Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

New Business openings and closures around you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

Very disappointed to see Little Ass Buritos's in Rathmines close it's doors. It was in a bit of a weird place so was kind of inevitable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭alie

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Lets see what damage the recession is doing or if many new businesses have managed to open during these hard times.
    New openings of businesses around you, closures of businesses around you?
    New openings I saw recently-
    Mini golf dundrum,
    pandora dundrum,
    gourmet grill Rathmines,
    mr.simms sweet shop opening rathmines soon.
    calendar club nutgrove,
    mr bs arcade nutgrove,
    trespass nutgrove,
    dwarka indian takeaway rathmines,
    paco nutgrove,
    3 store nutgrove,
    macari fish and chips, braemor
    smiles dental dundrum
    new restaurant to open in dundrum soon.
    kids charity shop in dundrum
    best barber shop,dundrum

closures
    pizza hut rathgar
    spar rathgar
    chinese takeaway rathgar
    gamestop rathmines
    zumo swan centre,

all i can think of for now, whats happening around you.:)
    Eddie rockets closed in nutgrove too also the book shop and McKenna man and First boutique

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭The_Wrecker

Gone a couple of weeks by now. The Fiat showroom that was formerly Esmonde ford and prior Victor motors Goatstown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Clanket wrote: »
    Very disappointed to see Little Ass Buritos's in Rathmines close it's doors. It was in a bit of a weird place so was kind of inevitable

They moved to Dawson St, near St. Stephen's Green.

A much better place for them. I'll have to drop in next time I'm in town

• Registered Users Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Clanket wrote: »

But it was almost always busy whenever I passed it, was very surprised to see it go, nice little place too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Shirley's Kitchen Chinese Takeaway in Templeogue Village is closed now. I ate from there only a few weeks ago and it was very nice??

Manifesto in Rathmines are opening up Manifestino in Rathgar where the Pizza Hut used to be. Not sure yet what whether its going to be a restaurant like Manifesto or a takeaway maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Luckycharm

highly1111 wrote: »
    Marley wine shop has unfortunately closed on the grange road in rathfarnham - it was excellent but no doubt just couldn't complete with the deals offered by centra and lidl.

Apparently a large home store and more is going in beside the new lidl on nutgrove avenue - where homebase used to be.

Sorry prob misread that thought Homebase was closed down but you meant where it used to be across the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭highly1111

Luckycharm wrote: »
    highly1111 wrote: »
    Marley wine shop has unfortunately closed on the grange road in rathfarnham - it was excellent but no doubt just couldn't complete with the deals offered by centra and lidl.

Apparently a large home store and more is going in beside the new lidl on nutgrove avenue - where homebase used to be.

When did Homebase close down always found it much better value then Woodies or the other stores.

Homebase relocated to the new set of shops beside aldi, Harry corry etc on Nutgrove avenue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

New Thai takeaway/restaurant open a couple of weeks in Rathmines beside the Lidl called Camile. Seems to be a glut of these type of Thai places open now all serving the same style food: Saba to Go, Diep, Kanum, Neon.
    Maybe Thai takeaways are taking over from the waning Chinese influence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭ScottSF

Coincidentally went to Camile Thai in Rathmines a few days ago for dinner. They have several tables if you want to eat your takeaway there. The food was pretty good, perhaps a bit pricey for "fast food". We picked spicy dishes and they were indeed hot and spicy so we were glad.

They are giving away FREE meals each day if you tweet them (not sure how long this deal will last). Check out their twitter profile for details:
    https://twitter.com/#!/camilerathmines

Got a free lunch last week in Camile using that Twitter. Was lovely.

There's a sweet shop after opening in the Swan Centre over the Holland & Barrett side. Second one now in Rathmines (Mr Simms on the main street).

Good luck to them but I've always felt that side of the Centre is cursed. It's too dark and not enough of a variety of shops.

Sorry to see the Swan centre is such a state, it was a thriving centre when i was growing up, now winos lie on the benches up near Dunnes hardware.

alie wrote: »
    Sorry to see the Swan centre is such a state, it was a thriving centre when i was growing up, now winos lie on the benches up near Dunnes hardware.

Jaysus it's not that bad. In it most days and I've never seen a wino lying on a bench. There's security guards in the place

Well i was down there a few months ago with my kids and there were two of them , my friend lives close by and its a regular thing, when it opened first there were a lot more shops then than there is now, there was a fruit and veg and a big butchers and lots of clothes shops , and kylemore cafe, it seems very quiet these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Mr. Simms on Lwr. Rathmines seems to have closed. They have been shut since last Thursday or Friday and I saw some stock being removed yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 morg

Kiely's Mt.Merrion is closed. It's the big pub beside Flanagan's furniture, which is also closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

morg wrote: »
    Kiely's Mt.Merrion is closed. It's the big pub beside Flanagan's furniture, which is also closed.

Wow, amazing. It's more than just a pub, it's a state of mind for some people.

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭EricPraline

morg wrote: »
    Really? Looked open to me at the weekend.
    Wow, amazing. It's more than just a pub, it's a state of mind for some people.
    Are you thinking of the one in Donnybrook?

Is kielys open or closed?

• Registered Users Posts: 35 morg

Correction, Kiely's is open for business. A friend who lives beside it told me it was closed but I checked today and it's definitely open. Apologies for any alarm caused.

DLTV has become Boydd barretts clinic.
    Tuthills Bloomfields relocating to Dundrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭zagmund

The Purty in Dun Leary has closed down 'temporarily'. There's an undated sign on the front saying something like it is closed "for a while". I don't know how long it has been closed for. The pizzareria beside it has been closed for a good while at this stage. It's a pity really - they used to serve nice (and good value) pizza.

z

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

zagmund wrote: »
    The Purty in Dun Leary has closed down 'temporarily'. There's an undated sign on the front saying something like it is closed "for a while". I don't know how long it has been closed for. The pizzareria beside it has been closed for a good while at this stage. It's a pity really - they used to serve nice (and good value) pizza.

z

Yeah, Don Mimi.....fecking lovely pizza!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Is Ray Kavanagh's in Glasthule closed? There were barriers around it the other day.

Did a newsagent in Terenure go on fire?

An Siopa Beag in Terenure was on fire last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Is Ray Kavanagh's in Glasthule closed? There were barriers around it the other day.

I'll be down that way later - will report back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,357 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I'll be down that way later - will report back.

Its closed at least a couple of weeks, I heard a trader on the radio 2 or 3 weeks ago talking about street parking down there and he mentioned it was gone

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭annieoburns

"Dealz" is opening in Stillorgan Shopping Centre on Sept 3rd. :)

It is located where Post Office used to be and also the former Kenneth Hodgkins furniture unit. There is already a branch in Blanchardstown and to be another new one opening in Bloomfield Sh Centre in D Laoire.

Meanwhile Cosmopolitan the newsagents is closed and with the one that used to be beside Mc Donalds also gone, there is no newsagent serving the area. Always busy places, nowhere to get bustickets etc for miles about...:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Meanwhile Cosmopolitan the newsagents is closed and with the one that used to be beside Mc Donalds also gone, there is no newsagent serving the area. Always busy places, nowhere to get bustickets etc for miles about...:mad:

It's very hard for independent newsagents to survive these days-the likes of Centra/Spar/Londis have put paid to that. They just can't match the prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,357 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

It is located where Post Office used to be and also the former Kenneth Hodgkins furniture unit. There is already a branch in Blanchardstown and to be another new one opening in Bloomfield Sh Centre in D Laoire.

RIP Cosmo, spent many a lunch time in there in my school days browsing the mags for free and getting thrown out. They did a good line in candied popcorn though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

between Lidl, Donnybrook Fair, and now that, I could see Tesco closing in the near future.

Just after being renovated? Seems unlikely. Plus it still gets plenty of business. That said, it's still little better than a Tesco Express, and they haven't really addressed the poor layout or understaffed tills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

Starbucks has recently opened in Nutgrove. Seems an unusual location, given that they'd go for more upmarket areas when out of town. The Nutgrove area is really getting a second wind, what with the retail park across the road, and Lidl close by. The "main street" part where Silvio's is is the same as always, however. Maybe the area is getting some overspill "cred" (not sure how else to put it!!) from Dundrum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Good to see some investment in Bloomfields. Bestseller have obviously made the decision that Dun Laoghaire has a future.

It's a shame to see the other shops go though, hopefully one of them will pop up in the old Vero Moda shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,653 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Aard wrote: »
    Starbucks has recently opened in Nutgrove. Seems an unusual location, given that they'd go for more upmarket areas when out of town. The Nutgrove area is really getting a second wind, what with the retail park across the road, and Lidl close by. The "main street" part where Silvio's is is the same as always, however. Maybe the area is getting some overspill "cred" (not sure how else to put it!!) from Dundrum?
    . Nutgrove would have been one of the better shopping centers on the Southside prior to dundrum. It then took lost a lot of local buisness to dundrum, however locals are flocking back.as they realise parking is easier and cheaper. It has Tesco, Dunnes, pennys. And its.not as busy as dundrum. You then have lidl and aldi to do your weekly shopping.

ted1 wrote: »
    . Nutgrove would have been one of the better shopping centers on the Southside prior to dundrum. It then took lost a lot of local buisness to dundrum, however locals are flocking back.as they realise parking is easier and cheaper. It has Tesco, Dunnes, pennys. And its.not as busy as dundrum. You then have lidl and aldi to do your weekly shopping.

I live close by Nutgrove and it has gone a bit tired looking , the rent went up a while a go and a few shops could not stay open, Tesco have done up the store in recent times , but seem to have let it slip, The freezers are way too cold and lots of the food has frost bite.

I've always liked Nutgrove. The free and easy parking is a big plus, especially when you compare it to Rathfarnham SC.

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭annieoburns

Down the years, Nutgrove was my 'go to' place with both a Penneys and Dunnes together along with "poundshop" and "bookstation" for kidddie stuff, Nicholls for housestuff etc . It never had a decent coffee place so hope Starbucks does well. I find McDonalds does a very decent coffee for 2 euro and new look to place is more adult friendly. We miss Roches and the Motor Tax office of course and it could do with a proper bookshop. There is a new unit about to open on the Burgerking side.... any ideas what/when?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

as a kid I used to love getting doughnuts from Manning's Bakery when it was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,541 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Good to see some investment in Bloomfields. Bestseller have obviously made the decision that Dun Laoghaire has a future.

It's a shame to see the other shops go though, hopefully one of them will pop up in the old Vero Moda shop.
    DLTV has become Boydd barretts clinic.
    Tuthills Bloomfields relocating to Dundrum.

It is great to see the new shops opening up in Bloomfields.

You can include in Bloomfields, the new Jack & Jones & new look Vero Moda outlets.

And on Georges Street, there is a new 3 Mobile and NCBI charity shop included.

Dun Laoghaire Shopping Centre has from the Sony Centre being closed. There is a new bargain store called Tiger located there for some time. A new Doc Morris Pharmacy has opened outside the centre replacing Unicare.

In Dundrum S.C. one of the two former Game stores near Easons is being turned into a greeting card shop. The acupuncture and herbalist shop beside that is also closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

greeting card shop.
    That'd be the last type of shop I would think of opening. You get them in supermarkets & €2 shops and they seem to have dropped in price, I see newsagents with €1 cards now. And I expect with emails people send less these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,541 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I will add in two more places which opened in George's Street in Dun Laoghaire.

There is a mini Art gallery which replaced a polish owned food store named Gifts Art Gallery. That is located beside Fitzpatrick's Casino & Private Members Club.

I also passed a new coffee retail store today owned by J.J Darboven Ireland.

It sell's coffee as a retail unit, it is not used as a traditional cafe for customers. A wide range of packaged coffee is sold there at variable prices. The store is located beside the estate agents, DNG, further up beside it has Argos.

Life outside the Purty kitchen this morning ~ a new paint job being applied.:eek:

New Starbucks opening in Stillorgan Shopping Centre soon.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2012/0905/1224323611937.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

New Starbucks opening in Stillorgan Shopping Centre soon.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2012/0905/1224323611937.html

Starbucks really are rolling out very quickly. I follow their openings not because I drink their coffee, but because they seem to act as a development barometer. It's such great news to hear that they're opening up in Stillorgan. For a long time Stillorgan was going downhill. (Rumour has it that there was going to be a redevelopment of the shopping centre, so the leases weren't getting renewed. Then the recession hit, so that put paid to that!) I always liked Stillorgan- even though it's a bit dated, it's got that charm that say Dundrum lacks.

On the other hand, Nutgrove was always a fairly average shopping centre. Not awful, but not great. Hopefully the addition of Starbucks will help keep it attractive as a place to set up shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭patrickbrophy18

Subway in Dun Laoghaire has closed. Mind you, I'm not surprised given that it was empty half of the time I went their. Now I'll have to go all the way into town or (an inaccessible from Dalkey) Cherrywood for a foot-long meatball marinara. On the upside, I'll cherish one a lot more with bigger intervals between each one. YUMMY!:D

Aard wrote: »
    For a long time Stillorgan was going downhill. (Rumour has it that there was going to be a redevelopment of the shopping centre, so the leases weren't getting renewed. Then the recession hit, so that put paid to that!) I always liked Stillorgan- even though it's a bit dated, it's got that charm that say Dundrum lacks.

On the other hand, Nutgrove was always a fairly average shopping centre. Not awful, but not great. Hopefully the addition of Starbucks will help keep it attractive as a place to set up shop.
    Treasury Holdings had big plans for the area back in 2006, but fortunately it never got started, or the area might have turned in Sandyford mark 2. Now that it's clear that we won't be seeing a demolition any time soon, the occupancy rate has soared.

Btw completely agree with your perspective on Stillorgan v Dundrum/Nutgrove. The centre gets a lot of criticism, but SSC does have a quaint charm that makes it enjoyable to visit, even at weekends. It certainly doesn't have the same manic sense of arrive/queue/buy/flee that pervades Dundrum, or cringeworthy Tiger-esque shops like Hollister. Though the poor parking layout and dreadful Tesco does bring down the centre a little. Still, it's infinitely better than its contemporary peer in Phibsboro.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Subway in Dun Laoghaire has closed. Mind you, I'm not surprised given that it was empty half of the time I went their. Now I'll have to go all the way into town or (an inaccessible from Dalkey) Cherrywood for a foot-long meatball marinara. On the upside, I'll cherish one a lot more with bigger intervals between each one. YUMMY!:D

When did DL Subway close? I was there two weeks ago.

I don't know if the Cherrywood Subway is still open though as I went up there two weeks ago (I had a hankering for a steak and cheese footlong) but couldn't find it. There were signs for Subway but they pointed to a building with no open shops.