Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

using old sky dish with new freeview TV

Options
  • 17-11-2020 5:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭

Hi Guys,

I am a complete noobie here and no knowledge so please don't think i know anything at all.

I bought a new TV for my dad, he had got Sky but insisted in it been cut off as its "a waste of money", so that happened.
    Anyway his TV packed in and I bought him a nice new Toshiba with built in Freeview, I connected it to the analogue Ariel and the sky dish and did the first time installation, but it ran trough a list of transponders or something, IE "Astra 3E" etc etc and said no signal.
    is this normal that the old sky dish will be of no use with a Freeview tuner in the TV?
    I heard the lads at work say thy got all these extra stations using the old sky dish, just plugged it into the TV and eh presto it worked?

I climbed up and the LMB-LNB is in good order for its age, maybe 8 years old now and the cable is spot on, i even checked the cable with a multi meter and it is not broken.

can I have a little help please.

Mick.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 15,479 ✭✭✭✭The Cush

I assume you've connected the satellite dish to the TV, screw-on f-connector?

For the satellite channels you'll have to do a satellite scan on Astra 28 degrees E.