have the same small red carpet in Austria that they had in Dublin?
    Tom always plays on red carpet on this tour for some bizzare reason

ye he has had it since the start of this tour :D picky bast*rd

img_1868.jpgimg_1886.jpgimg_1895.jpgimg_1901.jpgimg_1910.jpgimg_1938.jpgimg_4055.jpgimg_4062.jpgimg_4084.jpgimg_4089.jpg

img_4094.jpgimg_4111.jpgimg_4120.jpg

chris holmes twitter "
    Blink Europe 2010 is complete! Now back to the states and immediately into a recording studio. The drums stay on the floor there

Immediately into recording studio?!
    Schweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet

chris holmes twitter "

Who is he btw?

he's their producer/sound engineer / good friend , he works with mark on alot of things when mark is producing band and things

Oh right. This will be the first Blink album since Chesire Cat or Dude Ranch (not exactly sure) without Jerry Finn producing :(

ye blink are re thinking using a producer for the next album , chris wholms isnt the offical blink producer etc , he worked with mark on alot of things in the studios, they are thinking of recording the album themselves , it can be done theses days , look at all the angels and airwaves albums , they were all recorded in toms house. . .never pants ranch :P
    dont think the feel the same with out jerry tho :rolleyes: he did all their past albums etc

Mark could produce it without any help.

But blink are so well diversified musically these days that I think them producing it will just be an extension of that.
    With all due respect to Jerry Finn, I think this album will be blinks best.
    And because the knowledge he bestowed into each number of the band.

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭_sparkie_

i dont know if that is a good idea. i think jerry acted as a peace maker on the last album and made sure tempers didnt get out of hand, if you have tom and mark producing their new album they could start fighting again about who gets the final say on a certain song.

_sparkie_ wrote: »
    i dont know if that is a good idea. i think jerry acted as a peace maker on the last album and made sure tempers didnt get out of hand, if you have tom and mark producing their new album they could start fighting again about who gets the final say on a certain song.

god ye i think to many idea's will be flung around and one wont agree with the other etc but we will just have to wait and see

interview with rocks sound about blink in the old days :)

http://www.rocksound.tv/features/article/your-questions-first-blink-182

This was in the Northside People
    NORTHSIDER Neil Brady is on top of the world after meeting his idols, punk band Blink 182, who were “blown away” by his shoulder-to-wrist tribute tattoo in honour of them.
    The 22-year-old was given preferential treatment by the world-famous band when they played to a sell-out crowd in the O2 on August 31.
    The VIP treatment was more than deserved given that the Baldoyle local shed tears, blood and is e1,600 lighter in the wallet as a result of his one-of-a-kind arm homage to the band that he has been a fan of for over a decade.
    More than 40 hours of wincing and agonising pain amassed through 12 sittings paid off for Neil as his idols branded him a “legend and their biggest fan” when they met him.
    “It was touch and go whether I would get to meet them or not because they didn’t want to do any meet and greets before the gig,” Neil explained.
    “I was waiting at reception when their big security guy came down to talk to me.
    “Once he saw the tattoo on my arm he said today was my lucky day before escorting me backstage to meet the guys who said they would love to check out my arm.”
    Quivering with excitement and apprehension Neil stood outside the dressing rooms waiting for his dream of meeting his idols to come true.
    “I almost had to pinch myself, I was just so excited,” he stated.
    “I was absolutely bowled over when Travis Barker the drummer came out and shook my hand.
    “Then Tom DeLonge, the lead singer, came out and checked out my tattoo. He loved it and said he’d never seen anything like it before.
    “The bassist thought the tattoo was amazing.
    “I told them how much of an honour it was for me to meet them but they said the honour was theirs.”
    Neil added: “I was really overwhelmed and shaking but then Travis Barker told me to relax and that they were just normal people like me.”
    The delighted fan was given his pick of the band’s memorabilia before they posed with him for pictures which, like his tattoos, he will have as a constant reminder of the band that got him through the dark days following the death of his mother some years ago.
    Meeting the members of Blink 182 was the icing on the cake for Neil who is recognised as “the Blink 182 guy” by some youths in Malahide and Portmarnock where he regularly walks with his friends and his dog.
    “I get people coming up to me all the time asking if they can take a look at the tattoo and students are always taking pictures of my arm,” Neil said proudly.
    But will the young post office worker feel any differently when the benefit of age, wisdom and saggy skin kicks in?
    “Regardless of what anybody thinks or whether the band splits up and my skin gets saggy, I’ll always love my tattoo,” Neil stated with absolute conviction.
    “That tattoo represents my memories of a band that got me through some pretty tough times.
    “My mother passed away about five years ago after a long illness so I would lock myself into my room in times when the ambulance had to come and take her to hospital.
    “Those were very difficult, sad and stressful times for me growing up and the one thing that remained constant in my life was my love of Blink 182.
    “I would fall asleep listening to their music.
    “I don’t know how I would have coped otherwise.”
    He added: “Meeting the band was the icing on the cake for me and I’m a very happy man now.”

Taken from here:
    http://www.dublinpeople.com/content/view/3708/56/

What a great little story!

Waiting at reception?

Must've been the hotel then.

that is a great story , chuffed for that dude :) . . luck pr*ck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭mark182

you may know this already but screw it

tom talks a little about wat the new album will sound like
    http://www.bloginity.com/blog/2010/08/30/interview-tom-delonge-talks-blink-182-album/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Tenks

Sorta off topic, but does anyone know any shops in Dublin City Centre that sells Atticus clothing? I know you can sometimes find some in TK Maxx but that place is a complete lottery. :pac:

nah you cant really buy atticus anywhere in dublin , like you said tkmax ye but there does be the odd t shirt or belt in a random shop, you just have to be lucky to find atticus clothing :P tk maxx in blanch always has atticus

At rehearsals shooting with blink now and to answer your questions about when its coming out. This is the LAST show we are shooting on Sunday. We are cutting like a bastard now. If we had a specific date we'd give it to you. Soon this will be yours. H*R

practise for the epicentre gig

photo.jpg

via marks blog
    "Back in the rehearsal spot today to get ready for the KROQ Epicenter 2010 show this weekend. As we plan it now, this show will be our last until we have new music to perform. It’s time for us to get back into the studio and finish this new album. The tours have been amazing and so much fun. Now we’re all excited to get back into the writing and recording process. Lots of ideas and lots of enthusiasm. No pressure, we’re just trying to write the best album we’ve ever made

blink are officially in the studio

http://www.altpress.com/news/entry/blink-182_back_in_the_studio/

marks twitter
    At the studio. Re-commencing the blink-182 album.....NOW!

WOOHOO

woo fcuking hoo is right !!!!!!! bow time :P: P me cant wait , bloo boo hoo

Another productive day in the studio. Yesterday was the first real dip back into recording up here in LA since the tour ended. There are a lot of ideas floating around on these hard drives, and it’s great to be getting back into it. Making noise. Loud noise. Into microphones and onto recording machines. Robots. Recording robots. No tape, just anthropomorphic machines. Anyway, I played bass on a track that Tom had been working on last week, and Travis played drums on another one.
    Then today I came in and slappad-da-bass on the track Travis destroyed on yesterday. Sang some background vocals. Wrote some harmonies. Then Travis came in and played drums on another one. Also, I ate half of a chef’s wrap and half a breakfast burrito. Possibly the highlight of the recording day. Lunch always is.
    Bass used yesterday: Petey, the off-the-shelf Fender Precision bass that I bought during the recording of Enema of the State, and used on most of that album. Here’s a photo
    bassc.jpg

Bass used today: Lettuce, my custom signature-model Fender that I’ve used on pretty much every recording since Enema. This one’s a champ. No photo of the bass from today, but here’s the mic’ing configuration we used for the cabinet, for all my fellow studio geeks out there. Please feel free to postulate to yourself about how YOUR mic’ing technique is infinitely superior

soundk.jpg

Now tonight I’m trying to write lyrics for a song we’ve been working on for a long time, that I want to sing tomorrow. This track is near(ish) complete. Drums, bass, guitars, percussion, and keys already recorded. I think it still needs a great guitar lead, which Tom will kill. If I can write and record the lead vocals, doubles, and harmonies tomorrow, I’ll consider it a win. A passing first-down plus yardage with no penalties, if you will. I’d also like to re-track the bass on Up All Night, the elusive track that we were very close to releasing last summer, but decided to wait till we could record more and figure out exactly where this album is headed.
    Lots of work ahead of us these next few months. We’re leaning into the studio and trying to get this new album released sooner than later. We’re not going to rush anything, but we’re not going to lag, either. For those of you who are interested in the day-to-day minutia of the recording process, I’ll do my best to keep posting to this here site, and not flooding anyone’s twitters or facebooks or myspaces with a bunch of studio updates. Instead, I’ll flood those accounts with Star Wars references, non-sequitors, and “what’s the deal with”’s…
    OH SNAP!!! As I’m writing this post, I just heard Travis’s new take on the drums for Up All Night. He totally MURDERED it!! Damn!! Excited…
    AAAAAnnnyyway, that’s it for today. Now, just to show you how much I care, here’s a photograph of a penguin I took while in Antarctica. For realz.

:D:D

Wow, they're sure working with some speed