Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your problem with spiders?

• 13-11-2018 5:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭

I witnessed an uncouth barbarian maim and kill a spider today. I reflected on that irrational desire to kill the spider, because they do not look as friendly as ladybird. My thoughts quickly came rushing in so quickly and how easy it is, as a human, to exercise destruction over nature. As I breathed into all of this so many images came to me- the destruction of the trees and habitats, the tearing up of the earth for building and burning stuff… I took pause just to let myself feel all of this sadness. Unless it was for food purposes, What other being in nature would kill a harmless, stoic, mindfull, artistic, and vitally important creature like the spider without a whim. What quivering ambivalent destroyers of nature we are .The world was not created for humans alone. If you have a problem with a spider, eat it or leave it be. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Not one of the bastards has given me superpowers yet!!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,436 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Don't get the fear of spiders.

Completely harmless creatures that stay out of your way and eat annoying house flies.

Think people don't like how they walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

My OH has an irrational fear of them and I mean stupidly so. A part of me dies every time I throw one out the door. Fascinating critters.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,610 ✭✭✭Feisar

I tell herself I give them gate but I operate a catch and release scheme.

Had a MASSIVE one take over our dining room window on the outside over the autunm. She wanted rid. I was like he/she is outside, guess what's inside that we don't like, flies!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,582 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

I love them very much.
    Beautiful and so skilled at making webs and catching ugly flies.

I'd have a pet spider only they don't like petting or cuddling.
    Plus I'd have to feed them live critters which wouldn't appeal to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

There was a long lived spider who webbed outside my door once. On the left as you exited.

From the lamp to the wall. The lamp was a fake gas light type thing. Looked pretty cool around Halloween I can tell you. Saved money too on decorations.

I read somewhere that early man would often sit around a fire for warmth and in much the same way, snakes would also arrive. As we were not the brightest species back then, to see our fellow man convulse and die in pain from a snake bite, was bizarre. It's the same for spiders, to see this little thing scuttle from the scene having killed a human, was unfathomable to early man. You could understand the danger of a lion, or bear etc, so apparently we evolved with this irrational fear of them which permeates through to generations of this day!

It makes sense now considering visually the pose no threat.

apparently a funnel web and a brown mamba have been known to chase humans!!:D the latter can really move across land and water too, mister funnel web, not so much. Only native to Sydney though I think, you'd see them near pools and in houses etc, I wouldn't fancy a bite off one.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭valoren

Had one in the kitchen last week I had to take out. Big hairy fella.
    We went to the local and had a few drinks. Sound spider, he's a web designer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

I'm not afraid of spiders when my wife is around. :pac:

The problem with spiders isn't the spider itself or the way it walks. Not really. The lizard part of our brains does not like it when spiders crawl over us. Real or imagined. That OMG PANIC feeling you get is your lizard brain warning you that something potentially dangerous is crawling over you.

Also, spider webs give the impression of an unkempt domicile which may not be true but that's the impression they give. Spiders tend to setup in places that go undisturbed for extended periods of time.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

spider-memory-500x318.jpg

Fcuk Putin. Glory to Ukraine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

No problem with spiders - they are vital allies in my life long struggle against my mortal enemy, flies.

The problem I have with spiders is that the amygdala in my brain has them clocked as erratic and unpredictable fast movers before I even realize it's a spider I'm looking at, and sends shivers of alert through my brain and I release all kinds of stress hormones that make me anxious and panicky and I react in a seemingly irrational way as I process a minor threat to be a major problem.

That and they're hairy.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

No problem with spiders - they are vital allies in my life long struggle against my mortal enemy, flies.

images?q=tbn%3AANd9GcS1SAJ-tCgjlokKELMZ_SioEY8Vbmb2ZlPqNPS-6QVLNcJWOYyN

Fcuk Putin. Glory to Ukraine!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The eyes freak me out more than anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 score2020

I had a massive freak spider here for weeks, he could cross the 4 meter room in a split second
    had to eventually put him outside

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭4Ad

I have a nice big fella taking over the hall lately, one of us has to go..I was going to capture him (as I always do) and let him off outside, but my Brother said he will die..Is that true ? Mr Spider is currently in hiding in the warmth..

• Registered Users Posts: 766 ✭✭✭ger vallely

When I last moved house I was considering bringing the spider from my bathroom. S/he had been with us for years, we lived happily together, doing our thing. My new home has lots of dangly spiders, they keep the flies away so they are more than welcome. In the preschool I work in, lots of children seem to have the stamping reflex when they see one. I always try to explain how amazing spiders are and the important work they do. Wouldn't let one walk over me all the same and I did do a wild, crazy lady screaming dance one day when I picked something off my neck to find it was half of a squished spider, not good with that kind of thing at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

It seems it's not just humans. A large spider ran past my cat and he literally jumped and yelped!

There is a boardsie who has a load of them. I remember this from a thread a few months ago.
    I was both horrified and amazed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

One got in my ear about 4 years ago. Terrified ever since

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

I witnessed an uncouth barbarian maim and kill a spider today.
    Maim - wound or injure (a person or animal) so that part of the body is permanently damaged.

Did the above actually happen, or did he just step on the spider?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,426 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

There was a false widow in a workplace I was in a few years ago and it was a beefy looking yoke.
    I've never seen a spider that was so efficient at killing at eating insects,yoyncould see it getting bigger and I think it was doing weights when we weren't there.
    That leads me to the problem with spiders, they eat flies and insects by liquifying their insides and drinking them like a smoothie, then they discard the husks.
    That false widow was leaving piles of insect husks all over the floor underneath where its web was, the place was destroyed and so the spider had to go.
    The notion that spiders are clean creatures is a myth, there's no place in my home for any invertebrates, arachnid or otherwise.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,500 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

It's a genetic fear that is built into most of us. Things that crawl and bite were very bad a long time ago.

As a previous poster said, it's their unpredictable quick movements that are the problem. If they walked slower they would be fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,471 ✭✭✭7 Seconds...

I'v had a complete irrational fear of them since I was a child, I've screamed the place down when seeing one, thankfully I'm not as bad now. Although the idea of one crawling on me still fills with the horrors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

that time of year again

r9pv1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Can't stand them, but recognise that this is indeed irrational so I usually either tolerate them or chase them outside. Can't bring myself to murder them, like.
    murpho999 wrote: »
    Think people don't like how they walk.

It's the angular legs when they lower their abdomens. Spiders look less and less intimidating the more stretched out their legs are - it's when their knees are sticking up (so their legs look like /\ on each side) that they freak people out. I did once read that there's a reason those angles scare some humans, but I can't remember the source.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Spiders are our friends

Just don't crawl around my bed please

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

I'm terrified of the so-and-so's. However, I'm spider-catcher-in-chief , as anyone else here would just stomp on them. I do make an exception if I detect what I suspect to be a False Widow, because they can sting/bite and MIGHT be dangerous. But more especially because I've read that due to their ferocity and longevity they're a threat to our own little Irish spiders. So far I've eliminated one suspect, whilst demolishing a wooden shed.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

So far I've eliminated one suspect, whilst demolishing a wooden shed.

Fair amount of dedication to the job of catching it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭Spleerbun

What's the best catching technique ye all have found? The classic glass over it and slip a bit of paper underneath is it??