Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Some pictures I took recently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Fishy1

Frogs and frogspawn in our small suburban garden. frogspawn is to left of submerged pot. One frog in front of pot & other one to right of pot. Sorry about picture quality, will have to buy a polarizing filter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

A couple of Black Tailed Godwits having a to do.
    20100314192254_4432245219_f161f559f9_b.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Red winged blackbird in central illinois. :)

dscf1294z.th.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Rainbowsend

Mixedbag-1.jpg

Mixedbag-2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭bogtreader

Great pictures Rainbowsend of the chaffinches.I particularly like the pose of the male chaffinch.Great capture

ReturntoSallysBridge-7.jpg

ReturntoSallysBridge-8.jpg

Lovely pictures Great crested grebe is beautiful and the Heron is gorgeous
    :D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭Connacht

I'm thinking this is fox droppings, with beetle shells (blue/purple) showing. Might I be wrong ?

Lovely stuff Rainbowsend.
    I take it the Grebe wasn't shot in Sally's Bridge in Dublin was it?
    R.

Roen wrote: »
    Lovely stuff Rainbowsend.
    I take it the Grebe wasn't shot in Sally's Bridge in Dublin was it?
    R.

Thanks! Sallys Bridge over the Vartry Lakes, near Roundwood.

Cheers Rainbow,
    I had a feeling alright :)
    Great to see the Grebe, I get a rare enough glimpse of them in Wexford from time to time but never managed to catch one with the camera.
    Must get out a bit more now that Spring is here.
    Happy shooting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

These are some pictures i took yesterday at westfields wetlands in limerick, lots of coots around.
    coot1.jpg

A coot in her nest of reeds
    coot2.jpg

A coot in another nest, while the male goes to look for twigs to build it up.
    coot3.jpg

This is one of our pigeons that we used to feed from our window sill. Here he's attempting to get at the peanut feeder that we have hanging high for some small birds that come by.

101_2765.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭Connacht

Poor enough quality image, but you get the picture.

4535266400_1bf0a0c0a5_m.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭bonerjams03

The Common Brown Lizard. Has anyone here ever seen one? Where would they be found in Ireland, Only in the South? I just
    have never seen nor heard of anyone who has seen one of these and would like to try to find one someday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,487 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I've seen them in Wicklow up in the hills on more than one occasion. See here http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055343290&highlight=lizard

Also see this thread http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055076090&highlight=lizard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭tim_holsters

I never knew there was lizards in Ireland, it's a nice surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

i saw one only last weekend and have loads over the years while out walking. you gotta have the eyes peeled tho because they're quick. You'll see them on paths on a sunny day before the shoot back into the overgrowth.

Had great pic on my old mobile of one but the bloody phone broke before I printed it :(

There was a tiny little lizard (about 5") squished on the
    road near Roundwood Co Wicklow, fresh too :( was quite
    surprised as I thought it was a little chilly for them to be
    out and about so early on a damp cold morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Cul a cnoic

Plenty of them here in Donegal, have seen two in the last 3 weeks. Picture below is one that the boys found at the back of the house. They are indeed very quick and can disappear as quick as you see them. Just keep the eyes peeled.....
    screen01apr222341.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭dogmatix

I spotted two of the little critters in the Glenealo valley above Glendalough last Saturday - handsome looking animals.

Raptors-15.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

ACC9908DFFE945E0964E7BF7CFD2781F.jpg

654DBAB3D31046E9BCA67F033CB2E963.jpg

4D14FB51E34E4D6F8E5B3CEA95388197.jpg

The Swan shot is beautiful Chorcai :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Thats a great pic Cul a Cnoic. Fair play. Plenty of people around who wouldnt have a clue we have such animals in our country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Cul a cnoic

SeaFields wrote: »
    Thats a great pic Cul a Cnoic. Fair play. Plenty of people around who wouldnt have a clue we have such animals in our country
    Thanks SeaFields

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭captain_boycott

IRcolm wrote: »
    The Common Brown Lizard. Has anyone here ever seen one? Where would they be found in Ireland, Only in the South? I just
    have never seen nor heard of anyone who has seen one of these and would like to try to find one someday...

Not just in the South - I've seen one in North Mayo, between Ballycastle and Kilalla. Also read there are to found along the bangor trail, often seen sunbathing on a rock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

The ones I found in Bantry where near water and on a south west facing sliabh, just don't grab by the tail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Friend found one near his back garden on Howth Hill yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭mountainy man

found these puss moths on a rowan tree in my garden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭wildlifeboy

The Irish Wildlife Trust and the National Biodiversty Data Centre have nearly completed a nationwide Survey on the Common Lizard and it turns out it is indeed very common, One of the few success stories of Irish Wildlife. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 692 ✭✭✭Durnish

They come out to sunbathe at this time of year, don't they?

here's one I took earlier, Sheskinmore machaire, July 2008.
    vbulletinlizieboot.jpglizieboot.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 thewildlife

IRcolm wrote: »
    Have a look at www.biology.ie and check the Lizard survey maps to see where they are. The site also has many other surveys and you can keep track of your own sightings there. It's a brilliant web site for anyone interested in wildlife. It just don't describe stuff - it allows you keep your own sightings online. Its the best wildlife survey site in the country.
    For lizard have a look here:
    http://www.biology.ie/home.php?m=lizards&PHPSESSID=3b078bb955192ad529a47225937e7eab

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 thewildlife

The Irish Wildlife Trust and the National Biodiversty Data Centre have nearly completed a nationwide Survey on the Common Lizard and it turns out it is indeed very common, One of the few success stories of Irish Wildlife. :)
    Yes indeed. The IWT survey was run on www.biology.ie . The maps are up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

I saw a whole bunch of these in Wexford when I was younger. I had been wandering around by myself and nobody would believe me when I told them. It was only a few years ago when I purchased a book of Irish wildlife that I was able so show my some of my family and friends that there are lizards in Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

During a military exercise in wicklow I took cover behind a boulder, when I went to have a peek over it I found a tiny lizard skeleton basking on top of it, poor bugger mustve been out sunning himself when he got eaten! incidentally none of the lads believed me :(

Have since seen them in the wicklow mountains on quite a few occasions. wonder do they make good pets, I could train one of them to be my units mascot :D an attack lizard!

ReturntoSallysBridge-9.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

This unusual pigeon appeared outside with the others, so I put out some food for them, to entice this king pigeon up....

P070510_20.34_[02].jpg

P070510_20.34.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

Posted these over on the photo forum but you might enjoy them here too! ;)

4588872601_03f57f693e_b.jpg

4589490626_e0e883564b_b.jpg

4588869263_9db1d24e65_b.jpg

4588874337_033e9a1da8_b.jpg

4589493138_1442b12aa2_b.jpg

4588876413_5615127a5e_b.jpg

4589496908_81da1fe4d1_b.jpg

4588878871_b5f1ea3c02_b.jpg

4589499816_5b7eb95ea1_b.jpg

4589500544_e4948eb9f3_b.jpg

4589501922_a2bf2b921c_b.jpg

4588925015_02cddd1c2d_b.jpg

Kites-3.jpg

Magnificent picture :D:D:D:D

fluffyVW wrote: »
    Wonderful dragonfly shot you got!!! Such a clear picture and love the blue!!! I managed to get a shot of a Dragonfly down in the bog but not as good as yours!!! :D

roens dragonfly was amazing. yours is too fluffy.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 knuckshee

Visitors to our garden this evening

4599059115_33e0f01738.jpg

4599673226_8c07e9d859.jpg

Lovely little bird, when he sings the inside of his mouth is bright red which looks very fetching against his puffed up white throat, sure to attract the ladies!
    DSC_0027.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

Click images for larger version...

4610253872_19757cc113.jpg

4610256528_dd16563bb2.jpg

4609648027_3b83528806.jpg

4609647137_52463949ae.jpg

4609645211_4a4001e950.jpg

4609644709_4580d4b49c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭okistag

DSC_5188.jpg
    DSC_5189.jpg