Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What will your Christmas be like this year?

• 25-09-2020 12:46am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭

After the year we've had (and are still having), what kind of Christmas are you in the mood for/ planning? I've heard some people have started shopping online already. Who knows what way the pubs will be. Probably won't be any office Christmas parties!

I know it sounds terrible, but I'm not really even in the mood for Christmas this year and wouldn't mind if it was just cancelled, and we had a big hooley in 2021! We had our first child this year, and OH's family still haven't met her, because of covid (they live abroad), and I just feel so sad about that :(

In the past, I would have been into buying lots of presents for close family and sometimes lost the run of myself. This year, I can't be bothered trying to get lots of gifts online. I've already floated the idea of just one gift each and everyone is in agreement. Christmas day, just have a nice meal and a bottle of wine. It's definitely going to be simple and low key for us - perhaps it should have been like that all along! :D

What are other people's plans/ feelings?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee

Home Alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Antares35 wrote: »
    After the year we've had (and are still having), what kind of Christmas are you in the mood for/ planning? I've heard some people have started shopping online already. Who knows what way the pubs will be. Probably won't be any office Christmas parties!

I know it sounds terrible, but I'm not really even in the mood for Christmas this year and wouldn't mind if it was just cancelled, and we had a big hooley in 2021! We had our first child this year, and OH's family still haven't met her, because of covid (they live abroad), and I just feel so sad about that :(

In the past, I would have been into buying lots of presents for close family and sometimes lost the run of myself. This year, I can't be bothered trying to get lots of gifts online. I've already floated the idea of just one gift each and everyone is in agreement. Christmas day, just have a nice meal and a bottle of wine. It's definitely going to be simple and low key for us - perhaps it should have been like that all along! :D

What are other people's plans/ feelings?

It will be different. And low key, yes.

But it's even more important to celebrate during hard times. Most of us are virgins at hard times. Christmas during hard times (the 80s or the 50s for the really seasoned Boardsies) were all the more special because of Hard Times.
    Hey it's the stuff of Dickens.

Congrats on the baby. Extract the joy out of life. What will be, will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,353 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Full lockdown. Even the people who live here won’t be allowed in.

Gonna be the perfect Xmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Hopefully heavy snow from the 22nd of December with power failures sorta mixed in with a die hard scenario.
    I have a stove and I'm gona burn everything, neighbours fences , sheds ,gates and so on.

More realistically, I'm rostered in work over the Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭NSAman

Will be stuck in the US not having seen my family for a year ... with elderly mam that is difficult. She has already started lamenting the fact that I won’t be home at Christmas. We always travel to Ireland at Christmas it’s a tradition and has been that was since I started living abroad 20 years ago.

With lots of family turmoil this year thanks to deaths and illness, it’s going to be difficult not being there. Just hoping that things change enough so that we can all be together.. fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,031 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

An Ri rua wrote: »
    It will be different. And low key, yes.

But it's even more important to celebrate during hard times. Most of us are virgins at hard times. Christmas during hard times (the 80s or the 50s for the really seasoned Boardsies) were all the more special because of Hard Times.
    Hey it's the stuff of Dickens.

Even during the worse of the recessions in the past you could go visit friends and relatives. This year we won't be able to do anything social inside or outside so can't be compared to what anyone has experienced before. No pubs, parties, people coming home from abroad and most likely no mass!

Hopefully the only thing special about this Christmas is that it's a once off. There won't be a widely available vaccine for a few years so the restrictions could be in place till there is one, that's if they can make one since some people have got Corvid-19 twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,532 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I hope it will be low key, some good food, a few drinks and a chance to relax in the darkest days of winter.

I'd like to be able to have a couple of nights out with friends and family, nothing crazy, just a few hours of comfortable drinking and chatting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Del2005 wrote: »
    Even during the worse of the recessions in the past you could go visit friends and relatives. This year we won't be able to do anything social inside or outside so can't be compared to what anyone has experienced before. No pubs, parties, people coming home from abroad and most likely no mass!

Hopefully the only thing special about this Christmas is that it's a once off. There won't be a widely available vaccine for a few years so the restrictions could be in place till there is one, that's if they can make one since some people have got Corvid-19 twice.

That's that damned bird flu??

Point taken but, again, most of us are virgins to hard times. Hard times is war, not just less money for pints...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

My Dad won't be here to celebrate Christmas with the traditional family gathering. Despite being divorced with my mother now for the past decade, and is in his 70s, he still comes along every year from abroad. But thanks to COVID-19 he can't come. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

I'd like a regular, normal Christmas. Eggnog, a f***in' Christmas tree, a little turkey...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

I think a lot depends on what kind of Christmas people have.

- If you have a Christmas which you see as downtime within the family unit with nice food/wine and outdoor walks and TV binging with some family visits then it will probably not be hugely different to normal.

- For people who have family coming home and big family gatherings it will be a tough one.

- For people who love the work Lunches , parties and big nights out, it will be a much quieter one. For people who dislike this side of things then maybe they will be happier.

I do think that there needs to be a proper plan in respect to places of worship this Christmas. Closing churches at Christmas after Easter was shut will be tough for many people with strong faith as well as the a la cartes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Humberto Salazar

No drunken work parties, no uncomfortable company lunches with dry turkey and ham. Sounds good to me. I will thoroughly enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭The Young Wan

Unless things seriously cop on, I'll be stuck abroad having not seen my family all year. My country of residence was on the green list but will be taken off on Monday, so I can't even take the week I was planning to go over and see everyone

Same as every year. A non-event in a country that doesn't care about it. Will have less pangs of home sickness this year I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭mojesius

Low-key, Christmas movies on tv, M&S food in the oven job.

We're moving into our new home early December and will have a 2 month old and a 3 year old so I ain't trekking around anywhere or having loads of people over. We'll do the place up nice and festive though! Very excited 😄

Can hopefully get to the parents for the day, that's all that matters. We'll put a tree up in our own house and all too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

I like a quiet Christmas so no change. A rest in midwinter.
    I was thinking of putting lights on a few outdoor trees. Have not done it before. The lights are one of my favourite things. Maybe if everyone did a couple of trees in their gardens with lights this year it would be cheering for all of us. Tasteful now, people. Delicate little twinkling stars here and there. Don't go overboard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

An Ri rua wrote: »
    That's that damned bird flu??

Point taken but, again, most of us are virgins to hard times. Hard times is war, not just less money for pints...

There are plenty of examples of “hard times”, not just war. The fall out from this situation in terms of loss of life and businesses (globally) is beyond a war (with exception to the obvious ones). The controls of people can and can’t do is beyond those of wartime. The lives people have now compared to those of wartime (assuming you mean WWI & II) are vastly different, and then they could go see people and socialise without restriction. I know what you’re getting at, but hey it’s all crap and at the end of the day, it’s gonna be a quiet Christmas. Just be thankful if you have people around you and think of all the families missing someone at their table due to the pandemic and any other reason for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

I think Christmas 2020 will be as miserable as it always is. Horrible time of year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

Its the kids i feel sorry for. No santa visits...st a cerrtain age that magical. Had planned to take the newphew to the panto this year for his birthday o well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭screamer

My Christmas will be as it always is- what I make it. For me it’s not about work parties or pub crawls or even piles of stuff. It’s downtime with my family, about the only real time we have off together in a year, and I love it for just that peace and quiet, to be thankful for the past year and hopeful for the next. Christmas cocooning about describes it, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’ll make sure the lights are nicer and brighter than ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

People will have to get creative this year ...
    We started getting bits and Bob's for kids ..

I know our kids wont miss much of the stuff outside anyway.... they love the decorating of the house and making things.

It's no bother for people like me with young family s .... we can make our own Christmas..... I feel sorry for the young people.....

When I was in my 20s i loved christmas and partying , flirting with the young ladies at the work partys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,906 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Hopefully not as painful than it normally is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,551 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Dreading this Christmas. Always a drama and this year more so no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Baybay

Always have a drinks party at home on Dec 23 & while I enjoy hosting it, I don’t think I’ll miss the preparation on top of all the other Christmas bits to do.
    Not too bothered about pubs although it is nice sometimes to see who’s home etc.
    Forgot about mass last year... so possibly won’t miss going to that either.
    Really won’t miss the pressure to invite extended family members for Christmas. It’d be grand if they came for dinner, a movie then home but they’re a bit far away so it tends to be a two or three day thing.
    But I’m really looking forward to being with our own little family, the inventiveness of the gifts bought for under a pre agreed low set price, twinkling lights everywhere & we all love to cook, sit, drink wine, chat, sing & play cards.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Heap of cans watching Die Hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Feck Christmas, what about Halloween??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

I call that Friday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

screamer wrote: »
    My Christmas will be as it always is- what I make it. For me it’s not about work parties or pub crawls or even piles of stuff. It’s downtime with my family, about the only real time we have off together in a year, and I love it for just that peace and quiet, to be thankful for the past year and hopeful for the next. Christmas cocooning about describes it, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’ll make sure the lights are nicer and brighter than ever.

Perfect expression! And a wonderful post. I have been doing that for many years. I made my peace about many things way back and truly enjoy the time and yes the reflection. And the true meaning of it all. And honouring the memories of loved ones long gone. And if there are tears? Fine.

Just me and the cats.

And yes to lights! And a huge star on the driveway.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

A Die Hard 1 & 2 double bill for me. The second is off the pace of course. But John McClane at Christmas all the same.

Ho Ho Ho.

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭niallo76

screamer wrote: »

lovely description of Christmas,it is what you make it,exactly!.

Still hate the 2020 term cocooning tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

niallo76 wrote: »

Still hate the 2020 term cocooning tho...

Why? Mine is snug and safe, warm and cosy. Peaceful. And a cocoon is also a place to grow and develop? Perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭RGARDINR

Probably won't be as many Santa's in shopping centres etc. Say kids at one side of room etc. Won't be allowed sit on Santa's lap incase poor santa has it.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Gruffalox wrote: »
    I like a quiet Christmas so no change. A rest in midwinter.
    I was thinking of putting lights on a few outdoor trees. Have not done it before. The lights are one of my favourite things. Maybe if everyone did a couple of trees in their gardens with lights this year it would be cheering for all of us. Tasteful now, people. Delicate little twinkling stars here and there. Don't go overboard!

*puts away Flashing Neon Plastic Santa*

Apart from maybe Santa's grotto and going ice skating changing this year, it's not going to be a whole lot different to our usual Christmas.

We downsized Christmas some years ago. Both of us have leave from Christmas eve to new year so it's a good break and downtime to hang out with each other. Adult do a Kris kringle, and children get a gift from their godparents only. I do everything ahead of time (baked Christmas cakes last night) so that by 23rd, all the food is in, presents are got and the 24th can be spent indoors not having to battle Christmas crowds. Santa doesn't go overboard either. A main present, a surprise and a stocking. Then with a present from mum and dad & either grandparents too, that's loads!

We get a real tree, I love the smell. And every year I buy one or two ornaments for it that best reflects the year - I've already got one for this year.

Christmas eve is spent sipping mulled wine and assembling a gingerbread house, board games and maybe snuggle up for a movie. Christmas day is all about food. I like cooking and like to make as much of the food as I can from scratch. And trifle for breakfast St.Stephens day. Obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Neyite wrote: »
    *puts away Flashing Neon Plastic Santa*

Apart from maybe Santa's grotto and going ice skating changing this year, it's not going to be a whole lot different to our usual Christmas.

We downsized Christmas some years ago. Both of us have leave from Christmas eve to new year so it's a good break and downtime to hang out with each other. Adult do a Kris kringle, and children get a gift from their godparents only. I do everything ahead of time (baked Christmas cakes last night) so that by 23rd, all the food is in, presents are got and the 24th can be spent indoors not having to battle Christmas crowds. Santa doesn't go overboard either. A main present, a surprise and a stocking. Then with a present from mum and dad & either grandparents too, that's loads!

We get a real tree, I love the smell. And every year I buy one or two ornaments for it that best reflects the year - I've already got one for this year.

Christmas eve is spent sipping mulled wine and assembling a gingerbread house, board games and maybe snuggle up for a movie. Christmas day is all about food. I like cooking and like to make as much of the food as I can from scratch. And trifle for breakfast St.Stephens day. Obviously.

You have a flashing neon plastic Santa!!! :eek:

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I'll be working. This is one year I don't mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭sekond

Our Christmas is fairly quiet in recent years. Nice food, plenty of walks and films. The occasional board game ir jigsaw if the weather is bad. Only one big family gathering that may not happen for other reasons anyway.

We were meant to go to my Mum's on Christmas Day this year but will try to persuade her to come to us instead, because that way she won't get paranoid about wiping down every surface we might have touched.

The only complications I can see are the she doesn't like to stay long when she visits anywhere these days, and prefers to sit near an open door or window, which wont be too cozy at Christmas, and sitting together watching TV could be hard because she flinches when the kids come within about 3 metres of her.

Run my model railway. I even have the Coca Cola Christmas Trainset. Better to put in the front window that the Christmas Tree.

Oh, and ofcourse following self-conferred "Toyman's" exploits on the Late Late Toy Show here on boards - not watching or recording the show itself. Can't stand the sage sounding little %&*&s reeling off their piséogs and the other dancing crowd which take up half the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,146 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

I'm looking forward to a very quiet Christmas with my wife and two kids. Normally its a big hoohaa either with either my family or my wife's.

This year we've already decided we're just going to our own thing and then there's no stress regardless of whatever happens.

Can't wait for it. Its looking like Santa will be bringing Lego so that guarantees me quality time with the kids!

Edit: I'm currently unemployed and have plenty of time so instead of Christmas lights this year, I'm putting up "Winter Lights" in October. Spread a bit cheer!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Will be grand. Honestly, it's about time we got over the spending splurge at Christmas. There's nothing wrong with it but people act like it HAS TO BE DONE and that hell will freeze over if they don't. Need to stop seeing being good with spending. I know there's a buzz to it as well but come on, let's use this Christmas to chill the **** out. Will be nice to have a Christmas which doesn't revolve around endless nights out

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I will think about it after Halloween thank you.

The leaves are still on the trees people.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

Christmas Day itself won't be that different. We started doing our own thing for Christmas years ago - Husband, Kids & I.
    I am glad of that especially this year. Some years we have had friends over for the Dinner. This year we won't have anyone over. It will be unlikely that we will go to Mass though we would normally at Christmas.
    The Kids are too old for Santa so we don't need to worry about that.

So it will be a quiet one with good food and nice wine and gifts for each other. A long walk hopefully, tv and board games and Lego.

We normally go to my Mum's for New Years. She is elderly and lives 3.5 hours drive from us. With the way things are looking, we are unlikely to go.
    We didn't go last year as we all got sick with a flu-type thing.
    She will miss having us all but she is a practical woman and has lived through greater hardship than this.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,483 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Ush1 wrote: »
    Feck Christmas, what about Halloween??
    *dusts down very old joke*

Why do programmers always get Christmas and Halloween mixed up?

A: Because DEC 25 = OCT 31.

In other news those money grabbing sons of bachelor SONY already have Sony Xmas and +1 on Freesat 304/5 and Brown Thomas have Christmas shop open. Christmas is now like the Hobbit movies. The original story was good but it was a short story and diluting it ruins it. “I am old, Gandalf. I don't look it, but I am beginning to feel it in my heart of hearts. Well-preserved indeed! Why, I feel all thin, sort of stretched, if you know what I mean: like butter that has been scraped over too much bread. That can't be right. I need a change, or something.”
    https://tolkieneditor.wordpress.com/ - there's aversion of The Hobbit trimmed down a lot.

Best Christmas ever was the one after I graduated. It was amazing.

Because every Christmas before that was a time of studying and feeling guilty because I wasn't studying enough for the January exams.

Like that Belgian town Christmas should be banned until the last two weeks of December. Otherwise it's just overpriced merchandising because lots of the stuff will be cheaper a week later.

BTW and you want to order crap from China now is the time, before the Christmas rush and the new International Postal Union rates apply.

Well the goose I have been feeding for months is not getting pardoned anyway. So have to find some people to feed.

Never did any kind of Santa at home or in shops or grottos with the kids so don't have to be concerned with any of that either luckily.

So I guess this christmas will be the same as any other - though slightly less sociable involving some less people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

The exact same one as last year. A lovely quiet one with just my own little family. I wouldn't have it any other way. CoVid will have zero effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭Olivia Pope

I just hope I can spend the day with my parents as I have every Christmas of my life. If they restrict how many siblings/households (we all live in diff counties) can mix in one house it will make for an interesting decision making process. That's assuming that we can travel from county to county. For me Christmas is about family, food and wine really. As in the four or five days around Christmas day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,002 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Christmas Day is very overrated. Kids will enjoy it once you look out for them. Adults need to be adults and behave accordingly. It is one flipping day.

By all means eat and drink what you want, do the Royle Family thing and slump on the sofa, but it is just another day really.

I'd be more concerned about the dog days after THE day, you know, when nothing happens and the only thing to do is go to town and shop in the sales or whatever. Can't see the sales being a thing this year. Not that I care, never subscribed anyway. Just saying.

Our family never did the big get togethers anyway since our parents died, we now rotate a morning meet up with nibbles and whatever and float back to our own traditional day. Works perfectly. There is nothing worse than being stuck in someone else's house for hours on end and wishing you were in your own house. Just me I suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

I love Christmas, always have. Haven’t done the whole 12 pubs thing since I had kids, just our family and visits to the siblings and in laws, this year will be no different for us than any other year. Family time, food and films.

I’ve started to pick up small bits for the kids, early but Ken blacks and argos start there toy sales around now and hard not to get sucked into it, saving a few euros on stuff so don’t really mind.

Last year the bishop held a children’s mass on Christmas Eve and I’m the same as most people I’d say when it comes to mass but it was genuinely magical, there is nothing like seeing over a hundred kids trying to sit still on Christmas Eve to bring it all to life, the bishop sang jingle bells and the like, it really was an amazing community gathering and beat any reunion I’ve ever had over the years with friends at Christmas, seeing people I grew up with their own kids and families, it made the day.. that I guess won’t happen this year... but sure it will be special all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Mine will be the same as the last few years, staying put and enjoying it with the kids. Haven't been back in Ireland for Christmas in 5 years. Too much hassle, we would rotate between 3 sets of families every 3 years and it was a pain. Cold weather, delayed/cancelled flights, dragging presents, getting stuck in airports, family arguments depending where we were. F*ck all that, now I sit here, put up the tree, good food, go the the xmas markets and have fun with the kids without any stress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,280 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Well the goose I have been feeding for months is not getting pardoned anyway. So have to find some people to feed.

Never did any kind of Santa at home or in shops or grottos with the kids so don't have to be concerned with any of that either luckily.

So I guess this christmas will be the same as any other - though slightly less sociable involving some less people.
    I forgot that Santa's grotto will be redundant this year.
    A lot of businesses depend hugely on festival like events around Santa visiting.

To thine own self be true