Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Irish Pub is finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭worded

I sometimes the designated driver

5 euro for a bottle of Heineken 0
    Over priced minerals

Had a pint at the start of the night once and the bar man accidentally gave me another on the next round.

I explained I was the driver and he grumpily took the Guinness back. Easily resold, but taken back with attitude. I then hit the over priced water.

The other 4 people wouldn’t be there if it wasn’t for me.

Breathalysed that night on the way home and was under the limit

Pubs have super normal profits. Couldn’t care less if they closed. It’s tine a lot of people found a different hobby that getting sh1t faced on over priced booze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,815 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Probably in the domestic kitchen as most pubs, especially rural ones have the proprietors living on site. Freezer and a fryer, nothing complicated about it and the chances of poisonings are slim. All pubs have to offer food I believe, it’s a condition of the licence, correct me if I’m wrong.

The chances of poisoning being ‘slim’ isn’t good enough. It has to be nil.

Both the pubs I frequent you can see into the kitchen and you would almost eat your dinner off the floor it’s that spotless.

Either way the FSAI I believe are the auditors and they are not going to rewrite the regs or start turning a blind eye just to suit the ‘industry’... they are in fact VERY proactive in carrying out audits on pubs, takeaways and restaurants and actioning any establishments that are in non compliance with law enforcement as relates to food preparation... “The principal function of the Food Safety Authority of Ireland is to protect consumers and raise compliance through partnership, science and food law enforcement”....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,543 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Once pubs go down the food route they are no long part of the traditional pub culture imo.

So for me they have slowly dying for years.

For watching the Brennans in At Your Service, money is made in the food not in drinks

• Registered Users Posts: 12,907 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

touts wrote: »
    Good riddance. We think they are the only way to have fun and that everyone else on the world loves us for them. In reality they are a cancer in Irish society and everyone else is laughing at us because of them.

Huh? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,910 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Not a fan of drinking and eating together (nightmare sanario for me for the next 3 weeks). Always have food before I'd start drinkin The smell of food in pubs turns my stomach

Can't see the irish pub disappear, people have been used to it for years and almost every celebration both good and bad is shared inside its walls.

Different times today but young people like trying to be the old irish (for there Instagram followers etc). We see all the trendy bands trying to reimagine the dubliners etc and drinking the guiness like me grandad did etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Its definitely going to be different.

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭SlowMotion321

As a recovering alcoholic who has fallen off the wagon once or twice I feel sorry for the lost jobs but find it hard to drum up sympathy for the lost pubs, my own opinion (and my own weakness) before you normal tipplers jump at me!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

As a recovering alcoholic who has fallen off the wagon once or twice I feel sorry for the lost jobs but find it hard to drum up sympathy for the lost pubs, my own opinion (and my own weakness) before you normal tipplers jump at me!

They have fallen on their own sword. I genuinely hope most of them burn in eternal hell, because that’s what they deserve.

Get a grip lads

Be real bout bat flu etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭worded

Drinking at home with a “Guinness fart” scented candle for ambience is cheaper

https://www.dailyedge.ie/ireland-in-scented-candles-1192352-Dec2013/

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

What decade was the "Heyday" for the pub 80s, 90s?

I hope I'm never going to buy something off you, if you think business should be done with less than minimal effort.

For 3 weeks as a token? Of course it should be minimal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

Good riddance. We think they are the only way to have fun and that everyone else on the world loves us for them. In reality they are a cancer in Irish society and everyone else is laughing at us because of them.

In 20 years around a quarter will still exist. Another quarter will have evolved into something like wine bars. The rest will be gone. And we will look back at the time of the pub and wonder what the hell we were thinking. We are moving to a more mature relationship with drink.

Shame we're not moving to a more mature relationship with the crystal ball or speaking for others.

"everyone" is laughing? Are they? Really?
    A quarter will have evolved into "wine bars"?
    How many wine bars do you know of? They were a concept that died a death.

Do you have any stock market tips? Just so I can completely avoid your inane predictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,703 ✭✭✭Feisar

They have fallen on their own sword. I genuinely hope most of them burn in eternal hell, because that’s what they deserve.

No one was ever forced into a pub that I ever seen. You make it sound like people are akin to ducks/geese being force fed to make foie gras.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Strumms wrote: »
    The chances of poisoning being ‘slim’ isn’t good enough. It has to be nil.

Both the pubs I frequent you can see into the kitchen and you would almost eat your dinner off the floor it’s that spotless.

Either way the FSAI I believe are the auditors and they are not going to rewrite the regs or start turning a blind eye just to suit the ‘industry’... they are in fact VERY proactive in carrying out audits on pubs, takeaways and restaurants and actioning any establishments that are in non compliance with law enforcement as relates to food preparation... “The principal function of the Food Safety Authority of Ireland is to protect consumers and raise compliance through partnership, science and food law enforcement”....

A lot of naivity around that the likes of the FSAI will just turn a blind eye to make life easy for the pubs. The FSAI have issued closure orders for hospital kitchens, do people think they won't issue them for pub "kitchens"consisting of a fridge and mircowave in a back room?

In 20 years around a quarter will still exist. Another quarter will have evolved into something like wine bars. The rest will be gone. And we will look back at the time of the pub and wonder what the hell we were thinking. We are moving to a more mature relationship with drink.

One of the most stupid posts I’ve ever read on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,703 ✭✭✭Feisar

A lot of naivity around that the likes of the FSAI will just turn a blind eye to make life easy for the pubs. The FSAI have issued closure orders for hospital kitchens, do people think they won't issue them for pub "kitchens"consisting of a fridge and mircowave in a back room?

I'm not disagreeing however a lot of places with no proper kitchen do a pizza and a pint. Some form of a frozen pizza in a grill behind the bar. How do they get away with it?

Also I know two bars in my town delivering pints. It's a bit of a novelty however I don't think it's in strict adherence to a pub licence.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭enricoh

The village I live in had 7 pubs 20 years ago and this year 3 were still open.

The future is bleak for 2 of them which were rented out, hard to see how they could make money with only a few people allowed in.

We head west to the in ln-laws a few times a year. In the local town it'd be the same, half of them gone in 20 years and most of the rest struggling.
    Every few years some genius comes back from Dubai or oz with 100k burning a hole n reopens one.
    Better off having 4 good pubs doing well than double that struggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Was just about the say the same thing. And, given the amount of ****e that's talked on here, that is saying something :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

Be real bout bat flu etc

How much have you consumed, JG? It's nearly 6am.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭riddles

People leaving school in the late 80s and 90s were more likely to go to college, moving out of rural towns. They would tend to socialise in the closest larger towns. Most local pubs were kept viable by cohort dedicated customers. The customers for the traditional Irish local pub have literally died out. It’s a popular misconception that the “peeeeple of rural Ireland depend on the local pub”.

Did you see this one? Mark cannot get any sleep because of the "rampaging" alcoholics.
    markfinn wrote: »
    Good.
    While it won't do much to improve the current mobs of shambling alcoholics in the country, it will hopefully reduce the time they spend rampaging around the streets when all worthwhile people are trying to sleep, and will reduce the impression being handed to the next generation that this self-destructive and socially destructive behaviour is "cultural", "normal" or "acceptable".

Did you see this one? Mark cannot get any sleep because of the "rampaging" alcoholics.

I’d love to know where he lives. Maybe Mark just needs a study aid.

s1LP7Rt.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Hoboo

riddles wrote: »
    . It’s a popular misconception that the “peeeeple of rural Ireland depend on the local pub”.

Eh, for a few pints and a chat in a pub, locally, we do. Wheres the misconception?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭riddles

Hoboo wrote: »
    Eh, for a few pints and a chat in a pub, locally, we do. Wheres the misconception?

The misconception is that the local pub in rural Ireland was \ is frequently visited by the majority of people from within its surrounding area.

But that would be roughly correct. When I think of my neighbours down home, it isn't so much a question of whether they visit any pubs, but which pub do they most typically frequent? My nearest town (it's really only a village) has ten pubs, and only two convenience shops. This is not complicated mathematics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Hoboo

You're going to have to point me to some sort of research because I can only rely on my own experience of 12 years of rural village living.

We've a population of around 500 in the immediate village area. Monday to Thursday there's always 10-15 in there and not the same faces, sometimes more depending on what's on. Friday Saturday it's packed (60) Sunday packed all day and another 30-40 outside of it's nice. Doesn't even do food, proper old school crossroads pub so just there for pints, craic and music. Not sure what you classify as a majority, but 12% of the village population I would have thought is pretty high. Granted there's always 4 or 5 from outside.

I'm confident I'm not the only one who actually lives in rural Ireland with a similar local pub.

Will it be finished? I can't see how it won't be. Impossible to distance, old pubs weren't built for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Augeo wrote: »
    Job losses are never good but less pubs would be net positive for the nation. They are a crutch for many who might find a better use of their time & money going forward.

This a thousand times over.

Irish people need to break their relationship with pubs and excessive drinking culture. Hopefully the remaining pins will have to substantially increase prices so going for one pint is no big deal, but makes full days and nights drinking less of a thing.

€1 onto a pint is nothing if you are going for one or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,519 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Nearest town had something like 14 pubs, now only 7 still going. Of that 7, 2 of them serve food regularly, 4 have some form of recorded music or live music. Most of them are near deserted Mon through Thurs.

2 are old soaks type hangouts that are unlikely to survive beyond the demise of the current owners and/or their regulars. The only saving the rest is they are owner occupied and run. If it was a city I'd say only one of the 7 might be viable and even then it would be a struggle. If the whole lot of them closed it wouldn't worry me in the slightest as I might go there once or twice a year if even that.

_Brian wrote: »

Irish people need to break their relationship with pubs and excessive drinking culture. Hopefully the remaining pins will have to substantially increase prices so going for one pint is no big deal, but makes full days and nights drinking less of a thing.

Lovely, you don’t like pubs so let’s force those who do out of them. Pretty bad at attitude especially since pubs are such a great place and source of enjoyment for so many. Also the amount of jobs you are happy to see lost.

I can’t wait for corona to feck off and be back to in to the pub at least twice a week. The pub has so many different but great types of evening/night to offer too. Really miss going straight to the pub Thursday evening/night after work for pints with the work friends, the weekend session, the all day on the beer two days in a row weekends, the occasional visit to the early house for pints at 8am on a Saturday morning, nice evening out with my wife and lots of drinks, the quiet few with my dad down the local chatting about farming and sport etc.

_Brian wrote: »

Translation: I hate pubs and don’t go into them, so this opportunity to let them die out, and drinking alcohol made as hard as possible, should be seized

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,475 ✭✭✭pgj2015

what do you think the first weekend the pubs open is going to be like? im talking about the pubs that open in July.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

pgj2015 wrote: »
    what do you think the first weekend the pubs open is going to be like? im talking about the pubs that open in July.

If you're talking about Pubs which only serve alcohol. Then it will depend on what the updated guidelines are like.

They will almost certainly have to be tweaked

ShyMets wrote: »
    If you're talking about Pubs which only serve alcohol. Then it will depend on what the updated guidelines are like.

They will almost certainly have to be tweaked

But will it be like paddies day or even more mental?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

It comes back to the guidelines. If they are similar to what is already there, I can see a lot of people not bothering with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Lovely, you don’t like pubs so let’s force those who do out of them. Pretty bad at attitude especially since pubs are such a great place and source of enjoyment for so many. Also the amount of jobs you are happy to see lost.

I can’t wait for corona to feck off and be back to in to the pub at least twice a week. The pub has so many different but great types of evening/night to offer too. Really miss going straight to the pub Thursday evening/night after work for pints with the work friends, the weekend session, the all day on the beer two days in a row weekends, the occasional visit to the early house for pints at 8am on a Saturday morning, nice nice evening out with my wife and lots of drinks, the quiet few with my dad down the local chatting about farming and sport etc.

Your wife sounds like a lucky gal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,981 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I'm pretty sure they've already said it'll be table service only. 2 metres from each other though probably drop that to 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Hairy Japanese BASTARDS!

They should've stopped off sales during Covid as well.

God knows some people could cut down. Myself included.

Let he without sin cast the boulder. If my girlfriend wants to have a night out with the ladies, I'm not exactly going to stand in the way. Nor will she if I frequent the local for a few jars of a Wednesday evening. Respect is a two way street.

Bit of a difference between a quiet Wednesday evening and regular 2 day weekend benders though.

ShyMets wrote: »
    It comes back to the guidelines. If they are similar to what is already there, I can see a lot of people not bothering with them

I can see it being mayhem to be honest, look at the way arthurs day was or st. stephen's night after the pubs being closed for 1 day. the young crowd will go crazy I think. the publicans cant control people once they get out on the streets.

Bit of a difference between a quiet Wednesday evening and regular 2 day weekend benders though.

Two solid days on the beer would be an occasional event rather than regular (unfortunately).

They should've stopped off sales during Covid as well.

God knows some people could cut down. Myself included.

That would have been madness, beer is about the only thing that kept a lot of people sane of the last few months.

Two solid days on the beer would be an occasional event rather than regular (unfortunately).

Do you mind me asking how old you are?

I’m mid 30’s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

I don't think the Irish pub is finished at all in Ireland but do think only the stronger pubs will survive the days of a call country town having 10 pubs are over, not sustainable and never really were anyway.

There are about 7,000 pubs in Ireland now, a reduction of 1,500 since 2005. It's probably fair to say we will lose another 1,500 in the coming years but it won't die out.

Some people won't return to the pub for financial or health reasons, they might have ditched the drink during the covid crisis or decided they prefer to drink at home but anyone living alone cannot wait to be back in the pub, mixing with people again, especially single people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

No need for personal insults

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

How mane people here would bother with the pub under the booking, distancing rules and needing to buy a meal, and a 90 or 120 min time limit? I know I wouldn't. I might go once for novelty value but I probably won't go until the new rules aren't necessary anymore.

I liked the pub for a "couple of beers" after work on a Friday and end up staying for hours when the craic is good. Or going to watch a match with the lads in a packed pub.

The new rules don't allow for any of the reasons I used to like the pub. I won't be bothering with it.