Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TurboCider next steps

Options
  • 26-05-2020 11:22am
    Registered Users Posts: 694 ✭✭✭

As a newbie, I started off trying to make TurboCider to see how it goes. Made 2 batches so far and have 2 more to do. All are stored in dark hot press, temp varying betwwen 20-22 degrees

Still not sure about OG's, they seemed a bit off but here we go. :pac:

Batch A ---->18-5-2020

Aldi Apple juice
    2.5g Youngs yeast
    100g granulated brown sugar
    100g granulated white sugar
    flat tspoon pectolase
    1 cup of earl grey tea

brewA.png

Batch B ---->18-5-2020

Aldi Apple juice
    2.5g SAFCIDER Yeast
    100g granulated white sugar
    flat tspoon pectolase

brewB.png

8 days in and batch A seems to be fermenting away, one bubble every 5 secs, Batch B seems to have stalled. So at this stage should I take a sample from Batch B for testing with the hydrometer or will I just wait it out. I have plenty of plastic soda bottles, should I consider transferring soon with some sugar for carbonation. Any tips/pointers appreciated before I start on the next 2 batches

Comments

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

I would say just leave it alone. Airlocks don't really tell you anything useful. Give it the full two weeks then take another reading. Remember to calibrate your readings for temperature if you aren't already.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

I don't see a mention of yeast nutrient in your list of ingredients. Did you use some?