Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Strike is over. What happens now?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,485 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

alps wrote: »
    Any IFA protest is designed and timed not to effect the general public. They are your customers...You don't s### on your own doorstep...

Absolutely.
    One only has to see the absolute vitriol towards the Extinction Rebellion group because they had intentionally obstructed the ordinary person to know how it would be counterproductive to do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,159 ✭✭✭✭Base price

_Brian wrote: »
    Is the tradtorcade to block Dublin the natural progression from the strike ?

I feel if anything is being done a more surgical style of protest would be better rather than inconveniencing the average worker who we need on our side.
    Would it not be better to let the Beef Taskforce have a meeting. I haven't heard if the injunctions by C&D Foods on the two Longford farmers have been removed yet.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Absolutely.
    One only has to see the absolute vitriol towards the Extinction Rebellion group because they had intentionally obstructed the ordinary person to know how it would be counterproductive to do it.

Correct.

Well-meaning intentions are one thing but that's not enough to change hearts and minds. You can't shout or shame people into changing their behaviour. Better to encourage and cajole for *any* reason to do the right thing, rather than trying to get them to do the right thing *and* for the right reason.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

Base price wrote: »
    Would it not be better to let the Beef Taskforce have a meeting. I haven't heard if the injunctions by C&D Foods on the two Longford farmers have been removed yet.

Indeed.
    I’m not promoting any further action, just that a tractorcade is the least effective I could think of

But there seems to be huge appetite for a tractorcade.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,142 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Tractorcade lets clowns bring their best shiny model. They sort of miss the whole PR purpose on the demo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Water John wrote: »
    Tractorcade lets clowns bring their best shiny model. They sort of miss the whole PR purpose on the demo.

A tractorcade of scraper tractors in their working clothes straight from the yard is what we need:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Jb1989

A tractorcade of scraper tractors in their working clothes straight from the yard is what we need:pac:

A series of airlocked 168s and overheated 4000s in the city centre would raise an eye to the crisis alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭mf240

Resulting in hundreds of farmers discussing tax and insurance on the train home.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭orm0nd

we blocked up limerick city on the 8th Dec. ( forget the year possibly early 80's ) a few nuffields and Mf 65's & a large number of foot soldiers,

initially it was thought the crowd was small but ppl were late arriving due to traffic and parking problems , so we were told to walk 5 abreast with a metre either side and front and back of you to
    made the parade look big

great support from the culchie shoppers in town for the day, a city jackeen started shouting abuse , our club chairman was in the row in front of me and clocked your man with a left hook that conor mcgregor would have been proud of, 2 guardai just turned the other way

great crack later and a few pubs gave out free soup and sandwiches

• Registered Users Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭mf240

Is there any chance of protests returning.

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭gerryirl

mf240 wrote: »

is there any chance of getting a few cattle killed :D

mf240 wrote: »
    Hopefully not as I wasn't in favour with the last ones due to the timing. I'm not a member of the Beef Plan/Independent Farmers Movement but two of their members still have High Court injunctions hanging over their heads that were instigated by C&G Foods in Longford. C&G Foods are not members of MII (Meat Industry Ireland) but the company is owned by Larry Goodman's group of companies and one would have thought that those injunctions would have been wiped out after the recent agreement.

Joe Healy (IFA) has stated that unless those injunctions are removed then the Beef Taskforce talks will not take place.

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭gerryirl

Its right up MII's alley for the talk not to take place but having said that Id rather the injuctions were gone. No one wants that over there heads.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Sure aren't the Chinese going to buy all our beef now?

We'll all be millionaires this time next year rodders!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,142 ✭✭✭✭Water John

They're taking our pigs already. Not sure of the wealth.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭kk.man

gerryirl wrote: »
    Its right up MII's alley for the talk not to take place but having said that Id rather the injuctions were gone. No one wants that over there heads.

I believe the verbal abuse directed at Larry outside the department was atrocious from the protestors. There is a difference between a strike and personal abuse.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭alps

Just in time for dairy calf sales....yippeeee

My prediction is that the Chinese interests will buy up the main three processors within the next 5 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,300 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

If China eats beef like the yanks do, they will eat every piece of beef that is exported In the world.

African Swine fever is taking out the main source of protein In the world.

Beef is a smaller player in global meat.

The killing of half the pigs in China is bigger than every beef animal in Europe and North America dying.

It certainly take a the pressure off.

Base price wrote: »
    My prediction is that the Chinese interests will buy up the main three processors within the next 5 years.

Up until the pork problem in China I would have said that was unlikely. However I’d not be surprised.
    It would be more their style to own full production systems so they may want to own a bunch of feedlots too to control supplies. I do not see the Chinese being the saviour of Irish beef. They may need us temporarily but it’s not their style to rely on buying processed food.

I would wonder if they are going spending money would they not buy up production systems in places like Romania where no doubt better value is likely.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,196 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Just reading the FI. MII claimed only 5% of cattle slaughtered originated from factory feedlots. However the Department of Agriculture says that about 18% of the kill is from factory owned and controlled feedlots.

So much for being told that they could not control price from there own feedlots.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 13,300 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Up until the pork problem in China I would have said that was unlikely. However I’d not be surprised.
    It would be more their style to own full production systems so they may want to own a bunch of feedlots too to control supplies. I do not see the Chinese being the saviour of Irish beef. They may need us temporarily but it’s not their style to rely on buying processed food.

I would wonder if they are going spending money would they not buy up production systems in places like Romania where no doubt better value is likely.

They'll buy both.

The scale of China is impossible for us to understand.

If the a average Chinese person lives like the average Irish person, nevermind the shop crazy yanks, they'll need most of the resources on the planet.

If they live like the average American, another planet would be needed, and we all know hard it is to get extra land.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Danzy wrote: »
    They'll buy both.

If the a average Chinese person lives like the average Irish person, nevermind the shop crazy yanks, they'll need most of the resources on the planet.

If they live like the average American, another planet would be needed, and we all know hard it is to get extra land.

Trumps tariffs are hitting them hard, they arent creating the vast wealth to acquire foreign assets like before, one of the main reasons for swine flu decimating their pig herd was the fact central government didn't provide enough funding to the provinces to compensate farmers for lost stock so instead of pigs been burned and buried they entered the food chain and this caused the disease to become a epidemic and spread like wildfire

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

They'll buy both.

Very hard to get your head around the numbers involved alright. Roughly 300 million people are expected to move from rural China (towns, villages, etc.) to their big cities in the next 5 years. That's like everyone in Europe upping sticks and moving to the Middle-East (if my figures are right).

Leaving the scale of China aside, has there been any info released on what type of cuts our fantastic processors will be supplying them? Will it be value or volume? And will the farmer get anything either way, apart from the usual pat on the head and a sense of everyone smirking behind his back?

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 11,064 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Just reading the FI. MII claimed only 5% of cattle slaughtered originated from factory feedlots. However the Department of Agriculture says that about 18% of the kill is from factory owned and controlled feedlots.

So much for being told that they could not control price from there own feedlots.

Creed has fecked up again, Agriland reported mths ago that 18% of cattle were from 'Restricted' feedlots..... as in those with feedlot status.
    Bit of a coincidence or a f...up by Creed, it wouldn't be the first time

They'll buy both.

While there would be a section of society that would afford some beef the average Chinese person live lives in relative poverty compared to westerners. They will not be buying much if any beef.

I can see chicken and duck bolstering their diet in the absence of pork. In the average restaurant it’s pork, chicken, duck and fish. I think we only had beef in one restaurant and that was hot pot in Beijing.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,196 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

wrangler wrote: »
    Creed has fecked up again, Agriland reported mths ago that 18% of cattle were from 'Restricted' feedlots..... as in those with feedlot status.
    Bit of a coincidence or a f...up by Creed, it wouldn't be the first time

There is a difference between restricted Feedlots and factory controlled feedlots. You can be restricted and still independent. Factory controlled are feedlotd were the owner is contracted and factories control the killing time

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

They'll buy both.

Most of the arable land on earth is under used, there is no shortage of good farmland and i don't mean in war torn parts of Africa

China becoming more consumer oriented won't make any difference to either beef or land prices in this country

Brian - the German farmers must have been reading your comment yesterday ;)
    https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/german-farmers-take-to-roads-in-extensive-tractor-protests/

• Registered Users Posts: 11,064 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

There is a difference between restricted Feedlots and factory controlled feedlots. You can be restricted and still independent. Factory controlled are feedlotd were the owner is contracted and factories control the killing time

Creed has mixed the two, it's too much of a coincident that 18% applies to both restricted and factory controlled.
    30000 cattle per month was coming from feedlots earlier in the year and that includes all feedlots and that's about 18% of the kill

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/nearly-30000-cattle-per-month-originating-from-controlled-finishing-units-in-2019/

Creeds got it wrong...... again