Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Evelyn Cusack

• 13-03-2006 9:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭

Having watched Evelyn Cusack the last two evenings, I think her forecasts are excellent. I think that she is the best forecaster in Ireland.

Her use of computer graphics and local radars are superb. None of the rest of them seem to know how to put a forecast together.

Hats off to Evelyn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

Lol, a thread about Evelyn Cusack.... Anyway, I have to say she does bring a smile to my face when I see her on telly, it means that the words "wintry" and "snow" are more likely to be mentioned:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Despite the occasional conviction for drink-driving, she's my least favourite weather presenter. She always sounds quite slurred.

Give me that wan with the dark bobbed-haircut (fine beasht of a woman) or Uncle Gerry anyday.

Evelyn reads this board you know Danno.
    I have it on Good authority.

Are you unattached?

Isn't Evelyn Cusack from Laois, Danno?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭Snowbie

Lol, a thread about Evelyn Cusack.... Anyway, I have to say she does bring a smile to my face when I see her on telly, it means that the words "wintry" and "snow" are more likely to be mentioned:)

Old Ev been around for years now,bless,but that day last week during our cold spell when she spoke on RTE News about the north etc,she had no makeup on,WOW,:eek: :eek: :eek: ,MAKEUP EV MAKEUP,
    LOL
    Go on Gerry Fleming give us a wink;) ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Oooi Lads, pipe down!

I was just commenting on the quality of her forecasts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Danno wrote:
    I was just commenting on the quality of her forecasts!
    It's a feckin team effort! They don't employ a couple of hundred people down at Met Eireann just so they can draw straws and go "ah jaysus, who's not on the bottle right now?, good man Gerry, down with ye to Montrose and do the auld Aimsir for the rest of the week'.

How come "her" forecasts are the best presented, backed up with the best charts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,009 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Ahh gimme Gerry any day- that mans a genius and quite possibly a national institution!

• Registered Users Posts: 22 eddy121

Danno wrote: »
    Having watched Evelyn Cusack the last two evenings, I think her forecasts are excellent. I think that she is the best forecaster in Ireland.

Her use of computer graphics and local radars are superb. None of the rest of them seem to know how to put a forecast together.

Hats off to Evelyn.

You're having a laugh aren't you ?

Apart from the fact that she can't string a sentence together, her sentences are slurred on a good day, and she has the most patronising broadcast style I'm quite frankly amazed that RTE let her anywhere near a camera.

Jean Byrne and Gerry wipe the floor with her anyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Skuxx

Is it just me or has anyone else noticed that she seems to be the "rain specialist" in met eireann! Once you see the forecast starting with her presenting 9 times out of 10 there is rain on the way!! I remember once during a few weeks of dry weather she used to show us charts of the rain in Spain and France!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭GSF

I always think she is really Joan Burtons sister :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭200motels

She's the best by a country mile, I enjoy her forecasts, she can give more information in a few mins that the rest would take all day.

200motels wrote: »
    She's the best by a country mile, I enjoy her forecasts, she can give more information in a few mins that the rest would take all day.

It's one thing giving out more information , it's another being able to understand a word she says - I'm amazed she's still allowed on air

Jean and John are by far and away more natural, more pleasant, more professional and much more understandable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭ian_m

None of the rest of them seem to know how to put a forecast together.

Not sure if I can completely agree with this.

Hats off to Evelyn though. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭200motels

eddy121 wrote: »
    It's one thing giving out more information , it's another being able to understand a word she says - I'm amazed she's still allowed on air

Jean and John are by far and away more natural, more pleasant, more professional and much more understandable.
    Totaly disagree, the charts she puts up gives a better picture of the weather to come. The two you mentioned are wooden compared to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,179 ✭✭✭pauldry

Evelyn reads this board you know Danno.
    I have it on Good authority.

Are you unattached?

Are YOU Evelyn?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭John mac

ian_m wrote: »
    Not sure if I can completely agree with this.

Hats off to Evelyn though. :cool:

That comment is 5 years old. !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,962 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Evelyn's a great forecaster. She takes the time to give the viewer an explanation as to why certain types of weather occurring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,179 ✭✭✭pauldry

Yeah Evelyn gives a good forecast. She really seems to know what she is on about and explains a lot of the goings on while she is doing it.

Gerry "Halo there aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannd a very good evening" doesnt really do this. He just sticks his robot badly fitted suitarm over the map and gets his words in the way of each other while he repeats "we can expect" over and over again.

Eagle used to do a good forecast on TV and was sorry to see himself and Gerard winky wink leave our screens. One thing about those two was even when the weather was promised kerap they still put a positive slant on it and gave you hope for the future. Even the Summer of 1985 was good in their eyes.

Jean Byrne has improved lots over the years and we all love the cold weather outfits she brings to our screen. Who needs the oscars?

She might know the difference between an isobar and an iceberg but oh come on everything about her presenting is awful from the hideous patronising smile to the horrible whiny voice - would you see her on any other channel in the world - I think not, and I'm amazed Met Eireann have allowed her to develop this Z list celebrity nonsense - does zero for their or her credibility.

At least Jean is easy to understand looks great and really knows her stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Evelyn Cusack is the Joan Burton of weather forcasting?! :pac:

She's alright, I don't really listen to forcasts, the pressure charts are what matters and I'd like more of them.

Whoaa, who brought back this old thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,708 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Eddy121 :D

Joins boards then waits 4 months and digs up an old thread just to have a dig at the brilliant Evelyn for his first post :rolleyes:

Tell us the truth Eddy, whats going on :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭fatherbuzcagney

I always watch out for her BIG smile at the end of her forecast:):D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭octo

Jaysus lads - go easy on the personal insults. You're talking about ordinary real people here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Big Tone

Whenever she's on it's obvious she's done the maps herself, they're more detailed and more interesting when she's presenting..at least we can actually look at the maps, not like when Ms Byrne is on, she's a distractions with her latest "rig out" as my mother would say!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eU4zLqLLsLM&feature=related

Seems like someone else isn't a fan....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,962 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

perhaps it's time this thread should be locked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭Su Campu

eddy121 wrote: »
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eU4zLqLLsLM&feature=related

Seems like someone else isn't a fan....

I don't see what's supposed to be the problem there? Why even post that link? I think Nacho is right, if people start clutching at straws like that then the thread will be closed. It's one thing posting something real, but there's nothing in that clip and it's obvious the user has something against RTE.

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1097209 - go to 25m35s... made me chuckle! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1097209 - go to 25m35s... made me chuckle! :D
    :D good woman Evelyn: "a much more interesting event at Cape Canaveral on friday"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 organ

Despite the occasional conviction for drink-driving, she's my least favourite weather presenter. She always sounds quite slurred.

Give me that wan with the dark bobbed-haircut (fine beasht of a woman) or Uncle Gerry anyday.

Evelyn is excellent at reading the weather as well as illustrating the charts. Other readers are equally very good :)Jean Byrne, :D Siobháin Ryan etc. However where I live near the border of NI we get better accurate forecasting from the BBC but that should not take away from any of the RTE female forecasters/presenters who are very professional at presenting. :cool:

What Evelyn does apart from the news is her own personal choice and business as is any other reader. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 organ

I very much enjoy Evelyn Cusack Reading the weather! Jean Byrne and Siobháin are very good in my book as well. They each have their privacy and entitled it.

There is nobody perfect including myself and other critics. Keep the good work up girls and enjoy what you do in private once you do not harm others.

Organ xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Evelyn is a class act and I always get so much more out of an RTE forecast when she's on - she seems to have a genuine interest in unusual weather too and takes time to explain and discuss any interesting phenonmenon both at home and abroad. So refreshing:)

I think all the Met Eireann duty forecasters who are on TV have a habit of being a little vague, but Evelyn's best at giving a general picture of what's going on in Europe or the North Atlantic. Something that BBC presenters (who aren't proper meteorologists I think) are particularly poor at doing.

There is a vicious circle here, MetÉ are criticised for inaccurate forecasting, and therefore row back on the detail or range of forecasts to ensure they can't be accused of getting it "wrong" but then people still accuse them of inaccuracies because they are being intentionally vague and inaccurate. All to avoid making a bad call!

Funnily enough, I'd also say that Evelyn is the least afraid of sticking her neck out to make more specific calls or more distant forecasts! I think she deserves the least criticism and while the forecasters could be better at using their experience in a forecast and perhaps could take more stock out of "pattern matching", she's definitely the "best of a bad lot" and even that is very harsh on the lads and ladies of Glasnevin:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Met Eireann do a good job, it is not the easiest region in the world to be a weather forecaster especially when one can four seasons in a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Big Tone

Evelyn is the only one who mentions the jetstream and it's important influence on our weather. Her maps are also much better detailed than the others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭JonMac

I think she gives the most useful forecasts. I am always pleased when I see it is her.