Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Road to Tokyo 2020 - Irish Olympic News

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,153 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Finished 0-0 but conditions in Dublin are horrendous this evening, the rain is absolutely bucketing down and really slowed down the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Strazdas wrote: »
    Finished 0-0 but conditions in Dublin are horrendous this evening, the rain is absolutely bucketing down and really slowed down the pitch

Seemed just about better team overall to me, no disaster anyway, all still to play for!

I thought they played well. Dominated the game mostly and then had to contend with monsoon like conditions in the second half. I'd say they'd be happy enough heading into tomorrow evening.....hopefully that blasted rain stays away!

Weather perfect in Dublin this evening for the second leg, not even a breeze. Hopefully they get the job done.

Very tense stuff this. Feel one goal would decide it. When we won that referral there, i almost jumped up like we'd scored!

We're making very heavy weather of it and not creating enough chances - we played better last night. Hopefully we can snatch a goal from somewhere.

Nervy performance, didn't play well in those last two quarters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Canada looked much more likely to score in the second half, at least we have a chance in the shoot out

Fingers crossed, Come on Ireland.

Yes !

OMG! Came back like Lazarus!

Poor Canada....what a way to lose it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,595 ✭✭✭✭siblers

The one that Canada missed in sudden death, why wasn't it given? Was it a 'free out'? Or ran out of time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭votecounts

Delighted with that, thought we were gone.
    Now for a medal on tokyo:)

Almost identical to the mens shootout ... the team that was 3-1 up after 3 shots each lost.

Amazing scenes, some of those Ireland shots that went in to keep the game alive were from ridiculous angles.

Brilliant.

siblers wrote: »
    The one that Canada missed in sudden death, why wasn't it given? Was it a 'free out'? Or ran out of time?

Ran out of time I think....the hooter went a split second after McFerran saved it

Skid X wrote: »
    Almost identical to the mens shootout ... the team that was 3-1 up after 3 shots each lost.

Amazing scenes, some of those Ireland shots that went in to keep the game alive were from ridiculous angles.

Brilliant.

Roisin Upton scored from a freakish angle and with less than a second left.....real bottle from her

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Brilliant achievement, they need to more clinical in front of goal, dominant in the first half last night and couldn't put it into the net.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭CH3OH

Seriously exciting finish

Softco -- must be the best bang for buck ever in sports sponsorship

First Irish women's team to ever qualify for an Olympic Games in any sport.....great achievement

We seem to be the Germany of penalty shoot outs btw....we win all of them :D

Ive aged 5 years in the last 20 minutes! Delighted for them, was hard work over the two days. A credit to their country.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,223 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Well done to all involved - great to see them get to the Olympics.

Ten minutes after it ended, I'm still not entirely convinced the video review woman isn't going to stick her oar in again

Ive aged 5 years in the last 20 minutes! Delighted for them, was hard work over the two days. A credit to their country.

I thought we were an absolute goner when two goals down. Tremendous character from Chloe Watkins and then Upton at the end (not to mention McFerran)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

First Irish women's team to ever qualify for an Olympic Games in any sport.....great achievement

We seem to be the Germany of penalty shoot outs btw....we win all of them :D

It really should have been the first time that an Irish men`s and women`s team in the same sport had both qualified for an Olympics. Still tonight`s result goes some way to compensate for what happened last weekend.

Two penalty shoot out defeats in a week to the same country would have been cruel. Justice was done overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

siblers wrote: »

It looked like the umpire signalled for a free out, the Canadian player swung at the ball and missed it so it would have been considered dangerous play as it was close to the goalkeeper, either way the hooter went so she ran out of time too.

vektarman wrote: »
    It looked like the umpire signalled for a free out, the Canadian player swung at the ball and missed it so it would have been considered dangerous play as it was close to the goalkeeper, either way the hooter went so she ran out of time too.

The hooter definitely went before the ball entered the net, so it would have counted as a miss no matter what.

That nonsense with the Hooter was unfair on the first canadian penalty taker

"hang on before you start, we need to wait for ages until we do a test of the hooter, so that everyone knows what the hooter sounds like ... LOUD HOOTER NOISE ... yeah, that's what it sounds like, the next time it will be for real ... LOUD HOOTER NOISE ..."

She scored regardless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Delighted with that. Is it a squad of 16 that go to Tokyo? We must be heading for one of our biggest ever Olympic teams, between this and the equestrian qualifications, would be great to get a 7s rugby team there as well.

I would assume it will be a squad of 18 same as this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,308 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

I would assume it will be a squad of 18 same as this weekend.

It’s 16 for the Olympics.

We have a fair way to go to reach our highest squad ever BUT we’re well on the way to having our most sports represented. We’ve 10 so far and 14 is our previous high

We will definitely beat 14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Oldira wrote: »
    Big few weeks ahead with regard to Ireland obtaining Olympic quotas.

26-30 Sept: Canoe Slalom World Championships. Canoeists need to finish in the Top 15 or Top 10 to qualfy. Irelands best chance is Liam Jegou who was under 23 Bronze Medalist this year. On an exceptionally good day he could do it but in reality its a slim chance.

28- 6 Oct. World Championships Athletics. So far we have only qualified 3 athletes but this is down to the new qualification system. The vast majority of our qualifiers wont be finalised until next June based on world rankings. Hopefully we may get someone like Tom Barr who may run the time in Doha but the time standards are really tough.

3-6 Oct. Equestrian. Nations Cup Final. A biggie. One final team showjumping place available. It looks like a head to head between Ireland and Italy. Are we to fail to qualify a showjumping team again?

4-13 October. Gymnastics World Championships. Rhys McCLenaghan is a genuine medal contender if he qualifies. Has to finish in top 3 on Pommell Horse excluding gymnasts from countries that have qualified teams. Would expect him to do it but he fell at the recent world cup so lets hope thats his bad luck gone.

22 Oct World Road Racing rankings finalised. Currently Ireland are 15th which means the will qualify a team of 3 to the Road Race and 1 to Time Trial. If the could get to 13th they would qualfy a team of 4.

26-27 Oct Mens Hockey. Two match playoff versus Canada for a place at Olympics. Ireland will be slight outsiders and they recently lost their head coach so obviously all not well in the camp

2-3 November Womens Hockey. Two match playoff versus Canada in Dublin. Ireland will be slight favourites and it would be great to qualify a womens team after a few near misses.

So I would expect our team to increase by 23 in these few weeks.Very worst case is just the three cyclists qualify and best case is 39 with both hockey teams qualifying.

Looking back at this (very informative) post it looks as though, men's hockey aside, that block of qualification events went very well for us with additional qualifications achieved in canoe slalom, athletics, equestrian, gymnastics and hockey.

Are there any more qualification events this side of Christmas or will everything else come in the new year now?

The next qualifying event is in sailing with the 49er world championships. It starts at end of November. Ireland will send two crews with Seaton and Guilfoyle having the best chance. There’s 11 nations qualified and if we’re in the top 4 of those not yet qualified, we’re in

Rankings are ongoing. The following are in a ranking spot as of now

Judo (3 Ben & Megan fletcher, Nathon Burns)
    Badminton (Nhat Nguyen, Sam & Chloe Magee)
    Triathlon (Carolyn Hayes, Russell White)
    Golf (definitely 4 spots)
    Cycling - women’s madison

Just outside but still to watch
    Taekwondo - Jack Woolley
    Cycling - men’s madison

• Registered Users Posts: 14 ontheboard

Does anyone know how it works if South Africa don’t take up their places in the hockey? In Rio the next ranked team in the qualifiers got the spot but qualifying works a bit differently this time around

ontheboard wrote: »
    Does anyone know how it works if South Africa don’t take up their places in the hockey? In Rio the next ranked team in the qualifiers got the spot but qualifying works a bit differently this time around

It’s the highest non qualified team in the world rankings. For women this is currently Korea

Team Ireland is now at 46 with Paul Pollock (easily) running the men’s marathon qualifying time in Valencia today

5 athletes now. 4 on the road, 1 on the track

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭Oldira

Jack Woolley is finally confirmed as a qualifier in Taekwando. He qualifies as 6th in the World Rankings after a chinese lad falied to reach the Grand Slam final earlier today. First time Ireland has qualified anybody in this sport.

Team mow up to 47. I doubt there will be any more qualifiers in 2019.

Will try and do a preview of 2020 soon.

The sports that we are looking for qualifiers through rankings now all finish in May/June next year (inc Athletics, Judo, Golf, Triathlon, Modern Pentathlon)

We’ll know swimming in April

The boxing qualifiers are the big ones for us

Dodge wrote: »
    The sports that we are looking for qualifiers through rankings now all finish in May/June next year (inc Athletics, Judo, Golf, Triathlon, Modern Pentathlon)

In golf surely it must be McIlroy and Lowry injuries permitting. Unless of course one or both of them do a U-turn like in 2016.

McIlroy said he is committed to representing Ireland in Tokyo in his most recent interview on the subject.

It’s based on the rankings so at the moment it’s them and it’s very unlikely anyone will overtake them

Leona Maguire and Stephanie Meadow will make the women’s event too

It’ll be June before we can officially count them though

Dodge wrote: »

And track cycling. Although one would need a doctorate to understand fully the qualification criteria in some events!

So 2020 has dawned and we are now in an Olympic year Yippeee! Team Ireland now at 47 with loads more opportuinities to add to the team in the coming months. We can get qualifiers by Ranking or qualifying at an event or meeting a qualifying time. With respect to rankings our situation is as follows:

Athletics: We have 6 athlethes in qualifying positions based on world rankings. Leon Reid and Marcus Lawler in 200m, Mark English 800m, Tom Barr 400mh, Phil Healy 200m (w) and Michelles Finn 3000m SC (w). In addition there are one or two more that are bubbling under and could make the grade. On the flip side Tom Barr aside the others could all be overtaken in the rankings easily enough.

Badminton; Nat Nguyen is high enough ranked in Mens single to be fairly safe. In Mixed Doubles Chloe and Sam Magee are a few spots away from qualifying. They had a poorish last few months of the year and dropped out of the qualification spots. Will need a few good performances over the next few weeks.

Cycling ( Track): Currently our womens Madison Team is in a qualification place with 1 world cup event and world championships left. Mens Madison team is just outside a qualification spot but would need a serious World Championship to qualify.

Golf: Ireland will definitely qualify 2 men and 2 women based on the rankings. Most probably McElroy and Lowery and in Womens Maguire and Meadows.

Judo. Both Ben and Megan Fletcher are well inside the qualification rankings and barring a poor run of results in next few months should be ok. Nathon Burns spent much of 2019 in an automatic qualifying spot as well but slipped out in the last few weeks. Hopefully he can get back into a qualifying place in 2020.

Modern Pentathlon: Arthur Lanigan O'Keefe on a good day could challenge for a medal but he was dogged by injury in the latter half of 2019 and is currently well down thwe rankings. If he back to his best he should climb back to a qualifying place or if managegs to finish in top 3 at World Championships that would qualify him too. Sive Brassil isnt that too far outside a ranking spot but would need a run of really good results this Spring to make it.

Swimming: Currently our mens 4 x 100m Medley relay and 4 x 200m freestyle relay are in qualification spots. In reality it would be a surprise if either qualified butthe Medley relay team has probley the best chance. Individual swimmers can still qualify based on times.

Triathlon: Currently both Russell White and Carolyn Hayes are in qualifying places albeit right on the bubble. Hayes is improving and should make it and hopefully While can as well but he cannot afford to drop a place.

There are no other sports where Ireland is close to getting a spot based on ranking.

So 2020 has dawned and we are now in an Olympic year Yippeee! Team Ireland now at 47 with loads more opportuinities to add to the team in the coming months. We can get qualifiers by Ranking or qualifying at an event or meeting a qualifying time. With respect to rankings our situation is as follows:

Athletics: We have 6 athlethes in qualifying positions based on world rankings. Leon Reid and Marcus Lawler in 200m, Mark English 800m, Tom Barr 400mh, Phil Healy 200m (w) and Michelles Finn 3000m SC (w). In addition there are one or two more that are bubbling under and could make the grade. On the flip side Tom Barr aside the others could all be overtaken in the rankings easily enough.

Badminton; Nat Nguyen is high enough ranked in Mens single to be fairly safe. In Mixed Doubles Chloe and Sam Magee are a few spots away from qualifying. They had a poorish last few months of the year and dropped out of the qualification spots. Will need a few good performances over the next few weeks.

Cycling ( Track): Currently our womens Madison Team is in a qualification place with 1 world cup event and world championships left. Mens Madison team is just outside a qualification spot but would need a serious World Championship to qualify.

Golf: Ireland will definitely qualify 2 men and 2 women based on the rankings. Most probably McElroy and Lowery and in Womens Maguire and Meadows.

Judo. Both Ben and Megan Fletcher are well inside the qualification rankings and barring a poor run of results in next few months should be ok. Nathon Burns spent much of 2019 in an automatic qualifying spot as well but slipped out in the last few weeks. Hopefully he can get back into a qualifying place in 2020.

Modern Pentathlon: Arthur Lanigan O'Keefe on a good day could challenge for a medal but he was dogged by injury in the latter half of 2019 and is currently well down thwe rankings. If he back to his best he should climb back to a qualifying place or if managegs to finish in top 3 at World Championships that would qualify him too. Sive Brassil isnt that too far outside a ranking spot but would need a run of really good results this Spring to make it.

Triathlon: Currently both Russell White and Carolyn Hayes are in qualifying places albeit right on the bubble. Hayes is improving and should make it and hopefully While can as well but he cannot afford to drop a place.

There are no other sports where Ireland is close to getting a spot based on ranking.

Don't forget boxing! Kelly Harrington will be a strong fancy to qualify, probably Michaela Walsh too.

I assume the plan is to enter a male and female boxer into every single weight division, so we would be hoping for a surprise qualifier or two.

Don't forget boxing! Kelly Harrington will be a strong fancy to qualify, probably Michaela Walsh too.

I assume the plan is to enter a male and female boxer into every single weight division, so we would be hoping for a surprise qualifier or two.

I,m Not! The above is just those who can qualify based on rankings. I will do another preview on those who can qualify in other ways...boxing,rowing,sailing, Rugby 7s, swimming etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Rugby 7s men have 1 shot at the repechage for 1 spot.
    They will have to win the tournament to be held next June
    France, Samoa will be toughest challengers. Shame tournament only has 12 and not 16 spots like in rio

13 weight categories. 8 men, 5 women. I think we’ll qualify 8/9 with average luck

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭KSU

2 marathon runners have booked their place

- Paul Pollock with a 2.10.25 NI record in Valencia in December

- Stephen Scullion qualified this morning with a top 5 finish in Houston Marathon

KSU wrote: »
    2 marathon runners have booked their place

- Paul Pollock with a 2.10.25 NI record in Valencia in December

- Stephen Scullion qualified this morning with a top 5 finish in Houston Marathon

Great News. TRhat one went under the radar on me. I hadnt realised an athlerthe could qualify that way. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭KSU

Great News. TRhat one went under the radar on me. I hadnt realised an athlerthe could qualify that way. Fair play to him.

Gold label Marathon's - top 5 finish counts as an automatic qualifier

World Marathon Majors (Berlin, Chicago, New York, London Tokyo and Boston) - Top 10 finish counts. This means Fionualla McCormack qualifies based on her Chicago performance (though also under the time)

There’s an issue with the marathon qualifiers though

They have set a cap of 80 on the men’s marathon field. That was to be made up of finishers through (a) placing in qualifying marathons, (b) those who reached a very low time (7 and a half minutes quicker than was needed for Rio) and (c) the new IAAF rankings

Then vaporfly happened.

There is already 80 men with the time and more, like Scullion, who qualify through the placing.

It remains to be seen how they deal with a supposedly strict limit of 80 and what is likely to be 120 or so qualifiers.

Hopefully Scullion will be OK, but it wouldn’t surprise me if he is forced out