Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Saturday with Katie Hannon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Cole

Is that Minister on a ventilator?

The value of someone like McDowell on programmes like this is highlighted today.

The fahhkin government can’t sort out everything as McD said.

Time someone said it.

He made a very good point in response to Carthy about young people and mental health...saying that vulnerable young people who can't escape from their domestic situations really need the help in particular.

I'm getting a bit jaded with the mental health thing being trotted out (and given air time) by some who just use it to make their situation appear more urgent/serious than it actually is (e.g. school/university), while those in really serious problems (domestic abuse) just make the back pages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,743 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Cole wrote: »
    He made a very good point in response to Carthy about young people and mental health...saying that vulnerable young people who can't escape from their domestic situations really need the help in particular.

I'm getting a bit jaded with the mental health thing being trotted out (and given air time) by some who just use it to make their situation appear more urgent/serious than it actually is (e.g. school/university), while those in really serious problems (domestic abuse) just make the back pages.

That’s what I was referring to, what concerns me is ‘What are the State doing’ seems to be the ‘go to’ action before anything else.

Total sympathy for those affected, but what are those in their domestic realm doing.

‘The State can’t solve everything ‘ would be the take away from this discussion

I heard the trailer for today's show..."when can we click and collect again?" I hope she has some heavy hitters on today to tease out this crucial question.

Someone from the govt side who can string two words together would do me..

After all the line up is usually 1 to 4 including the presenter.

Having some turkey from the sticks batting for the State isn’t good form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Someone from the govt side who can string two words together would do me..

After all the line up is usually 1 to 4 including the presenter.

Having some turkey from the sticks batting for the State isn’t good form.

Well whoever is appearing from the government side only has to listen to Damien English on CB yesterday or have cue cards with a) it's to early to make any decisions b) it's a cabinet decision c) we have to see where we are closer to April 5th d)with this variant we are in a difficult situation and we know how quickly we can lose control e) case numbers are rising across Europe including Ireland and we are not were we hoped to be.
    Add in" we understand that it is difficult for everybody" and the
    Governments job is done.

As an aside , blaming Katie for poor / weak / atrocious government spokespersons contributions over the last few weeks is really missing the point imho.

So at 1pm will a Heather Humphries type turning up or will be some unknown local TD from the greens....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,023 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I was in good form until I heard that insufferable Paul Reid being interviewed, can't abide this spoofer

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Infoanon wrote: »
    Well whoever is appearing from the government side only has to listen to Damien English on CB yesterday or have cue cards with a) it's to early to make any decisions b) it's a cabinet decision c) we have to see where we are closer to April 5th d)with this variant we are in a difficult situation and we know how quickly we can lose control e) case numbers are rising across Europe including Ireland and we are not were we hoped to be.
    Add in" we understand that it is difficult for everybody" and the
    Governments job is done.

As an aside , blaming Katie for poor / weak / atrocious government spokespersons contributions over the last few weeks is really missing the point imho.

So at 1pm will a Heather Humphries type turning up or will be some unknown local TD from the greens....

Need to be gentle , Brendan claims to be a good friend of the hapless Damien English who's performance on the CB yesterday was quite astonishing and not in a good way.

Hmmmm, that's quite a statement from Reid, those who refuse THE AZ vacinne won't get a vacinne, this is going to create a S*** Storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Hmmmm, that's quite a statement from Reid, those who refuse THE AZ vacinne won't get a vacinne, this is going to create a S*** Storm.

Well, if they want a different one from what they are offered for free, I've no problem in them a) waiting and b) paying for it themselves

ianobrien wrote: »
    Well, if they want a different one from what they are offered for free, I've no problem in them a) waiting and b) paying for it themselves

That's not what he Said unless I misheard?

Nonsense - it's been said from the get go that there would no choice.

I can't understand how anyone could not be aware of this.

So basically Paul Reid and pretty much repeated what he said on last interviewed, confirming nothing has progressed?

This excuse about non medical HSE staff getting vaccinated over others is appalling. I know many administrative staff in the HSE that would never ever meet or deal with Patients, who've got their vaccine WEEKS AGO

Infoanon wrote: »
    Nonsense - it's been said from the get go that there would no choice.

I can't understand how anyone could not be aware of this.

Again that is not what he said, he made a Blanket Statement saying if someone refuses the AZ vacinne, they won't get vaccinated. This I believe is quite outrageous, especially given the uncertainty out there. I don't agree with this uncertainty, I believe AZ has been proven to be safe but doubts there are and this can not be denied.

Oisin seems to have been away for the past few months, what exactly is he thinking, things have improved. He's reading his notes as he talks, as for this mysterious contract with a hotel operator, it's quite curious no contract has been signed at this late stage, I would have thought most Hotel operators would give their right arm to get this deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

Jesus! Brid Smith and David Cullinane AGAIN. Every week 2 or 3 rabble rousing populist socialists shouting over each other at one low ranked Ministers. This show is a right dose of the Trots. it used to be a great show. Now it's just the same rubbish week after week. They need to rebalance the panels to allow for real debate or just kill it.

touts wrote: »
    Jesus! Brid Smith and David Cullinane AGAIN. Every week 2 or 3 rabble rousing populist socialists shouting over each other at one low ranked Ministers. This show is a right dose of the Trots. it used to be a great show. Now it's just the same rubbish week after week. They need to rebalance the panels to allow for real debate or just kill it.

Right from the start Brid Smith came out with the whole 'nothing's the fault of the ordinary people, it's all because of The Man'. Then it's over to Cullinane who expresses his agreement with Smith...and then we're off again for another 2/3 against 1 Saturday shouting match. I presume that's what happened because I had switched off at that point.

Another week of an unknown gormless green junior - do you not think the issue is with the government ministers ducking and diving media appearances?, Josepha Madigan reappears this week to talk solely about gender balance in the 'Kerryman' title - where is Heather Humphries, Simon Harris etc etc

You cannot keep blaming the show,the presenter when the problem is no one from the government wants to be available on any RTE /VM show or provide official comment to the written media.

Ps : there was no shouting match

Jaysus.....O’Reilly again.. FFS.

Let me finish............

Another tag match....Brophy against the field.

Let me finish............

You love her, go on admit it :)

Yet again two angry Trots shouting at some junior minister no one ever heard of. I'm out.

Not a resounding endorsement on a return to school from that teachers organisation representative

O'Reilly and Carthy seem to be in some kind of specialist SF Katie Hannon unit.

"If Katie has a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find them....maybe you can hire the (Katie Hannon SF) A-Team"

O’Reilly manages to try to blame FG and FF for this despite having nothing to do with it.

Good man Brophy.......

Very difficult to contradict the caller, the Roll out has been a shambles. I don't blame government ministers, a bit unfair to put Brophy on the spot. The HSE senior management are complety at fault

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭boardise

Good man Brophy.......[/QUOTE

Got KH middle stump there.:D

Exactly Katie, this is also a scandal, HSE admin staff are getting vaccinated since day one, I know many who'd never ever deal with Patients. I don't begrudge anyone in a fair process but find it offensive the HSE deny what's going on in their own organisation.

NPHET, Norma Foley, Taoiseach all seem to agree that schools don't drive up infections. We're still in lockdown, I don't personally see much movement in society so maybe I'm missing something, Schools open and numbers remain High, who's wrong, who's right, this expert not mincing his words or evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭wetlandsboy

O’Reilly manages to try to blame FG and FF for this despite having nothing to do with it.
    It’s truly despicable, but completely not surprising from that particular lady and her party.

O dear Colm just made a silly accusation, that's not going to end well, this professor did not say NPHET misleading people

Katie better be careful here. Brophy is trying to encourage Killeen to spout some conspiracy theories that will land him and RTE in the high court.

You mean Colm & RTE ? The professor gave his opinion based on evidence, it was Brophy who accused the professor of saying NPHET misleading people, he certainly did not say that.

Facts have never been her strong point. She has built her political career out of making people angry.

You mean Colm & RTE ? The professor gave his opinion based on evidence, it was Brophy who accused the professor of saying NPHET misleading people, he certainly did not say that.

Brophy was trying to bait Killeen into slandering other scientists and NPHET with some of conspiracy theories live on the RTE. Killeen had the cop on to be careful.

Yes agreed, I sense an apology before show ends, Really silly gaff on Brophys behalf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭crossman47

Very difficult to contradict the caller, the Roll out has been a shambles.

It has not. Apart from minor glitches, vaccines are being put in arms as soon as they arrive. From my own experience, its working well with a well organised GP but some GPs appear to be all over the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭quartz1

There's much for the Public to be annoyed about and Mr Brophy doesn't do much to ease the annoyance. Be more helpful if he were concentrating on actually trying to solve issues rather than making excuses .

quartz1 wrote: »
    There's much for the Public to be annoyed about and Mr Brophy doesn't do much to ease the annoyance. Be more helpful if he were concentrating on actually trying to solve issues rather than making excuses .

Are you suggesting he’s not trying to solve issues?

crossman47 wrote: »
    It has not. Apart from minor glitches, vaccines are being put in arms as soon as they arrive. From my own experience, its working well with a well organised GP but some GPs appear to be all over the place.

You are Kidding, of course you are, have you seen any news on this over the past 3 months? Countless Gp"s reporting issues, actually reporting No Communications. 5,000 Nursing home residents still not vaccinated, HSE IT systems working off fisher price technology (first flagged in early 2019), the only excuse for the ineptitude is AZ supplies and yet there are 3 vacinnes being used.

Success you say, if this is success, god help us all if there's ever a failure.

We all knew Vacinnes was going to be the only way out of this and yet, not an ounce of preparation of a roll out took place before December 2020, absolutely shocking.

You are Kidding, of course you are, have you seen any news on this over the past 3 months? Countless Gp"s reporting issues, actually reporting No Communications. 5,000 Nursing home residents still not vaccinated, HSE IT systems working off fisher price technology (first flagged in early 2019), the only excuse for the ineptitude is AZ supplies and yet there are 3 vacinnes being used.

Success you say, if this is success, god help us all if there's ever a failure.

We all knew Vacinnes was going to be the only way out of this and yet, not an ounce of preparation of a roll out took place before December 2020, absolutely shocking.

I know about a dozen over 70s who have received their vaccinations with no (logistical) complications whatsoever. That's not to say that people haven't had issues and cock ups have occurred for sure, but calling it a "shambles" is seriously overstating it.

Yeah he didn't take the bait...but he (indirectly) made his views on Philip Nolan's 'expertise' pretty clear.

, but calling it a "shambles" is seriously overstating it.
    Next week is April.
    We still haven't vaccinated very vulnerable elderly people (including, by the way, plenty of over 85s who are housebound); the over 70s wont be vaccinated until the end of May.
    The UK has vaccinated over half of all adults.
    This is a shambles. It's true that most of the blame lies with the EU, but we are doing nothing to mitigate their blundering. Other countries in Europe are buying additional vaccines beyond the EU program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Unknownability

O dear Colm just made a silly accusation, that's not going to end well, this professor did not say NPHET misleading people

He very strongly implied it, he said the research he is reading and what NPHET are saying are contradictory and both can't be right.

He needs to provide the support to his statement that 1/30 children who get the new strain end up in hospital, I did find it contradictory that he is so concerned by these developments but is still on the fence about sending his own kids back to school.

Next week is April.
    We still haven't vaccinated very vulnerable elderly people (including, by the way, plenty of over 85s who are housebound); the over 70s wont be vaccinated until the end of May.
    The UK has vaccinated over half of all adults.
    This is a shambles. It's true that most of the blame lies with the EU, but we are doing nothing to mitigate their blundering. Other countries in Europe are buying additional vaccines beyond the EU program.

Yes agreed and there's the 5k in nursing homes still not fully vaccinated. I do appreciate the EU"s management has been utterly appalling and bizzare but I'm still adamant the HSE were poorly prepared, viewing their expertly put together (Spin) sorry press conferences, you'd swear they just brilliant and everything they do. I reiterate frontline staff have and continued to do an amazing jobs, it's the top echelons ineptitude that is just shocking.

Yeah he didn't take the bait...but he (indirectly) made his views on Philip Nolan's 'expertise' pretty clear.

I would go as far as saying that he directly made his views clear.

He very strongly implied it, he said the research he is reading and what NPHET are saying are contradictory and both can't be right.

He needs to provide the support to his statement that 1/30 children who get the new strain end up in hospital, I did find it contradictory that he is so concerned by these developments but is still on the fence about sending his own kids back to school.

Implying and saying are two very different things and as he stated, his views have come from evidence, some of which actually supplied via the HSE"s own reporting. The comment from Brophy was quite specific, I can't figure out, and I listened back what part of the Professors statement, contribution, mentioned or claimed NPHET was misleading the public.

Sometimes implying and saying can be very different things in this case it's just semantics to discuss the difference, it is my belief that it was his intention to undermine NEPHT, undermine Philip Nolan and undermine the entire response.

When people and in this case Gerry make such bold statements around apocalyptic type hospitalisation rates in children they should be fact checked prior to broadcasting.

The guy is an epidemiologist, not some conspiracy theorist, and the facts are in the public domain via NPHET.

770 children (aged 14 or younger) have tested positive for covid in the past 14 days, and 42 are in hospital. That's a hospitalization rate of 5.5%, approximately 1 in 20.

Sometimes implying and saying can be very different things in this case it's just semantics to discuss the difference, it is my belief that it was his intention to undermine NEPHT, undermine Philip Nolan and undermine the entire response.

Bold Statements? That's assuming you doubt his expertise or opinion, as an expert in his field for 20 years, I'd certainly think he some knowledge on the subject, but I guess we'll have to agree to disagree, my primary point is that he at no time stated NPHET were misleading anyone, I actually have tremendous respect for Professor Philip Nolan and feel NPHET Have served us well.

The guy is an epidemiologist, not some conspiracy theorist, and the facts are in the public domain via NPHET.

770 children (aged 14 or younger) have tested positive for covid in the past 14 days, and 42 are in hospital. That's a hospitalization rate of 5.5%, approximately 1 in 20.

I'm not implying he is a conspiracy theorist but he does have an agenda, everyone has an agenda so that's not surprising.

Stating someone's occupation doesn't mean you should place heed in what they are saying. As Gerry implied about Philip Nolan, also would you listen to me quote Prof Dolores Cahill, because she is a professor?

For the last part of your comment that is an extremely simplistic equation and not one that would stand up to scrutiny, while they may be hospitalised Gerry has no knowledge of why they are there, of which NPHET do. To imply like Gerry did, that it was due to the strain of Covid they have was a dangerous thing to do.