Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Mission: Impossible - Fallout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Chaos Tourist

Is Tom Cruise getting younger with age or something? I know, all the money for anything cosmetic, looking after health and all that etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,079 ✭✭✭lukin

Is Tom Cruise getting younger with age or something? I know, all the money for anything cosmetic, looking after health and all that etc etc.

It is extraordinary that he can look so young at 56 but I think the make-up department in this movie deserve a lot of credit for it too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I'd say the opposite, The Mummy was the first time his age had caught up and passed out scripts' attempts to write Cruises characters as 30-40 year olds. Haven't seen Fallout yet but he looks as old as that film, hopefully the script doesn't try to keep up that charade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,320 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

pixelburp wrote: »
    I'd say the opposite, The Mummy was the first time his age had caught up and passed out scripts' attempts to write Cruises characters as 30-40 year olds. Haven't seen Fallout yet but he looks as old as that film, hopefully the script doesn't try to keep up that charade.
    I don't think this film tries to play him a lot younger, in parts he looks flipping shot tbh.
    There is also no gratuitous random shirtless scene :)

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Marje

Saw this last night - first time watching imax. I enjoyed it.
    The overall Paris scenes were the best. The final 15 minutes for the countdown of the timer was about 25 minutes long. Felt it was a bit too long, could have lost the extra 10 minutes of filming.

It leaves it open for
    Solomon Lane to be the baddie again if they want. Was wondering about the husband - will there be more to him in the next movie, he could be one of the apostles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Greyfox

WOW. That was the best film in the series by far. Like fury road the action scenes packed a punch, particularly the excellent chase scenes and the chemistry between the main 4 was excellent, 10/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Just out of it, was absolutely excellent. The skydive bit looked unreal.
    The duke out in bathroom scene was class. Maybe 15 minutes to long as the bit did drag at the end but still some quality.
    Shout out to Henry Cavill, thought he was awesome, Cruise delivered again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I'm assuming if a 7th Mission Impossible gets made, Renner will return as his Avengers commitments are over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,047 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Fantastic film. My only criticism is that I saw some of the twists coming but the real star of the show is the action

The best mission impossible in franchise

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Well that was thrillingly relentless. Pacing crafted with almost laser precision, neither a minute nor scene wasted with padding so the 2.5 hour running time zipped by. Every set-piece felt crafted to propel the adventure forward and keep the audience properly tense. The Parisian section was probably the high-point, transitioning from a crunchy fist-fight to an extended car-chase through the city that echoed John Frankenheimer's 'Ronin'.

The previous MI ran out of steam somewhat by the final act, yet with the return of director Christopher McQuarrie, lessons were obviously learned so the end product here was a film that never dropped the ball, nor let the tension diminish for a second. The death-defying stunts Tom Cruise indulges in were as impressive and hair raising as ever sure, but this time round felt integrated into the overall pacing instead of an intermission.

Honestly, at this juncture, the franchise is simply a better crafted, punchier & visceral set of films than the sibling James Bond series, itself stuck as a cynical, commercialised property content to tick boxes and flaunt luxury watches. Mission Impossible succeeds in remembering the basics in action cinema, and applying those simple approaches expertly without much fuss or hype. Having a lead going through an extended midlife crisis / adrenaline addiction probably helps too (compare the bland green-screen enhanced helicopter scene in Spectre vs. the pure spectacle of Tom Cruise actually piloting a chopper across a mountain range).

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Andrew Beef

It is the perfect hybrid of Bourne and Bond.

Mission Impossible: Fallout is a superb action adventure.

The reviewer who gave it 3/5 in last week’s Irish Times must have fallen asleep after 20 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,918 ✭✭✭nix

It is the perfect hybrid of Bourne and Bond.

Mission Impossible: Fallout is a superb action adventure.

The reviewer who gave it 3/5 in last week’s Irish Times must have fallen asleep after 20 mins.

Id have given it only that, less probably, outside the action sequences, its just shite mostly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭p to the e

Really enjoyed this. It's no Oscar contender but the action scenes were gritty and realistic. You could feel and hear every crash and wallop.

The car chase scene through Paris was the best I've seen since Bourne.

Sean Harris is a classic villain and I'd say the Bond lads are kicking themselves they never thought of him.

I thought Henry Cavill looked the part but his acting lets him down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,320 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

p to the e wrote: »
    I thought Henry Cavill looked the part but his acting lets him down.
    I think that about sums him up.

Very limited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

gmisk wrote: »
    I think that about sums him up.

Very limited.

I liked him in Man from UNCLE, his style suited that movie. However he was pretty wooden in this. Good physically but that's about it. He was the same in Man of Steel. Just goes to show you what Christian Bale was able to do with Batman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

keep these movies coming :) .... watched it in Imax 3d and it was excellent...

Cavill was a bit wooden, but I liked the physical contrast he presented as a rival: without openly highlighting Cruise's *ahem* diminutive stature, the film didn't shy away from demonstrating what an absolute tank August Walker was, compared with Ethan Hunt (sidebar, MI does a great line in properly dramatic names; see also 'Ilsa Faust')

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Just on Cavill, I know a few years back Cavill was mentioned as a replacement for Bond in the future but I'm not sure myself.

He probably doesnt have the ability to lead a series like Bond, hes definetly got the look down and hes considerably bigger and taller than Craig so would suit the physical side of Bond in Craigs era.

Although if I was being critical, Craig himself has very little charm or charisma in his current, gritty role as Bond but the mystique and allure of the character that is Bond, will always give off some charm.

One thing I am sure of, is MI and Bourne have both long surpassed Bond in terms of supplying a good action packed film with style and substance and not a whos who of designer gear and gorgeous back drops, you can only get away with that for so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Sabre0001 wrote: »

It must be an optical illusion as that would be some pretty amazing editing otherwise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,690 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

how did they do the driving scene around the Arc de Triomphe on the assumption they don't just scare the bejesus out of the locals :D , close it off off a sunday morning and have 50 odd cars with drivers? green screen / mock up?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Don't go see it in 3D.

I didn't but I ended up doing it anyway! Odeon fcuked up. It was advertised as 2D, the ticket said 2D but when it started it was all blurry and NOBODY had glasses. Queue panicked staff running around the theatre giving out glasses. Debated whether or not to walk out but ended up staying.

I always hated 3D, its a gimmick and it ruins the quality of the picture. It actually made some of the stunts look like green screen, some helicopter and car chase scenes looked like models. It also made some of the background look like a flat painting.

Still enjoyed it but it took me a while to get over being annoyed and getting used to the 3D.

Will go back next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭jones

Went to see this last night on "Imax" in Odean.

Absolutely loved it. Has to be one of the best action flicks made in the last number of years. The wide pan outs on the imax screen were incredible, music incredible, the script is just a vehicle for the madness and it did its job.

9/10 for me.

Did anyone else get a bit of a dark knight buzz off how the filmed it? Some of the scenes really reminded me of TDK

I gave up on 3D after the last Hobbit movie. Completely ruined the experience.

This is another one of those movies whose trailer features scenes not in the film, and while some are just tiny unseen moments from the final film (such as a brief clip of the
    MI team standing over a dead soldier during the finale in Kashmir
    ) and don't really add anything, oddly the trailer features an action-stunt that doesn't match.

It features
    Tom Cruise, piloting the helicopter from the final scene, but is about to crash into a Lorry along a suspiciously European road. You can see the moment in the final moments of the below trailer.
    It's like it's from a completely different set-piece from the one we see on-screen.

What was with showing all the stunts and set pieces in the opening credits?

py2006 wrote: »

Yeah I sort of felt I had to look away from the screen at that; I just concentrated on the graphics rather than the action. It was weird alright.

^^ good point on the
    truck crash omitted from the movie
    - wonder what happened to that?

All the Mission Impossible films do that with the credits IIRC: it's a nod towards the old TV show, where they'd show fleeting moments of the action from the episode you're about to watch. It's still a weird eccentricity that modern shows occasionally do (Black Lightning for instance, the Battlestar remake also from a few years back), but definitely old-school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,079 ✭✭✭lukin

Yeah the truck crash in the trailer is not in the movie, that was disappointing. They actually did a similar thing in the trailer for MI:1 where the trailer showed Ethan getting it on with Claire Phelps but this wasn't in the final movie.
    I liked the part in this one where they showed Ethan flying the helicopter despite not being able to fly a helicopter :) . He is always shown as being so competent and self-assured in every way so it was a nice change to see him s####ing it and being clueless (as a normal person would being put in that situation).
    The ironic thing is that Cruise in real-life learnt how to fly a helicopter so he had to pretend he didn't know.
    Another thing; the part where Henry Cavill uses the f-word; is this the first occurence of the f-word in an MI movie? One for the MI trainspotters.

Sabre0001 wrote: »

And his beard also grows :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭Josey Wales

pixelburp wrote: »
    It features
    Tom Cruise, piloting the helicopter from the final scene, but is about to crash into a Lorry along a suspiciously European road. You can see the moment in the final moments of the below trailer.
    It's like it's from a completely different set-piece from the one we see on-screen.

I haven't listed to it yet but I believe this is addressed by Christoper McQuarrie in the Empire spoiler special. It happens at the point in the
    helicopter chase when Hunt drops below the clouds and Walker doesn't follow
    . Test audiences said it extended the sequence too much.

This isn't the first MI movie to do that. I don't believe you remember any of it either as the glimpses are too brief.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,270 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Was very disappointed in this, maybe because of so much positivity here. I thought it was about 40-60 minutes too long and found it difficult to still see old Tom as an action hero.
    Chase scenes and effects great as usual, but it was all a bit 'haven't we done all this before?' for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,905 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Serious lack of Rebecca Ferguson's legs in this one.

spurious wrote: »
    found it difficult to still see old Tom as an action hero.

Seriously? The guy looks 20 years younger than his 57yrs. He is fitter than most people half his age and the stunts he does are unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,658 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Seriously? The guy looks 20 years younger than his 57yrs. He is fitter than most people half his age and the stunts he does are unreal.

I thought they walked that fine line brilliantly in the movie. Cruise looks unbelievable for 56, but at the same time he looks human too: he looks like a really well kept man in his fifties, without looking fake and weird ALA Sylvester Stallone or someone of that ilk.

He looked just a little bit older and wearer in this movie, which perfectly tied in with what direction they went with the Ethan Hunt character, but he's completely believable performing all those stunts. He might be a total weirdo in his personal life - who knows really - but he really is a movie star in a different class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,026 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Great action movie, but too predictable from Christopher McQuarrie. It was obvious from the trailers and the film set up that
    Superman was the villain. Even on Graham Norton, months before the film's release they were on it and showing clips of the chase scene where TC screws up his ankle, they say Hunt was chasing that particular character.
    Regardless of that and how else it was predictable throughout, it's a deadly film and some amazing stunts. I really don't care for Tom Cruise's antics IRL but he really is good in these, even if he is just playing it like he does in many other movies.

Someone said in a review that this naturally takes the series to a finish, and they don't have to continue on based on what happens. What utter rubbish, it leaves the francise as fresh and ready to roar to life in whatever next (im)possible mission gets thrown at them.
    This isn't the first MI movie to do that. I don't believe you remember any of it either as the glimpses are too brief.

I thought the intro to this and the previous film were too much in terms of what they show. It might be a refresher on the trailer or else it touches base to too many points in the film. Too many times I was reminded of what I saw, e.g.
    they go to meet the broker and I thought "oh this was at the intro, and she's about to stab someone."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

Really looking forward to the blu-ray special features on all the stuntwork.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Really surprised to see comparisons to Fury Road, wouldn't even put it in the same league. The action is excellently directed, the Paris chase a particular stand out but overall the film was too long for me and the plot too convoluted (they started without a script and did rewrites while Cruise was recovering from his injury and it really shows). Agree with previous poster that I got TDK vibes off the Lane breakout, it even had the Zimmer style 'duuuuummmms'. The final set piece was way too long, I'm glad they cut out that scene with the truck. The sky dive scene was good but completely unnecessary, there was absolutely no reason for it except to show off what Cruise could do, and I know that's what this franchise is now but they usually find a way to work the stunts into the narrative, the sky dive serve the plot in any way as far as I can tell. In that regard I don't think McQuarie should come back, judging by interviews he's too close to Cruise and willing to indulge his adrenaline addiction.

Ghost Protocol remainsy favourite, it's just so entertaining and doesn't let up.

Nice way to watch the movie where part of it was filmed

Article about it

https://twitter.com/ParamountUK/status/1025055802925764610

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Very enjoyable action film. Worth making the effort to see it on the big screen.

Serious lack of Rebecca Ferguson's legs in this one.
    Well put. She was impressive on the Graham Norton show promoting the film.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

Anyone know why they left out the scene in the trailer were hunts helicopter crashes into a truck ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Dr Brown wrote: »
    Anyone know why they left out the scene in the trailer were hunts helicopter crashes into a truck ?

Test audience didn't like extending the sequence.

They should have left it in the movie I was looking forward to that scene.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Dr Brown wrote: »

They should have left it in the movie I was looking forward to that scene.

I'm glad they left it out, I felt the helicopter sequence was too long as it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

The helicopter sequence could have been better.

Also, it did not have the Theme Song! BOOOO!

Interesting all the scenes they left out of the final film.

• Registered Users Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Wedwood

Off the shelf story, excellent stunts.

On Simon Pegg, groaned when he was on screen again phoning in his usual scatty sidekick role. He's becoming more and more like Jar Jar Binks, photobombing every movie he appears in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,493 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Really enjoyable watch, if not a bit long. Action scenes were so well done though that's the length isn't a major bother!

Have started watching these types of movies on Saturdays now as you don't have to think too much about them, just enjoy the scenes and maybe the story. MI are the best for that, so splashed out on a cinema visit for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

wondering what the point of white widow/Vanessa Kirby character was, seemed a little undeveloped

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

wondering what the point of white widow/Vanessa Kirby character was, seemed a little undeveloped

She was originally going to fight Ferguson at the end a la Seydoux in MI4, but McQuarrie re-wrote it as he felt it ruined her character.

I thought she worked well as it was. Serves a similar purpose as Regrave's Max in the first film. Would be cool if they brought her back for the next film.