Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tourists or Refugees

12345679»

• Registered Users Posts: 19,388 ✭✭✭✭road_high

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Well they could always go home if the locale/facilities aren't to their liking - or maybe back to whatever safe country they travelled to first before they got here.

The sense of entitlement is crazy.. Especially from people allegedly fleeing persecution, prison or death. You'd think a warm bed, food and a roof over their heads in a safe stable environment would be all their dreams come through.

It's a lot more than many natives and legitimate migrants have tonight.

Never once hear them thank the Irish taxpayer or country. Majority are economic migrants- if they were genuine refugees seeking a safe haven then they’d arrive in the first country of entry and be grateful to be alive...ireland is practically the last country in Europe they’d get to.
    We need to reform the Asylum process, make it rapid and stop all appeals with immediate deportation thereafter.

It's a very rural area. Perhaps the asylum seekers are into course fishing or drinking pints in country pubs... Perhaps they will use the hotel as a base to see the general North Midlands/Connacht/South Ulster area, all within a short drive, including good country towns like Roscommon, Carrick on Shannon etc....

No, its not suitable at all. I wouldn't like to be stuck in Rooskey without language skills, living out of a hotel room, in the middle of winter.

Well if you were a genuine refugee fleeing genuine terror then you would be thrilled to be in a very pretty part of a wealthy country that is providing you with free food, Accomodation and safety.

• Registered Users Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Ashleigh1986

This is what.....been a member of the EU is about.
    We have signed up to this agreement.
    We are committed to take in our share of refugees.
    The way some people are going on here you would swear Ireland is the only country they're going to.
    It's one if the main reasons Britain voted to leave the EU.
    Down tru the years all the benefits we have received from the EU to get our country out of the crap it was in ...well now it's payback time.
    Did ye actually think it was all going to be for FREE ???

• Registered Users Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

The way some people are going on here you would swear Ireland is the only country they're going to.
    Down tru the years all the benefits we have received from the EU to get our country out of the crap it was in ...well now it's payback time.

These aint refugees.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,986 ✭✭✭conorhal

Congratulations, literally every sentence you typed managed to be wrong!

We have signed no agreement. We're not signed up to the Schengen agreement. We're signed up to the Dublin agreement which by rights should be seeing fewer rather then more non EU migrants given asylum here, but in a fit of stupidity our government volunteered to take 5k of additional migrants as a good will gesture to the EU in the current crisis.
    One that's gone largely unfulfilled because our government's virtue signalling to Angela was writing cheques that the country couldn't cash. The EU did however attempt to use Schengen to FORCE quotas on countries and that was largely resisted.

Yes we have received benefits from EU membership, but swamping your country in migrants because of the mistakes of Germany are not the bill coming due you seem to think it is.
    The bill coming due is the fact that we are net contributors to the EU budget. The commitments we do meet regards refugees are ones to the UN, not the EU, a fact you're largely ignoring.
    We're paying back, but no debt is due to Somalia or Syria.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,716 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

conorhal wrote: »
    Congratulations, literally every sentence you typed managed to be wrong!

We have signed no agreement. We're not signed up to the Schengen agreement. We're signed up to the Dublin agreement which by rights should be seeing fewer rather then more non EU migrants given asylum here, but in a fit of stupidity our government volunteered to take 5k of additional migrants as a good will gesture to the EU in the current crisis.
    One that's gone largely unfulfilled because our government's virtue signalling to Angela was writing cheques that the country couldn't cash. The EU did however attempt to use Schengen to FORCE quotas on countries and that was largely resisted.

Yes we have received benefits from EU membership, but swamping your country in migrants because of the mistakes of Germany are not the bill coming due you seem to think it is.
    The bill coming due is the fact that we are net contributors to the EU budget. The commitments we do meet regards refugees are ones to the UN, not the EU, a fact you're largely ignoring.
    We're paying back, but no debt is due to Somalia or Syria.

Cheers, saves me typing up a similar reply :)

This current situation is largely the result of Zappone leveraging her position to push her own personal agenda and ideology, Coveney being an EU sycophant, and Leo being all about his personal profile/ego and the 'likes' and so going with whatever he thinks will further that.

And again for the virtue-signalling types... We ALREADY do our part for foreign aid. We're under no obligation to ship waves of unemployable economic migrants here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Graces7 wrote: »
    You are ignoring the fact that Ireland agreed as part of its EU membership deal to take a certain number of refugees.

There is no choice in this. Not my choice, not your choice. Ireland made the obligation. Has to be honoured
    Most of your post is emotional irrelevancy. Scaremongering.

And I have never said any such thing as I have bolded. form? So having a different view is ?

Nothing anyone can do about it. And what point taking it out on the refugees?

Short of withdrawing from the Eu and that would scupper Ireland financially .

Stop telling lies from your home in Canada. Ireland has the option of a veto on refugees as secured in the Nice Treaty. We have zero obligations to take refugees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

IRELAND HAS A VETO!!! What is so difficult to understand about this. We don’t NEED or are OBLIGED to take in anyone!!

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Cheers, saves me typing up a similar reply :)

This current situation is largely the result of Zappone leveraging her position to push her own personal agenda and ideology, Coveney being an EU sycophant, and Leo being all about his personal profile/ego and the 'likes' and so going with whatever he thinks will further that.

And again for the virtue-signalling types... We ALREADY do our part for foreign aid. We're under no obligation to ship waves of unemployable economic migrants here.

Zappone a foreigner herself, in a position of power dictating to the Irish people and taxpayer so she can feel all warm and fussy inside as she hangs around sipping wine with UN types.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Where do you live.I bet its not in the west of Ireland.Its the same people always going on about we have to take more refugees but not in my backyard.
    The west of Ireland is becoming a dumping ground for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Payback. Payback all the monies with interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

"No facilities, no amenities, nothing constructive for these poor people to do. What are they going to do all day, wander the streets, a recipe for disaster. Nothing to gain for anyone...."

If theres nothing for the refugees to do then I doubt it will be flocking with tourists if the hotel was running normaly. Atleast its been used for a worthy cause

Aren't they safe as refugees are claim they need. Oh wait they were safe in the first country they entered. The funny thing is if they came out and said I'm an economic refugee I'm here for moneies. I'd say stay. How refreshing.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

There has been a lot of talk recently about Europe having a European Army and even becoming an Empire, here is Verhofstadt asking for EU countries to give up their sovereign power to a EU controlled super state;

At least we have a say now but if Europe is heading that way we wont be given say as we will only be a small cog of a bigger machine, It is something to be concerned about IMO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Graces7 wrote: »
    [/B]

Exactly so. And it will increase facilities and trade in the town. A good business move on the part of the hotel owner

Over and out from me on this.... it is a settled matter

Well no, there's still the point you raised earlier - that we asked for proof (all the Irish abroad are on welfare, still waiting for that if we may respectfully ask ?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

There is no such thing as a free lunch of course.

Sadly the Irish, on the whole, are economically illiterate.
    They have given away the milkcow of sovereignty in exchange for the magic beans of PPP roads and sheep grants.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,668 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I don't trust lazy civil servants or lazy gardai to properly vet asylum seekers. We could have Al Queda sleeper cells all over the place

• Registered Users Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭golondrinas

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Trailerr wrote: »
    The war in Syria

Nothing to do with Syria. Those migrants for Wicklow are coming from Nigeria, DRC, and some other African state.

The op was right, 'economic' tourists.
    One of them in direct provision is from Malawi, one of the safest countries in Africa. She tours around the place with her pop up shops and all the while attending cookery school junkets. When is she to be deported?? No nerve gas ever came her way.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

One of them in direct provision is from Malawi, one of the safest countries in Africa. She tours around the place with her pop up shops and all the while attending cookery school junkets. When is she to be deported?? No nerve gas ever came her way.

Source?

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Same in Roosky, Co. Leitrim. Another FG deal according to Roscommon People last week.

Wasn't Lisdoonvarna deal an FG connection too? Brother of somebody.

If only we had a free press that could investigate this trend!

Sadly the other parties are just a bad if not worse. They'd tattoo a union jack or euro flagon their foreheads if it meant personal gain.

Source?
    Read one of the Sunday Times papers recently. Also contains a very large photo of said lady with a basket of fresh garden herbs. Shouldn't be too hard for you to find. You probably don't believe there are any economic tourists in the country with vexatious asylum claims on their umpteenth appeal.

Source?
    Read one of the Sunday Times papers recently. Also contains a very large photo of said lady with a basket of fresh garden herbs. Shouldn't be too hard for you to find. You probably don't believe there are any economic tourists in the country with vexatious asylum claims on their umpteenth appeal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Chinasea wrote: »
    It's about time we started to help and take a share. To-date we have certainly been extremely shy.

Sad to see so much begrudgery.

I must have missed the lead story on the Six One about literally every single Irish person being housed, fed and watered.

Why? By accident of birth - refugees qualify for refuge

• Registered Users Posts: 11,769 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

So is Shannon Key West Hotel in Rooskey open and accepting guests?