Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Are U ready for teh Storm? (2)

• 11-03-2008 11:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭

Well the last one may have been a storm in a teacup for these parts but tonight sure as hell won't be.

Dublin looks like being effected quite badly with gusts to 80mph likely.

Gusts off the Northwest coast could reach 90mph for a time this evening.

It all kicks off in the west from 1800hrs and will be at its worst over Dublin around 0300hrs, i would expect some travel disruptions and slight structural damage.

Southern Ulster, Connacht, Northern Leinster (including Dublin) looks like being worst affected.

Don't overlook her after the other "storm"

Fromt the meteireann peeps
    Tonight will be very windy with widespread gales. Winds will reach storm force across much of the north and west with severe or violent gusts in parts of Ulster north Connacht and north Leinster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

The south coast will be fine. I couldn't give a flying **** :) Hurray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

Is the storm expected to be completely over by late Wed night, early Thurs morning? I have a flight and don't want it to be cancelled. **** **** **** :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Pheonix Ski

I dont no what part of the west i live in lol :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

I plan on sleeping through it, does that count as being ready?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Ah we all got psyched up for the last one and it was nothing! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Copywrite infringment! :mad:

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

haha Mike

Met Eirean have issues a Severe Warning

Weather Warning

Issued at 11 March 2008 - 11:40
    Warning of Severe Weather
    General : A storm depression of c. 960 hPa , will pass to the north of Ireland overnight and move in over Scotland. A swathe of gale force westerly winds will affect Ireland with severe gusts in many places. The winds will be strongest over Ulster, Connacht and the northern half of Leinster.

Warning :Southwest to west winds will increase 30 to 45 knots (55 to 85 km/h) this evening and will gust 60 to 65 knots (110 to 120 km/h) overnight and for a time on Wednesday.
    But in exposed parts of Ulster, Connacht and north Leinster winds are likely to gust as high as 80 knots (150 km/h).
    Seas in excess of 10 metres will affect Atlantic coasts.
    There will be some heavy and prolonged showers over Ulster and Connacht, and some will be thundery and wintry.

Valid from 11/1800 to 12/1100.

Winds in the Irish sea will reach Violent Storm Force 11 tonight..

Take care all, this could be something similar to that Christmas storm awhile back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Glad its going north of me then - that one ripped a bit of my roof off!

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

aww crap, I was planning on takin the old kite out tonight :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Aww man, I'm staying at home in my parents house for a while and the fecking bedroom window leaks. On Sunday night the wind was so bad that it blew rain through the leak and on to me.

Better go to bed in a raincoat tonight :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Looks like it's gonna be fun. :D 80mph - respectable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Bendihorse

Its starting to whip up already here in Roscommon, driving rain and sweeping gusts of wind :( Luckily i put on my horses thermals on Sunday in preparation for the other promised storm that didn't really materialise...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Pheonix Ski

Im in roscommon too and the wind is nearlyblowing the trees over to the ground,out of nowere its just came about,rain,gusts its bad,i hope it doesnt get worse,i havent even gone for supplies yet lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Just raining now in Dublin. Debating whether or not to cycle home. Don't fancy sittin on the bus :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,798 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

If the last one is anything to go by - my 12 month old has had worse wind. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Will someone please think of the Windsocks :eek::eek::pac::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i hope it doesnt get worse,i havent even gone for supplies yet lol

Are you expecting a tornado?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Damn you Poseidon, Damn you to Hades!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I had the window cleaner booked for today... What a bloody waste of money!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

I was up on the roof of a 7 story building in Dublin only two hours ago and it's grand. Big nothing, me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

I was up on the roof of a 7 story building in Dublin only two hours ago and it's grand. Big nothing, me thinks.

The worst will arrive in Dublin from around 11pm and peak around 3am..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I'm taking tomorrow off school

absence note should be good
    "unable to leave house due to severe winds"

Feck the weathermen I say, builder on the roof is where its at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

seamus wrote: »
    Just raining now in Dublin. Debating whether or not to cycle home. Don't fancy sittin on the bus :(

CYCLE! :D

That wind is great for the lungs and don't worry about the rain, it dries off you straight away! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Getting fairly wild out there now, house alarms goin off everywhere:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Right so. When asked, I'll say that someone on the blogoweb told me it was a good idea.

Actually, it'll be fine until I get to Templeogue. Then I'll be murdered by the wind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

You'll be grand Seamus, its a westerly wind, all that air will make your cheeks go red with healthy fulfillness! :D

Even boards went down just there due to the weather :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Starting to kick up round my area. Wind is pretty strong and it's raining. Makes you appreciate being indoors with the heating on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭thecleverone

Heavy winds here in Kildare. Were without electricity between 5.45PM and 6.50PM but thank god its back on again. Don't think i could cope without electricity for much more than an hour. Boredom-ville!

That last storm tweaked my sky dish a bit and improved the reception ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

here in tipp were getting weather warnings of winds ranging from 70 - 120kmph tonight.

feels windy out but nothing to that extent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

was kinda windy when i was cycling home but every now and again there was a very powerfull gust

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

It's mental here. Wind is about as bad as ive ever heard it (no intention of venturing outside).

Lost sky reception, and lights are on and off.... but it feels like it's getting worse!!

God i hope the electricity stay on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

ronoc wrote: »
    Feck the weathermen I say, builder on the roof is where its at.

No a builder, consultant. Long story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

This one looks like it'll actually show:eek:

Book your seats in the shelter, they say it'll hit around 11 tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

It's been getting very wild here over the past hour or so....... pretty sure I saw a few small children leaving the ground at one point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

DaveMcG wrote: »
    It's been getting very wild here over the past hour or so....... pretty sure I saw a few small children leaving the ground at one point.

One just flew past my window:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Wind is from the west according to this yoke:
    http://www.dlharbour.ie/weather/index.php

Expecting to find some farm animals caught in the clothes line in the morning.

Free milk - not too shabby:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,068 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

They were calling it Hurricane Britain in the papers :p I felt a gust here and there. Ooooooh.

Just as long as theres a big system of warm weather behind this I will be a happy bunny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,946 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Just home after walking up Pearse Street. My two friends were shivering their arses off. It's fairly wild out there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Overheal wrote: »
    They were calling it Hurricane Britain in the papers :p I felt a gust here and there. Ooooooh.

Just as long as theres a big system of warm weather behind this I will be a happy bunny.

No ;)

http://cirrus.netweather.tv/gfsimages/gfs.20080311/18/264/h850t850eu.png

brrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Jaysus thats some wind out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,068 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

darkman2 wrote: »

Yea we'll see about next week. Plan to put on my sunglasses and don my sandals again. Maybe give my head another shave. ****in mullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Quite bad here in leixlip..lotta rain and wind outside :o Hope it clears up in the morning, otherwise I'm dreading going to work :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Bye bye roof.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

fookin dreadful here in raheny, cant remember it being this bad before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭ericl

Just walked down main street in Ballymun,
    my face is stinging from the wind and cold.
    It's a strong one.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

thought the house (stillorgan) was gonna come apart all night and now i gotta go to work...:( batten down the hatches...meteor.s down too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭sunzz

Woke at so many intervels last night 01:00 . 03:00 . 05:00

Looked out onto the back garden to my dismay to see the tree nearly uprooting and it's no small tree.

Thank god i have no work this morning :(....sorry for rubbing it in:)