Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Them Lads is too Cool!?

• 11-03-2019 12:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭

Where did it all go wrong,. when did them lads become too cool for school!?
    Not to long ago if the Ireland rugby team won a match they'd be really happy bordering on ecstatic during post match interviews...
    But nowadays when they win,. it's as if they did something wrong,they seemingly even apologise if another team dare score against them.
    Like dear gawwwwd lads cheer up.

Good for them, keep the expectations high and cut out complacency. None of this 'brave effort' inferiority complex.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Where did it all go wrong,. when did them lads become too cool for school!?
    Not to long ago if the Ireland rugby team won a match they'd be really happy bordering on ecstatic during post match interviews...
    But nowadays when they win,. it's as if they did something wrong,they seemingly even apologise if another team dare score against them.
    Like dear gawwwwd lads cheer up.

?????

It would be very weird if the 2nd rated team in the world,consisting of paid professional adults, were doing cartwheels and shedding prom queen tears each time they won a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,865 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Good for them, keep the expectations high and cut out complacency. None of this 'brave effort' inferiority complex.

This has been the scourge of the football team for too long. All this incredible effort, hearts of lions, always give it everything, BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Uncharted wrote: »
    ?????

It would be very weird if the 2nd rated team in the world,consisting of paid professional adults, were doing cartwheels and shedding prom queen tears each time they won a game.

Ok ok don't over complicate things jeeeeez

This has been the scourge of the football team for too long. All this incredible effort, hearts of lions, always give it everything, BS.

Like calling it a "moral victory" after slugging over a 0-0 draw with the likes of Algeria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

I think this more so applies to the rugby team. They can't do any wrong. If they lose a game they're still depicted as fierce warriors!

The football team in contrast are usually typecast as useless regardless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 smartyfarts

rory best is not my captain. he's too busy saluting the queen and humming GSTQ. his behaviour in last year's trial as well was abhorrent. don't bother trying to convince me he is some hero. I honestly hope Ireland get destroyed in the world cup. they're so up their own bums its hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I once got slated for finding it worrying that Ian Madigan was crying after beating France in a damn group game, apparently I was an arsehole for thinking that such a display was evidence of a weak mentality, that a real winner would have his mind on the next game instead of celebrating just getting out of the group. Ireland got dumped out by Argentina in the next game.

I think the same about any fans celebrating just getting to a world cup or euros. A great bunch of lads just happy to be there, sure isn't it great craic begorra :rolleyes:. A load of bollocks. If you go to a tournament just happy to be there then you will never win **** all. All that best fans in the world crap is just patronising rubbish, a novelty prize given to the children in the room.

Ireland loves patting itself on the back and that mentality has been holding it back for a long time. Maybe being serious, and ruthless, is no craic, but I'd rather be a winner than be the life and soul of the party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭Feisar

rory best is not my captain. he's too busy saluting the queen and humming GSTQ. his behaviour in last year's trial as well was abhorrent. don't bother trying to convince me he is some hero. I honestly hope Ireland get destroyed in the world cup. they're so up their own bums its hilarious.

I thought he was at the trial as he had been called as a character witness?

Also had to laugh at the #notmycaptain nonsense. Unless one plays international rugby for Ireland then no he's not your captain.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

I once got slated for finding it worrying that Ian Madigan was crying after beating France in a damn group game, apparently I was an arsehole for thinking that such a display was evidence of a weak mentality, that a real winner would have his mind on the next game instead of celebrating just getting out of the group. Ireland got dumped out by Argentina in the next game.

I think the same about any fans celebrating just getting to a world cup or euros. A great bunch of lads just happy to be there, sure isn't it great craic begorra :rolleyes:. A load of bollocks. If you go to a tournament just happy to be there then you will never win **** all. All that best fans in the world crap is just patronising rubbish, a novelty prize given to the children in the room.

Ireland loves patting itself on the back and that mentality has been holding it back for a long time. Maybe being serious, and ruthless, is no craic, but I'd rather be a winner than be the life and soul of the party.
    What have you ever won, as a matter of interest? What makes you the big winner?

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    What have you ever won, as a matter of interest? What makes you the big winner?

What makes that question even slightly relevant to, well, anything? Who gives a **** what I won or did not win.

Feisar wrote: »
    I thought he was at the trial as he had been called as a character witness?

Also had to laugh at the #notmycaptain nonsense. Unless one plays international rugby for Ireland then no he's not your captain.

He's not really irish also he showed up on the days he wasn't a witness "to get perspective from both sides" aka intimidate the complainant

What makes that question even slightly relevant to, well, anything? Who gives a **** what I won or did not win.
    I give a ****, that's why I asked.

It's easy for the typical Irish sports fan to lean back and spout rubbish about "mentality" and "winning" when they themselves can only just about muster enough energy to stand up to throw another pizza in the oven. That or prevent the formation of a permanently adhesive seal of their own viscous filth between themselves and the stained reclining chair they've been rotting in since they left school.

But your tone suggests you're an authority on the matter so I'd like to know what you have won. What have you won? Big man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Best most sensible explanation for what comes across sometimes as being non appreciative of a good decent win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

2/10

Must try harder.

2/10

Must try harder.

its my own genuine feeling tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

Irish people who follow sport but don't partake in sport, just don't get it

Compared to the volume of participants that England or France or many other countries can select from, and we are TINY. Compared to the investment in sport or the coaching resources and experience, or the facilities, we are in the hapenny place

Any of our internationals who make it onto the world stage have already overcome huge challenges.

To go on and win is therefore arguably a bigger achievement.

I've never won anything worth talking about. But I've been left in the the dust by champions - I've no illusions about what goes on.
    Unless you've been on the field, in the ring or race, it's difficult to understand what is going on.

I give a ****, that's why I asked.

It's easy for the typical Irish sports fan to lean back and spout rubbish about "mentality" and "winning" when they themselves can only just about muster enough energy to stand up to throw another pizza in the oven. That or prevent the formation of a permanently adhesive seal of their own viscous filth between themselves and the stained reclining chair they've been rotting in since they left school.

But your tone suggests you're an authority on the matter so I'd like to know what you have won. What have you won? Big man.

Typical response from Irish fan who doesn't like reality being pointed out to them, so gets all huffy and defensive before pulling out the classic, "Well whatabout you...".

I could list plenty of examples from my own life where I achieved personal goals, and then where I went further and achieved more again. But I wouldn't be stupid enough to do that for some little man on the internet who would never accept any answer that I gave anyway, and who would never have the cop on to realise that such whataboutery is irrelevant to start with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

cajonlardo wrote: »

Compared to the volume of participants that England or France or many other countries can select from, and we are TINY. Compared to the investment in sport or the coaching resources and experience, or the facilities, we are in the hapenny place

Any of our internationals who make it onto the world stage have already overcome huge challenges.

I've never won anything worth talking about. But I've been left in the the dust by champions - I've no illusions about what goes on.
    Unless you've been on the field, in the ring or race, it's difficult to understand what is going on.

France and England have less rugby players per capita then Ireland.

Don't let facts stop your backslapping though, it's another 6 months before Irish Rugby gets its bollocks ripped off in the RWC.

Its like the opposite of small man syndrome. Instead of, "I'm small but I'll beat you anyway", we get "We're small, nothing we can do about it".

I'm delighted to see Rugby players stop celebrating the meaningless victories. They are good enough to win that world cup and they should have the arrogance to believe that to their core.

its my own genuine feeling tbh

Fair enough. I don't believe you're being genuine is my genuine feeling.

I thank you for your genuine feeling and disagree that I am not being genuine. I just find the irish rugby team and rugby as a whole to be just annoying. I find it a nothing sport. played by less than 12 good teams in the world. and the irish players are lauded here by wealthy upper class as some sort of messiahs. despite the fact they get up to stuff just as naughty as ryan giggs etc

It's much easier to show a "winning mentality" if you're an international player for a sport played by only a dozen or so countries at the highest level.

Virtually every player in the top five European soccer leagues (first or second tier) would have had to face stiffer competition than any top level rugby player. It's just simple mathematics, there are multitudes more soccer players around the world competing for places in the best teams than in rugby.

You get the usual big man bandwagon jumpers who claim otherwise but they're the types who get confused by "which is heavier, a tonne of feathers or a tonne of bricks" trick questions.

It's much easier to show a "winning mentality" if you're an international player for a sport played by only a dozen or so countries at the highest level.

How many different countries have ever won the soccer world cup?

Of course it's more widely played so the chances of the odd upset are increased, but really it's the same dozen or so countries dominating international football in general too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,455 ✭✭✭tritium

Not nearly as abhorrent as condemning him for appearing as a character witness for people who were later acquitted (and they were acquitted, regardless of what you may think of other aspects of their behaviour). I suppose he’d be more admirable if he’d thrown them under a bus to ensure the “right” verdict.

Btw given the history of this island he’s more than entitled to be part of the unionist tradition. What exactly do you propose we do about the unionists if a United iteland ever happens?

How many different countries have ever won the soccer world cup?

Of course it's more widely played so the chances of the odd upset are increased, but really it's the same dozen or so countries dominating international football in general too.
    Well let me ask you this then. Which is more impressive? Croatia reaching the 2018 soccer World Cup final or Ireland winning the rugby World Cup.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

I think this more so applies to the rugby team. They can't do any wrong. If they lose a game they're still depicted as fierce warriors!

theres no comparison really is there ?

2 best team in the world verses number 34 ?

sure more people world wide play football but its still quite a achievement

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Eh, not really. We lost to England a few weeks ago and most people rightly criticised the performance of the Irish team. I'd love to see the football team do and play better. The last while we've been playing shíte and made teams who are much worse than us on paper look a lot better. Hopefully, that changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Always easy to spot the boys who've read Roys autobiography :)

I've never read it no, but if you are talking about Roy Keane I would happily say I am a fan. He isn't however anything unique, there are lots of personalities like him in winning teams all over the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

I've never read it no, but if you are talking about Roy Keane I would happily say I am a fan. He isn't however anything unique, there are lots of personalities like him in winning teams all over the world.

You're a very impressive individual, especially opposed to all the other idiots and their 'bollox'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭friendlyfun

This thread is full of absolute bollocks from a bunch of jealous whingers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Ireland beating the reigning world champions in a competitive match is the finest sporting achievement of any team on this island.

Joachim Loew giving out about us playing long ball tactics afterwards made it even sweeter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

Red_Wake wrote: »

France and England have less rugby players per capita then Ireland.

Don't let facts stop your backslapping though, it's another 6 months before Irish Rugby gets its bollocks ripped off in the RWC.
    I don't follow rugby so I will accept your word on that.
    How does that relate to the amount of players Ireland could chose from related to England or France?
    I'm guessing they both still have a bigger pool?