Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Guess the Village/Town/City Thread 3 (read post 1)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Where would one find this boat?

Paris.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 584 ✭✭✭niley

Haha niley, is that frustration talking?!

Haha, , no :)

I just said it because I new it was in Moyne, which is 2-3km away from the nearest village, and this is not a guess the church thread (*drools at the thought*) :)

irish_goat wrote: »

https://www.vesselfinder.com/vessels/GALWAY-BAY-IMO-7645548-MMSI-0

Fairly sure you'll find that boat in a scrapyard, at best :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,686 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Niley, I don't think that's the Galway Bay in the picture. Unless it was another boat also named the same name. I remeber the Galway Bay with a smoke stack! Image of the Galway Bay

Now I'm intrigued about what that vessel is in the picture above.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

astrofluff wrote: »
    Niley, I don't think that's the Galway Bay in the picture. Unless it was another boat also named the same name. I remeber the Galway Bay with a smoke stack! Image of the Galway Bay

Now I'm intrigued about what that vessel is in the picture above.

I think we're looking at two different boats of the same name. Not my area of expertise though (either geographically or otherwise), so don't count on what I said :)

Cheers for that Niley, I'd forgotten there was another vessel named that. So I did a little digging, and that vessel is now named St. Bridget and does Dublin Bay cruises. I have fond memories of the original Galway Bay, as well as the Naomh Eanna (laid up at grand canal) over in Aran.

So the question is this: where was that vessel in the above picture laid up before being brought to Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,965 ✭✭✭blackwhite

irish_goat wrote: »

Paris.jpg[IMG][/img]

Right now - she's laid up for the winter in Grand Canal Dock :D

In her former life she used to lay-up in Cleggan Co. Galway

https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.5567587,-10.112211,3a,75y,46.76h,82.41t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sj1kWe1q_-94f0RO1nUkD2Q!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

Can we make the small harbours of Ireland the new Churches of this thread? :P

534034.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Looks like Mullaghmore?

Ficheall wrote: »
    Looks like Mullaghmore?

Sin é

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Three More Big Sleeps

blackwhite wrote: »
    Cleggan Co. Galway

Fair play, BW :)

Briefly off topic if I may, but I wonder why someone requested that the other end of the ice house (?) was blurred out.

https://maps.app.goo.gl/ZmZbYtZ1qrus54Xo9

534138.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Sugarloaf?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Ben Bulben?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭lassykk

Comeragh mountains?

No to Sugarloaf and Comeragh. I think I can say no to Ben Bulben, but that's not a hill I'm prepared to die on, so to speak.

Edit: Arah, feck it, you may as well have Ben Bulben. Go for it, hook.

Fair play, BW :)

Briefly off topic if I may, but I wonder why someone requested that the other end of the ice house (?) was blurred out.

https://maps.app.goo.gl/ZmZbYtZ1qrus54Xo9

One click left or right and it's not blurred. Guessing that it's a glitch in their algorithm

No to Sugarloaf and Comeragh. I think I can say no to Ben Bulben, but that's not a hill I'm prepared to die on, so to speak.

Edit: Arah, feck it, you may as well have Ben Bulben. Go for it, hook.

Was about to say it looked like the Gleniff Horseshoe alright.

blackwhite wrote: »
    Was about to say it looked like the Gleniff Horseshoe alright.
    Yup. Did quite well in the "Ireland's best landmark" tournament in the Forum Games thread the other week.

They had up the road to the left there closed off for a couple of days for filming a couple of months ago. Apparently your w'an from the Queen's Gambit is in it. Ditto Nicole Kidman, but she's only coming in for the Malin parts.

That's been on my bucket list to visit and I had forgotten, beautiful place!

Truckermal wrote: »
    That's been on my bucket list to visit and I had forgotten, beautiful place!

If you've a day to kill - the view from the top of Benbulben is something else.

You used to be able to climb right down inside the side of the mountain into a "cave" in King's Mountain years ago - not sure if still accessible. Also, Diarmuid and Grainne's cave is off the Horseshoe, of course.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Double post .

Easy , I think .

From Church porn to Mountain porn....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

The Black Valley?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,580 ✭✭✭bassy

Capture-1.png

rathcabbin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,304 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

bassy wrote: »
    rathcabbin.

That one's old :D

To thine own self be true

Easy , I think .

Achill Island?

Easy , I think .
    534202.jpeg

Absolutely stunning place wherever that is. Nice.

Sliabh League?

No one has guessed it so far. One guess in the right county.

Carrantoul

feargale wrote: »
    Carrantoul
    That's one hell of a mountain range.

Carrantoul

Correct county .Keep navigating ...

That's one hell of a mountain range.

Carrantoul is a mountain. The range is called the Magillacuddy Reeks.

Ah, apologies, I hadn't seen your valley post - I thought we were looking for Mayo or Donegal. Needless to say, my further searches were unsuccessful :pac:

Mount Brandon, pictured from the Ballydavid side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,888 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Would I meet Captain Farrell around there, Byhookorbycrook ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Would I meet Captain Farrell around there, Byhookorbycrook ?

Would you take all his money if you did?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Mount Brandon it is, from Cuas (the Ballydavid side) St. Brendan the Navigator was supposed to have sailed from this little harbour to "discover" America. Tim Severn the adventurer sailed his replica boat from there to prove it "could" have been done.

Only listening to that song last night! Can't bate Christy Moore!

I remember my first week on my first full time job travelling to Ballydavid, it quickly became one of my favourite spots to travel to in Kerry and I was lucky to get to go there many many more times. (My favourite spot is still the drive from Killorglin down across Ballaghisheen Pass towards Waterville, I'm a fan of the barren landscape).

Anyways someone else better post one up!

Right, who is up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭Be right back

Back to churches.

Stradbally, Laois?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭Be right back

No, not Stradbally.

This one was up a few month's ago..

I think I might recognise yer man's arse :D