Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW Motorrad PCP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭H_Lime

If I cant outright buy something I dont buy it. The exception being my mortgage, a necessary evil. Pcp doesn't appeal to me as best as my stupid head can interpret you don't own the bike and there's strings attached. I know that an ehhh duuuuh statment but tis how i feel
    Anyway ignore that interruption lads and enjoy the shiny machines:)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,761 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

H_Lime wrote: »
    If I cant outright buy something I dont buy it. The exception being my mortgage, a necessary evil. Pcp doesn't appeal to me as best as my stupid head can interpret you don't own the bike and there's strings attached. I know that an ehhh duuuuh statment but tis how i feel
    Anyway ignore that interruption lads and enjoy the shiny machines:)

It's no different from 'ordinary' HP - you don't own it there either.

Only way you own whilst something whilst borrowing to pay for it is personal bank loan or the credit union.

Remember; if someone doesn't buy it new, then no-one can buy it secondhand, later....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    It's no different from 'ordinary' HP - you don't own it there either.

Only way you own whilst something whilst borrowing to pay for it is personal bank loan or the credit union.

Remember; if someone doesn't buy it new, then no-one can buy it secondhand, later....

Yeah hp doesn't appeal either, nor loans of any kind. I'm most likely an oddity here and it probably explains why I've a multitude of older bikes:pac:
    I'm not adverse to the prospect of buying new (if i could, which i can't) but thankfully theres enough of ye chaps happy to drink the coffee and sign the doyted line in the local beemer dealership that 2nd hand motos will be aplenty ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,144 ✭✭✭✭blade1

H_Lime wrote: »
    Yeah hp doesn't appeal either, nor loans of any kind. I'm most likely an oddity here and it probably explains why I've a multitude of older bikes:pac:
    I'm not adverse to the prospect of buying new (if i could, which i can't) but thankfully theres enough of ye chaps happy to drink the coffee and sign the doyted line in the local beemer dealership that 2nd hand motos will be aplenty ;)
    Pretty much same as myself.
    The last loan I had was for a fireblade that I crashed in 2006.
    Loan was 7000 and I sold the bike after crash for €700.
    Paying back money on something I didn't have.
    Never again I thought.

Also was out of work for a year over it.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,697 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Although i do agree somewhat,

Having no credit history is not good either. It stops you getting loans / credit cards and or makes mortages harder to obtain.

So theres a happy medium there.

listermint wrote: »
    Although i do agree somewhat,

Having no credit history is not good either. It stops you getting loans / credit cards and or makes mortages harder to obtain.

So theres a happy medium there.

None of that applies to me.

blade1 wrote: »
    Pretty much same as myself.
    The last loan I had was for a fireblade that I crashed in 2006.
    Loan was 7000 and I sold the bike after crash for €700.
    Paying back money on something I didn't have.
    Never again I thought.

Also was out of work for a year over it.

why didn't your insurance cover it ??

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

why didn't your insurance cover it ??

Only had 3rd party f&t at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

you're right actually : I think it's a 4k kms pa limit

The figures in the quote I provided in post #50 were based on 6000km p/y

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭thos

TheBlaaMan wrote: »

What happens if you exceed that?

thos wrote: »
    What happens if you exceed that?

Subsequent cups of coffee charged at 50 euro a pop!!:eek::pac: ok I'm done now lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Emmersonn

TheBlaaMan wrote: »
    This mileage may be ok for a Sunny Sunday Rider but for three weeks in September on holidays in Europe I put up in excess of 7000km. I ride all year round and my annual mileage is usually between 20000 and 22000 km. As Blade1 said If you can't afford to pay in full for transport in do'nt put it on the never never ;)

Emmersonn wrote: »
    This mileage may be ok for a Sunny Sunday Rider but for three weeks in September on holidays in Europe I put up in excess of 7000km. I ride all year round and my annual mileage is usually between 20000 and 22000 km. As Blade1 said If you can't afford to pay in full for transport in do'nt put it on the never never ;)

Yes, but there's no reason to not Play The Game - i.e., take them up on their offer of the low payments etc, pay them. The mileage issue only comes up at the end of the contract, when it's time to change/renew/whatever.

So, in 3 years time, then just buy off the balance: you'll have the benefit of cheap finance, low payments in the interim.

If you're trading it against another brand it mightn't even matter anyway.

Ode To The Motorist

Yes, but there's no reason to not Play The Game - i.e., take them up on their offer of the low payments etc, pay them. The mileage issue only comes up at the end of the contract, when it's time to change/renew/whatever.

So, in 3 years time, then just buy off the balance: you'll have the benefit of cheap finance, low payments in the interim.

Surely its picked up during services intervals which are no doubt in the contract and part of the deal. (at your expense)

listermint wrote: »
    Surely its picked up during services intervals which are no doubt in the contract and part of the deal. (at your expense)

You don't have to service it with the supplying dealer.

Ode To The Motorist

You don't have to service it with the supplying dealer.

Are they not all connected?
    A bit like The Borg?

blade1 wrote: »
    Are they not all connected?
    A bit like The Borg?

lolz. I contacted them today via WebChat, and.........not only did I NOT get the answer to my question, the person I was chatting with could not find the model i was looking for: a G310GS. I sent them a link to their own firm's webpage that featured it... :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Indeed not only do I now know the person I was chatting with didn't know they make bikes, they said their Car & Van 'specialist' would call me.

Van.

I didn't know BMW made vans, buy hey :pac::pac::pac:

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭thos

Can't find figures on bike penalties, but for mileage excess on car PCP deals they seem to range from 6c to 15c per km. So a 5k km excess over 3 yrs, at ballpark 10c/km, is 500eur penalty.

Some car examples here:
    https://www.independent.ie/life/motoring/car-news/how-drivers-are-managing-to-steer-well-clear-of-pcp-excess-mileage-penalties-35967132.html

Ideally it should just be a re-balance of the GMFC (balloon payment!) but I'd imagine there could be a sting in the tail if you were way off and not expecting it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭Ryath

Mileage excess only comes into it if you hand back the bike at the end of the deal. If you pay the balloon payment and buy the bike outright it makes no odds. If you trade it in for a new bike obviously the mileage will effect the trade in value but unless you have mega mileage on it the idea is you should have enough equity in it to have the deposit on a new pcp deal.

The dealer wants you on a new bike at the end of the term but obviously if it suits the 0% deal are a great way of spreading the purchase cost with no Cost of credit. As was suggested if you plan to buy outright at end of term it’s a good idea to save the extra every month to pay the balloon payment/GMFV

Any idea of PCP rates they are offering on the F800 range?
    https://www.joeduffy.ie/motorrad/news-events/bmw-pcp/

The BMW motorbike Ireland page really is terrible.

https://www.bmw-motorrad.ie/bikes/touring/bmw-f-800-gt/?section=Offers

Off bikes over 10 years now :( but every year I say I’ll get back at soon. Must try and swing by Duffys next time I’m up in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 920 ✭✭✭markad1

Old thread I know,

If anyone has gone PCP with Motorrad how has it worked out?

I would change my bike often enough and was wondering if this would work out better for me?

I did PCP on a golf with 0% and paid off the balance at the end. I thought it was a cracking deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 643 ✭✭✭mjsc1970

Don't know yet I'm only 11 months in.

I'll let ya know in 2 years 😉

markad1 wrote: »
    Old thread I know,

If anyone has gone PCP with Motorrad how has it worked out?

I would change my bike often enough and was wondering if this would work out better for me?

I did PCP on a golf with 0% and paid off the balance at the end. I thought it was a cracking deal.

Just looking at the pcp page there , zero percent on **** bikes no one wants gs310 and bank loan **** rates on anything nice e.g SR1000 presume that's the same on e.g new R1250 GT

Really poor apr frankly anti sale.

The apr put me off going pcp on a R1250GSA

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Alfaguy

I know when I was ordering my S1000RR last August they (Joe Duffy's) did offer me some finance but since I did not need it I never enquired about the details.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,050 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Subtle "I bought a brand new S1000RR for cash" post :p

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

Subtle "I bought a brand new S1000RR for cash" post :p

Fair play to him.

I bet he's loving it

I'm not jealous at all, honest!
    I think I'd struggle to hold on to my licence on one of those even if I jammed it into first gear and took the gear lever off...

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

I'm not jealous at all, honest!
    I think I'd struggle to hold on to my licence on one of those even if I jammed it into first gear and took the gear lever off...

You only lose your licence if you're caught. :D
    Speaking of which, I managed to get 2 points on my license during pandemic.:mad:

Have had only a couple of spins in the last year and managed to get points ffs.

Traffic core didn't appreciate my cornering technic :pac:
    All I was doing was letting out a bit of built up tension.

Cop said he had done advanced training and wouldn't dream of doing what I did.
    I felt like saying "not advanced enough so imo". :pac:
    Better to bite the lip though.

At least he gave me the choice of punishment for the crime d
    so I opted for the lowest which was 2 points and €80 fine.
    Fair is fair. I got caught.

No law against cornering??? years ago a guy I knew got pulled over in Brittas, apparantly the garda thought he was going "too fast" because his bike was "leaned over"

Well of course it's basic physics that a bike which isn't leaned over can only go in a straight line but you try having that argument at the side of the road with a mucker ban garda...

Hey at least the points expire quicker under lockdown, kinda... my single sole and solitary local 50km/h area spin since last March resulted in a gushing fork which I've still not fixed :(