Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paedo Hunter Videos on Facebook etc.

• 22-06-2019 10:46am
    Registered Users Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭

Anyone else think these videos are a bit off? I know they might be stopping these men from meeting up with real under age girls but the way they go on. Confronting this guy in public, wrestling him to the ground while telling him he can't be assaulting people like that and to calm down. They never seem to catch this initial assault on camera. At one point, it sounds like members of the public try to intervene and one of the guys can be heard saying 'Let us do our job'. What job is that? Who's paying them? Do they ever get in trouble for this? Also live streaming these confrontations. Any data protection laws being broken?

Why not just go to the Guards when their sting is set up?

https://www.facebook.com/ChildProtectionIreland/videos/607650363059059/UzpfSTY1MTgwMzU5OToxMDE1NjcyNTA3NTcwMzYwMA/

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

these paedo hunters doth protest too much me thinks

• Registered Users Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Only a matter of time before we get USA style vigilantes

• Registered Users Posts: 39,652 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Wheety wrote: »
    Anyone else think these videos are a bit off?

Yeah, can the cretin not point the camera at the actual action instead of her shoes?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Theory: The people in these videos are almost always extremely working class (in the broad sense of the term). In this society, they (the working class) are among the most reviled class of people, and they are often very conscious of it.

One of the few types of people lower than them on the social hierarchy are paedophiles - so it's a good opportunity to make a song and dance and reclaim some dignity by catching them in the act. In short, it's a desparate cry for respect - and attempt to remind themselves (the working class) that they are not the scum of the earth as many others in society suggest they are.*

* In no way am I trying to compare and conflate working class people and paedophiles. It's just an interesting phenomenon that it's almost exclusively that identifiable part of society making the videos.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭Wheety

Boggles wrote: »
    Yeah, can the cretin not point the camera at the actual action instead of her shoes?

That's usually while they're being assaulted :rolleyes:

We only know this when she shouts "Stop assaulting me" as the big lads throw him on the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Free the Cork 1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

Accounting body CPA won't be pleased.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,652 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Yurt! wrote: »
    Theory: The people in these videos are almost always extremely working class (in the broad sense of the term). In this society, they (the working class) are among the most reviled class of people, and they are often very conscious of it.

One of the few types of people lower than them on the social hierarchy are paedophiles - so it's a good opportunity to make a song and dance and reclaim some dignity by catching them in the act. In short, it's a desparate cry for respect - and attempt to remind themselves (the working class) that they are not the scum of the earth as many others in society suggest they are.*

* In no way am I trying to compare and conflate working class people and paedophiles. It's just an interesting phenomenon that it's almost exclusively that identifiable part of society making the videos.
    The term "working class" was coined in relation to people who worked. And worked bloody hard in difficult jobs. It's applied to people who don't work now, whereas surely today's working class are still those who work hard in factories, warehouses, as cleaners etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Yurt! wrote: »

Exactly, same reason in prison peadophiles get battered by the outstanding other inmates in for assault, drug dealing, murder etc....

• Registered Users Posts: 10,295 ✭✭✭✭branie2

At least one of my friends has shared one of the videos

All of them are scum anyway

https://youtu.be/Vv9MIxJMNSw

Got to wonder as well of the mentality of someone who goes out to do this ?
    They don't give a sh1t about the kids, really they don't.

What are they hiding I wonder ???

• Registered Users Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I can understand why there doing it, our justice system is letting too many Paedo's escape justice but these hunters are doing a crappy job of what there doing

• Registered Users Posts: 20,007 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Pay for more police so they have the resources to do this kind of thing in a way that the prosecution will stick. These vigilantes are mad for blood. I don't trust them to have any kind of mob power. They would probably be equally well suited to football hooliganism

• Registered Users Posts: 20,007 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

All of them are scum anyway

https://youtu.be/Vv9MIxJMNSw

That fella is not someone I would entrust with "justice".

I wonder how many of them were abused Themselves. In any case the last line of the report is damming. Of 100 people they have cought , 0 have resulted in prosecution.

They just look like angry people up for a fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,561 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

That fella is not someone I would entrust with "justice".

I wonder how many of them were abused Themselves. In any case the last line of the report is damming. Of 100 people they have cought , 0 have resulted in prosecution.

They just look like angry people up for a fight.

They would probably be more “successful” if they just “outted” the creep on social media, place of work and at home.

Zero convictions from a hundred “stings” is a poor return, they need to change tactics.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

They should be banned ,they seem to made up **** heads with a hero complex looking for social media likes

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,138 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

They always remind me of the Concerned Parents Against Drugs marches.
    You used to see some very surprising 'anti' drugs people on them.

They would probably be more “successful” if they just “outted” the creep on social media, place of work and at home.

Zero convictions from a hundred “stings” is a poor return, they need to change tactics.

or just hand in any evidence of grooming to police, live streaming it for likes just will effect any future legal proceedings...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭Wheety

It can also lead to an innocent person being confronted by these and the video being shared on social media. Life ruined as the "No smoke without fire" crowd will ensure you lose your job and friends.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk/2000/aug/30/childprotection.society

Do the thicks really think a paedo would advertise the fact?

It can also lead to an innocent person being confronted by these and the video being shared on social media. Life ruined as the "No smoke without fire" crowd will ensure you lose your job and friends.

Self-styled vigilantes attacked the home of a hospital paediatrician after apparently confusing her professional title with the word "paedophile", it emerged yesterday.

Jesus H F*cking Christ!

I wanna move to Mars, are the ESA accepting volunteers??

Were those people in Monasterevin ever prosecuted for what they did to that innocent supposed "lookalike" of some pedeophile in 2017?

Hideous stuff, the mob.
    A MAN incorrectly identified as a convicted sex offender on Facebook has spoken about being confronted by a mob of about 30 people who followed him around a town before gardai intervened.

The man, who identified himself as David Murray and said he is a government employee, said a photograph of him was linked to convicted sex offender Anthony Luckwill, who was reportedly spotted in the Kildare area.

Speaking today on KFM’s Kildare Today and RTE Radio One’s Liveline, Mr Murray said he was subsequently confronted by a "vigilante mob" as he attempted to look at an apartment in Monasterevin.

"I was hoping I would find a peaceful place in Monasterevin until around 7.30pm last Friday when I was confronted by a vigilante mob accusing me of being a convicted, notorious paedophile named Anthony Luckwill," he said.

"No evidence was produced. When I requested to be shown the photo they were basing this accusation off, they refused.

"Without the name Anthony Luckwill being used, insinuations, accusations and abuse were hurled at me.

"I was told my image was all over social media and that my photograph was in every Garda station. I was threatened repeatedly and was told to leave the area."

Murray then explained how he walked down to a nearby pub he visited regularly while in Monastervin in an attempt to call Gardaí for assistance.

"I was pursued on the footpath by the people and a couple driving a car, hurling abuse at me and trying to involve other people on the street in the activity against me," he said.

"While I was in the pub, one of the ringleaders of the mob came in and repeatedly took photos of me on his mobile phone."

Two Gardaí arrived at the pub an estimated 40 minutes later where they verified Mr Murray's identity after he presented photo ID.

Gardaí then escorted the innocent man to the car where a mob of approximately 30 people were waiting.

"I can’t commend the two Garda officers enough. They were highly competent, composed and efficient at what they did," Mr Murray said.

"The reports are I was arrested as Anthony Luckwill and taken away by the Gardaí. The actual situation was I needed the Gardaí to protect me from the residents of Monasterevin to ensure my safety after they recklessly endangered it."

Luckwill has a series of convictions for possession of child pornography both here and in Wales.

He sexually assaulted two young boys in 2011 and subsequently received a four-and-a-half-year jail term.

The sex offender, who is in his mid 40s and previously had an address in Navan, Co Meath, was jailed after posing on the internet as a casting agent for TV programmes.

Local media outlet KildareNow had published an article last Friday stating that Luckwill had been spotted in the area and did not issue a retraction until midday Saturday.

They published what they described as "a verified police 'mug shot' photograph of Luckwill" with the article.

However, in the clarification, the outlet said that a reader posted a photograph of another man in the comment section when the article was posted on Facebook. KildareNow has since issued a clarification and apology.

Mr Murray said he is currently consulting a solicitor as he examines his options.

"I didn’t sleep for 40 hours," he said.

"I've been trying to contact anybody who could have influence to get the truth across.

"Somebody puts my photo on a Facebook page indicating that there was a known paedophile in Kildare when there was no basis for that to happen.

"People need to be damn sure that about what they post on social media…There are still people today saying on Facebook that 'this man is guilty'."

Mr Murray told Phillip Boucher Hayes on RTÉ Radio One’s Liveline this afternoon he has since been told by two people that he bears no resemblance to the known paedophile.

"I was very stressed but I wasn’t particularly scared since I knew I was innocent and I knew they were completely wrong," he said.

"I know I am right and I know they are wrong.. I know I am innocent. I know they are guilty of vigilante mob action. That basically helps me with the situation."

And this anonymous person who played a central role in organising the mob in Monasterevin, managing to blame both the victim and AGS! Fúcking hell.

Woman defends wrongly identifying man as sex offender
    Mr Murray had been house hunting in Monasterevin that week at the same time that false rumours began to spread online that he was convicted child sex offender Anthony Luckwill. Some locals also shared a picture of Mr Murray claiming it was Luckwill.

A parent who lives in the town spotted Mr Murray on Friday evening and posted to Facebook that she had seen Luckwill.

In response, another poster suggested they “get a few lads down to kick the **** outta him”.

Mr Murray was confronted by a mob shortly afterwards, forcing him to seek refuge in a pub and call gardaí.

An hour later, the parent posted: “Appears the linch (sic) mob have done there job.well done monasterevin. guards have just taken him away.hopefully never to return.” On Tuesday, the woman told The Irish Times she was “deeply saddened at the outcome of this whole situation” but that it was “better to be safe than sorry”. “I don’t condone violence of any sort, but personally think this could have been prevented if the gardaí had have stepped in sooner,” she said...

Hugh Linehan on the Monasterevin mob: Who is responsible for defamation on Facebook?

Surely the innocent, named, victim here is bringing the anonymous members of this mob to court?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Fair play to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 474 ✭✭Former Observer

I saw one of these a few months ago and the 'pedo-catchers' asked the alleged paedophile (who was lying prone on the floor with an elbow in his neck) why he'd ran from them. His reply, "because ye look a bit sketchy". Made me laugh. Otherwise rather dark viewing and not something that sits well with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

It just seems to be the hobbyhorse of the stupid and the drama/glory seeker. They're folk who will believe any auld rubbish and won't do a jot of research/questioning.

It's like "reds under the bed". Of course those who abuse children are reprehensible but this crowd see them everywhere - and want to.

And in fairness it's not just the Jeremy Kyle crowd - all kinds of folk get taken in.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,384 ✭✭✭Riddle101

They're basically akin to Witcher Hunters. Their goals might seem noble, but what they're doing often leads to unethical decisions.