Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What countries has everyone been to?

• 02-07-2010 12:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭

Irish people are found everywhere. It would be interesting to see how many different countries boards readers have been to.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,481 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

This was done in After Hours before and turned into a how big is your willy thread.

I wouldn't only that I wrote out the countries when I was bored on a flight once.

1. USA
    2. Nicaragua
    3. Costa Rica
    4. Panama
    5. Ecuador
    6. Peru
    7. Bolivia
    8. Paraguay
    9. Uruguay
    10. Argentina
    11. Brazil
    12. Chile
    13. Australia
    14. Malaysia
    15. Singapore
    16. Thailand
    17. India
    18. Moldova
    19. Kosovo
    20. Macedonia
    21. Bosnia
    22. Malta
    23. Spain
    24. Croatia
    25. Montenegro
    26. France
    27. UK
    28. Germany
    29. Portugal
    30. Italy
    31. Belgium
    32. Greece
    33. Andorra
    34. Latvia
    35. Hungry
    36. Sweden

I'm aiming to have visited double that by age 35.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭spikeprint

Man you have a massive willy. I'll list my, its not as big as yours.

1. UK
    2. Spain
    3. France
    4. Germany
    5. Italy
    6. Hungary
    7. Greece
    8. Slovakia
    9. Belgium
    10. Holland
    11. Germany
    12. Thailand
    13. Laos
    14. Cambodia
    15. Vietnam
    16. Indonesia
    17. China
    18. Australia
    19. New Zealand
    20. USA
    21. Chile
    22. Argentina
    23. Bolivia
    24. Brazil
    25. Uruguay
    26. Peru
    27. Colombia

Thats all for now. The funds have well and truely dried up.....

• Registered Users Posts: 15,381 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Working from left to right across google maps :)

1. Canada
    2. USA
    3. Mexico
    4. Greenland
    5. Iceland
    6. UK
    7. Norway
    8. Sweden
    9. Denmark
    10. Germany
    11. Poland
    12. Russia
    13. Netherlands
    14. Belgium
    15. France
    16. Andorra
    17. Spain
    18. Italy
    19. Switzerland
    20. Liechtenstein
    21. Austria

No more travels for a while I think

Greenland? Nice, its somewhere I'd love to go. Was it expensive to get to?

spikeprint wrote: »
    Greenland? Nice, its somewhere I'd love to go. Was it expensive to get to?

That would be me I guess. I was there in February. It wasn't as expensive as I thought it would be to get there, return flight to Copenhagan (SAS) and then Copenhagen to Kangerlussuaq (their international airport by Air Greenland). Stayed around Kangerlussuaq for 4 days. Both sets of return flights cost about 700 in total. It's bloody cold in February though, it was -24 when I got there.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/karlachameleon/sets/72157623468721446/

Wow Rainbowtrout, I'm insane with jealousy. Your pics are great. Fair play for going somewhere off the beaten track. I'll get there someday.

spikeprint wrote: »
    Wow Rainbowtrout, I'm insane with jealousy. Your pics are great. Fair play for going somewhere off the beaten track. I'll get there someday.

ya i've always wanted to go and everyone else thought i was mad going, but i was delighted i did. The 'city' of Kangerlussuaq has a population of about 500 people so everyone knows your name after a day or so! Good fun!

I love it when people do something a little different. I thought I was crazy going to South East Asia 8 years ago. It was for me at the time, but when I went back 2 years ago, it didn't have the same feeling. I think its Central Asia and the Stans for my next big trip.

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭LadyW

I have been to :

1. America
    2. France
    3. Belgium
    4. Germany
    5. UK

Prize for the shortest list??? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭LadyW

oops... forgot Cyprus.... hot hot country :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Been to:

UK
    Spain
    USA (am here right now on my 4th visit!)
    Germany
    Czech Republic
    Slovakia
    Hungary
    Netherlands
    Singapore
    Australia

I try to spend between a month or two out of the Country each year and I absolutely love travelling, If I woke up tomorrow morning without my passport and the thought of being marooned on our desolate Island I would crack up. Thailand is the next destination I plan to add to my ever growing passport stamp collection!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭insinkerator

USA
    Scotland
    France
    Mexico (day trip - doesnt really count)
    Hungary
    Czech Republic
    Poland

Hoping to go to Peru next summer, or else the US, but outside San Francisco (been 4 times visiting my mom)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭coffeelover

Portugal
    Spain (going this year for the 3rd time) :D
    USA (born there)
    United Kindgom (going this year for the 2nd time)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,090 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

England
    Cech Rep.
    Slovakia
    Poland
    Germany
    USA x 3
    Canada (partly)
    Cuba

• Registered Users Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭lg123

• Registered Users Posts: 685 ✭✭✭darrenh

1. England x 5
    2. Scotland
    3. Wales x 2
    4. Northern Ireland(controversial I know!!)
    5. France x 2
    6. Spain x 3
    7. Germany
    8. Poland
    9. Italy
    10. Greece x 3
    11. USA
    12. Argentina
    13. Brazil
    14. Uruguay
    15. Chile
    16. Peru
    17. Bolivia
    18. New Zealand
    19. Australia
    20. Singapore
    21. Malaysia
    22. Borneo (controversial again but I count it!!)
    23. Thailand x god knows how many times
    24. Laos
    25. Cambodia
    26. Vietnam

After playing with my conscious I've decided to withdraw NI but I'm sticking with Borneo!! 25 countries it is!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 38 springwell7616

England
    Scotand
    Wales
    germany
    Sweden
    Poland
    Czech Republic
    Spain
    Turkey
    Cyprus
    Malta
    Egypt
    Saudi Arabia
    Dubai
    Yemen
    Djbouti
    Libya
    Nigeria
    Angola
    South Africa
    Falkland Islands
    Ascention Island
    Singapore
    Malaya
    Sarawak
    Hong Kong
    Japan
    Australia
    Barbados
    Going to Canada next month.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

darrenh wrote: »
    1. England x 5
    2. Scotland
    3. Wales x 2
    4. Northern Ireland(controversial I know!!)
    5. France x 2
    6. Spain x 3
    7. Germany
    8. Poland
    9. Italy
    10. Greece x 3
    11. USA
    12. Argentina
    13. Brazil
    14. Uruguay
    15. Chile
    16. Peru
    17. Bolivia
    18. New Zealand
    19. Australia
    20. Singapore
    21. Malaysia
    22. Borneo (controversial again but I count it!!)
    23. Thailand x god knows how many times
    24. Laos
    25. Cambodia
    26. Vietnam

After playing with my conscious I've decided to withdraw NI but I'm sticking with Borneo!! 25 countries it is!:D

Borneo is either Malysia or Indoneisa. Its like say NZ north island & NZ south Island. They are the same country?!

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Xiangjiao

We're counting the UK's constituent parts as separate countries here, I see? Okay then!

1. England
    2. Scotland
    2. Wales
    3. Northern Ireland
    4. France.
    5. Hungary
    6. Belgium
    7. The Netherlands
    8. Germany
    9. Luxembourg.
    10. Spain
    11 Switzerland
    12 Italy
    13 Portugal
    14 Poland
    15 Lithuania
    16 Vatican State :D
    17 Turkey
    19 Andorra
    20 Czech Republic
    21 Slovakia
    22 Finland
    23 UAE
    24 Bahrain
    25 Georgia
    26 Armenia
    27 Azerbaijan
    28 South Ossetia (I refuse to recognise it as a country, but they seem to differ)
    29 Abkhazia (see above. Beautiful place though)
    30 Greece
    31 Myanmar
    32 Thailand
    34 Laos
    35 Cambodia
    36 China.

I think that's the lot. Wow, entirely Eurasian. Would still love to see loads more of the far east, former parts of the USSR and above all South America.

dory wrote: »
    This was done in After Hours before and turned into a how big is your willy thread.

I wouldn't only that I wrote out the countries when I was bored on a flight once.

1. USA
    2. Nicaragua
    3. Costa Rica
    4. Panama
    5. Ecuador
    6. Peru
    7. Bolivia
    8. Paraguay
    9. Uruguay
    10. Argentina
    11. Brazil
    12. Chile
    13. Australia
    14. Malaysia
    15. Singapore
    16. Thailand
    17. India
    18. Moldova
    19. Kosovo
    20. Macedonia
    21. Bosnia
    22. Malta
    23. Spain
    24. Croatia
    25. Montenegro
    26. France
    27. UK
    28. Germany
    29. Portugal
    30. Italy
    31. Belgium
    32. Greece
    33. Andorra
    34. Latvia
    35. Hungry
    36. Sweden

I'm aiming to have visited double that by age 35.
    England
    Scotand
    Wales
    germany
    Sweden
    Poland
    Czech Republic
    Spain
    Turkey
    Cyprus
    Malta
    Egypt
    Saudi Arabia
    Dubai
    Yemen
    Djbouti
    Libya
    Nigeria
    Angola
    South Africa
    Falkland Islands
    Ascention Island
    Singapore
    Malaya
    Sarawak
    Hong Kong
    Japan
    Australia
    Barbados
    Going to Canada next month.

Fair dues, I'm intrigued to see the Falklands, Angola, and Kosovo on your lists, when, and how did you enjoy them?

*edit* And Moldova too!

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭marymc

Continentaly:

01. Ireland (I'm not counting Northern Ireland as separate, but whatever. Add one if you want.)
    02. Wales
    03. Scotland
    04. England (are we splitting these?)
    05. Faroe Islands
    06. Iceland
    07. France
    08. Monaco
    09. Spain
    10. Portugal
    11. Gibralter
    12. Morocco
    13. Holland
    14. Belgium
    15. Luxemburg
    16. Liechtenstein
    17. Germany
    18. Austria
    19. Switzerland
    20. Czech Republic
    21. Slovakia
    22. Italy
    23. Vatican
    24. Poland
    25. Norway
    26. United Arab Emirates
    27. China (including Tibet, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau)
    28. Nepal
    29. Thailand
    30. Laos
    31. Vietnam
    32. Japan
    33. Malaysia
    34. Singapore
    35. Australia
    36. New Zealand
    37. Fiji
    38. Canada
    39. USA
    40. Mexico

Currently in Canada. Next I want Africa and South America. Or Antartica. Whichever I have money for first. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Slowly getting there! Hopefully I'll add a few more to this list in the next few weeks :-)
    1. Wales
    2. Scotland
    3. England
    4. France
    5. Hungary
    6. Poland
    7. Norway
    8. Netherlands
    9. Germany
    10. Czech Republic
    11. Austria
    12. Slovenia
    13. Croatia
    14. Italy
    15. Spain (Do the canaries count seperately?!)
    16. Thailand

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭snazzy

Ah lads. I feel really untravelled in comparison. Some amazing places here. I can only imagine.

1. Wales
    2. Scotland
    3. England
    4. France
    5. Spain
    6. Switzerland
    7. Liechenstein
    8. Austria
    9. Germany
    10. Italy
    11. Slovenia
    12. Croatia
    13. Bosnia
    14. Montenegro
    15. Albania
    16. Greece

Going to Argentina in February I hope for Co-Op.
    The plan´s much bigger. Gotta travel as much as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 tony 2 eyes

australia
    new zealand
    indonesia
    borneo
    singapore
    malaysia
    thailand
    morroco
    egypt
    spain
    usa
    scotland
    england
    whales

• Registered Users Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

1. England
    2. Spain
    3. France
    4. Turkey
    5. USA
    6. Jamaica
    7. Haiti
    8. Mexico
    9. Cayman Islands

And Im only young :P

snazzy wrote: »
    Ah lads. I feel really untravelled in comparison. Some amazing places here. I can only imagine.

1. Wales
    2. Scotland
    3. England
    4. France
    5. Spain
    6. Switzerland
    7. Liechenstein
    8. Austria
    9. Germany
    10. Italy
    11. Slovenia
    12. Croatia
    13. Bosnia
    14. Montenegro
    15. Albania
    16. Greece

Going to Argentina in February I hope for Co-Op.
    The plan´s much bigger. Gotta travel as much as possible.

Lucky you mate! That would be number one on my list. I'm sure you'll have a blast, I know many people from there and they're great craic, cosmopolitan, have a much more developed & sophisticated sense of humour than other hispanophones, the women are stunning (and for the girls, I understand their men are held in equally high regard, and their food out of this world if you're a meat lover.

That's not even to mention the natural beauty of the place, or the unquestioned glamour and charm of Buenos Aires....

Enjoy, and be sure to let us know how you get on!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭tfak85

mine is a pretty short list but here goes...

UK, not scotland.
    France
    Switzerland
    Germany
    Netherlands
    Turkey
    UAE
    Bahrain
    Qatar
    USA
    Canada

not great but i've been to a few of those places a few times.. off to poland in a couple of weeks and next year going to hawaii and japan on honeymoon!

• Registered Users Posts: 246 ✭✭littlema

hmmmm, tis well for ye young ones, I started late in life and had a few kids in tow at some locations(and the other half on some other trips-not always!!!)
    england
    france
    holland
    germany
    austria
    switzerland
    slovakia
    poland(Krakow was great)
    spain(north, south and islands)
    portugal
    tunisia
    usa route 66 from oaklahoma to pacific