Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Saturday with Katie Hannon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,731 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I agree that breakout is happening, in fact it has been for ages, it's just reaching a critical mass now. It has happened before, with previous relaxations of course, to a greater or lesser extent.

I don't think that particular "cohort" are taking their lead from the meeja, however, but it is grindingly inevitable that the permanent oppoisiton would oppose any consensus. They are shameless, and it's a poor mark on the collective intelligence of any country, that people lap it up unthinkingly..

I hear what you are saying and if I understand correctly, agree.

It will be interesting to listen to the sound media to hear if there is a ‘swing’ in any direction.

We'll see Ballsy’s take on in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,958 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

On this afternoons News at One on RTE during an interview with Leo Varadkar the presenter quote a statisic from Bolton re hospitalisations, he said that of those in hospital there with Covid 10% are fully vaccinated. Leo faffed a bit in response before saying "yeh but do we know if they're ten days out from the second dose... thats the thing".
    I think now that there's even more cause for concern than we know.

Worrying.

I’d say’Nooze’ is setting up poor Fleming for a roasting today.

She’ll be in with the first kick when motormouth O’Reilly staggers him.

I believe P Power has a bet on the first “let me finish “ from O’Reilly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,851 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

This Evan Cullen guy is a right loudmouth...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,022 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I’d say’Nooze’ is setting up poor Fleming for a roasting today.

She’ll be in with the first kick when motormouth O’Reilly staggers him.

I believe P Power has a bet on the first “let me finish “ from O’Reilly.

But let me start :) sean Fleming easy bait in fairness, he's wearing a fetching green sweat shirt so he's well prepared. He's actually one of my local TD"s and not at all inspiring

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

This Evan Cullen guy is a right loudmouth...

The Pilots rep? God yes, quite gruff and aggressive, has a real bee in his bonnet with NPHET

O christ Eoghan Corry, another pain in the H***

Hannon had to stop O’Reilly on her opening address.

Took several hints before she had to jump in

But no Let me finish yet Bren, she's very restrained :)

Look at the state of poor Sean Fleming :)

Michael o leary, there'll be fire works

My Jaysus…. Talk about a stacked deck……this is what’s ruining this programme.

Where are Nephet in all this…. They have a vested interest too surely.

We’re they invited.

MOL talking nonsense, Stobart Air was in trouble long before Covid, they thought they'd sold only to discover buyer was a chancer with no proper funding in place.

MOL invited on to talk about stobart air, instead a rant re NPHET, Covid and Vacinations, disgraceful

Lol, good to shout at you Katie more like it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

O'Reilly didn't want to talk about Sinn Fein gathering data about voters under false pretences.

touts wrote: »
    O'Reilly didn't want to talk about Sinn Fein gathering data about voters under false pretences.

Does this story honestly bother voters? Personally It would not bother me in the slightest. That said Marc Mc Shary some eejit of himself earlier in the week, now he's calling the Gardai on his own party

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Does this story honestly bother voters? Personally It would not bother me in the slightest. That said Marc Mc Shary some eejit of himself earlier in the week, now he's calling the Gardai on his own party

There is a big difference between democratic parties doing their own polls and Trotskyist parties like Sinn Fein gathering information door to door for their database. Anyone who grew up in Eastern Europe will tell you that sort of information (in ledgers etc) led to purges when the socialists came to power in Eastern Europe after 1945. I work with several lads from across Eastern Europe and they all say they are out of here if Sinn Fein ever win power. Listen to the latest Martyr Made Podcast to understand why they feel that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

There is a big difference between democratic parties doing their own polls and Trotskyist parties like Sinn Fein gathering information door to door for their database. Anyone who grew up in Eastern Europe will tell you that sort of information (in ledgers etc) led to purges when the socialists came to power in Eastern Europe after 1945. I work with several lads from across Eastern Europe and they all say they are out of here if Sinn Fein ever win power. Listen to the latest Martyr Made Podcast to understand why they feel that way.

There is no difference between SF and other parties doing it, except it seems they and FG were more duplicitous. That being said as someone who was born in socialist country (Yugoslavia) I understand what the issue is very well and I think it's despicable.

We're they not all gathering Polling Data by dubious means? I'm not a SF supporter by the way but don't subscribe to the notion the world will end if they ever got into power. 1945 saw a rise in communism, not socialism across the entire Eastern European region, socialism & communism two very different things.

Bit of a damp squib today, given the line up.

Hannon adopted a very deferential approach to O’Leary.

Seemed to be anxious to create the impression she was only going through the motions, unlike her tone to backwater Ministers she usually has on.

There are more people in an area of Greater Manchester than in the whole of NI.

That said it might be finally sinking in to her that she needs to moderate.

When Fleming got in a good cut at O’Reilly over ‘your party supporters building defective blocks of apartments’ I paraphrase that, a bit of dust rose up, and Hannon was in with “one voice”.

We're they not all gathering Polling Data by dubious means? I'm not a SF supporter by the way but don't subscribe to the notion the world will end if they ever got into power. 1945 saw a rise in communism, not socialism across the entire Eastern European region, socialism & communism two very different things.

You’d get on well with auld Francie so…..:D

They are all socialist until they win the first election. Then they become Trotskyist/Stalinist when they are about to lose the next election. Plus Sinn Fein have a history of using violence and intimidation to force the people to do what Sinn Fein believe is best for the people so they have form.

O dear, you paint a very grim picture

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭tv3tg4

The provo army council is influencing sf.

I think polling surveys are not accurate.

But the thought of sf calling to homes with bogus ids is wrong.

tv3tg4 wrote: »
    The provo army council is influencing sf.

I think polling surveys are not accurate.

But the thought of sf calling to homes with bogus ids is wrong.

Absolutely, given the underlying makeup of the party,and their paid ‘activists’ I would have serious concerns about coves from that background about the area.

I mean with their ‘senior people’ like Cullinane and Stanley plus the the ‘Broad Black Brinmmer’ merchants after the RDS count belting out Wolf Tones ‘songs’.

Couldn’t blame people being very concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Interesting to hear her take the same line as apologists for other parties have taken.

They all prioritise the importance of the polling to the parties over the rights of citizens.

Not a good look for politicians whose duty is to serve the people.

In future tell them nothing I say and that includes canvassers.

There is a big difference between democratic parties doing their own polls and Trotskyist parties like Sinn Fein gathering information door to door for their database. Anyone who grew up in Eastern Europe will tell you that sort of information (in ledgers etc) led to purges when the socialists came to power in Eastern Europe after 1945. I work with several lads from across Eastern Europe and they all say they are out of here if Sinn Fein ever win power.
    Bro do you even lift history from books?

Trotskyism had nothing to do with the administration of government of the USSR (they literally killed Trotsky) and nothing to do with nationalist political parties, left or right.

Ah, why bother. People often complain about the qualiity of political broadcasting in this country, sometimes with good reason, but at least we haven't tended to pursue this Americanisation of politics, where anything vaguely Left is stalinist or trotskyist.

Bro do you even lift history from books?

Trotskyism had nothing to do with the administration of government of the USSR (they literally killed Trotsky) and nothing to do with nationalist political parties, left or right.

Ah, why bother. People often complain about the qualiity of political broadcasting in this country, sometimes with good reason, but at least we haven't tended to pursue this Americanisation of politics, where anything vaguely Left is stalinist or trotskyist.

Clearly I read more history than you do. Trotsky masterminded the worst of the purges in Russia, the Ukraine and Belarus after the revolution. He ordered the deaths of millions of White Russians and other enemies of the people. He lost out in the leadership race to succeed Lenin and fled before Stalin got his hands on him. Once in exile he continued to ferment and preach violent socialist revolution to any group that would listen. For his overall impact on human life in the 20th century he is comfortably in the top 10 greatest mass murderers.

But many on the left in Ireland including Sinn Fein, PBP, etc all proudly hang the badge Trotskyist to their policies.

The government send a senior minister (Covney) with more than a couple of brain cells onto the show for the first time in a couple of years and the opposition respond by sending possibly their weakest possible line up they have ever assembled (Carty and Whitmore). The only way Sinn Fein could have selected a worse rep was if they propped Martin Browne up in an office chair and had a couple of his enforcers wheel him into the studio and just leave him there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The government send a senior minister (Covney) with more than a couple of brain cells onto the show for the first time in a couple of years and the opposition respond by sending possibly their weakest possible line up they have ever assembled (Carty and Whitmore). The only way Sinn Fein could have selected a worse rep was if they propped Martin Browne up in an office chair and had a couple of his enforcers wheel him into the studio and just leave him there.

Bye election in 3 weeks and Fine Gael want to win it. So they'll be having senior ministers on programmes for the next while and then they'll disappear again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Fair play to Carty for pulling up presenter on giving Coveney an 18 min uninterrupted broadcast and then allowing him to interrupt everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,601 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

This is exactly how the next election debates will go. FFG will get absolutely hammered on housing. They are both 20 years making a mess of the housing market and people of all age groups are sickened by it.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Teachers representative on looking for younger Teachers to get priority for vacination, haven't we heard this before, I thought now that teachers off for 3 months holidays we'd hear less of this nonsense.

Pretty drab affair, SF TD utterly out of her depth on every topic, kind of reminded me of a 5th year student in on work experience, Chambers just coming across all nice and sincere with Zero substance, is this chap even shaving? And Alan Kelly muttering down the phone line, just awful to listen too. On the one hand he opposes everything and yet starts every sentence not blaming a minister, government etc, followed by an incoherent rant. The pub rep was sitting in the background, mumbling about more financial aid, everyone including Justin Mc Carthy just ignored him, infact he was even mentioned as a guest in the opening segment :)

Remember that only for "golfgate" Sean O'Rourke would be doing this show and getting 200k per year for it.

Nah, Sean had retired ,buddy, wouldn’t have ‘sprung back’ that quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,601 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Nah, Sean had retired ,buddy, wouldn’t have ‘sprung back’ that quickly.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/rte-and-sean-orourke-cut-ties-with-planned-political-show-cancelled-on-back-of-golf-gate-dinner-39473707.html

RTÉ and broadcaster Sean O'Rourke's relationship is over after a planned political show he was due to front has been cancelled.

Veteran broadcaster Mr O'Rourke had been set to front a new show at RTÉ. However, it was decided not to proceed with the show by mutual agreement - with RTÉ stating they would not be proceeding with plans for future projects with Mr O'Rourke.

Mr O'Rourke hosted the mid-morning show Today with Sean O'Rourke until May when he retired.

Mr O'Rourke was one of 81 people who attended the Oireachtas Golf Society dinner in Clifden last week.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/rte-and-sean-orourke-cut-ties-with-planned-political-show-cancelled-on-back-of-golf-gate-dinner-39473707.html

RTÉ and broadcaster Sean O'Rourke's relationship is over after a planned political show he was due to front has been cancelled.

Veteran broadcaster Mr O'Rourke had been set to front a new show at RTÉ. However, it was decided not to proceed with the show by mutual agreement - with RTÉ stating they would not be proceeding with plans for future projects with Mr O'Rourke.

Mr O'Rourke hosted the mid-morning show Today with Sean O'Rourke until May when he retired.

Mr O'Rourke was one of 81 people who attended the Oireachtas Golf Society dinner in Clifden last week.

Yes, I’m aware of that but apparently it would have been a more ‘John Bowman’ type show rather than a ‘current affairs’ live one as Saturday with KH is.

That was my understanding anyway.

Yes, I’m aware of that but apparently it would have been a more ‘John Bowman’ type show rather than a ‘current affairs’ live one as Saturday with KH is.

That was my understanding anyway.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/business/media-and-marketing/rt%25C3%25A9-cancels-future-plans-with-broadcaster-sean-o-rourke-over-golfing-dinner-1.4337696%3fmode=amp https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/rte-show-out-of-bounds-for-sean-orourke-jp9cpqpt2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,784 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

There should be a "sackcloth and ashes" type interview coming from SOR shortly I suspect.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

padd b1975 wrote: »
    There should be a "sackcloth and ashes" type interview coming from SOR shortly I suspect.

Plus an appearance on the lls where a reflective Sor will hold forth on the effect the whole affair had on his mental health (effect on the pocket won't be mentioned)

Fair play to Colm Brophy, yesterday took no bull from the usual ‘stacked deck’ of Hannon, Whitmore and O’Broin.

Put them in their boxes, well done Minister.

LOL Brendan, seriously 😂😂 not how I saw it, Patronising, incoherent but the best part,

I'll accept if we were wrong, but we're never wong essentially",

Second best moment, we did release information on new supports, no one agreed with that, indeed there still is no information as of this morning.

It was a little like a pantomime.

O yes we Did, O no you you didn't 😁

Brophy was put in his place when he resorted to his usual trick, talking over people.

In fairness to Brophy, he had really little to work with given the chaotic and quite Bizzare nature of the previous few days with regard to this governments performance. What was it Leo said last Wednesday, "I'd be very sceptical of a need for further restrictions" 🤔🤔

Entitled to your opinion Dee.

What this is is a moving target, it requires decisions to be made quickly but given the complexity of those parties involved it is very difficult to have every i dotted and every t crossed before the decision is take.

Otherwise we would never get anything done.

We just cannot see into the future on this and the requests for definite dates and ‘certaintity’ by Hannon and her ilk is just plain stupid.

Minister Brophy only interrupted when incorrect accusations were made by others and indeed Hannon raised the decibels many times shouting down Minister Brophy as he tried to answer questions.

Folk need to remember the is a huge difference between broad policy strategy and the actual minutiae of its actual implementation in terms of covering all the bases.

Takes time folks, can’t just snap your fingers and it happens, as some seem to think.

And your entitled to yours but its striking your quick and consistent defence of Brophy.

I'd think if he had a dump in the Studio you'd still defend him. Let's not forget this chap worked in hospitality and I'd have no doubt if those working in this sector were watching his breath taking arrogance they'd be livid.

Accept it or not, the man just oozes arrogance and is pointedly patronising whenever criticised or questioned on government policy. I actually thought the rest of the panel were quite measured and coherent.

Glad to see Katie back, she wasn't taking any of Brophys nonsense, perhaps that's what annoys you 🤔

We moved from objective to personal very quickly in the quoted post Dee, which I’ll have to say is a trait I don’t particularly like.

Particularly when assumptions are made attributing certain stances to respected posters who say it as they see it.

Thats how I see it Dee, you obviously see it differently, let’s leave to abuse and personalities out of it.

Extraordinary, you wait almost 14 hours after the show was broadcast, come on and make an absolutely absurd observation about Brophys performance and expect no one to call it out 🙄 then you take offence at the correction and swiftly move on to lecture and patronise. Admit it Brendan, your clearly not objective when it comes to all things FG and especially this Brophy chap.

Apologies if I've upset your sensitivities albeit I was being tongue and cheek. I'm absolutely furious at not just this Government but equally, buffoons (hope that's too offensive) like Brophy coming on and no just defending the indefensible but also being arrogant and patronising about it.

Lookit, we’ll have to leave it there………..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

@Dempo1 is spot on here. Comical Brophy made a tool of himself...yet again! Was put back in his massive box at least twice. You know things are bad when that muppet is rolled out.