Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Should the dole be increased to 300 per week?

• 23-09-2019 1:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭

This would certainly help in destigmatizing the less fortunate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,345 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Sure let's make it an even grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Two fiddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

sure look why not people who work, work for free and give all their money to the Dole lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Put it to Leo. He just loves any populist idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Yes it should.

And Increase tax as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

Ya definitely.
    And let's make it the longer your on it the more you get.
    Like a 5 or 10percent raise every year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

No, but the money the government invests in figure-massaging schemes like Jobpath should be made directly available to people making a genuine effort to find work. €200 a week, or whatever it currently is, might be just about enough to sit at home all day, but it's not enough if you're making an effort to keep yourself employable and going for interviews all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Put it to Leo. He just loves any populist idea.

I don't think you'll find much popularity for that idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,823 ✭✭✭✭bear1

The more they increase the more the effect some people won't be bothering looking for work.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Gonad

As someone who has been on the dole i would have no problem increasing it by 100 Euro or more . That money could make a huge difference to people’s lives in their time of need .

Of course there are always the people who never work or can’t for whatever reason but always remember , it’s not these minority of people who have this country ruined . It’s the people with the money that have fecked up everything Ireland once stood for .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

I know a few people who are on the dole for genuine mental health issues. More money should be invested into these services.

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭corkboy38

Double the Xmas bonus too.. set a maximum wage of 15 quid an hour while your at it and a mandatory €100 weekly donation from the workers to the dolers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭Cork Trucker

This is gonna end well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,497 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Unaffordable for the state and completely skews the working motivation.

Next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I know a few people who are on the dole for genuine mental health issues. More money should be invested into these services.

In which case, they really shouldn't be on the dole. Getting harassed about their job-seeking activities probably isn't going to help their mental health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,809 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Mod note
    Closed due to the fact it's another original dole thread!