Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever met an actual Psychopath?

12346»

• Registered Users Posts: 13,281 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

inthenip wrote: »
    Piers Morgan interviews psychopath on Netflix, jaysus still gives me chills thinking about it. It's well worth a watch.

Paris Bennett is the guy's name. They guy has no emotion. His IQ is through the roof as well.

Still only the second-worst person in that interview.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,186 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

BrianD3 wrote: »

in general, when I hear someone described as "very shrewd" or "a serious operator", there is a strong possibility that they have sociopathic and other Dark Triad tendencies.

I know of somebody of a TD any the people who went to college with them all describe him or her as ''very shrewd''.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I scored 5.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,573 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I scored 24, username checks out

• Registered Users Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

I would imagine everybody at some stage would have psychopathic tendencies (please say im normal). If at anytime in the past you bern done wrong, maybe assaulted, rob, etc the tendency is to want to destroy the thief, your assailant etc. Everybody has these thoughts but we never really act them out. I grew up in areas that had a lot of anti-social behaviour, from joy-riding, vandalism, fighting etc. I've heard the word psychopath used on many occasions, one fella when he fought other fellas had a habit of actually dancing on his opponents head, I heard ( I wasn't there this night) that he dropped a concrete block on another fellas head, to me he was evil not psychotic (or maybe a bit), and the reason I say this because it was only certain peoples heads he jumped on, because if he hit the wrong person he's had would've been jumped on, so I say bad bastard, not psycopath. Another chap I knew battered a couple chaps almost into a coma and was call a psychopath, nicest guy you could meet, he was in an argument with a guy(innocently pick on) and in pure terror the chap let rip and uncontrollably destroyed the aggressor and the aggressors pal. Was he a psychopath, No. Some people are inherently evil most are inherently bullies. Husband beats his wife or vice versa, does that make him a psychopath no, it makes him a controlling bully. There is a lot of good people in this world and their are a lot of bad people to different degrees, to me psychopath is just a name given to an asshole that basically a evil bollox.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,292 ✭✭✭✭branie2

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭hayoc

Sardonicat wrote: »
    I don't think I've ever wanted to give a complete stranger on the Internet a hug more than I want to hug you right now.

Thank you. I appreciate every kind word more than you can know.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,017 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

My GF has an aunt through marriage that if she isn't quite a psychopath, she definitely has some narcissistic tendencies.

Over the last year she has:

- rang her husband's brother-in-law on the morning of his 60th birthday just to let him know that his family were planning a surprise party for him that weekend. Just because she wasn't invited as she fell out with the family.

- the same fellas grandchild set up her own stall selling painted book-ends so she could raise some money for herself. She bought a couple, but rang the little ones grandmother later that evening complaining that they were of poor quality, and did she know what type of paint she used so she could touch it up herself.

- sent a long, vindictive text to another sister-in-law who had after buying a new home, basically telling her that "she sees through her" etc. for no reason at all only she was jealous.

Prior to this, she had a picture of a relative on FB in garda uniform that said relative didn't want on social media, but refused to take it down when asked to. She has fallen out with every single baby-sitter, and virtually all family members at some stage. It's notable too that her son has very few Irish friends as the locals know well enough her previous "form".

She went missing a couple of months ago, ostensibly trying to commit suicide, but was discovered later on the same day. But the GF is convinced it was all a ruse just to see how popular she was on social media (that she put the missing person announcement on FB, and saw the shares and comments flood in all morning). Cuckoo-pants.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Rezident wrote: »
    The job with the highest % of psychopaths is lawyers. If you have met or worked with enough lawyers, you have probably met a few psychopaths.

I heard from a friend of his that after his wife had a miscarriage, he was driving her home from hospital when he stopped off at work and went to a meeting. He left her outside on her own in the car and just went to his meeting.
    Things like that would have been more common years ago. I remember a guy that used to drive to the pub with his wife most nights. She was never allowed to come in or go home, she had to sit in the car until he was finished and ready to go home, several hours sometimes. She couldn't drive either so he was driving home drunk.

The same guy when his wife went in to have their first child he went on the piss and didn't come home for three days, no phone call or anything.
    Back then people would have just said people like him he were 'very ignorant'.
    They mightnot be beating the wife but they still treated them like dirt in other ways.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

I'm almost certain a woman doctor I saw for 20 mins a few years ago was one. She didn't say anything odd, as such, but she changed expression (from angry to "friendly") so quickly and without transition that it froze me to the spot. I tried to copy what she did while looking in a mirror just to see how it could be done, but I've never been able to replicate it. Even clicking a light switch would have been slower. Terrified the hell out of me.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Starting to suspect i am a sociopath.

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Lockheed

My old GP was a complete sociopath. Stuck up his own arse off past glories and was so unbelievably headstrong, an absolute nightmare to deal with

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee

A lot of priests brothers and nuns were
    I would say about 25%
    That taught in my school's were

https://www.catholicireland.net/popular-priest-decries-portrayal-nuns/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    What's the difference a psychopath and a sociopath?

I think a psychopath doesn't feel fear while a sociopath lacks empathy.

Psychopaths are generally at a genetic predisposition (underdeveloped brain components) whereas sociopaths are generally a product of their environment.

Psychopaths tend to be more calculating and methodical whereas sociopaths tend to be more erratic.

Psychopaths struggle forming any emotional attachments whereas sociopaths can form attachments to like-minded people/people with similar interests.

An ex boss of mine (Not diagnosed). Would have been interviewed on national radio re a trauma in her life. Portrayed as a successful survivor.

Truth known locally.

She's clearly functional to most people though at a relatively superficial level.

I think a psychopath doesn't feel fear while a sociopath lacks empathy.

Psychopath won't have empathy either.

I think I read a few years back that from a clinical perspective they no longer differentiate between psychopath or sociopath.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Lockheed wrote:
    My old GP was a complete sociopath. Stuck up his own arse off past glories and was so unbelievably headstrong, an absolute nightmare to deal with

Maybe highly narcissistic, tis common enough with many disorders, including my own, autism
    I think I read a few years back that from a clinical perspective they no longer differentiate between psychopath or sociopath.

This is correct, they're both known under dsm 5 as a cluster b personality disorder, anti-social personality disorder(aspd), still don't fully understand the difference though.

I've definitely met many cluster b's, particularly bpd's, cluster b's would be common enough, generally very intelligent, but exactly as dsm describes them, highly erratic and emotionally driven. very sad to see though, most I've met have highly dysfunctional behavioural problems ,serious addiction problems, highly dysfunctional lives and relationships, trumatic experiences, with very tragic outcomes, very sad stuff. Some have overcome their sh1t though, and plough on. Suspect I've met one or two aspd's, extremely erratic, very dangerous individuals, regularly in and out of prison, stay clear of, as they're very unpredictable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee

psychopaths are classified as people with little or no conscience, sociopaths do have a limited, albeit weak, ability to feel empathy and remorse.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Regis779

I have and I am glad I am away from the person now. Wouldn't advise anyone to meet a real psychopath

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 193 ✭✭Hellotonever

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    What's the difference a psychopath and a sociopath?

One is pathological behavior, the other is a legit medical condition/ possibly evolutionary trait.

Let me explain the difference. Sociopathy is a personality trait. Usually this is defined by anti-social behavior (harmful to others) such as killing, robbing, murdering or even just anything antipathic towards other people can be considered sociopathic.

Sociopaths are MADE not born. For example, a normal child raised by normal parents will (usually) grow up to be a normal person that contributes to society in some way selflessly.

But take the same child and have it be raised by abusive crack addicts or pedophiles and they will grow up to be emotionally distant and incapable of empathy. Empathy is actually a skill taught to children. For example kids will often do bad things to other people and its the parents job to teach the kid "NO YOU CANT JUST DO THAT". A sociopathic person is someone who has grown up emotionally distant as a response to trauma. Or possibly someone who was not raised by parents that taught them empathy and consideration of others. Thus they grow up without empathy, and can inflict pain and suffering on others without feeling remorse.

In other words, sociopaths are MADE. Sociopathy can be reversed by intensive CBT and being rehabilitated to an environment that fosters caring and community. Thats why some sociopaths like jail - its a high stress environment where their emotional distancing is rapidly demolished (because you have to care about what other people think in a place where you can get stabbed or raped). It triggers an emotional response that they did not feel as children - Empathy.

But all in all, sociopaths dont exist per se but sociopathic traits do. And if a person displays many sociopathic traits then they are called sociopaths. But a sociopath can come from any stratified position in society. Theres an interesting study where it shows that sociopaths are often found in contrasting demographics: For example sociopaths in jail are very common. But also sociopaths in CEOs, Surgeons, lawyers, police officers. Essentially high stress jobs. The emotional distancing inbuilt into sociopaths make them well made for jobs that require mental strength.

Psychopathy on the other hand is a very much well recorded phenomenon. They can actually detect psychopaths by scans of peoples brains. Psychopathy medically is defined as having an amygdala 13-17% smaller than average. Amygdala is the fear center of the brain. Having a smaller instinct for consequences is what make psychopaths psychopaths. They can kill, steal, maim or murder because they literally could not feel the consequence or the fear of their actions. Psychopathy cant be changed, its essentially a mental handicap.

Although there has been a growing popular theory that psychopathy is an evolutionary trait that would allow a person to thrive in harsh times. Psychopaths can fit in better than sociopaths (who are anti-social) but dont have the moral checks and balances that average people do. Thus if push comes to shove the psychopath will kill you for your food.

Often the two traits are interchangeable but one of my neurosurgeon friends who told me a nice quote that differentiates the two:

Sociopaths have the lights turned off, but psychopaths dont have the switches.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

But all in all, sociopaths dont exist per se but sociopathic traits do. And if a person displays many sociopathic traits then they are called sociopaths. But a sociopath can come from any stratified position in society. Theres an interesting study where it shows that sociopaths are often found in contrasting demographics: For example sociopaths in jail are very common. But also sociopaths in CEOs, Surgeons, lawyers, police officers. Essentially high stress jobs. The emotional distancing inbuilt into sociopaths make them well made for jobs that require mental strength.

That's incredible stuff, thank you, research showing also that, only a small percentage of people with these traits in large organisations are required, for the overall behaviour of the organisation to behave in a similar manner, also known as 'greshams dynamic'.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭kingtut

Met a few who definitely act like them! Thankfully managed to rid myself of most of them :o

• Registered Users Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

I knew a guy about twenty odd years ago.. Compulsive liar, hed tell you the sky was green, also an extremely arrogant self important individual albeit very ignorant. I found out a few years ago he was jailed for downloading child porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Hand in Your Pants

I have actually, just once and only within the last few years. Knew very quickly I was dealing with a different species of animal altogether. Very dark energy to be around and someone I go to lengths to avoid.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,433 ✭✭✭touts

I have. You know when you have. I wasn't surprised when I later heard he is currently serving life in a very special prison at her majesty's pleasure (i.e. is NEVER getting out).

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Firekitten87

My ex. I’ll never forget that moment when the mask came off.

I pity whoever ends up with him next, but I also wouldn’t be surprised if he was locked up somewhere. Some people are pure poison.

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Whatdoesitmatter

I've never knowingly met one but an ex of my briefly worked with Mark Nash who was jailed for killing 4 people. She was stunned when she read about it as she said he had come across as really nice guy.

Just goes to show