Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The trial of Molly Martens

• Registered Users Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Lirange

Posters keep using the prounoun, "they." Although he's also being charged I personally suspect the assault was entirely her handiwork. He is guilty of obstruction of justice and perjury at minimum though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭mikeybrennan

Probably, and premeditated given the sleeping tablet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

White rich folks with FBI connections...sadly I'd say the writing's on the wall for this trial, despite her clearly being totally unstable and dangerous by the sounds of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I know this is the realm of fantasy but i wish there was a serum or method which would compel people to tell the truth.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I know this is the realm of fantasy but i wish there was a serum or method which would compel people to tell the truth.

Waterboarding or advanced interrogation techniques as used by the CIA ,

But even at that you have no guarantee you will get the truth

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭MarcusP12

latest reports says that the 2 kids were asleep in bed when the police officers arrived at the scene. They had to be woken which suggests to me that there was no commotion at the time of the incident. If he was "trying to kill her" as the defense suggests then I find it hard to believe the children would not be woken by all the screams and shouts and activity around the event. And even if they were woken, surely they would not have gone back to sleep completely oblivious of what had happened.

Seems pretty clear to me that she drugged him and killed him in his sleep....hence the lack of commotion. He can probably out cold and unable to defend himself. Seems like a big enough guy and could have done something in a life or death situation......

Seems to be unravelling as a very tragic case and no doubt there'll be a lot of dirt and accusations to muddy the water and create doubt, because that's all it takes for her to get off. Will be very interesting to see what the defense comes up with. The poor kids.....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Those poor children must be so messed up. Their mum died of an asthma attack, their dad married their nanny who became their stepmother, they moved countries and then their stepmother killed their father.
    I can't even begin to imagine how traumatising that must be for those kids. To be parentless at such a young age, after all the moving about and the fact that their dad suffered such a violent death.... I only hope they're being well looked after now.

Read the paramedics report that said he put his hand under his head when they tried to intubate him his fingers entered his skull ,his head was that badly damaged ,
    Horrific to think just hope he was unconscious through the attack

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Probably, and premeditated given the sleeping tablet

What casts doubt on their story, for me, is the sleeping tablet, the paving stone, and the fact that while her father claimed he had the baseball bat in his room as a gift for the son the son contradicted him by saying that he'd actually been given it the previous year, so her father would have had to go get it.

If you're going and getting weapons to beat in the head of someone with sleeping tablets in their system it does cast doubt on your 'self defense' claim. Although, I have no idea how much of the drug was in his system; which would obviously have a bearing on how out of it he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

MarcusP12 wrote: »
    latest reports says that the 2 kids were asleep in bed when the police officers arrived at the scene. They had to be woken which suggests to me that there was no commotion at the time of the incident. If he was "trying to kill her" as the defense suggests then I find it hard to believe the children would not be woken by all the screams and shouts and activity around the event. And even if they were woken, surely they would not have gone back to sleep completely oblivious of what had happened.

Seems pretty clear to me that she drugged him and killed him in his sleep....hence the lack of commotion. He can probably out cold and unable to defend himself. Seems like a big enough guy and could have done something in a life or death situation......

Seems to be unravelling as a very tragic case and no doubt there'll be a lot of dirt and accusations to muddy the water and create doubt, because that's all it takes for her to get off. Will be very interesting to see what the defense comes up with. The poor kids.....

Yep no evidence whatsoever of a struggle from her or her father. Definitely drugged.

Paramedics are saying his body was very cool when they were treating him , which odd considering they were on scene withing 10 mins,

His temperature shouldn't have been cool considering two people supposedly administrated 600 chest compressions waiting for the ambulance to arrive

Gatling wrote: »
    Paramedics are saying his body was very cool when they were treating him , which odd considering they were on scene withing 10 mins,

His temperature shouldn't have been cool considering two people supposedly administrated 600 chest compressions waiting for the ambulance to arrive

I'm sure there was a PM which would have determined time of death based on Liver temperature.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,153 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

kylith wrote: »
    I'm sure there was a PM which would have determined time of death based on Liver temperature.

If watching NCIS has taught me anything, and it has, they would have to take a liver temperature at the scene.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

you still would though, wouldn't you?

Depends on what happened after it he was declared dead ,it might have been left to a medical examiner as it was a criminal investigation ,
    Only reading that they initially called an ambulance saying it was a heart attack,
    Doesn't seem to mention any blood been found on her or her father unless I missed it

Depends on what happened after it he was declared dead ,it might have been left to a medical examiner as it was a criminal investigation ,
    Only reading that they initially called an ambulance saying it was a heart attack,
    Doesn't seem to mention any blood been found on her or her father unless I missed it

Really!? They're not helping themselves, are they?

NONONO GOD NO!

A complete crazy fcuker although!
    I'll stick to VR reality thank you very much!

they are the best in the sack

I still would, shed be vulnerable and dangerous as fook at the moment.

I wouldn't say your statement about escorts ireland rings totally true

lots of crazy I'd say

the problem with crazy here is that normally they can hold it together for a time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

he was naked.

If I was thinking of beating my wife I wouldn't do it with her dad in the house or being naked.

if he was beating her , naked remember , a few smacks of the bat would have been sufficient rather than smashing his whole skull in and using a brick.

doesn't add up.
    her pursuit of the kids on social media was bizarre also.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 38,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Really?
    We're they trying to stop the heart attack using a baseball bat to his head?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I'm just dumbfounded at the amount of people on here commenting on the accused's physical appearance; "I would" and "She's hot".

Trivialising such a horrible case where two kids lost their father..it just baffles me.

I doubt anyone would say the same about Joe O'Reilly ("Jaysus I know he killed his wife but I would").

Why is it somehow funny or ok to make comments like this towards a woman?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

fussyonion wrote: »
    I'm just dumbfounded at the amount of people on here commenting on the accused's physical appearance; "I would" and "She's hot".

Trivialising such a horrible case where two kids lost their father..it just baffles me.

I doubt anyone would say the same about Joe O'Reilly ("Jaysus I know he killed his wife but I would").

Anyone who said that should be committed. :D

joe-o-reilly-court-case-3-752x501.jpg

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

fussyonion wrote: »

Jeremy Meeks?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

What casts doubt on their story, for me, is the sleeping tablet, the paving stone, and the fact that while her father claimed he had the baseball bat in his room as a gift for the son the son contradicted him by saying that he'd actually been given it the previous year, so her father would have had to go get it.

If you're going and getting weapons to beat in the head of someone with sleeping tablets in their system it does cast doubt on your 'self defense' claim. Although, I have no idea how much of the drug was in his system; which would obviously have a bearing on how out of it he was.

I think the sleeping tablet has been shown in evidence now to be a bit of a red herring, because 1) he only had very small traces in his bloodstream, not enough to knock him out and 2) because he himself had a prescription for sleeping pills and also their pharmacist testified that they knew the couple to regularly use each others sleeping pills. Im not saying that she didnt drug him, only that there is a reasonable doubt that she may not have which is where the bar of proof is that is needed to find them guilty.

The landscape rock and the baseball bat though are defintely going to be examined in great detail. Also paramedic testimony today said the body was very cold when they got there which might suggest he was dead more than an hour before they rang 911, it has begun to look like they needed time to get their story straight on what happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Anyone who said that should be committed. :D

joe-o-reilly-court-case-3-752x501.jpg

I would. Look at them chins!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Would the kids now have been sent back to Ireland for care?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭jluv

bear1 wrote: »
    Would the kids now have been sent back to Ireland for care?

Yes, his family had to go to court and fight for them but they are now in their care (in Ireland I believe)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭bear1

jluv wrote: »
    Yes, his family had to go to court and fight for them but they are now in their care (in Ireland I believe)

Fight for them.. sure who the fook would there be?
    The suspects ****ed up family? Hope they get all the care they need.

• Registered Users Posts: 654 ✭✭✭spud82

jluv wrote: »

Kids are well and back in Limerick. Also I can't believe some of the comments on here about how that some of ye would do Molly. Why feel the need to make light of such a heartbreaking case.

Being from Limerick I can tell you the family are in bits the amount of **** that family has been through is heart wrenching, and as for the two kids, no words will ever really summarize how brave and strong they are.

We are all sick with nerves here, and hoping that the right verdict is called and reached.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭jluv

bear1 wrote: »
    Fight for them.. sure who the fook would there be?
    The suspects ****ed up family? Hope they get all the care they need.

Apologies,not wanting to offend anyone,only following on social media.
    But it seemed to me that Jasons family had to actually go to court to get the children back to Ireland.