Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the best lucky escape you've ever had

• Registered Users Posts: 10 L.driver12345

FGR wrote: »
    Fair play to you for your positive drive to not let anything stop you. That drive will definitely get you places in your new chosen field.

I have no doubt that if you had given up sooner it would have worked out worse as you'd still be thinking 'what if' - oblivious to how dissatisfying the teaching role actually is.

Thanks and because I saved so hard for it I had enough money to do the Hdip course, buy and insure my first car and had enough left over with the added savings from subbing to apply to a masters in an area that suits me more and is related to my degree. I just got accepted onto this masters yesterday! with my Hdip Ill be able to teach throughout my masters so I can fund my living costs and when I qualify ill be fully qualified to set up my own QQI course in any college in the country or even set up my own private practice if I want to. It all worked out in the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 473 ✭✭tiegan

Rescuing my dobermann from under the slats of a full slurry tank. I had two choices, watch her drown or go in after. Stupid, yes, very. But I defy anyone to turn away from a pet or worse still family in the same situation - in my defence I had a neighbour at the top of the ladder with a rope on me. When I swam down and caught the dog he pulled me back to the ladder. HArdest bit was getting 30kg of helpless slippery dog back up the ladder. Would have been harder if tank was not full. So grateful to neighbour, I would not have managed on my own. We both collapsed with the shock after!! But both lived to tell the tale.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭Danonino.

Graces7 wrote: »
    The one that haunts me is the far too close "encounter" with the speeding bin lorry on a blind bend on a Kerry lane.

Had I slammed on the brakes... at the speed he was going..I can still " see" the nuts etc in the huge wheel centre as I sped past into the ditch. Right against my window.

My fifty -plus years of safe driving in deep rural places etc saved me with that reflex evasion.

Similar experience with a Lorry and one of the backroads on the way into New Ross. We were late for my grandads funeral coming from Meath. Just myself and my dad, I was 11 or so in the passenger seat. He was 100% going too fast, all four wheels had left the ground a few times ha ha. Rounded the corner and his only option was to mount the ditch.

Looking back any other action, slamming on, slowing down, etc would have meant a serious impact. Instead we were almost completely sideways passing the truck with every nettle and branch flying in the open open windows on the left and the right wing mirror missing by mms. Felt like ages but would have been a second or two at the most.

It’s one of the only times I’ve seen my father shook to the core. He pulled in and checked the left side to see what damage was done, nothing but some light scratches and then sat on the bonnet for probably 30minutes. We drove slow the rest of the way and missed the funeral mass.

He brings it up every now and then. Usually wondering how different it would have been if there was a rock or a pillar in the ditch we mounted. One large rock in those brambles and I guess it would have been game over. Or if the ditch didn’t have the incline it had. Scary stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

tiegan wrote: »
    Rescuing my dobermann from under the slats of a full slurry tank. I had two choices, watch her drown or go in after. Stupid, yes, very. But I defy anyone to turn away from a pet or worse still family in the same situation - in my defence I had a neighbour at the top of the ladder with a rope on me. When I swam down and caught the dog he pulled me back to the ladder. HArdest bit was getting 30kg of helpless slippery dog back up the ladder. Would have been harder if tank was not full. So grateful to neighbour, I would not have managed on my own. We both collapsed with the shock after!! But both lived to tell the tale.

Something similar has happened to me twice in a decade. My dog is now on notice that if she gets into such a situation again she's on her own :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Okay here's my one

about 15 years ago , i was dating my now partner and we went to some friend of a friends 21st , I was driving , about a 1/3 of the way through the night we decided i'd have a few and we'd sleep in the car and drive home next morning so i went on the vodka's to catch up with everyone else , i was absolutely battered drunk , it was in a strange pub aswell ,our usual local would often stay open well beyond regular hours , so the pub closed at about 12.30/1 am i think

the 21st was moving on to someone's house , all the lifts there (was about a half hour away) were full , so sat there for about 20 mins with my oh and her friend who was freaking out cos she was trying to get off with one of the lads gone back to the party, Long story short I decided to chance it

So off we went on the main dublin road in Limerick , was driving along fine or so I thought , my missus says to me pull over your on the wrong side of the road , i argued she was wrong and that it was the hard shoulder that was over there not the other side of the road, eventually i realised and pulled over , not 10 seconds later a big arctic lorry came around the bend beeping like mad on the other side of the road, I had to pull over instantly I think I puked all over the place with the fright

I never drank and drove after that frightened the absolute **** out of me

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Wife came home early from our eldest school play to find me having my first seizure and choking on my vomit.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

hairyslug wrote: »
    Wife came home early from our eldest school play to find me having my first seizure and choking on my vomit.

Yep. That's the definition of a close one

• Registered Users Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

I have twice being hit by a moving car, luckily the 1st was crawling 10-15mph,poor driver crapped himself, igot thrown across the bonnet, not a bother on me, local shopkeeper brought me home, quickly followed by driver.
    2nd time,driver ging a bit faster, got a broken leg and a bit of bruising ,virtually identical incidents

Not sure if this counts as a near-miss, but spent a lot of years in my teens riding-out (just exercising) racehorses for local trainers. Often involved doing stupid things, away from the eye of my boss, and took a lot of falls at speed — once trying to cut around someone at such a stupid angle, going uphill, the horse came down on top of me. Or taking young horses over obstacles they weren't yet schooled for, and luckily only landing on my arse or my elbow — I never knew which.

I sometimes think about how vulnerable the human body is. There is a small, I think 5mm, shell protecting our brains, and if that is smashed you are in for a life of catastrophic injury, or instant death. Or how, if a 450kg horse lands on your neck instead of your lower body, that flimsy cord, the size of a bit of twine, might snap and you will be in a wheelchair for life.

I never came close to any long-term injury that I know of, except it was always only inches away, when it did happen. Whereas my parents sort of egged us on in these activities, I don't think I'll ever be able to watch my child risk her neck, but that's just part of childhood. Still, it is very strange when you get older and think back to risky behaviour, and can appreciate the danger.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,350 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Have we all had a lucky escape after a tyrant metamorphosised into a little lamb?

I've had a bad run of criticism in the radio forum. Surveys suggest "tyranny" is unpopular.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,350 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I've had a bad run of criticism in the radio forum. Surveys suggest "tyranny" is unpopular.

Meh, never give in to critics. Your posts are rather eloquent, and as such, warrant a certain level of tyranny.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,575 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Well, there was this boating accident I was in on the river Danube between Vienna and Bratislava in 2008...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭Motivator

I was in Daytona on our family holidays when I was about 15 or 16. Myself and my father were driving to collect the others from shopping or something and were stopped at a red light. It was a 4 way crossing so we were going straight and as the light changed green for us, a map fell off the dashboard and instead of me picking it up, my dad did and delayed taking off by about 2 seconds. We pulled forward and about 20 foot in front of us a car coming from our right broke a red light doing about 100 mph. If my dad hadn’t picked the map up the car would have ploughed straight into us and it would have been on my side of the car. Absolutely the most frightening thing I’ve ever seen because if it had hit us, it would have t boned our car and without a doubt both of us would have been killed instantly. It’s probably coming up to 20 years ago since it happened but we’d often bring it up how lucky we were. Literally 2 seconds and we were dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,810 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

In my dating life, I've had 2 long term partners (both 7 years, that's long to me!). Anyway, soon after we split up both of them got pregnant with their next partners. Dodged bullets there! Makes me think I'm firing blanks, but that's actually a positive thing for me!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Ok, so years ago when I was in my early 20's there was a guy on my college course who was really interested me, ill call him Mark although its not his real name. He was really cool, everyone liked him, he was quiet and seemed really sweet, he was also a very talented guitar player and was in a local band.
    There where a few nights at college parties and nights out where he would walk me home or hang out with me and he was sweet and I liked him, I never saw him with any other girls but for some reason I just got this really strong feeling that I shouldnt go out with him or let things go further and I had a personal rule of not dating people from college as if we had a falling out/broke up it could make things really awkward. The course had a very small number of students and lots of interaction so no avoiding each other. I just wanted to keep things platonic.
    About a year or 2 later I started going out with this new guy who unknown to me happened to be best mates with Mark. As I got closer to my new boyfriend and started hanging around with him and his friends I learned that Mark was a sex addict, he had multiple girlfriends, cheated on every girl he went out with, treated his girlfriends really badly and was overall a complete d!ck who regularly slept with prostitutes and gave atleast one his exes and who knows how many others an STD.

He was a typical street angel/house devil that I could have got caught up with if it wasnt for my random 'no classmates' rule.

Are you not a bit pissed off with your new fella for being best mates with a scuffy pimp?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,390 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Are you not a bit pissed off with your new fella for being best mates with a scuffy pimp?

He turned out to be a bit of a scuffy pimp too, we're not still together

• Registered Users Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭PMBC

Was snorkelling with a friend on a Good Friday many years ago and it wasn't the usual beach where there would be a few others. The place was deserted as our usual companion 'snorkellers' were very religious! Usually we were in about 5-8 feet of water but at this place the reef was in deeper water, maybe 10 to 12 feet. My companion decided because of the deeper water we needed flotation vests. So we lounged away, face down for an hour until he decided to return to shore to have a rest. The underwater life was amazing scene of colours, striped tropical fish and way below to the front of me, some baby sharks. After a while I looked back to the beach to see Id moved out about 10m further which was a bit frightening as Im just an OK swimmer. So I decided to swim back to the beach but try as I might I wasnt getting any closer. The outgoing tide and the flotation vest were counteracting my swimming. I shouted and screamed at my friend and waved but he just waved back.
    After some time, probably only a few minutes but it felt like a long time I decided to give up trying and just float on my back which I did. It was only then I realised that it was the lifejacket that was keeping me from progressing so....
    I took it off and swam easily back to shore to be met by my friend entering the water with mask and flippers. "Well", he said, "isn't it exciting"

• Registered Users Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Ironman76

In the early 80s my biological father gave me to his sister and her husband to look after when I was two. Was supposed to be a temporary arrangement. But they really took to me and were happy to take care of me until he got more settled.

Fast forward four years and my father was emigrating to the US with his new wife who was a compete and utter c**t. Despised me and hated the sight of me (still does to this day). Only for my new family to put up a fight to keep me I would have ended up in the US and God only knows the horrendous life I would have had.
    (Even last year she made a joke about how she wanted to get co vid so she could infect our family to get rid of us ðŸ˜)

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭Scribbler100

Ironman76 wrote: »
    In the early 80s my biological father gave me to his sister and her husband to look after when I was two. Was supposed to be a temporary arrangement. But they really took to me and were happy to take care of me until he got more settled.

Fast forward four years and my father was emigrating to the US with his new wife who was a compete and utter c**t. Despised me and hated the sight of me (still does to this day). Only for my new family to put up a fight to keep me I would have ended up in the US and God only knows the horrendous life I would have had.
    (Even last year she made a joke about how she wanted to get co vid so she could infect our family to get rid of us ðŸ˜)

:eek: What a weapon! Thank goodness for your aunt and uncle. Sounds as though you brought them great happiness too. Your life in a parallel universe doesn't bear thinking about.

I was driving (with my mother) on the Isle of Arran in Scotland, heading south on the coastal road from the village of Whiting Bay around a sharp rightward bend, when all of a sudden a motorcyclist came upon me from around that bend at speed. I was driving slowly in that wet weather and slammed on the brakes of my Skoda Octavia as he swept around the front of me over past my mother's side, crossing the low sea wall. With my mobile in hand ready to dial 999 I stepped out of the car, leaving hazards on, and heard a voice from the rocks below "don't call an ambulance, I'm alright". Long story short, he refused help from local doctor and nurse who came upon the scene, said he had been rushing for the ferry, and was very embarrassed that this could get back to his parents in Newcastle, and that he really was ok. I had offered him my phone, a lift back to main town etc, but he wouldn't give in. Later saw him standing against wrecked bike at a telephone box in Brodick, being forced to relent and summons help of some sort.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,273 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Ran across the road when I was 4 and was nearly hit by a car, lucky for me this was the 1970s and the car was a MK 2 escort doing about 30 mph but a couple of seconds later and I was a gonner.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,698 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

My mam jumped into her car once, when she turned it on the back parking sensor was beeping. She hadn't reversed into the space and couldn't see anything in the mirror so figured something was defective. She decided to get out and check and discovered a small child was sitting against the back of the car without a care in the world. Parking sensors were relatively new at the time - if she didn't have them that kid was a gonner

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I always wanted to be a teacher and when i finished school I applied to undergrad courses in the subject I wanted to teach. I got into my chosen course and planned out the next 4 years. I was going to get my BA and then apply to the Hdip in post primary teaching, at this time to become a secondary teacher it was a requirement to have a 3 year level 7 to apply to the teaching course.
    In my first year of my undergrad everything was really difficult, I couldnt deal with the adjustments and changes, it was my first time leaving home and I had moved across the country. The tutors on my course were really mean and the students were clicky and unfriendly. I wasnt coping and failed first year of the course but I was determined so I went back and repeated first year. This pushed my plans back a year.
    I made it to 3rd year but shortly after this an announcement was made by the department of education and skills that it was now a requirement to do 4 years level 8 instead of just 3 years to get into the Hdip, justbefore i finally got into 4th year It was decided the Hdip was being changed to a full time 2 year masters. There was allot of annoyed students at the time because the fees for the new teaching masters had increased from 3k to 10k and new teachers pay had been massively cut. I knew that I wouldnt be able to afford it straight after college but I was still determined it was what I wanted to do. after my degree I saved all my money for 2 years and then applied to the teacher training, in the mean time I volunteered in special schools and worked in Summer camps thinking it would help me get into the course.
    Finally in 2014 I applied and got an interview. There were two parts to the interview, a written part where we had write a critical reflection of a piece of work within 20 minutes and a group interview. The group interview went well but when I tried to write my critical reflection the pen they gave me wasnt working. I always have pens in my bag, its one thing ive always never been without so took a pen from my bag but this pen to not work either, I tried everything to get it to work. I tried and find the interviewers to borrow another pen but they were no where to be found. I eventually had to leave. I didnt get a place as I hadnt completed the written reflection.

I applied for a postgrad dip in further education instead as a backdoor into second level teaching, with this qualification I worked in a few adult ed settings but couldnt get anything secure or in my subject and was still determined to get into secondary teaching but it just felt like there were always so many road blocks stopping me from getting onto the course and was beginning to think that maybe its not meant to be because anytime I even considered it something beyond my control happened to delay it or put a stop to it.
    I decided id give it one last try thinking my postgrad dip and experience would get me a place. I got my interview and felt really prepared but then Covid hit and the interview was rescheduled to take place over a zoom call.
    I downloaded Zoom, did a sound check, all was working fine. I was too nervous to sleep the night before but the interview was early the next morning so I knew id be feeling ok & not too tired. The time came for the interview and I logged in exactly on time for when the interview was scheduled, I was connected to the interview but my sound wouldnt work, I wasnt on mute, I have high speed internet and never had trouble with a live call before or since but on this occasion it wouldnt work. The interviewers became really frustrated and cut me off the interview. They rescheduled it for later that day but by that time id been awake for well over 24 hours and I was finding it hard to focus, I was feeling really tired, I was already stressed about the interview but now I was feeling sick with anxiety.

In the interview they asked me questions that by this stage I didnt have the mental capacity to answer. Instead of having a written part of the interview they asked me to critically reflect and describe a piece of work on the spot and talk about and criique a museum I had recently visited. I hadnt been to a museum in probably a year and a half or more. They didnt care one bit about the previous teaching experience id gained or my qualifications, all they cared about was how well I could articulate an on the spot critical reflection piece under pressure. Needless to say I messed it up and didnt get a place.

Forward on to when schools reopened I got some subbing work in a local secondary school teaching my subject after 12 or so years of trying to get into secondary teaching. When I started this new subbing position I was over the moon until I met the 4 other substitute teachers who were fully qualified and the 2 final year student teachers all teaching my subject. One of the substitutes was in her 40's and had been subbing for 15 years without any permanent job, another 9 years, another 6 years and the other one subbing for 10 years. I asked why they dont try and get a job in something else they said they cant get work in anything other than civil service jobs working behind a desk. One tried to get a job in a museum but was told she was over qualified.
    Then the reality of the job set in, it wasnt what I thought it would be like at all, the entire curriculum is so regimented it sucks all joy out of the subject, subs are forced to compete with each other for any hours available and the hours go to whoever the principal or vice principal gets on with best or sometimes hours are given to managements family members/family friends who trained as teachers, most contracts are zero hour and subs are at the beck and call of school management. We had to go to work everyday and perform for staff & kids, making sure everyone likes us so we get called back for more subbing. Management & staff constantly compare subs to each other, SNA's would undermine teachers infront of the kids and try to take over the class.
    I wanted to be a teacher to encourage teenagers, help them reach their potential, inspire and support them in more than their education, I cared about the students but theres no time for getting to know the kids, everything you do as a teacher has to be about results and if the kids dont get good results its a reflection on the teacher, if youre too kind to the kids other teachers and staff belittle you and theres school/staff room politics that all staff must adhere to its more draining than the job itself.
    Add to this behavior issues from students, monotonously repeating the same classes over and over and over, spending weeks filling out reports & correcting half arsed homework and planning lessons, dealing with parents and the teacher bashing in the media. In short the job was not for me in the slightest its just a pity it took so long for me to realise it.

I was never one for believing that things happen for a reason but I tried for 12 years to get into this profession and every time something outside of my control would get in my way to stop it from happening no matter how determined and dedicated I was.
    If I had gotten onto the secondary teacher training course not only would it have cost me 10k and fees and another 10k+ on additional costs I would have completed it only to end up stuck in an insecure job that I dislike for the rest of my working life making kids miserable forcing them to do work theyve no interest in and will never even have to think about once they finish school. I have a teaching qualification that means I can sub & earn money but its a side gig im using to fund the career I want and know im good at.

Never thought id see the day id say this but I am so happy I never got a place on the Post primary PME.

Bet the Post grads didn't like reading your lab reports. As one of my lecturers used to say 'An A is the highest you can get.'

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭Dub Ste

When I was still a young one learning to swim, our youth club took us swimming to one of the bigger pools in Leeds.
    Got a bit over-confident and set off for the deep end.
    Started off ok, but soon got into trouble, I remember going under a couple of times and really started to panic, luckily, one of the older lads saw me and swam over and got me to the side of the pool and helped me to get out.

I was really shaken by it, but thanks to "Big Terry" I'm here to tell the story.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

ButtersSuki and Bellbottoms don't post in this thread again

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭seagull

I was turning right at a set of traffic lights. The lights turned green for me. I looked to the right, and decided that the merc coming from that side wasn't going to stop, so I waited for him to pass. It was a dual carriageway, two lanes each side. I was across the first lane when a golf went flying past the nose of the car. It missed by centimetres, and was going fast enough to rock the car. He wasn't even in sight when I started moving. If not for the first car going through a red light, the second one would have ploughed into the driver's door at about 120kph. This was in a 60 zone.

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭shreko

Was over in Spain visiting a friend in the early noughties. Full of the joys of life and feeling invincible as a young one, I left a club early to head home but there were no cabs so I stuck out my thumb. This guy driving a pick up truck and gave me a lift. He had limited English and I had limited Spanish but we managed to make some chit chat. I had given him enough info about where I was staying (or so I thought) to drop me home but in hindsight I didn't even have a clue where I was going really.
    Anyway, it seemed it didn't matter because after a while I started to notice we were following all the signs for Alicante which I knew was in the wrong direction. We also seemed to be driving for a lot longer than we should have been. I started to get upset and was asking him to bring me home but the friendly chat had now stopped and he had started to ignore me. I started crying and begging him to let me out but he wouldnt respond.
    I had a glass bottle in my hand (leftover bottle of some alcopop I had from the club) and the only thing he was saying was gesturing me to put it down cause I was holding on to it for dear life. Eventually he pulled down some really quiet remote road and I took my chances and jumped out.
    I ran up the road and hid into a really thick dense bush. It took him longer as he had to reverse out but he drove up and down about three times looking for me before he drove away. I was terrified. I then spent about 6 hours just walking around random streets in Spain with no clue where I was.
    I remember calling into about 2 or 3 houses which had lights on and people answering the door who sent me away. I was only about 20 and almost hysterical, I was so frightened. I like to think now I would be more helpful if a young spanish girl called to my door as upset in the middle of the night.
    Eventually I came across a group of people at a 24 hour petrol station who turned out to be English and they drove me to a police station. the police then took a statement from me and managed to figure out where I was staying from what I told them and dropped me back to my friends house.

In the cold light of day I did wonder did I over react and maybe he was bringing me home or just didnt know where I wanted to go but then I think about how he just kept ignoring me and driving while I was bawling crying beside him. And why drive down a really narrow quiet country road.
    Anyway, shocking how foolish I was to get into the truck in the first place but Im glad to have gotten out relatively unscathed and learnt a valuable lesson !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

I remember when I was a naive 13 year old I was trying to buy fireworks in Dublin. This bloke comes up being real nice saying he has loads of fireworks, he says just walk around the corner & down the end of this lane, walking down the lane he asks to see the money, I should have noticed that red flag.
    Get to the end of the lane, well out of public sight, his expression changes and he says "I'm a Heroin addict, I have a syringe in my pocket if ya don't give me your money I'm gonna stick this in your heart." One of the most terrifying moments of my life, I start shacking because I genuinely believe I'm about to die, the bloke tries to calm me down & he takes the money, tells me walk back the way I came & don't say nothing to the cops or else. I was shaking all the way back to Bray.

If I seen the guy today I would hug him & tell him I forgive him, and give him my blessing & a tenner if he needed it. Hatred will just eat away at you, nobody else. I was more angry at the socio-economic problems that created the situation, if I wanted to I could have had revenge, one of my close friends from a very poor background is currently serving a life sentence for a shooting in Bray in 2008, if I asked him to he would have killed the guy. But I kept remembering that saying

"Those who seek revenge, should dig two graves"

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Candie wrote: »
    I almost died from meningitis as a young adult. I felt the world dimming around me, and in me, and I wanted the darkness because of the pain. I wasn't afraid. But I recovered and here I am.

The experience changed me for the better, I think.
    Awh man ..this was moving and inspiring Candie ! :)