Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forecasting then, and now -- you might be surprised

Options
  • 22-12-2014 10:23am
    Registered Users Posts: 14,355 ✭✭✭✭

This is going to be a rambling discourse about forecasting the weather back in the day, as compared to nowadays. It was quite a different world as recently as the mid to late 1980s.

My own experience in forecasting goes back to foundations that are probably similar to many of you on this weather forum. As a high school student, I was marginally interested in the weather but more into astronomy. Despite that, my parents decided to provide me with weather instruments (the kind you have to read manually) at Christmas of 1963 and so I started a daily record of observations that New Years which I kept up for five or six years. When I went off to university and wasn't around the weather station much, a younger friend took on the job and I continued to observe on weekends and in the summer holidays. This was all in a town just west of Toronto where as you can imagine the weather is quite variable and occasionally rather dramatic. Then when I moved north after graduating and lived in what Canadians call "central Ontario" (not that central) I was in a lake effect snow belt and kept up the observations through several winters of rather extreme weather in the 1970s.