Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The joys and the woes of the A7 & A7-oid thread

• 10-08-2013 2:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 745 ✭✭✭

Thought I'd start it as ye all seem to really like the A7, aside from it's few little quirks, and being the seasoned vets that ye are I'm interested to see how I might resolve the current and future issues with my own one.

funnily enough I have been having trouble lately making coils in my a7maybe I should make a thread about it
    csi vegas wrote: »
    Seriously though, mine is half rusted - just bought three wks ago and don't really want to use it - there's a God awful stench of oil, which oddly has corroded the threads a bit, oxidisation I suppose.
    But anyway a thread be good :)
    The A7 is notorious for oil.......loads and loads of threads about it all over the forums.

I had that oily vape off of mine when I got it too. Stinkin'.
    Mr. Chrome wrote: »
    I get that oily taste every now and again even after washing it out countless times. I presumed it was the paint or coating being broken down by the juice because there is no way there could be any oil left on it. Either way it can't be good for ya.
    Still love the a7oid though.
    rickyjb wrote: »
    That's funny, I find it the easiest and quickest to rebuild out of all the devices I have. Maybe I should post a pic of how I have it set up.

I wondered what the hell that was, I didn't use mine for a good few weeks then rebuilt it one night without washing it out and it tasted horrible. Washed it and built it again but there was still a weird taste, I thought it was just the liquid but it was fine in another device.

It really can't be good for you if the coating or paint is dissolving...
    As said, I haven't (dared) venture near mine yet. I do have (an unused on the gnashers) toothbrush though that I scrub my T3's with and if used with vodka (or dare I say white vinegar) could rid the A7 of all its nastiness?

I thought it was just me, with an unlucky 'fake'.
    Try taking the whole thing apart, put it in a bowl and give it a good scrub with washing up liquid, that should get rid of any oil. Give it a good rinse afterwards to get rid of the washing up liquid.
    The whole deck part comes apart, hold the two posts and twist anticlockwise.
    Take care not to lose any parts, their feckin tiny :-)
    never noticed any oil or buildup on either of mine.. I do give them a bit of a wash under the hot tap every fortnight or so though
    Its kind of a weird one for me, I was using the a7oid for about 4 months without any taste issues but about a month ago I noticed a weird oily taste.

It only happens every couple of days and lasts for maybe 10 or 20 drags.
    I clean it out about once a week so I doubt its residual oil.
    I have 2 spare a7s and im tempted to take one apart and put all the metal parts into paint stripper overnight just to see what happens :-)
    If they do come out with a v2 I hope they cop on and leave the coating off it, and line up the posts properly!!!!
    And oh yeah, everytime I change batteries there is dark greyish gunk in the 510 connector.
    i think the gunk is just juice that's seeped down through the a7, used to get that with cartos as well

^^^^^^^^^^
    @Digby who posted this today: not in my case no, definitely not - mine is brand new and I haven't wanted to use it yet because of its general appearance and the smell. It's also got a little brown spot of 'rust' on the wick caused by some apparant reaction of the metal and the oil.
    It's as if the metal is 'sweating'.

I feel v put off by it although I know I can re-wick but think the same will happen on any new wick I install.
    It's so weird that some of you have yer's up and running for a while (used, washed, rebuild, used again etc) and still get that oily taste. The A7's new name? The A7-WD40 :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Mr. Chrome

Go on, don't be afraid of it, pull out the original coil and stick in a new one. Give the a7 a wash first though.
    If you haven't made a coil yet it might be easier to practice making one or two with the igo s first as its slightly easier.
    Go forth and make many coils and may the vaping gods be with you :-P

• Registered Users Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Thecageyone

I just got one last week, it was fine at first, then started tasting a bit rank with my usual VP juice [so I know it's not the juice, and the atty was brand new]

Keep meaning to give it a go, make up a new coil for it - and I will give it a good wash out first. Anyone got a link to a good vid on rebuilding them? I've seen a few that weren't all that clear, or they were using cotton.

I think the Oid tip is over priced too ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

I found that a good washing got rid of it. There's a lot of places for it to hang around inside the base so you'd need to take the deck out and get in there too.

When that was solved I found it a good atty to be fair.

The bloody draw was too airy as hell though and mine used to whistle too....

I just got one last week, it was fine at first, then started tasting a bit rank with my usual VP juice [so I know it's not the juice, and the atty was brand new]

Keep meaning to give it a go, make up a new coil for it - and I will give it a good wash out first. Anyone got a link to a good vid on rebuilding them? I've seen a few that weren't all that clear, or they were using cotton.

I think the Oid tip is over priced too ...

The oid is a little bit overpriced and gets way too hot imo. You can make your own helioid :-) with a tube from a t3, a drip tip and a blob of glue.
    If you can get your hands on some wonderfoam your all set. Its as rare as hens teeth but I think cloud nine vaping sell small, overpriced pieces of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 915 ✭✭✭heliguyheliguy

A7 is great little atty imo; it does need to be stripped and cleaned, as you should really do with any new atty (not that I always do) truth is it's prob the only atty you'll ever need. it is made to last unlike clearos and offers great dripping taste and with the oid a very pocket-able tank system.

thumbs up from me :)

• Registered Users Posts: 745 ✭✭✭csi vegas

Here's a pic of mine, with said 'brown spot of rust'.
    My first ever uploaded pic, so be kind!
    This is how it was brand new out if its packaging, still unused.

If I can ask a silly question -
    I read somewhere that by adding the oid "the user can experience a longer time before having to refill" (or something) - how is this so?
    Its just a mouthpiece tip, no?
    Just fancier looking than the drip tip which came with A7 itself.
    I thought it was going to be some extremely complex and functioning bit of 'upgrade'.

As said, havent used it at all yet but I just don't see how I'd get the claimed longer life out if it (oid).

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

It's a mouthpiece that comes with foam to wrap loosely around the long bit of the tip inside the chamber. You leave your coil-wick a little long and turn up towards the foam and it carries the juice down.

Edit: just saw your pic - you have the oid but no foam?

grindle wrote: »
    It's a mouthpiece that comes with foam to wrap loosely around the long bit of the tip inside the chamber. You leave your coil-wick a little long and turn up towards the foam and it carries the juice down.

Edit: just saw your pic - you have the oid but no foam?

my reply just got wiped out! Mad!

Anyway it should look like this?(rough sketch, sorry!)

Haha, too much foam! Put the tip into the A7, tear some of that foam filler off and start poking it in around the tip, not letting it jut out past the end of the tip otherwise the coil will burn the foam. Don't pack too tightly as the juice has to go somewhere!
    Loosely packed is good enough, you'll know better on your second go.
    Then, with the wicks legs left long-ish, insert the base into the chamber with the wick facing the foam. The wick will draw from the filler.
    It essentially turns it into a large rebuildable cartomiser/Spheroid.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

I think that might be oil (or whatever the use) rather than rust. Probably wash out!
    I have an oid and after using it a bit got sick of the tiddly holes to put the wire in and the fact that it had a taste I could not get rid of, I left it in my box of bits. Might give it another go, the tip was a bit odd too as I recall.
    TBH if I need tank quanty juice a C4 clearo with a DC head dose the job. Rest of the time the Phoenix Rebuildable Atomizer is perfect. Set up with a 2ohm coil, it perfect on an ego battery.

grindle wrote: »
    Haha, too much foam! Put the tip into the A7, tear some of that foam filler off and start poking it in around the tip, not letting it jut out past the end of the tip otherwise the coil will burn the foam. Don't pack too tightly as the juice has to go somewhere!
    Loosely packed is good enough, you'll know better on your second go.
    Then, with the wicks legs left long-ish, insert the base into the chamber with the wick facing the foam. The wick will draw from the filler.
    It essentially turns it into a large rebuildable cartomiser/Spheroid.

Gotcha! Thanks so much.

But no, I only threw in the foam like that as a demo to show I understood your instruction, haha!

tommy2bad wrote: »
    I think that might be oil (or whatever the use) rather than rust. Probably wash out!
    I have an oid and after using it a bit got sick of the tiddly holes to put the wire in and the fact that it had a taste I could not get rid of, I left it in my box of bits. Might give it another go, the tip was a bit odd too as I recall.
    TBH if I need tank quanty juice a C4 clearo with a DC head dose the job. Rest of the time the Phoenix Rebuildable Atomizer is perfect. Set up with a 2ohm coil, it perfect on an ego battery.

Anything that looks good with an eGo and I'm sold!
    HEEERE little Wish List, HEEERE!

my reply just got wiped out! Mad!

Anyway it should look like this?(rough sketch, sorry!)

the spot of rust you mention looks to be the e liquid gunk, and can be found in any atty :) I'd guess that bit of the wick was touching the coil.

here's a pic to compare, I've used wonderfoam but you'll get the idea.

IMG_0976.JPG

and one of the spheroid for comparison with an €85 atty and how good a value the a7-oid really is :)
    http://www.vapourart.com/en/product/gp-spheroid-version-2

IMG_0977.JPG

Hi Heli - mine has yet to be used so no juice has graced it yet!

The Spheroid is really that much?
    Not often I say this but OMG!
    Is it really worth it though?
    I wouldn't use anything else if I spent that much on an atty - I'd do cold hard turkey and everything if it burnt out on me needing a rebuild!

Its more like 100euro when you add the 15euro delivery charge!! The spheroid is good though but like the a7 it comes covered in oil and still needs a good washing out when you get it (at least mine did).

Well, is the spheroid worth it? Pretty much, yes....

Holds about 2ml of juice and it probably has the best flavour of any attie I've used and the best vapour by a mile.

V2 is completely mechanical with no wires at all so it'll last forever.

It does take a while to get the foam/wool right though.

It's the most I ever spent on a vaping kit and I'd never spend any more than that.

Edit: Chromium is right too. It requires a good clean when you get it.

Hi Heli - mine has yet to be used so no juice has graced it yet!

The Spheroid is really that much?
    Not often I say this but OMG!
    Is it really worth it though?
    I wouldn't use anything else if I spent that much on an atty - I'd do cold hard turkey and everything if it burnt out on me needing a rebuild!

"The Spheroid is really that much?"- yes + 15 shipping so actually costs €100

"Is it really worth it though?" - I don't know, would I buy it again? Yes

"I wouldn't use anything else if I spent that much on an atty"
    I also have the kayfun lite €98 inc shipping
    The killer 705, dbase tank and driptip = €123
    the pro dripper €50
    the Nautilus (oddy clone) €75
    many others besides, is it worth it? I don't smoke anymore :)

IMG_0978.JPG

the pro dripper €50

IMG_0978.JPG
    Show off :-P
    Only jokin, thats impressive.
    Tough question....Whats your favorite atty and mod?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Ionised

That is true vaping porn...perhaps we should start a vape porn thread. I'd better clean off all the juice stains off my gear before I take any photos :)

Show off :-P
    Only jokin, thats impressive.
    Tough question....Whats your favorite atty and mod?

favourite in what way

by far the provari mini and spheroid gets the most use.
    best looking is the kopis with the pro-dripper
    best vape pro-dripper on the provari (can't always be arsed dripping)
    The longest running before refill or rebuild kayfun lite with the Gus 22, it also has great flavour but is to big for me.
    Killer and the killer clone have great flavour and capacity its also nice to see the liquid sometimes.
    Occasionally I like the different taste from the genesis (rsst, agt)
    Best value for money A7-oid
    Rapid tank, sometimes you just wanna to bung a carto in a tank and vape.
    while they are great attys; I don't really use the oddy, a7 or the igo but there is history there.

I suppose I meant what gets the most use, that would be your provari and spheroid.
    For me it would be an ego and a7oid simply because I can use it at work, it fits easily in my back pocket and gives a decent vape.

I suppose I meant what gets the most use, that would be your provari and spheroid.
    For me it would be an ego and a7oid simply because I can use it at work, it fits easily in my back pocket and gives a decent vape.

ego and a7-oid is the best value setup if your anyway inclined to rebuild

the pro dripper €50

IMG_0978.JPG

WOW-WEE! That's some collection!
    Worth every cent, if even just to look at! It's like art!

Who's gonna start that vape porn thread? It can't be me as the flashiest piece of kit I own is an Igo-s...

WOW-WEE! That's some collection!
    Worth every cent, if even just to look at! It's like art!

Who's gonna start that vape porn thread? It can't be me as the flashiest piece of kit I own is an Igo-s...

vape porn thread started :)
    It won't be long before my meagre collection is out shined.

Superneat in 3...2...

Haven't heard from him in a while here actually.

using all his bandwidth buying stuff :)