Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bikes on donedeal, ebay, adverts etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭H_Lime

Esel wrote: »
    If you did that (he was basically posing apparently) I'd say it is possible. It was running for about 10 minutes or so I heard. New engine time; he was loaded - working on big turbines abroad.
    blade1 wrote: »
    Earlier ones had a smaller sump.
    They were the ones that suffered from oil starvation.

Never knew!

Stop your grinning and dop your linen!
    https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/motorbike/24797708

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭KildareMan

H_Lime wrote: »

What the flip has happened there? And why are my eyes bleeding?

KildareMan wrote: »
    What the flip has happened there? And why are my eyes bleeding?

One man horrorshow is another's masterpiece, so I tread carefully as I may be treading on someone's dreams but that is, I believe, an example of the German street fighter seat unit craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭KildareMan

One man horrorshow is another's masterpiece, so I tread carefully as I may be treading on someone's dreams but that is, I believe, an example of the German street fighter seat unit craic.

Never mind treading carefully. That needs stamping on. Now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,495 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Even on the mainstand, your older classic carbed bike engine can be harmed at tickover/idle - found this while looking up the MT-07!

https://www.cycleworld.com/story/motorcycle-racing/how-throttle-blipping-came-to-be/

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Any thoughts on this;

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagebikes-for-sale/yamaha-xs-750/24784658

I've had an 1983 XJ750 which I loved until some plank pulled out in front of me 20 years ago and it ended up being written off. Thinking of running it for a year as a second bike and selling it on breaking even at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,495 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Different bike altogether to the XJ, you obviously know that. Think that model (1977) still had points ignition, and the 2nd gear issue. From Wikipedia:

"Problems with reliability led to a further release in 1977. A particular problem was with 2nd gear. This had a habit of dropping into neutral under load. Canny riders would short-shift from 1st to 3rd gear; the engine had enough torque to support this technique. The Yamaha fix tended to be temporary, so not worth doing. "

There was an XJ750 Seca Turbo in the States, not sure if it made up Europe? The regular XJ750 there was cruiser style.

Not your ornery onager

Friend of mine had one in the 70's and bought again lately, as new resto. He loved it, will ask him bout his ownership second time round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,463 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Different bike altogether to the XJ, you obviously know that. Think that model (1977) still had points ignition, and the 2nd gear issue. From Wikipedia:

"Problems with reliability led to a further release in 1977. A particular problem was with 2nd gear. This had a habit of dropping into neutral under load. Canny riders would short-shift from 1st to 3rd gear; the engine had enough torque to support this technique. The Yamaha fix tended to be temporary, so not worth doing. "

There was an XJ750 Seca Turbo in the States, not sure if it made up Europe? The regular XJ750 there was cruiser style.

I know where there's a couple of Seca's.
    Whether they are for sale is another thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Yeah would love to hear of a Seca/Maxim if there is one going.

Thanks all for the valuable information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

I know of a Turbo...weather it gets going is another question.....guy has too many bikes but wont sell it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭D3V!L

I put my bike on Donedeal during the week. Had it sold over the phone within 24 hours. :eek:

Large deposit sent via bank transfer and it should be done and dusted within a couple of days. Plenty of buyers out there .

That gs500 is for sale! Act fast Devil!

Important question ! Does it start, go and stop ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

D3V!L wrote: »
    I put my bike on Donedeal during the week. Had it sold over the phone within 24 hours. :eek:

Large deposit sent via bank transfer and it should be done and dusted within a couple of days. Plenty of buyers out there .

What did you sell and what are you buying?

Sold a Harley Davidson Ultra Limited, not sure what I'm getting but leaning heavily towards a 1250GS Adventure. Providing I can get one. Not sure what's happening with production at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,253 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Sold a Harley Davidson Ultra Limited, not sure what I'm getting but leaning heavily towards a 1250GS Adventure. Providing I can get one. Not sure what's happening with production at the moment.

Did you not sell one of those a year or so ago? Can't remember exactly but you had some issues with it?

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Did you not sell one of those a year or so ago? Can't remember exactly but you had some issues with it?

No, held onto it. It's going now though .

Important question ! Does it start, go and stop ?

Highly desirable attributes traits to have in a commuting motorcycle, or even in any motorcycle! :eek::)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,790 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Plenty of buyers out there .

True- I've been trawling for a particular Vespa for the last week and been beaten to a few.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭mamax

A friend of mine selling this https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/yamaha-tdm-850/24787985
    Absolutely mint condition

Calling Blade1 to the front desk!!

Would need to be a 900.
    My old one with twin Leo's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Always fancied a TDM900, might have to start looking for one.

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Always fancied a TDM900, might have to start looking for one.

Loved mine.
    Not gonna knock your socks off in any department but just a nice bike to ride.

I rang the guy I sold mine to the day after to see if they got home ok. (His brother rode it home for him).
    He said when they got back his brother asked him would he sell to him.

Screenshot-20200518-180742.jpg

Screenshot-20200518-180832.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭enrique66_35

Would need to be a 900.

You mean like this one...
    https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/tdm-900/24841798

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭enrique66_35

Even comes with free pants for some reason....

Might need a bit of work and high milage.
    Might be worth a look alright though.

...AND its the "upright riding position" model....which is nice..:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,470 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Even on the mainstand, your older classic carbed bike engine can be harmed at tickover/idle - found this while looking up the MT-07!

https://www.cycleworld.com/story/motorcycle-racing/how-throttle-blipping-came-to-be/

I read years ago that that that blipping thing was down to BSA Gold Stars on Amal racing carbs with no idle jet. They literally wouldn't idle so you had to blip. And because they were a desirable machine, the blipping at the lights fashion caught on even among those who didn't need to...

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭lennymc

i really like the idea of the h2, who knows at some stage in the future i may buy one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭gn3dr

Best looking - foxeye urban tiger or one of the early Rothmans Doohan replicas :)

Later ones probably piss all over them to ride though

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

lennymc wrote: »
    i really like the idea of the h2, who knows at some stage in the future i may buy one.

I'm in the same boat as you. An SX H2 will be the next purchase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭lennymc

Best looking - foxeye urban tiger or one of the early Rothmans Doohan replicas :)

Later ones probably piss all over them to ride though

all this talk of blades has me wanting a blade now....

I'm in the same boat as you. An SX H2 will be the next purchase.

McCallens have one for a good price at the moment. I'm slightly tempted. I'm afraid I'd be cramped on it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

McCallens have one for a good price at the moment. I'm slightly tempted. I'm afraid I'd be cramped on it though.

I sat on one over at EICMA a few years back.
    Wasn't to crampy at all.

514615.jpg

She didn't look crampy on it either mind you...

514616.jpg
    #justsayin

Wasn't to crampy at all.

514615.jpg

514616.jpg
    #justsayin

What height are you ?

lennymc wrote: »
    all this talk of blades has me wanting a blade now....

The blue 929s look great too :)

That's a nice lightweight parallel twin but I'd prefer a somewhat larger capacity myself ;)
    What height are you ?

Also it matters how long your arms are. I'm a bit of a knuckle dragging ape so can sit quite upright on a lot of sports bikes, the upright / adventure style riding position is too much for me

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

What height are you ?

Six foot sexy!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

Six foot sexy!

:D Modest aswell lad lol

Wasn't to crampy at all.

514615.jpg

514616.jpg
    #justsayin

Christ...looks like the Mitchell brothers having a race...and a skinny Paul Brennan ..biggrin.png

And yer wan needs to visit Greggs several times......:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,121 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Christ...looks like the Mitchell brothers having a race...and a skinny Paul Brennan ..biggrin.png

And yer wan needs to visit Greggs several times......:p

Nah, she's plenty aerodynamic as she is. No point weighing the bike down with unnecessary luggage and saddlebags :D

veetwin wrote: »
    Yeah would love to hear of a Seca/Maxim if there is one going.

Thanks all for the valuable information.

The seca's I mentioned.
    Two to be restored and another almost complete.
    Not for sale at the moment.

A bit of work ahead on these two
    IMG-20200605-140233.jpg

IMG-20200605-141913.jpg

IMG-20200605-142101.jpg

A bimoto db2
    IMG-20200605-140311.jpg

Bimota morini and cbx are lust worthy. Would that garage be in watergrasshill by any chance?

Not watergrasshill no.

standard looking Katana too....is he a dealer..??

Could you call him a dealer when he won't sell anything?
    Lots of more stuff there.
    Several cbx's,GT750's, Z1300 etc etc.
    I'm more into newer stuff he has even though that stuff is nearer my era and I like it.
    A few Ducatis, a lovely RVF400 and even a Zx7r that looks spanking new, I wouldn't mind having.

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/151-versys-1000-open-to-reasonable-offers-/24731616
    Only ever saw one on Irish roads. I wonder why the japs have not really embraced the whole high horsepower traillie thing like ktm, Ducati and BMW? Imagine a k5 engine in a tight tall chassis, where do I sign?

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/honda-hornet/24998178
    Not sure about the headlight but serious spec! Was these raced? Hornet Cup?!

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/honda-cbr1000f/24996884
    Solid machine for 1400! Loads of go.

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/929-fireblade-only-2400/24996401
    Lovely colours. Easiest bike to go fast on I've owned. Yer man selling sounds like he's pissed at the wheeler done dealers wrekin his head lol.

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/gs-500/24994170
    For Devil!
    For the price of a water-cooled gs service in duffys or optional HD emblazoned lifestyle accessories you could have this:) and it will actually get you where you need to go, act fast!

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/ducati-hyperstrada-821/24991664
    Screams fun.

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/suzuki-gsx-s1000-al8-abs/24991656
    Roadbike heaven? Pig ugly tho:(

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/suzuki-gsx-r-1300-hayabusa/24990829
    Had one in these colours, I see he's fitted early 4 pot toks to it, anythings better than the 6's. Seem to be going up in value compared to a couple yrs ago