Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Nature in the News

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

New Home wrote: »
    Could it have eaten something nasty while in the Liffey, or could pollution have harmed it? Or could it have collided with something?
    Turns out it was a juvenile Fin.

My guess is that it got lost and hanging around these parts would not have been able to get enough food especially on its own, so starved directly to death or became so disoriented resulting in collision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/woodland-charity-faces-crippling-bills-as-its-forced-to-defend-personal-injury-claim-38568692.html

charity that preserves Ireland's woodlands is facing crippling legal bills as it is being forced to defend a personal injury claim in the High Court - despite the alleged accident not happening on its land.

The Native Woodland Trust is one of five groups joined in the proceedings after a woman claimed she injured herself while walking in Girley Bog, Athboy, Co Meath, in 2016.

She claims she lost her footing and fell on her right shoulder due to the "incomplete and unsafe nature of the walkway" in the bog land.

The High Court summons claims the walkway ended two metres short of where it was "designed or intended to and required the plaintiff to step off the walkway when it was dangerous to do so".

It also states she suffered a comminuted fracture, could not return to work for an extended period of time and continues to suffer from significant pain.
    Linda Lawlor, one of the trustees with the charity, emailed the plaintiff's solicitors providing proof that the alleged incident didn't happen on land owned by the Native Woodland Trust. The Google map co-ordinates show the alleged accident happened 1.4km away from any land owned by the trust. She also outlined how there is no boardwalk on any land owned by the trust.

However, the charity was still joined in proceedings and now Ms Lawlor fears for its survival.

The trust relies on public donations and has had to put projects on hold due to the ongoing legal case.

Its insurance has risen from €600 to €6,500 and a reserve of €50,000 has been put aside due to the pending personal injury claim. Speaking to the Irish Independent, Ms Lawlor said she was left with no option but to go public to highlight the charity's plight.

"We're running out of options and we've found it really hard to keep going with the day-to-day business," she said.

"We rely on donations and we can't afford to be spending those on High Court proceedings when the incident didn't even happen on our land. We weren't aware of any incident until we got a solicitor's letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kamili

I ws just reading that in the printed paper. Absolutely disgusting especially since it didn't even happen on their lands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

The same warning every year and still ignored.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2019/1007/1081558-deer-rutting-season-selfies/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,167 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Kamili wrote: »
    I ws just reading that in the printed paper. Absolutely disgusting especially since it didn't even happen on their lands.
    this is becoming an issue for any NGO/charity that owns land and wants to have it open to the public; public liability insurance as we all know, has gone through the roof.
    given that BWI's reserve in wicklow has a raised boardwalk, i suspect they'll be keeping an eye on this too.

this is becoming an issue for any NGO/charity that owns land and wants to have it open to the public; public liability insurance as we all know, has gone through the roof.
    given that BWI's reserve in wicklow has a raised boardwalk, i suspect they'll be keeping an eye on this too.

It really is, and doesn't help when politicians think its ok to make claims like this.

There will be nothing left open in the country in no time.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,020 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

I don't know how the Courts or the Gardaí or whoever was involved entertained the claim in the first place - I mean, if it didn't happen on their land, why pursuing it? It'd be like me getting my car scratched in a Dunnes car park, and suing Tesco on the other side of town! Preposterous.

New Home wrote: »
    I don't know how the Courts or the Gardaí or whoever was involved entertained the claim in the first place - I mean, if it didn't happen on their land, why pursuing it? It'd be like me getting my car scratched in a Dunnes car park, and suing Tesco on the other side of town! Preposterous.

It's a civil matter and the court will decide if any liability exists against any of the parties.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,167 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

not that is has any bearing on nature or the case above, but it's amazing how much people regard insurance companies like banks dishing out free money. a relative was recently involved in a low speed impact in a car, no-one injured, and when the car was taken to a (reputable!) garage for assessment, they were told it would cost €X to fix, but would charge 2x€X if the repair was being funded by an insurance claim. with no difference in how the repair was actually carried out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

There seems to be an ever increasing number of people exploring the countryside who shouldn't ever leave the safety of their own homes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,349 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Del.Monte wrote: »
    There seems to be an ever increasing number of people exploring the countryside who shouldn't ever leave the safety of their own homes.
    Ye don't wonder why farmers become concerned when they see trespassers on their land.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,069 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

Posters here might be interested in a current 'sponsored post' on boards - for crowdfunded journalism on specific topics - in this case it's the spate of councils cutting down trees across the country in the last year or two. See below for details:

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058021471&utm_source=sponsored_thread&utm_medium=forumview&utm_campaign=2058021471&utm_content=thread_title

Badger culls may help spread of TB

https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-49938943

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

That article may prove a lot of things. None of which are good for badgers.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,069 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

I think it's been mentioned elsewhere, but an American species - Least Bittern - was found in Kerry earlier this week, the first record for Ireland and only the 10th record for this side of the Atlantic. Quite an amazing find, though unfortunately the bird didn't survive the journey.

Covered in:

Irish Times - https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/us-heron-family-bird-blown-to-kerry-by-storm-lorenzo-1.4045592?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

Independent - https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/once-in-lifetime-rare-us-bird-dies-of-exhaustion-after-being-blown-across-atlantic-by-storm-38580495.html

325 million year old fossil fragments West Clare

https://www.rte.ie/news/munster/2019/1009/1082212-fossil-amphibian/

Granted West Clare wasn't really in West Clare then, but still...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Keplar240B

https://www.breitbart.com/environment/2019/10/03/study-chinese-cargo-ships-dump-73-trash-atlantic-ocean/
    International researchers estimate that as much as 73 percent of the garbage in the Atlantic Ocean originates from Chinese merchant vessels, Canada’s National Post reported on Tuesday.
    Researchers from Canada and South Africa studied waste washed up on the beaches of Inaccessible Island, an island in the heart of the southern Atlantic Ocean, on a series of trips that began in 1984. Nearly three-quarters of the trash they sifted through originated in Asia, produced by China. The research challenges long assumptions that plastic debris at sea primarily originates on land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Mr Crispy

Yeah, I won't be reading anything on Breitbart tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Brtfart pollution more like.

No click here.

if you search for the story, it's repeated on many other sources, including more reputable ones. not saying that means the information is correct, mind.
    https://www.newsweek.com/plastic-pollution-inaccessible-island-south-atlantic-chinese-ships-1462642

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Inaccessible, impossible if someone got there.

if you search for the story, it's repeated on many other sources, including more reputable ones. not saying that means the information is correct, mind.
    https://www.newsweek.com/plastic-pollution-inaccessible-island-south-atlantic-chinese-ships-1462642

The original source is the current issue of the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America

Abstract here:
    https://www.pnas.org/content/116/42/20892

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Currently, 75% of bottles are from Asia, with most from China. The recent manufacture dates indicate that few bottles could have drifted from Asia, and presumably are dumped from ships, in contravention of International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships regulations. Our results question the widely held assumption that most plastic debris at sea comes from land-based sources.
    Interesting bit of detective work.

But I'd dispute their broad conclusion "most plastic debris at sea" is dumped by Chinese cargo ships.

The findings only support a conclusion that "most plastic debris washed up on the beaches of Inaccessible Island" is dumped by Chinese cargo ships.
    Its an island in the heart of the southern Atlantic Ocean, far from any major habitation, but on a Chinese shipping route.
    Maybe they should have a look at the origins of the plastic washing up in Iceland next.

shipping-routes-from-China.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Nice photos. That's no fox though - I think its a steppe wolf.
    My favourite is the eagle. 3 years waiting for the right shot! That guy has patience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,135 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The ant photo looks like something from a nightmare!

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

recedite wrote: »
    Nice photos. That's no fox though - I think its a steppe wolf.
    My favourite is the eagle. 3 years waiting for the right shot! That guy has patience.

It's a Tibetan Sand Fox (Vulpes ferrilata).

Well spotted. It has the look of a small wolf or a jackal. Its amazing how many species and subspecies of wolves, jackals foxes etc. there are living around remote parts of Asia.

A new piece from BTO on garden bird feeding.

https://www.bto.org/community/blog/garden-birds-feed-or-not-feed?dm_i=IG4,6J7AM,4FJVVS,PYK0J,1

Some interesting responses to questions at the end of it.

Shark attack recently off the coast of Massachusetts; the victim died.
    This is where the Jaws movie was filmed - the Cape Cod/Martha's Vineyard area.
    There seems to be an increase in shark numbers in the area.
    https://www.cbsnews.com/news/cape-cod-shark-attack-friend-describes-attempt-to-save-screaming-victim/

Further indictment of our exploitation of peatland.

https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-50124001

Bears, Lynx, wolves, wild boar and more in Donegal.
    https://www.donegaldaily.com/2019/10/22/bears-in-burnfoot-what-a-wild-idea/

The wolves look like they are in nice condition, much better than the ones in Dublin zoo.

I applaud him but "releasing all these animals back in to nature" is overstating it somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Fair play to the guy and hopefully it will help to increase public appreciation of some of our lost natural heritage.

I applaud him but "releasing all these animals back in to nature" is overstating it somewhat.
    True, but its hard for one person to make a difference.
    I'd love to see this done on a larger scale, with state funding.
    Take over a large island somewhere, or fence off an entire peninsula. Plant it with native woodland and introduce all these animals. People could be let inside to explore it, at their own risk.
    After all, a hiker might encounter any of those animals while out walking in certain parts of Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Take over a large island somewhere, or fence off an entire peninsula. Plant it with native woodland and introduce all these animals. People could be let inside to explore it, at their own risk.
    After all, a hiker might encounter any of those animals while out walking in certain parts of Europe.

For your shining positivity and vision, thank you. Wish at these times I still had transport as I would be in my element there.. ah well!

T

I can already here the insurance implications and court cases from here unfortunately...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,487 ✭✭✭✭Alun

BBC News - Migrating Russian eagles run up huge data roaming charges
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-50180781

Alun wrote: »
    BBC News - Migrating Russian eagles run up huge data roaming charges
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-50180781

Hilarious! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,487 ✭✭✭✭Alun

You can follow them here ...

http://rrrcn.ru/ru/migration/se2018

I can already here the insurance implications and court cases from here unfortunately...

Not at all, with the correct precautions in professional hands . It is a wonderful idea and an extension of existing facilities. As the poster said clearly.

We grew up with Whipsnade in the UK so this idea is not new. Magical . I would be there like a shot. As would any real lover of wild life. What an experience.

Just been talking to family in Canada who opened the door to a bear today! Seeking food preparatory to hibernation....they get the occasional cougar too. All safe as they know how to act. Maybe use guides in your area here? Was deeply impressed a couple of years ago when we did a Hawk Walk with some US visitors, at the scale and range of knowledge of the handlers.

Thank you for this; you have cheered me greatly! "Be at peace with your dreams and visions.."TS Eliot

Yes absolutely. Let's be perfectly clear what we have here: The animals are in enclosures. These are not vast areas where they can roam and avoid people, if they were in the area. We're not talking about driving your car along roads winding through large open areas. A person 'trekking' into one of these enclosures would be, more or less, face to face with the animals, and on foot. Neither Insurance nor Health & Safety would countenance this. I have encountered Bears and Wolves in the wild; these pens are a different scenario altogether. This is not a wilderness setting.
    These animals will also not be hunting for their food - the prey is not there for the Wolves and there is insufficient in those pens for Bears to feed themselves.

It's a marvellous rescue for these animals, and I look forward to visiting for a look around, but they are neither released into the wild nor is it remotely feasible that anybody other than staff could safely enter the holding areas.

Brexit for the birds (of the Falkland Islands)?

https://www.bbc.com/news/newsbeat-50095808

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Brexit for the birds (of the Falkland Islands)?

https://www.bbc.com/news/newsbeat-50095808

Slow news day? Like something that one would come across on Yahoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Not only is farmed salmon bad for the environment , taking 1,000,000 wild wrasse to clean the lice of them is ridiculous. Man's greed is endless

https://donegalnews.com/2019/10/donegal-salmon-farms-confirm-use-of-cleaner-fish/?fbclid=IwAR1ROob7iEb5XkyLIxGGytxe3WRlflfB6Og3HLxqGJ7d9CRpUH2kqh93U-Y

Not only is farmed salmon bad for the environment , taking 1,000,000 wild wrasse to clean the lice of them is ridiculous. Man's greed is endless

https://donegalnews.com/2019/10/donegal-salmon-farms-confirm-use-of-cleaner-fish/?fbclid=IwAR1ROob7iEb5XkyLIxGGytxe3WRlflfB6Og3HLxqGJ7d9CRpUH2kqh93U-Y
    Its a better idea than pouring chemicals into the sea, but some independent agency needs to monitor the impact of this on the stocks of wild wrasse. The salmon farm is saying
    This hasn’t had any negative effect on these species of fish according to their population studies in terms of abundance, demography and size distributions...
    But then, they would say that, wouldn't they.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,020 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

^^^
    I wouldn't mind, but Ryanair doesn't transport animals. I wonder how they pulled that one. Free advertising? Still, I'm delighted for the turtle. :)