Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What age do you stop sessioning/going to bars?

• 02-03-2021 7:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭

GiganticFrighteningGilamonster-size_restricted.gif

Last time I was in a 'proper' club was 18 months ago, just randomly went with my ex one night for a dance. Before that, it was probably 2016. I tend to just stick to bars these days, haven't even been to Coppers since around 2017.
    When do you hang up your boots and retire to the corner of some old man pub?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

About March 2020.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Fake Scores

fellowkids.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Got sick of the nightclub scene after I finished university.

I'll never get sick of the 5-6 pints of stout in a classic boozer among good friends. One of life's great pleasures.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,876 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

when you realise its a load of sh!te, and theres more to life

• Registered Users Posts: 6,757 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Never hopefully.
    Went to see Laurent Garnier last year and it was great.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,506 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Prefer the pub these days (BC times, before covid)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,610 ✭✭✭Feisar

When the stride of pride becomes the walk of shame.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭Mundo7976

Marriage

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,850 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

Standard scoring nightclubs (particularly the rural after-pub desperation places) - after your mid 20s it gets a bit pathetic; and the older audience clubs are depressing.

Going to see a DJ of note / performance by someone in a club is basically the same as going to a gig, just later/longer. Nobody finds it odd that there's people in their 60s+ going to gigs, go as old as you want to.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Yurt! wrote: »
    Got sick of the nightclub scene after I finished university.

I'll never get sick of the 5-6 pints of stout in a classic boozer among good friends. One of life's great pleasures.
    And it gives your Ma a free run in the local "grab a granny" club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

If you enjoy going to clubs or whatever, you shouldn't let age stop you. And you definitely shouldn't let other people tell you you're too old.

I was never into that kind of thing. I've only ever been in a nightclub once in my entire life and I hated almost every second of it. It took me a while to accept that life's too short to waste time pretending to enjoy stuff that people tell you you're 'supposed' to enjoy. I'd rather read a book.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

I stopped weekly binge drinking/sessioning around 26/27.

Between the age of around 15/16 - mid 20's I would drink at least once a week, and around my late teens/early 20's I would do a lot of drugs as well, like weed coke, e, benzo's, opiates etc...

Now I would very, very rarely drink, last year the only time I drank was on NYE and I only had about 4 or 5 bottles of smirnoff ice.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,336 ✭✭✭jj880

Mid 30s. Had great craic with big booz ups in my 20s.

These days drinking 8 pints and a heap of wee ones doesn't suit me. I get out of order and its no fun for anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,336 ✭✭✭jj880

Also

hungover-in-your-20s-hungover-in-your-30s-the-dad-s0luB.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

.anon. wrote: »
    If you enjoy going to clubs or whatever, you shouldn't let age stop you. And you definitely shouldn't let other people tell you you're too old.

I was never into that kind of thing. I've only ever been in a nightclub once in my entire life and I hated almost every second of it. It took me a while to accept that life's too short to waste time pretending to enjoy stuff that people tell you you're 'supposed' to enjoy. I'd rather read a book.

I 100% agree.

I loved going to clubs & raves to hear DJ's I liked, people like Mr. Spring, Mark Kavanagh, Keno Flanagan, Ed Case etc... I could appreciate the music even more by being sober. But I had some great experiences taking E & going to raves, and all that, but my problem was after a while the come down from them would be so horrible & last for a couple of days were I couldn't go to sleep & I'd be very paranoid so I'd start taking a couple of Valium or Xanax with some sleeping tablets the day after taking E to help chill me out & after a while I started getting addicted to benzo's & sleeping pills.
    Obviously that's not everyone's experience & most people could be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭magic_murph

GiganticFrighteningGilamonster-size_restricted.gif

Last time I was in a 'proper' club was 18 months ago, just randomly went with my ex one night for a dance. Before that, it was probably 2016. I tend to just stick to bars these days, haven't even been to Coppers since around 2017.
    When do you hang up your boots and retire to the corner of some old man pub?

Just a dance was it.... all friendly like....straight home after... no kissing or the like....
    Something doesn't add up about this story

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭magic_murph

Never hopefully.
    Went to see Laurent Garnier last year and it was great.

What shampoo is he pushing these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 dragx

Stopped with dedicated nightclubs when I was around 22.

If we're talking about pubs that do club nights (Grand Social, Fibbers, VCC, etc.,) then I'll venture into one once in a while, usually by accident or if I'm in the pub with the lads and we get a bit bored of hearing each other speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,150 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

When you bump into your children there.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,861 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I was never a nightclub guy.

Never saw the appeal of Qing up in the cold at 11pm on a pissy February night to get looked up and down by a gorilla with the IQ of a goldfish, to then pay just to enter an establishment where every drink on top of that is about 40-50% more expensive than your local... and the place is fûcking littered by posers...

Last nightclub I’m in was Diceys, after an Ireland game about 5 years ago...didn’t get the hype..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,935 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

When you walk into a disco and they offer you a seat...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

Was never a fan of clubs, but having a few drinks with friends in a bar is one of best things. Haven't been in a pub for over a year now.

Went to a club with a small group maybe 2 years ago. They had gone there a lot as teenagers and wanted a hit of nostalgia. We all hated it. Funnily they commented that the creepy single guys who hung around there when my friends when 10-15 years ago were still there, creepin'.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,367 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Obviously, all of this has been abruptly stopped since March 2020, but up until that point I would have still been very fond of going semi regularly for a good feed of pints.

I'm in my thirties now and I still love a good night out and if the craic is good I can stay out until the bitter end of a night and I'd know plenty of my age and into the forties that still like a good session. The powers of recovery aren't what they used to be for sure, but I like a night out drinking with friends. I miss it a lot, not so much the booze, more the comraderie, the shít talk, the silliness, being around people having a good time, meeting randomers and the unexpected.

Nightclubs? I can take or leave. It really depends on the music and who you're with. You have to be open to where the night might take you. If you feel like you're too old for it, then you definitely are too old for it. A proper out and out club wouldn't be top of my list of places to go and it wouldn't have been back in the day either, but I can be roped into it.

Somewhere that's a good mix of everything: a late bar, with a good smoking section, but also with music and dance floor and a mix of ages. That's perfect I think. Equal areas of light and dark.

I fully intend to go to all kinds of gigs, even mad and crazy ones - particularly the crazy ones - for as long as I can stand. The day I stop being compelled to go see live music is the day I know that I am an old fart. That happening to my body is an inevitability, but I hope it never happens to my soul.

Ahh, getting fair nostalgic here. I would absolutely murder a pint of Guinness with friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I stopped going on sessions when the hangover lasted longer than the session.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

There comes a point in life where people just stop going to niteclubs. Pubs even.

Usually its one of these stages. It only takes one of them. Or when your mates reach these stages even if you dont.

1 - You get a Mortgage
    2 - You settle down with another person.
    3 - You have children
    4 - You get married.
    5 - You just hit an age where it doesnt appeal to you anymore
    6 - It just becomes a choice between not being able to work or being able to stay up late.

JimmyVik wrote: »
    6 - It just becomes a choice between not being able to work or being able to stay up late.

Thats why I like to do my drinking during the day.

Start around 11am and in bed by 7pm.
    Up the next day bright and early + well rested.

I break it down into 3 phases:

16/17 to 22 is your solid nightclub/sessioning years. 6 - 7 years of guilt-free, "I'm not old yet" drinking. Those heady nights where you land home drunk and the world is your oyster.

23 to 26/27 ... you can sense the most enjoyably carefree days are slipping behind as you start to feel older than others you see out eg. college students, but you suppress those thoughts while you are out and try to press on regardless.

27/28 onwards ... you feel like an "older person" when you are out in a nightclub, or just drinking in general, and you are coming to terms with this. Still have some good nights but you don't go out as often and they just aren't *as* good as before, as your social circle decreases and friends go out less often

jj880 wrote: »
    Mid 30s. Had great craic with big booz ups in my 20s.

Ah, the "Dirty Thirties". When you're young enough to still pull a student and old enough to pull her mam. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

• Registered Users Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭Hamachi

27/28 onwards ... you feel like an "older person" when you are out in a nightclub, or just drinking in general, and you are coming to terms with this. Still have some good nights but you don't go out as often and they just aren't *as* good as before, as your social circle decreases and friends go out less often

27/28 is still fairly young to hang up your boots. Most people I know kept the party going until they were 31/32. Still know a few people who go on regular sessions, even now in their late 30s.

I’d kill for mad one now after being stuck at home for a year. My wife has given me her blessing to head to London to visit my oldest friend when this is all over. Looking forward to a couple of messy nights out, blowing off a bit of steam and forgetting my responsibilities.