Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Mikel Arteta
    Hearing that Inter have expressed an interest in Xhaka

I’d take £120m for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,204 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Mikel Arteta
    L'prof wrote: »
    I’d take £120m for him

I’d agree if I believed they’d invest it in new players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Mikel Arteta
    I’d agree if I believed they’d invest it in new players.

I think they would. That’s the only way they’ll spend a decent wedge. Without player sales it’ll just be £50/60m again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Conflicting opinions about Liverpool - Chelsea. Chelsea winning could see us miss out on a champions league place and a Liverpool win would put them in with a great change to win the league.

Overall I think us playing 8 games in the champions league next season is less important than hearing liverpool fans talking about their league win for the next 30 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭DenMan

Knowing our luck we'll win the Europa League now! :pac:

Liverpool 2-0 up against Chelsea.

OmegaGene wrote: »
    Shhh

Chelsea won't be coming back from this. They should have started Giroud imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

Julian Nagelsmann
    DenMan wrote: »
    Knowing our luck we'll win the Europa League now! :pac:

You dont get a trophy finishing in the top 4 but you get a trophy winning europa #JustSaying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Mikel Arteta
    Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is Arsenal's highest Premier League goalscorer this season with 17 goals - but he hasn't scored away from home in 2019. His last seven goals in all competition have come at the Emirates.

He’s surely due an away goal then ?

I think it's more symptomatic of the way we play away from home. He tends to get far more isolated in away games so he usually gets very little chance to score. I feel like we really need Torreira and Xhaka starting for the away games to give us a bit more steel in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

When is the last time Abu started an away game?

*edit

Actually according to https://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=12339 he's started quite a few. There's my theory fecked.

Although he has only scored against
    Cardiff, Fulham, Palace, Bournemouth & Brighton away

Julian Nagelsmann
    Emery is rotating the squad apparently so he probably won’t feature tonight, I was hoping they would go for the win to shake off this away day jinx

The win would put us in 4th, and a point away from Sp*rs.

It's pretty vital we win tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭correction

Nuno Espirito Santo
    History suggests Emery will throw away the league to win the Europa so that wouldn't surprise me at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭Jmac24128

Massimo Allegri
    Happy Monday lads, usually love when we are on Monday night football but my god the nerves when we are away from home. Dreading tonight cause we should be wrapping up top 4 and topping off a great first season from Emery but we can't win away from home, I just don't get it. We couldn't complete a pass against Everton last week and they got beat 2-0 by ALL READY RELAGATED FULHAM this week. Why can't the players just cop on and perform away from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

Massimo Allegri
    No Sokratis tonight (suspended)

Torreira will play as he's available after a 3 match ban.

Xhaka no confirmation if he's fully fit (could be in as a sub)

Goin to be Kos and Mustafi in our defence tonight lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

5star02707 wrote: »
    Goin to be Kos and Mustafi in our defence tonight lads

giphy.gif

Mikel Arteta
    Emery is rotating the squad apparently so he probably won’t feature tonight, I was hoping they would go for the win to shake off this away day jinx

That is a really stupid thing to do at this stage of the season when we can get Top 4 and further (maybe win) a trophy in Europe.
    The team that lost at Everton was ridiculously under strength and won’t beat Watford either imo. Full strength for tonight, Thursday and from now on is the way to go.
    Mustafi is sure to start tonight with the Greek lad suspended so we’re weak at the back. We need Torreira and Xhaka starting for sure. I don’t want to see Mitch or Iwobi near the starting lineout. They give possession away far too often.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is Arsenal's highest Premier League goalscorer this season with 17 goals - but he hasn't scored away from home in 2019. His last seven goals in all competition have come at the Emirates.

He’s surely due an away goal then ?

Tonight's the night! COYG

• Registered Users Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭wawaman

Massimo Allegri
    That is a really stupid thing to do at this stage of the season when we can get Top 4 and further (maybe win) a trophy in Europe.
    The team that lost at Everton was ridiculously under strength and won’t beat Watford either imo. Full strength for tonight, Thursday and from now on is the way to go.
    Mustafi is sure to start tonight with the Greek lad suspended so we’re weak at the back. We need Torreira and Xhaka starting for sure. I don’t want to see Mitch or Iwobi near the starting lineout. They give possession away far too often.

they arent robots, players cant keep the same level if they are playing every 3 days. its a squad game these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭correction

Nuno Espirito Santo
    We have an alternative to pretty much everyone in the team except Koscielny and Ramsey. I don't know whether that means we should play them every game or wrap them in cotton wool. Koscielny seems to be in the wars every game he plays, I'm always left begging that he's okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,480 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Patrick Vieira
    Nothing less than a win tonight needed. Need to keep Deeney quiet on and off the pitch. Although I do admire him for talking candidly in interviews and not off a script I just don’t want to hear it about arsenal.

Mikel Arteta
    wawaman wrote: »
    they arent robots, players cant keep the same level if they are playing every 3 days. its a squad game these days

My point is that the squad isn’t good enough.
    Play the best players like used to be the way when we were winning things.
    Changes were only made when they had to be.

Mikel Arteta
    Wouldn’t mind a god squad now you mention it :D

That was a divine observation. Hope they all play like God tonight. A point wouldn’t be the end of their hopes but a win is necessary I feel. Don’t want to be going to Leicester for the last game with our away record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,673 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Massimo Allegri
    We're gonna turn up tonight, aren't we? C'mon, it's Watford, and we have way more to play for than they do.

C'mon Arsenal. Yis have to make up for that nonsense against Everton.

Leno
    Kos Mustafi Nacho
    AMN Ramsey Torreira Kol
    Ozil
    Laca. Iwobi

My line up though just a guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Massimo Allegri
    Mavropanos starts!

Mikel Arteta
    Ol' Donie wrote: »
    We're gonna turn up tonight, aren't we? C'mon, it's Watford, and we have way more to play for than they do.

C'mon Arsenal. Yis have to make up for that nonsense against Everton.

Watford also have a cup final next month and wont want injuries. They might go easy tonight but I wouldn’t bet on this match until I see the lineouts.
    Either way I feel we have to win this.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Mikel Arteta
    Oranage2 wrote: »
    Leno
    Kos Mustafi Nacho
    AMN Ramsey Torreira Kol
    Ozil
    Laca. Iwobi

My line up though just a guess

Guess again :)

Mavropanos starts according to the BBC and Lacazette and Ozil are on the bench. Six changes from the Napoli game. COYG

• Registered Users Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭darego

Mikel Arteta
    what's the benefit in choosing miki over ozil? just as lazy as each other tracking back

Mikel Arteta
    Mitch and Iwobi starting. Expect a lot of losing possession. Won’t have a bet now.

Ramsey Xhaka Mustafi and Kos are all injury prone.
    Monreal, Iwobi and Mihki all tire easily

I'd be surprised if we finish with even 9 men at the end of the game.

Decent midfield but that defense is shaky,though excited to see Mavro play.

Massimo Allegri
    Just saw the line up, I'm extremely worried

Mikel Arteta
    Jmac24128 wrote: »

Me too but a good start and an early goal could settle them. Go behind and we’re in big trouble. Poor players in certain areas of the field.

I'm not, I'm confident. Our midfield looks very strong and Auba will score. Hoping Mavro and Kos have a great game. COYG

Massimo Allegri
    I'm not, I'm confident. Our midfield looks very strong and Auba will score. Hoping Mavro and Kos have a great game. COYG

Vital part of the season and we are doing a new center back partnership away from home. We better score 3/4 cause I see us conceeding a few. Hopefully I'm wrong though. Also never a fan of Miki and iowbi in the same line up.

Vital part of the season and we are doing a new center back partnership away from home. We better score 3/4 cause I see us conceeding a few. Hopefully I'm wrong though. Also never a fan of Miki and iowbi in that same line up.

It might be Emery's way of phasing out Mustafi before he lets him go in the summer. Fingers crossed! Big night for the young Greek lad. As long as Iwobi runs like a headless chicken drawing away Watford defenders giving space for Auba and Mkhitaryan I'll be happy.

Julian Nagelsmann
    .. ugh...

Mustafi...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

Julian Nagelsmann
    .. ugh...

Mustafi...

I'm worried about tonight :(

This team is far better than Everton we lost to .. If we play like we did against Everton . Watford could beat us by 3/4 goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,059 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Julian Nagelsmann
    Mustafi is a weak point, along with Mikhi but this formation should suit the latter. I'm delighted to see us back to a back 4 again.

Mikel Arteta
    It might be Emery's way of phasing out Mustafi before he lets him go in the summer. Fingers crossed! Big night for the young Greek lad. As long as Iwobi runs like a headless chicken drawing away Watford defenders giving space for Auba and Mkhitaryan I'll be happy.

Phasing him out ??? Just drop him.
    Would rather see AMN in at right back. Mustafi gives me the jitters.

Mikel Arteta
    The Ozil hate train is now the mustafi hate train :D

Nah. Mustafi was always bad. Ozil still has great games.

Mikel Arteta
    Have we won in these colours yet anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Mikel Arteta

Rotten kit

• Registered Users Posts: 4,684 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Mikel Arteta
    Ugh Mustafi.

Ugh Deeny

Ugh that jersey.

An Ugh type of night. Not confident at all.

Mikel Arteta
    emmetlego wrote: »
    Ugh Mustafi.

Ugh Deeny

Ugh that jersey.

An Ugh type of night. Not confident at all.

We’re due an away win Emmetlego. Maybe tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,673 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Massimo Allegri

I hate it. I hate not playing in Arsenal colours.

Watford look a lot like that yellow strip we had recently enough. Why couldn't we just wear red and white?

Mikel Arteta
    That’s what good pressing causes. Well done Auba.

Massimo Allegri
    Love when we get some good luck, well overdue

Mikel Arteta
    Love when we get some good luck, well overdue

More than luck though. Great pressing.
    Red card Deeney. Should win now.

Auba says thank you very much! 0-1