Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Best Irish Slang Phrase You've Ever Heard?

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭L0ui5e

'Shor'.. I use this word about 30 times a day.. Pretty certain no one outside of Ireland would understand it.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭L0ui5e

mauzo! wrote: »
    I think it just means out of action!

Temporarily off the road so to speak..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭worded

L0ui5e wrote: »
    Temporarily off the road so to speak..

Cousins with the red hair are visiting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭aisr1ofk43dpy5

I wouldn't do her with yours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

Some seriously un-Irish slang going on here!

How about

"Hows your gee for a gallop?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Long Gone

worded wrote: »
    Cousins with the red hair are visiting

The painters are in

He had a big welcome for himself......

Pippy1976 wrote: »
    my tongue's as dry as a Zulu's flip-flop.

[o.k. o.k. not technically Irish, Captain Buzzkill]

As dry as a dead dingo's donger....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mister gullible

The state of ye..

The head of yer man...

Beef to the heels like a Mullingar heifer...

That beats Banagher...

The wittiest Irish expression in common usage "f*ck off", unfortunately we forgot this one when it came to the Troika and the bond holders.

The head on 'im and the price of turnips...

I could have 'atin a scabby cat but I had a great feed in that 'atin house....

Beef to the heels like a Mullingar heifer...

Mullingar born and bred, strong of arm and thick of head....:D

That the river Suck may overflow - And drown all the To**ers in Ballinasloe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

He wouldn't work to warm himself.

That fella hasn't done a tap of work in his life.

He's only good for wasting tinfoil.

I'm flat broke, I haven't as much as a washer in my pocket. I'm putting my hand in my pocket the last 6 months and feeling nothing but my leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

Would ya be well!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

I wouldn't ride her if she had a pair of pedals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭aisr1ofk43dpy5

Yer man has short arms and long pockets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

"He absolutely creeled him"

"Thats your mauld"

"Ye may get used to it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

"How's yer belly for a lodger?"

Pick up line used on a friend of mine in a night club in Tullamore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

ProudDUB wrote: »
    "How's yer belly for a lodger?"

Pick up line used on a friend of mine in a night club in Tullamore.

$$$$ free council house she thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Face like a well chewed rasher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Face like a well chewed rasher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭achiman

Are you Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Come here till I bate ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭johnb25

Heard this in a pub in Glasgow a few years ago...loads of Irish in watching a soccer international.
    A local hen party arrived in, and one of the Irish lads, throwing shapes at the bridesmaid, says: "Jaysus but you're a flaking bird yourself".
    A line I'm sure she hadn't heard before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

I'd ate a baby's arse true a shopping trolley.

Do you like children?
    I wouldn't eat a whole one,
    Or

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Farty88

Hon Jaysus!!!!!

up she flew and the cock flattened her!!!!!

Ya have a face on ya like a slapped arse!!!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 40 JimBobPlayer

That's nice....

Ya have a face on ya only a mother wuda love!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Half of these aren't exclusively Irish.
    Hoop66 wrote: »
    And the other half are shite!

So that's it. Two halves make a hole. And we're flyin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭RayCon

"Feast of O'Toole" = Childrens Allowance Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭unseen

Colleagues taught me these two:

"You are sucking diesel"