Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So my boss is a psycho......

• 28-06-2020 8:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 10,503 ✭✭✭✭

Any advice?

So I’ve worked in this place for over two decades, the company was sold a few months back and my new boss is bat**** crazy.

He says things, then says that he never said it. He tried to change all our terms and conditions including pay related terms- I refused but some younger staff went along with it. He makes decisions that are at best a bit odd, at worst making our work place dangerous for us and customers. He’s constantly watching us on cctv and has installed voice recording equipment. He remotely monitors all phone calls and computer access (this one is probably not that unusual but it is to us).

Anyway, at the start of May he allocated my main job to others, without any communication with me. He then changed all passwords etc so I couldn’t even access the system to do this job. This has caused huge stress to me and to other staff that now have to do that job with little experience.
    Roll on to last Friday, this job wasn’t finished by a staff member as they didn’t get time. The staff member thought that they informed another staff member of this but staff member 2 is saying they didn’t. Obviously a communication error. Anyway my boss then rings me at home on Friday evening to shout at me on the phone about this job not being completed and that I should have made sure that it was completed even though he blocked me from this job two months ago!

Sorry for the really long post, my actual question is what should I do tomorrow when he starts giving out again? Should I get up and leave or would that be worse for me? I don’t want to be pushed into a situation where I end up shouting and then looking like the psycho bitch!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

Sadb wrote: »
    Any advice?

So I’ve worked in this place for over two decades, the company was sold a few months back and my new boss is bat**** crazy.

He says things, then says that he never said it. He tried to change all our terms and conditions including pay related terms- I refused but some younger staff went along with it. He makes decisions that are at best a bit odd, at worst making our work place dangerous for us and customers. He’s constantly watching us on cctv and has installed voice recording equipment. He remotely monitors all phone calls and computer access (this one is probably not that unusual but it is to us).

Anyway, at the start of May he allocated my main job to others, without any communication with me. He then changed all passwords etc so I couldn’t even access the system to do this job. This has caused huge stress to me and to other staff that now have to do that job with little experience.
    Roll on to last Friday, this job wasn’t finished by a staff member as they didn’t get time. The staff member thought that they informed another staff member of this but staff member 2 is saying they didn’t. Obviously a communication error. Anyway my boss then rings me at home on Friday evening to shout at me on the phone about this job not being completed and that I should have made sure that it was completed even though he blocked me from this job two months ago!

Sorry for the really long post, my actual question is what should I do tomorrow when he starts giving out again? Should I get up and leave or would that be worse for me? I don’t want to be pushed into a situation where I end up shouting and then looking like the psycho bitch!!!

Sounds mad! I wouldnt do anything for the moment, if leaving is an option you might as well mess with his head

• Registered Users Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Any advice?

Do you have a HR department? Make notes of everything and contact them

• Registered Users Posts: 10,503 ✭✭✭✭Sadb

Do you have a HR department? Make notes of everything and contact them

We don’t, we are a very small business.

We did have a meeting with a hr person as we had got to the stage where we weren’t speaking to each other. Since then we are speaking but he has not yet reinstated my duties or given me passwords etc.

That’s why it’s completely baffling to me that he chose to blame this debacle on me. Obviously he just wants rid of me and he thinks this is the way to do it.

I have 26 pages of incidents noted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

We don’t, we are a very small business.

We did have a meeting with a hr person as we had got to the stage where we weren’t speaking to each other. Since then we are speaking but he has not yet reinstated my duties or given me passwords etc.

That’s why it’s completely baffling to me that he chose to blame this debacle on me. Obviously he just wants rid of me and he thinks this is the way to do it.

I have 26 pages of incidents noted!
    Have you said anything to him about it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

You hold all the cards. You are there 10 years. Get your contract from 10 years ago, lawyer up and start going through the grievance proceedure. He is 100% in the wrong already but clearly such a dick that he can be relied on to make everything worse for himself.

armaghlad wrote: »
    Have you said anything to him about it?

Yes, it was the main issue of the meeting, and I have the minutes stating it. He said that other people doing the job worked better for him (complete bs and now the **** has hit the fan it’s my fault again) but I do have the proof that this job was removed from my responsibility.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Irishphotodesk

Truthvader wrote: »
    You hold all the cards. You are there 10 years. Get your contract from 10 years ago, lawyer up and start going through the grievance proceedure. He is 100% in the wrong already but clearly such a dick that he can be relied on to make everything worse for himself.

Op says over 2 decades... so minimum 20years, I doubt they still have their original contract, if they even got one.

Keep your notes OP, if your boss starts shouting, be prepared to walk away from the situation, but be careful not to shout back, if necessary phone into your own voicemail or use your phone as a recording device, just to have extra evidence.

It’s possible that the new manager may be struggling with their role and their method of getting stuff done is to shout and intimidate staff through fear, however in modern society this is not an acceptable form of encouragement in an office environment, it may have been effective for him in the past but not acceptable.

It’s over 20 years I’ve worked there. Ya, I think this will be my only option tomorrow, get out of there and get a solicitor.

Everyone else is wrong is his attitude. He has made very questionable changes, he’s breaking several laws, He is the epitome of the saying “cutting off your nose to spite your face”.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

It could possibly be heading towards a constructive dismissal type scenario especially with taking duties off you without proper notice or discussion.

As others have said , Speak to a specialist solicitor who knows employment law well. Keep making your notes, i would be using my phone to record any meetings , just have a mess around with it so you know how it works before you try it tomorrow. Dont give them any reason to doubt you for a second that you are carrying on as normal.

But get legal advice as soon as possible , no job is worth your mental health.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Things won't change. If it get to a stage where you are hating the job just leave. life is short to be spending a lot of it unhappy

• Registered Users Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Op says over 2 decades... so minimum 20 years............

, if necessary phone into your own voicemail or use your phone as a recording device, just to have extra evidence. .

He might be working there 20 years but I'm sure he's upgrading his phone since then :-) ...

Still... if his boss is as bad as he sounds, recording some interactions would be good advice...

Any android or apple phone will have a dedicated recording feature...

And don't listen to anyone who's says it's not legal to record people without their knowledge, it is perfectly fine, and has been debated to death each time it comes up on boards...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Definitely don't leave, do a work to rule, where you do your job to the letter each day (as best you can with resources at your disposal) and go home afterwards and forget about it. Log everything, keep your cool, you're in the right here and as you said you hold all the cards especially because you've been documenting everything. If you're unfairly dismissed you'll be in a very good position when you speak to the WRC. If you're offered a nice redundancy package, take it and flee far from there. With two decades experience you'll stroll into similar work.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,779 ✭✭✭amacca

Yes, it was the main issue of the meeting, and I have the minutes stating it. He said that other people doing the job worked better for him (complete bs and now the **** has hit the fan it’s my fault again) but I do have the proof that this job was removed from my responsibility.

He sounds like an irrational loon....if he prevented you fro. Doing the job the lads blame at your door when it's not done then he's got something going on

Occasionally though bullies act this way too and when you stand up to them (firmly calmly without doing anything actionable and in public with witnesses) they never bother you again and move on to the next victim they use to keep everyone in line.

Your best bet is document gather evidence and then fight your corner imo

• Registered Users Posts: 42 conndeal

Dont walk out unless you intend to leave permanently. How will you come back again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

It’s over 20 years I’ve worked there. Ya, I think this will be my only option tomorrow, get out of there and get a solicitor.

Everyone else is wrong is his attitude. He has made very questionable changes, he’s breaking several laws, He is the epitome of the saying “cutting off your nose to spite your face”.

Do not get out of there on any account. Even if you want to leave. Go on stress/ sicky if you have to. If you have 20 years incident free service the problem and the cosequences are 100% his. No reason for you to go anywhere. Stand your ground. It will cheer you up no end. Call lawyer.

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭chrisd2019

Had a boss like yours previously, I eventually moved on on my own terms and when I had the right position, do not leave until ready, but turn this situation to your advantage.
    Like in my case I suspect your boss is acting this way as he does not have the knowledge or skill or peoples management knowledge to act in any other way.
    Use your 20 years knowledge to your advantage.

In my case I set up a personal diary for myself on my PC and recorded any relevant matters, I would reread it regularly to keep fresh about the situation and laugh at how some situations had evolved.

Communicate in writing as much as possible and do not be afraid to put the hard stuff in writing, such as the current matter he phoned you about, not your fault he reassigned work and it not done correctly.

If your boss is not the company owner or head man on site, make contact with this person in a professional manner about relevant business matters, in this way build trust above your manager in case you need to report him later.

Regarding out of hours calls, my policy is always not to answer unless I am expecting the call. Let it go to voice mail then decide to call back or not. People calling you about urgent matters will always leave a voice mail!

Good luck at the interview, interviews are the same now as 20 years ago, know your CV, know your strengths and weaknesses and know how you can fulfill the role you are applying for.

PS: do some research on your new boss, his previous positions, you never know what useful info you might find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Op says over 2 decades... so minimum 20years, I doubt they still have their original contract, if they even got one.
    That doesn't matter. The roles assumed over the years become Contract by Practice. Over such a period of time many changes happen but don't typically involve getting a rewritten contract, hence Contract by Practice. I have personally benefitted from this.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,711 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

True, but it depends on the situation.

Is the manager an employee, or is he actually the company owner?

If the latter, then an employment claim (along with stupid business decisions and the current economic situation) might just cause the company to fold, meaning that everyone loses their jobs, and there's no money to pay the compensation which is awarded to the OP. If so, then I'd be more inclined to just find a better place to go to - the grief involved in a claim won't be worth it.

(And for those thinking that a company owner wouldn't be that mad - yes they can be. I briefly worked for a guy like that in a family business. Goodness only knows how he's still in business.)

So after all that he didn’t say anything to me today which I’m sure is some other sort of power play!

He’s the owner unfortunately and tbh I don’t think he’ll be in business long.

On a positive note my interview today went well so fingers crossed.

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Diziet

It's good that you are keeping notes. Please continue to do so and do not keep them in the office.

It is good practice to document what your boss instructs you to do in an email.
    EG
    Dear <boss>,
    Just confirming our conversation earlier. You instructed me to no longer deal with xyz and removed my access to the system as of <date>. I will continue with my remaining duties. Please let me know if anything changes.
    regards
    <yourself>

Do this, in a very neutral way, absolutely no recrimination, in as few words as possible after every conversation. If he changes his mind, confirm by email in the same way, eg 'as of <date> you instructed me to resume xyz'.
    If he calls you at home to shout at you, respond by email the next day 'on <date> I received a call from you to say I had not done xyz. However according to your instruction on <date> I was no longer responsible or enabled to carry out these duties. Please let me know how such a situation can be avoided in future'.

You get the gist. Leave any aggressive words out and also leave any apologetic words out. No 'I am sorry that', etc.

Print all emails and responses at the end of each day and take them home to file chronologically. This will be very important if and when it becomes legal.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I experienced a similar situation when I worked for a small business but I wasn't as lucky to have the experience you did and I didn't have the presence of mind to record much at all. I can't offer you much advice, but I really hope it works out for you because I remember how I alone I felt.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

Start keeping a journal with times and dates of all of this crazyness- something tells me you are going to have to call on it