Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Celebrities you hate but didn't always dislike

• Registered Users Posts: 439 ✭✭Salthillprom

Hate is a strong word but Eoghan McDermott really went down in my estimation after the whole Fairytale of New York debacle. Stopped listening to him after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Arghus wrote: »
    It's amazing how Giggs was somehow able to keep his nice guy reputation and then some other players have reputations of being **** based on a lot less.

At the end of the day, I don't really give a fck what he got up to in his private life, but it's curious how he was able to salvage his reputation while some others just become figures of hate

The other thing that is gas about the whole Ryan Giggs shagging his brothers wife affair was that for years he had put it out in the media that he was just a quiet family man who loved his kids and shunned the limelight off field. The tabloid hacks swallowed this hook line and sinker, in articles they even referred to him as 'Family man Ryan Giggs' :rolleyes: Whereas the realty all along was that he was a sex addict banging women all around the place right under the tabloid medias noses.
    Robbie Keane.

Decent Footballer for Ireland in his day

I don't give a flying shít about the news coverage of his present woes as co manager.

Always got the impression that Robbie isnt the sharpest tool in the box. I remember in 2009 he was captain of Spurs under Harry Rednapp and they were playing really well and looking to have a tilt at the Premier League title. So Rednapp cancelled the players Christmas party as he wanted them in top shape for a rake of games over Xmas. Keane as captain said feck this and put the entire football team on a private jet to Dublin where by they all went on on the lash.

As to how Keane thought that it wouldnt be found out about I dont know, as if a Premier League football team drinking in a Dublin pub wasnt going to find its way into the media. When Rednapp found out he blew a gasket and Keane was stripped of the Spurs capataincy after that and his career started to go down hill. He thought he was bigger than the club or something and a lot of Spurs fans were rightly pissed off at him, they wanted to have a tilt at the title but their captain was more concerned about organising a 'secret' piss up.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

She gave him a standing ovation in that clip. Interesting Harrison Ford didn't clap at all.
    There were a few actors who didn't stand up or clap, they looked disgusted. I forget who they are now but fair play to them

Bill Cosby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Hesh's Umpire

Gemma O'Doherty.
    It's almost hard to believe now but she used to be a decent journalist.

Why did you ever like him?
    He used to be very funny on his radio show and there was a series on C4 called Ponderland which was a good laugh.

I don't know what happened to him really. Maybe the storm in a teacup thing with Jonathon Ross and Andrew Sachs is what made him tone down the comedy and become whatever he is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Daithi O Se.... I used to think he was the bees knees when he first came on the scene!
    Now, I don’t hate him but I can’t stay listening to him for long these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Gemma O'Doherty.
    It's almost hard to believe now but she used to be a decent journalist.

Admire her for exposing the child abuser in terenure college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,256 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Bill Cosby.

I always hated the Cosby Show, my sisters were huge fans. Still the revelations about him were a shock, he had such a squeaky clean image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

Has to be Ray Darcy, Good God he is incompetent and insufferable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Muahahaha wrote: »
    The other thing that is gas about the whole Ryan Giggs shagging his brothers wife affair was that for years he had put it out in the media that he was just a quiet family man who loved his kids and shunned the limelight off field. The tabloid hacks swallowed this hook line and sinker, in articles they even referred to him as 'Family man Ryan Giggs' :rolleyes: Whereas the realty all along was that he was a sex addict banging women all around the place right under the tabloid medias noses.

Always got the impression that Robbie isnt the sharpest tool in the box. I remember in 2009 he was captain of Spurs under Harry Rednapp and they were playing really well and looking to have a tilt at the Premier League title. So Rednapp cancelled the players Christmas party as he wanted them in top shape for a rake of games over Xmas. Keane as captain said feck this and put the entire football team on a private jet to Dublin where by they all went on on the lash.

As to how Keane thought that it wouldnt be found out about I dont know, as if a Premier League football team drinking in a Dublin pub wasnt going to find its way into the media. When Rednapp found out he blew a gasket and Keane was stripped of the Spurs capataincy after that and his career started to go down hill. He thought he was bigger than the club or something and a lot of Spurs fans were rightly pissed off at him, they wanted to have a tilt at the title but their captain was more concerned about organising a 'secret' piss up.

ever listen to gigggs speaking ?, he is so boring , a journalist would simply die of boredom while attempting to unearth some dirt and just settle for the lie that he was cleaner than a bishops sheets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

PARlance wrote: »
    Emmet Kirwan is hot on his heels, a dose of the highest order.

a professional sh1te talker in the league of blindboy

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    ever listen to gigggs speaking ?, he is so boring , a journalist would simply die of boredom while attempting to unearth some dirt and just settle for the lie that he was cleaner than a bishops sheets

oh without doubt. I just think its pretty amazing what he pulled off, back then tabloid hacks always loved their footballers having affairs stories but Giggs somehow went completely under the radar by convincing them all that he was just a shy and quiet family man. He was anything but :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭ScallionAyter

Fintan O'Toole

Blathnaid Ni Cvntface.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

KevRossi wrote: »
    You sound jealous, sound like you go weak in the presence of her beauty.

She's also a big fan of convicted child ****er Roman Polanski. One of the most two-faced people you could meet.

If you look at this clip of him being awarded an Oscar you can see the kind of people who decry Harvey Weinstein, but applaud Polanski.

Harrison Ford went up in my estimation after that. You can also see Queen Bee Meryl Streep looking around to see who and who wasn't giving the standing ovation. Add her to the list. She knew everything that was going on in hollywood over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I can't take her seriously any more since that video showed she ripped off other comics material wholesale. On phone so cant link but look up Amy Schumer joke stealing compilation on YouTube.

Just watched it, pretty blatant rip-off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    a professional sh1te talker in the league of blindboy

Imo at least Kirwan believes in what he says and I agree with lot of what he says.

Always felt Blindboy is doing what is the cool thing and is not genuine.

I can see Blindboy looking up on English Dictionary and looking for big words to make himself feel educated or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭ToddDameron

+1 on Blindboy. Genuinely funny guy who for reasons unknown began to see himself as an intellectual. Most of what we spouts is pseudo-intellectual tripe that doesn't hold any water.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 moslo

Pat Kenny, used to think he was quite an intelligent TV/radio interviewer but now think he's just a small-minded reactionary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I don't really hate any celebs. On the other hand I don't really like any celebs.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 moslo

I don't really hate any celebs. On the other hand I don't really like any celebs.
    You're in the wrong thread, we only want hate stories, the hatier the better.

George Lucas

Star Wars was his brain child. Three amazing epic movies starting from 1977. nnThe rot became apparent about 5 years after the release of the Phantom Menace. Lucas then sold it down the Swanee lock stock soul and barrell to Disney. Its now Social Justice Wars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

Glen Hansard.

Didn't mind him musically in the early days, but these days, the need to be centre stage for every needy earnest event is too much.

Blathnaid Ni Cvntface.

Never liked her.

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭gooseygander

Jeremy Clarkson, I used to think he was very funny and witty. Now I think he is a pompous, up his own hole, d—khead.

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭GMSA

2 irish women who have come to light recently for their apparent "couldn't give 2 fcuks" inability to repay loans and their stalling in court.
    Pamela Flood and Theresa Lowe. Always struck me as sensible level headed types. Boy was I wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Jeremy Clarkson, I used to think he was very funny and witty. Now I think he is a pompous, up his own hole, d—khead.

Clarkson is what he is and makes no apologies for it, he gave somesnowflake a slap, big deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,409 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Clarkson is what he is and makes no apologies for it, he gave somesnowflake a slap, big deal

That doesn’t make him not a dickhead.

Clarkson was alright for a good few years but then he went full metal Tory and Little Englander as he got older

Snowflake? Clarkson threw a strop and punched an assistant over his dinner not being ready on time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Snowflake? Clarkson threw a strop and punched an assistant over his dinner not being ready on time.

You'd swear the assistant just had his feelings hurt or something. Imagine being such a diva that you'd physically assault someone over not being able to get some hot food?

In fairness the word snowflake no longer has any meaning as people use it for pretty much anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Morrissey. Far right wanker.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

He also looks like a blobfish with a perm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Blaze420

Imo at least Kirwan believes in what he says and I agree with lot of what he says.

Always felt Blindboy is doing what is the cool thing and is not genuine.

I can see Blindboy looking up on English Dictionary and looking for big words to make himself feel educated or something.

Is Emmet Kirwan the prick who gave us that awful windowlicking ****e about the mna Na heireann a few years ago? I still feel sorry for his father after watching that, toe curling awfulness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,796 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Morrissey. Far right wanker.

Loved his music and puts on a gig and a half but he seems to have gone some way to loosing the run of himself with some of the sheeet he’s coming out with and aligning himself to....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Can't place that chap. Hectors early schtick was doing an impersonstion of what a porn fIlm might sound like in Irish, he hasn't done it years mind. Maybe he stole yer man's gag or vice versa.

Paddy Courtney is the guy I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Had to google who Emmet Kirwan was.

I really don’t know who he is, not the ‘who’ thing that happens when someone dies but genuinely haven’t heard of him but I certainly won’t be looking for further information about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

salmocab wrote: »
    I really don’t know who he is, not the ‘who’ thing that happens when someone dies but genuinely haven’t heard of him but I certainly won’t be looking for further information about him.

Apparently he's an actor of some sort. I honestly had never even heard of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Used to like Stephen Fry a lot actually.
    Thought he was a funny and a smart individual. After seeing him so much I started to realise he is not really that likeable.

Pretentious is a word I'd use. But given his nature if he wanted to call someone the same he would choose some random obscure word to showcase his 'intelligence'

Oh, I’ve always found him that way. When he did that series touring the 50 US states, there was a number of times during it when the camera lingered a bit too long on people gushing at him about how great he was and him lapping it up. Those could have been edited a bit and I’m sure he had some say in that. And another thing that sticks out in my memory was his episode of Who Do You Think You Are. It was very interesting but there were a number of incredibly smug moments where he was either humble-bragging or outright bragging about the achievements of him and his family. Nauseating.

I know, the irony of Clarkson not being presented as the snowflake in that situation. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Sol Campbell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Have you seen the episode, they were filming in the freezing Yorkshire moors and all the sockless wonder had to do was arrange food, do you know what it produced ?cold salad,

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

John Oliver.

Used to love his show, but now he's just another Orange Man Bad clone. His shilling for Planned Parenthood was nauseous too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,590 ✭✭✭blue note

Have you seen the episode, they were filming in the freezing Yorkshire moors and all the sockless wonder had to do was arrange food, do you know what it produced ?cold salad,

They had hot food. But they were several hours late getting back to where they were eating. And even if they had just not managed to produce hot food, it still wouldn't have been an okay reason to punch him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,635 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I wouldn't go as far as saying I hate Blindboy. I know some people just can't stand him, but I think he has the capacity to be bang on the money about certain issues every once in a while still. But, yeah, he has gotten fonder and fonder of his own voice as the years have gone on. I can't listen to his podcast. It's too much. Too much off the cuff hot takes and misinterpreted or misremembered facts. He needs to dial it back a bit.

It is a bit of a pity because when The Rubberbandits first came on the scene, even before Horse outside and all that, you could tell there was obvious talent there and even a bit of genuine comic genius. For a few years everything the two boys did was top quality.

I was always a bit neutral on Stephen Fry, but the more I listened to and watched him, the more I found him overbearing and a bit boring.

I used to think Russell Brand was a tit. He is kind of a tit still, but there's a weird honesty to him that I like these days.

Madonna. Her ego seems to have taken over.

Feel a bit sorry for her more than hate her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Tasfasdf

Madonna. Her ego seems to have taken over.

Feel a bit sorry for her more than hate her.

After Hilary Clinton lost and her crying on stages it what not, she is clearly a deranged old hag

I’ve had hot food after an incredibly taxing day caught in truly horrendous weather. I was incredibly cold with water pooled in my shoes and I was exhausted too. That food tasted better than anything I had eaten in my life. But I know for a fact that I wouldn’t have lost my temper if I didn’t get that food. Cold food would have been fine. Anything would have been fine. There was no excusing for his behaviour and, as someone correctly pointed out, Clarkson was the snowflake in that situation. Wasn’t James May with him? Or was it Richard Hammond? Whichever one it was, did they throw a strop? If they could control themselves, so could he.