Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Crikey we have an AFL forum. Say hello and who you support

• 25-01-2008 8:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭

Way great work in the Sys thread guys and thanks mods/admins/overlords for giving it a go.

Special thanks to Xazi for getting the ball rolling.

Anyway Lets see who supports who.

St.Kilda fan here. Gutted we just missed the finals last year, looking for an improvement this time round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

wooot! congrats on the forum. Swans man myself, used to be able to watch their home games from the roof garden of my apartment. Happy times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Brian017

hurrah, its finallly here! A collingwood man here. My ex got me into them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,899 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Ah this feels good!

Eagles fan myself since 96. Family got me into it and I followed it in Ireland and now over here.

Big Bad Ben was my first Eagles hero along with Matera and the recently deceased Mainwaring.

Big loss to lose Cousins and Judd but players like Cox, Kerr, Hunter, Selwood and Glass should see us strong again this year.

Doesn't seem to be a mod here yet but whoever it becomes should sticky this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭legspin

Happy day children. Bombers fan myself (circa 1984). See you round the campus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭nedward

Only ever watched the highlights on TG4-enjoyable always though-Go on the bombers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭scaramanga

good stuff
    go on the swanies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Eh.. boys? I'm a Collingwood supporter?

NOT ANY MORE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Skittlebrau

Fair play Xavi6. You put a lot in to get this approved.

Hawks fan here. Should have a good enough year again this year. As long as all those rumours about half the team liking the odd chemical substance aren't true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

wow, i've acquired another forum and nobody told me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

RuggieBear wrote: »
    wow, i've acquired another forum and nobody told me.

Ah the life of a CMod!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭tonton zola

Saints fan here also. Following the game for the last 5 or 6 years( I'm only 20 now though!)

Got to see go to 3 games when I spent a summer in sydney, including Sts v Swans at the scg which was played in a feckin monsoon.

Glad the g train is back for the coming season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Casual viewer whenever I can catch the highlights (or extended highlights) on TG4!

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Brian017

I'm so jealous of all you people who have witnessed AFL in the flesh :p:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Dinkie

Yipeee..... Go the Dockers!!!!:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Onya matey ..

Good ol' Collingwood forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

nedward wrote: »
    Only ever watched the highlights on TG4-enjoyable always though-Go on the bombers!

Same here but hardly saw any of the last season. I usually follow the swans. May get back into it now that we have a forum.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Spent 3 months in Sydney before and went to see the Swans play Geelong in the Telstra stadium in 06. I'd keep an eye out for them when they're on tv so guess that makes me a fan...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭hanton12

Big Aussie Rules fan alright, used to follow Brisbane as I have relations there, and used to keep an eye out for the Swans because of Kennelly, but the Eagles are my team. Lived in Perth for a while and went to Subiaco a good few times. Was in Sydney for a bit too, and went to the SCG while there also, and was at the Gabba then with a cousin of mine, but Eagles are no.1!

hanton12 wrote: »
    Big Aussie Rules fan alright, used to follow Brisbane as I have relations there, and used to keep an eye out for the Swans because of Kennelly, but the Eagles are my team. Lived in Perth for a while and went to Subiaco a good few times. Was in Sydney for a bit too, and went to the SCG while there also, and was at the Gabba then with a cousin of mine, but Eagles are no.1!

That's what I like to hear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Dinkie

Saw the Eagles play the Dockers in Subi..... great game and a fantastic atmosphere!!!

Have a soft spot for the Eagles, as they were the first team I ever saw play.... Is there any public venue where they show the games as I don't have sky/ntl???

I usually follow it over the internet

Dinkie wrote: »
    Saw the Eagles play the Dockers in Subi..... great game and a fantastic atmosphere!!!

Have a soft spot for the Eagles, as they were the first team I ever saw play.... Is there any public venue where they show the games as I don't have sky/ntl???

you based in Wexford or Dublin? I'm sure the Woolshed on Parnell st in Dublin would show games, but considering the time most games are on in Oz, wouldnt be sure if any pubs would be open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

eagles here.......

got a 10 foot long scarf as well from my stint down under.

so its Eagles, Giants and Everton

my passion.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Shutuplaura

Partial to the Tigers, but thanks to Martin Clarke I've a bit of a soft spot for Collingwood. Where I work they seem to have a Richmond only hiring policy so I didn't have much of a choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

Good to see the forum got the go-ahead. It did make sense. Now lets see if it is an active one this year, and the next, etc.

I have affiliations with Essendon (the Bombers), but was a big fan of the Krakouer brothers when they played for North Melbourne (Kanga's) when I lived in Oz for a while. I also knew a couple of blokes that played for Carling when they were the money team back then and won the VFL, but I never really liked them that much as they didnt have enough 'soul'. Just to get good ribbing I stuck with the Kanga's.

I generally watch the highlights of many of the games each season on TG4 (and also Setanta had some) and follow the premiership battle as close as I can on the net. I'm following the moves of any Irish players very closely and their development, such as the o'hAilpins, Brendan Kennealy, Martin Clarke who stormed in from nowhere last season, and in the past Jim Synes and a few others.

It was good to see Brisbane and St.Kilda have their battles a few years ago, then the rise of the Adelaide teams and also WCE. Sydney were in their too so Melbourne is far from having it their way.

Looking forward to a good season, which no doubt will throw up a few surprises.

Redspider

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 McBurnie

Guess I am all alone when I say CMON THE POWER :D hah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Hey folks,

Some of you may know me as "The fanatic" on the GAA forum.:D:D

Basically I only realised this forum today but was around when the rally got going for it.

I'm curious and a bit embarassed at the same time.Embarassed to say that I don't have much of a clue about AFL,its rules and teams and curious to know how the game is played ie rules,scores etc.

I have a cousin in Melbourne and while I have no immediate plans to go there yet,I may go in a few years.Just curious as to how I can follow it and get an understanding for the game.My mate Nalced_Irl on the GAA forum has been to a few games over there and said it was good although a one sided match could be as boring as hell,even worse than a one sided GAA match.

Any help?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

blackbelt wrote: »
    Hey folks,

Basically I only realised this forum today but was around when the rally got going for it.

I'm curious and a bit embarassed at the same time.Embarassed to say that I don't have much of a clue about AFL,its rules and teams and curious to know how the game is played ie rules,scores etc.

I have a cousin in Melbourne and while I have no immediate plans to go there yet,I may go in a few years.Just curious as to how I can follow it and get an understanding for the game.My mate Nalced_Irl on the GAA forum has been to a few games over there and said it was good although a one sided match could be as boring as hell,even worse than a one sided GAA match.

Any help?

The only way I would say is to watch games. Setanta had good coverge last year and we are all hoping for the same this year. The only thing I would say is that most GAA fans I know do like the game after watching it a few times.

He is correct reagrding a one sided match, it can seem quite boring I think this is mainly due to the number of stoppages that seem to occur and with no suspense in the game it can become boring.

www.afl.com.au might help you out as well.

Hey folks,

Any help?

I've started a thread just for you :D

Hey folks,

Any help?

yeah once you get into it its easy enough to pick up. At times I'd look at it with my GAA head on and wonder how guys would miss an open shot at the goal from 20 yards out, but then you see some of the hits and puts that aspect of it back in its place!

Have a look around on youtube too, would have some highlights and stuff.

And look up videos on the West Coast Eagles too! Best team around! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

Watch all the highlights on tv over here.
    As for affiliation I am a Hawks fan, as the first stubby holder I ever bought was for the hawks.
    Also liked Melbourne Demons, suppose beacuse I lived there for a year plus the Stynes connection at the time.
    Went to see them in the MCG once ( only once sorry), what a stadium.
    Also liked Geelong, when Gary abblett played for them, shows how long ago I was there I suppose.
    So overall I would call myself a fan of the sport, with a soft spot for the Hawks.

God I made hard work of that........!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

Way great work in the Sys thread guys and thanks mods/admins/overlords for giving it a go.

Special thanks to Xazi for getting the ball rolling.

Anyway Lets see who supports who.

St.Kilda fan here. Gutted we just missed the finals last year, looking for an improvement this time round.

I was at the game in the telstra against west coast where you guys needed a win , ben cousins was great that day..

Stephen here , been supporting the mag-pie for last two seasons as I've been living in Melbourne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Sarge wrote: »
    I was at the game in the telstra against west coast where you guys needed a win , ben cousins was great that day..

Stephen here , been supporting the mag-pie for last two seasons as I've been living in Melbourne.

Yep. I spend the afternoon in working watching the live update thing on www.afl.com.au, couldn't find a stream of the actually match. Needless to say everyone though I was a little strange when i was half screaming at my screen and making good knows what kind of faces at 2 o'clock on a friday afternoon. That must have been a great match to be at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Nice one on getting the forum going. :)

Lived in Sydney, so was a Swans fan back then.

Have a soft spot for The Eagles too though, I became great mates with an absolute fanatic of them last year.

Hmm, looks like The Eagles are the most popular on here so far:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Sorry McBurnie, there are 2 of us. Fan of the Power/port magpies since 2001. Met the Burgoyne boys a couple of times. Went to a fair few games when I lived in Adelaide (5 years).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 McBurnie

hey hey, a fello port man :) it's a shame about last year but :( worst defend in AFL finals history! ah well, I am sure we'll put something together this year :D young team so that can only be good.

yeah, i met a good few of the players, heaps of them live close by (in the suburbs around the port area) & out in pub and that, seen corns & a few others blotto one night in the casino :D hah, good stuff, keeping with the port adelaide tradition.
    Traumadoc wrote: »
    Sorry McBurnie, there are 2 of us. Fan of the Power/port magpies since 2001. Met the Burgoyne boys a couple of times. Went to a fair few games when I lived in Adelaide (5 years).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Yea I lived in Henley Beach, worked in the QEH and the RAH Went to quite a few games, the best was in the qualifying final against St Kilda in the premiership year. Treaders played a blinder as did the Cornes boys.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭cabra64

Any word on how established irish lads are getting? TK is set alright but what about the O hAlpin bros and Colm (i think) Begley?

cabra64 wrote: »
    Any word on how established irish lads are getting? TK is set alright but what about the O hAlpin bros and Colm (i think) Begley?

Setanta is pretty much established in the Carlton team. Any time I've watched them though he hasn't been that impressive but that can be said for the whole team to be fair. It'll be interesting to see if Judd makes an impact with them this year.

His brother was still rookie listed last year but from what I hear they expect big things from him. Might see him get a few games this year.

Not too sure about Begley. He was in and out of the team a bit last year.

The new "star" is Marty Clarke at Collingwood. He had an absolute stormer of a year last year. Has really picked it up quickly and looks like an excellent player. My Collingwood mates are well impressed with him.

Begley was a regular starter for the Lions last year in the equivalent of the half back position. Saw him socre his first goal as well so he's done fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭cabra64

Dinkie wrote: »

TG4 on the regular terrestrial stations usually have a weekly update programme covering the games and highlights of the weeks action during the season. Its an australian produced programme not in the irish language.

Also good to see the irish holding there own in oz at least, compared to the farce that is compromise rules game.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Begley was a regular starter for the Lions last year in the equivalent of the half back position. Saw him socre his first goal as well so he's done fine.

Was he not dropped towards the end of the season though? Or was he injured?

I'm sure I remember him not being in the team for a while.

I could be wrong though. Don't really pay that much attention to the Lions.

Was he not dropped towards the end of the season though? Or was he injured?

I'm sure I remember him not being in the team for a while.

I could be wrong though. Don't really pay that much attention to the Lions.

Me neither so he could very well have been. He was on the interchange a fair bit too anyway.

Begley played nearly all 22 games last year, think he missed 2 in a row in the middle of the year, but played in about 20, getting 6/7 goals I think. He was mainly used as an interchange player, dont know if he actually started too many, but sure being on the panel of 22 is much the same in a lot of cases as starting anyway.

I remember one of his goals last year was a classic, him and Setanta in a foot race, Begley tearing towards goal and o hAilpin chasing him and Begley scored a great kick on the run. Commentators going mad over it, saying its 'County Cork against County Laois' (* which he pronounced Laois as Laos). Probably on youtube, must have a look later.

He is doing very well though in fairness. Probably hasnt made the same impact as Clarke, but Clarke plays in around midfield and its easier to make an impression on the game either playing midfield or full forward. Setanta wouldnt really have impressed me much in any game I saw of him either, but as he plays in the backs, most of time you would see him is when the opposition score, so would never get to see goof highlights of him. He has made a few clangers too, but as somone also said, he is on a sh!t Carlton team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

ill be keeping an eye on the dockers this year..

BarryCreed wrote: »
    ill be keeping an eye on the dockers this year..

And hoping they lose? Yeah me too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

And hoping they lose? Yeah me too.

too many champagne charlies on the eagles team!!

ahhh, how id love to live in Freo....*fingers crossed*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Lions supporter here, worked at the Bar in the Gabba a few times just to get in to se the games :D

became a fan when Voss and Akkkkkaaaaamenace were a force to be rekoned with, tho Brown and power might be good as a leadership combo this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Jagera

Brisbane Bears --> Brisbane Lions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Well now... an afl forum.. that's unexpected. I'm a Carlton fan for my sins! :(

You must have a lot of sins! :p

Join the fantasy league.