Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Keep Sluicing

If any one is thinking of going to those IrBEA biogas workshops, be prepared to be disappointed. They are looking for a very specific type of business, nothing for the ordinary farmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

If any one is thinking of going to those IrBEA biogas workshops, be prepared to be disappointed. They are looking for a very specific type of business, nothing for the ordinary farmer.

Which is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,766 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

ganmo wrote: »
    Which is?

Farmer produced and farmer used biogas, not connected to the electricity grid.
    With feedstock either from waste from poultry, pig or bovine farms topped up only by surplus grass silage to milk and meat production. With the emphasis on not interfering with our national food production to our important secondary producer companies.
    The biogas can be used for heating on farm and house and any other businesses on farm or a neighbouring business.
    Electricity can be used on farm too.

Which is?

A farm that has enough free feedstock (slurry) all year round to run around 100kw chp engine, and has a constant on farm power requirement of approx 60 tkwo 80kw, while being able to use all the heat produced on farm.

ah so the state still don't want to facilitate micro generation in anyway

Yes, that's it in a nutshell.
    Off grid plants. And they are giving partial capital grants for 3 of these types of plants.

For all the Liverpool FC supporters.
    I betcha never knew there was a connection with New Ross.

https://twitter.com/Johnglennon5/status/1183782625066049543?s=20

https://twitter.com/Johnglennon5/status/1183783617987776513?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

AFAIK no one died on the Dunbrody. It was a passenger ship.
    Interesting on Anfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭Odelay

Water John wrote: »
    Interesting on Anfield.

I thought that was the Jeanie Johnson?

Water John wrote: »
    Interesting on Anfield.

The original was built in Quebec I believe as were the rest of their ships.
    They were all cargo originally converted to passenger for the famine, I believe.
    A good few of the passenger trips went to Quebec.
    It makes you wonder what was brought on the back load? Probably sawn timber or some it.

Edit: what am I saying. There's the liverpool connection. Backloads most likely cotton from that part of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,825 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Everton actually had their home ground at Anfield before liverpool did and then moved over the other side of Stanley park to goodison park. Going over to a game soon.

Bloody hell these abbreviations on social media really have to get you thinking.

ICH
    IFA
    MII
    F1
    F2
    F3
    ESN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,617 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

_Brian wrote: »

That was on the Moncreiff show today.

I think it's deadly. Pun intended.

You're dead and will always be dead after and the family knows you'll always be dead. So why not, add a bit of humour at the funeral and leave on a high and laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

https://www.farmersjournal.ie/teagasc-appoints-two-new-cattle-specialists-501298

Problems for beef farming over......Teagasc have appointed 2 new cattle specialists...just what we needed more experts as if we don’t have enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

I see one of our climate change activists our beloved president is abroad again, how did he get there..... between him and mary Robinson they have my head busted:eek::eek:

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    https://www.farmersjournal.ie/teagasc-appoints-two-new-cattle-specialists-501298

Problems for beef farming over......Teagasc have appointed 2 new cattle specialists...just what we needed more experts as if we don’t have enough.
    I'm starting to hate the word specialist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I've as pair of muck master wellies that have served me well. Need a new pair for the coming winter. Any suggestions on what to get ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,125 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

davidk1394 wrote: »
    I've as pair of muck master wellies that have served me well. Need a new pair for the coming winter. Any suggestions on what to get ?

Dunlop purofort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

davidk1394 wrote: »

I've a pair of muck boots as well. Really like them but not much grip. Herself has a pair of skellerup quattro and I'd go for a pair of them the next time. Way better grip on the soles of them and insulated as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I've a pair of muck boots as well. Really like them but not much grip. Herself has a pair of skellerup quattro and I'd go for a pair of them the next time. Way better grip on the soles of them and insulated as well.

Where did you pick up those wellies ? Would they be hot in the summer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Rosahane

The Hoggs of Fife wellies have a Vibram sole which has great grip. You can get them with either cotton or neoprene lining. I couldn't wear the neoprene wellies unless it was freezing but the wife can wear them all year round, but she's skinny and I'm not.
    I find the cotton ones great with lots of support and comfort. They are tight fitting around the ankles which aids support and comfort but sometimes necessitates a boot jack to get them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

https://twitter.com/SkyNewsAust/status/1184044492745334784?s=19

Tough going down in Aus. Phone call in the middle of the piece demonstrative of how bad it is

Arr you allowed spread slurry today or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Arr you allowed spread slurry today or not?

Midnight last night was the closing time so no more spreading till January.

Didn't seem to bother the 4 of 5 lads I passed today spreading though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

No drought here in East Clare. That's for sure. 33.4mm of rain fell here yesterday. (We're not far from Shannon Airport and that's what was recorded there.) Place is swimming here. Never seen it so wet. Will have to house soon. They're ploughing thru grass.:mad:

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

At this stage with the weather the way it is, easier on yourself to have them in. No fun looking around the ditches for them.

Muckit wrote: »
    At this stage with the weather the way it is, easier on yourself to have them in. No fun looking around the ditches for them.

Half of ours will be going in on Saturday.
    The other half will have access to the yard and get meal there so be easy getting them on dark evenings after work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭emaherx

First few in today, but hopefully a few weeks before they all come in still a good bit of grass to get through on out farms.

A link here to what's coming down the tracks re worldwide methane measuring via high resolution satellite imagery.

GHG Sat and Methane Sat will be online in the not too distant future. With Methane Sat available free to view.

https://youtu.be/62VXwjT-csQ

The pitch is fairly bad in the Switzerland Ireland game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭Odelay

whelan2 wrote: »

The swiz manager is some smug looking bugger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Probably a good thing given another sorry performance:(

Mooooo wrote: »

Tough going down in Aus. Phone call in the middle of the piece demonstrative of how bad it is

If there is any hope on the horizon is that the eastern pacific is cooler than normal off Chile which may herald in a La Nina.
    We've just come out of an el Nino which brings the dry to Australia and this cool water is pushing the scale back to neutral.
    But if the cool water moves westwards across the pacific it should increase the chances of rain for those that need it.

The same conditions don't offer much hope for the U.S. farmers as it usually means cold snowy winters.

Not to frighten people.
    (Ok I mean to frighten people).

La Nina kicked in in the middle of 2010.
    It was also a solar minimum time also like now.

This was the weather of 2010.
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/subzero-temperatures-make-2010-a-recordbreaking-year-26609480.html

The wavey jet stream of then to now recently sounds familiar too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,349 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Midnight last night was the closing time so no more spreading till January.

Didn't seem to bother the 4 of 5 lads I passed today spreading though.
    https://www.farmersjournal.ie/no-extension-to-slurry-spreading-dates-501428

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

I cannot understand the fuss being made about closing dates for slurry, I assume it's just lads looking for notice?
    The weathers so bad it's pointless and anyway youd wonder what some people were doing all summer? Is it only after Lisdoonvarna they think of it?
    "That reminds me, I've another tank that I've to empty a few loads out of as well..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,349 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Eldest sent me this tonight from Aus - https://www.facebook.com/TeamAmericaMovie/photos/a.286144898097863/2678598728852456/?type=3&theater
    I can't believe that it's been 14 years :eek:

I cannot understand the fuss being made about closing dates for slurry, I assume it's just lads looking for notice?
    The weathers so bad it's pointless and anyway youd wonder what some people were doing all summer? Is it only after Lisdoonvarna they think of it?
    "That reminds me, I've another tank that I've to empty a few loads out of as well..."

THe rules need to be simplified on this ie. slurry out during growing season, no spreading otherwise. The nonsense that seems to happen every year does the image of Irish farming no favours:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Birdnuts wrote: »
    THe rules need to be simplified on this ie. slurry out during growing season, no spreading otherwise. The nonsense that seems to happen every year does the image of Irish farming no favours:(

Are the rules not simple enough as it is - spread between 2 dates? In a month or 2 they'll be out looking to spread before the start date. Same craic every year.

If anything, the dates will be further restricted, and most likely ya won't be allowed spread even this late in the year.

Are the rules not simple enough as it is - spread between 2 dates? In a month or 2 they'll be out looking to spread before the start date. Same craic every year.

If anything, the dates will be further restricted, and most likely ya won't be allowed spread even this late in the year.

I’ve a neighbor who spreads after the deadline expires and before the open season every single year. Some of it stuff drawn in from the piggery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I’ve a neighbor who spreads after the deadline expires and before the open season every single year. Some of it stuff drawn in from the piggery.

Piggeries busy ringing farmers to see if they will take slurry right now, wet weather during the summer means their tanks are almost full when you'd expect them to be empty.

Had two missed calls from a piggery this week already.

I've seen it all now. Woman in front of me at the till in lidl. She had her pyjama bottoms on. She put her stuff through and took her bank card out of her bra to pay. Then put it back in.

• Registered Users Posts: 399 ✭✭marathon

Anyone get bps payment this week yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Got a call a few weeks ago from our local piggery too. Told him I was sorted anyway for the year but gave him a few numbers of lads to try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,087 ✭✭✭alps

marathon wrote: »
    Anyone get bps payment this week yet

BPS put this week and a letter arrives this morning that we have an over claim. 0.25ha...dirty dying g bastards...why wait till now..?

We have an unchanged bps application with years

TBH I' wouldn't tolerate that craic next to me - I ran a B and B back in the 80's near Hollymount in SE Mayo that ended up failing due to constant problems with the only source of water for our 18th centuary farmhouse, which was a well on my grandparents land. It was so badly contaminated that at times you couldn't even use it to flush the toilets:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

I've seen it all now. Woman in front of me at the till in lidl. She had her pyjama bottoms on. She put her stuff through and took her bank card out of her bra to pay. Then put it back in.
    Lol.
    She in her working clothes?
    Takes credit card payment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

NEK!! Your inbox is full :P

Shíte end to calving here, cow with twisted calf bad, needed a section, dead calf.
    Fook sake. I had noticed her kind of sick to calve yesterday but then was comfortable enough later in the day so left her. Kicking myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

NEK!! Your inbox is full :P

Shíte end to calving here, cow with twisted calf bad, needed a section, dead calf.
    Fook sake. I had noticed her kind of sick to calve yesterday but then was comfortable enough later in the day so left her. Kicking myself.

I saw that on twitter alright. Sorry to hear it.

A neighbors heifer calved, he never checked on her and no sign of the calf. High rushes and about a 4 acre field. By the time he checked, there was no sign of the calf. I spent Saturday looking with him.

Since last year, he has had 3 sections and 3dead/missing calves and makes a massive loss from 4cows. He sold his Whitehead bull and bought a charolais and has bought three springers, two from the lad that sold him the springers that need sections.