Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prosecution for neglecting a goldfish

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Proper order, animal cruelty is not just for cute ponies/dogs/cats etc.
    Don't be daft. Five yrs?

Ban from owning animals or something for life. Fine him.

Prison no.

That is too authoritarian and brutal. Its sociopathic and lacking mercy or empathy.

Its also severely lacking in perspective and wisdom.

This is only going to make people pull hard the other extreme way in response. Its silly if you actually care about human rights tbh because the idea of sending people to prison for killing fish seems something they would do in a weird totalitarian regime.

Its silly if you care about animal rights because it will get people's backs up and think all animal rights are extreme.

Can we not find a middle road?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I have no problem with people killing animals if necessary and done humanly, I eat meat after all. But letting them starve to death is just sick.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,347 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Lads noone is going to get 5 years for neglecting a fish.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,914 ✭✭✭✭anewme

This is only going to make people pull hard the other extreme way in response. Its silly if you actually care about human rights tbh because the idea of sending people to prison for killing fish seems something they would do in a weird totalitarian regime.

Its silly if you care about animal rights because it will get people's backs up and think all animal rights are extreme.

You forgot they deliberately starved the guinea pigs too. No food or water. One died.

Thats pure neglect causing suffering. Totally unnecessary.

The OP left out the bit in the title where the guinea pigs were starved and dehydrared. Just why exactky do think this was? Because starving an animal ito death is neglect causing suffering.

Theres no middle road here. Nor shoukd there be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

Pawwed Rig wrote: »

Yeah, it's annoying that people know so little about how the legal system works despite it always being discussed. The max term is rarely imposed for any crime. A crime of this nature obviously has little precedent and will depends on the judge but I doubt it will go beyond a few hundred quid an animal.

anewme wrote: »
    You forgot they deliberately starved the guinea pigs too. No food or water. One died.

The OP left out the bit in the title where the guinea pigs were starved and dehydrared. Just why exactky do think this was? Because starving an animal ito death is neglect causing suffering.

I know about that.
    So?

You can't put everyone in prison for that. We don't have the space for one.

It sets terrible precedents. I know a five yr old who boiled a fish alive because she is quicker than her parents and didn't understand fish can die in water if its too hot. Would you prosecute her parents for neglecting to supervise her?

Ban him for life from owning pets. Give him a fine.

Don't be ridiculous. It's ludicrous. I mean who would cell him with the sex offenders or the drug dealers?

What you think we have lots of space in prison?

We can barely get convicted rapists in.

• Registered Users Posts: 691 ✭✭✭atticu

Nope, just pointing out why your argument is flawed. You see the neglect of a goldfish as minor and not worthy of jail time whereas i believe all animal neglect should be prosecuted.

Do you kill flies or ants?

Pawwed Rig wrote: »

No, it just sounds more dramatic for the OP agenda.

But they will hopefully get a big fine for allowing guinea pigs starve to death. Hit the fooker in the pocket. Big "donation" to an animal rescue as someone else said.

No pets should be starved to death deliberately. Not sure why people think its ok or are minimising it.

atticu wrote: »
    Do you kill flies or ants?

Oh now you can stop that too. That is the other silly side of the argument.

Ants and guinea pigs are not even in the same universe.

He is a horrible person. I don't blame people being upset. I totally understand it i feel just as they do.

Nevertheless prison sentencing its just not living in reality.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

You say forget, I say selectively ignored ;)

Animal cruelty is animal cruelty, what difference does it make in the type of animal being subjected to this type of behaviour?

The person obviously went out and bought all these animals and in doing so is tasked with caring for them.

They didn't and one guinea pig died and four others nearly starved to death. Good on them making an example out of the owner.

Not sure why people think its ok or are minimising it.

Putting it in proper perspective. Not minimizing it.

You would swear it was a child.
    You say forget, I say selectively ignored

Fully acknowledged. It makes no difference.

He will get a fine. The ISPCA will get a huge donation. He will be banned from owning animals hopefully.

One guinea pig was found already dead in the flat, while four others appeared malnourished and “absolutely terrified”.

Guinea pigs always appear absolutely terrified.

Totally over the top.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Moved from AH > CA

LadySkunk wrote: »
    I’m sure if it was a kitten or puppy you’d be breaking out your violin.
    Violin bows are made from Horse hair.

There is a halting site near me with neglected horses. Malnourished, beaten, hooves not taken care of, the works. Reported several times but nothing happens.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 129 ✭✭Ecce No Homo

Nevertheless prison sentencing its just not living in reality.

Prison sentencing is not a reality so why do you keep going on about it in such a melodramatic way? What are you, the guy's solicitor?

Personally I think a week in prison and a few thousands euro fine would do no harm but it's not going to happen. Animal cruelty and neglect should be punished.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,098 ✭✭✭Mech1

I feed the wild birds in my garden,

I worry if im getting low on seed etc,
    when I have to go away even for a few days I give my neighbour a bag of seed to throw over the fence.

No excuses for abandoning a pet.

There is a halting site near me with neglected horses. Malnourished, beaten, hooves not taken care of, the works. Reported several times but nothing happens.

Yup. I did that.

'We are aware of the situation'.

Reported it to the guards and various animal welfare places.

Still there.

People riding horses that are visibly lame let alone invisibly lame. Head collars that are never taken off. Misuse of hobbling. Improper homemade tack.

The tethering of foals. Lack of basic grooming hooves etc. No respect for horsemanship or horses.

Not saying all travelers at all. And of course same with settled people. We just don't see it so openly.

Most welfare places will do hay drops rather than take them in. It does save the horses but it means the owners now have zero incentive to do anything.

Also there needs to be a public service announcement. Please stop turning your horses out in halters of any kind for more than a few hrs but particularly ROPE HALTERS. You leave a rope halter on for more than a day or so it WILL cut into the skin. Also if you don't know how to TIE a rope halter correctly it will just tighten and tighten. And even IF You tie a rope halter correctly it will get tighter and tighter if left on too long. Please don't suffocate your horse. They can only breathe through their noses and there is very little bone in their nasal passage it collapses easily.

And if you don't have a fenced in area with enough grazing space you can't have a horse simple. Rent a field somewhere.

Also geld your horses people. Very few make good stallions anyway.

Its not just starving horses. Lots of people just leave horses out to graze and do nothing with them until they are obese. The horse has barely been handled at all.

Horses being backed too early most horses shouldn't be back until 3 ish. Also improper training. They end up cripples.

And it is the settled horse world too.

Its lack of knowledge and lack of respect more than anything.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Yep, i looked at the title of this thread and thought, "This should get the crack pots in to a fizz"

You can't compare a fcuking fish with a domesticated animal. Absolute nonsense. And nobody is going to prison for this

And I am not like saying fry every ****er in a bowl. Just well the way we kill them for food etc is by suffocating them.

Mech1 wrote: »
    I feed the wild birds in my garden,

I worry if im getting low on seed etc,
    when I have to go away even for a few days I give my neighbour a bag of seed to throw over the fence.

No excuses for abandoning a pet.

They are wild they would be fine.

OSI wrote: »
    2 -> What most people read from the story
    Over 9000 -> What OP and ILoveYourVibes read
    Wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

No-one mentioned the proliferation of "animal rights", this is about animal welfare and is a step in the right direction. Of course, the naysayers concentrate on the goldfish when in reality the focus of the article was on the condition of the guinea pigs, who were found "terrified" and uncared for in the dwelling following a call from a concerned member of the public.

The guinea pigs were incredibly undernourished, with a fifth guinea pig having already died. If you discount that suffering and blatant abandonment of defenceless animals is says a lot about your lack of humanity. I sincerely hope the authorities will proceed with a prosecution and hopefully it will result in a substantial donation being made to the ISPCA and a custodial sentence for the offenders.

No-one mentioned the proliferation of "animal rights", this is about animal welfare and is a step in the right direction. Of course, the naysayers concentrate on the goldfish when in reality the focus of the article was on the condition of the guinea pigs, who were found "terrified" and uncared for in the dwelling following a call from a concerned member of the public.

The guinea pigs were incredibly undernourished, with a fifth guinea pig having already died. If you discount that suffering and blatant abandonment of defenceless animals is says a lot about your lack of humanity. I sincerely hope the authorities will proceed with a prosecution and hopefully it will result in a substantial donation being made to the ISPCA and a custodial sentence for the offenders.

I actually don't think that is justice. Not even for a week.

Ever have a rat in your house?

Are rat traps illegal?

Yep, i looked at the title of this thread and thought, "This should get the crack pots in to a fizz"

You can't compare a fcuking fish with a domesticated animal. Absolute nonsense. And nobody is going to prison for this

But what happens when the crack pots are posting the title?

the title which deliberately misrepresented the facts.

But what happens when the crack pots are posting the title?

the title which deliberately misrepresented the facts.
    Its correct the ISPCA are going to try to prosecute for this case.

They think its a good way to spend their resources when they know they have not got a hope of getting a sentence.

Work that one out.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,184 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

TBH, 99% of goldfish sold in this country are mistreated. They're a large species of fish (fully grown they reach about 30cm) that can live for up to 30 years when correctly cared for.

Unfortunately, most people buying them have no idea of the requirements for a humane habitat for a goldfish and the staff in most pet shops either know no better or, worse, lie to customers to get the sale.

Realistically, they're pond fish as they require about 300 litres of water for a single fish and an additional 50 litres for each extra fish. To correctly house a singlegoldfish in an aquarium, you'd be looking at a 3ft x 2ft x 2ft tank!

Most are kept in tiny plastic tanks of less than 20 litres where their growth is stunted and with woefully inadequate filtration where they are slowly burned to death by the ammonia. The whole concept of a goldfish "bowl" was a historical misunderstanding of the ancient Chinese practice of removing prize koi / goldfish from their ornamental ponds and placing them in ornate glass bowls as a dining table decoration for the duration of the meal, after which the fish would be returned to the pond. Some countries have even gone as far as to ban goldfish bowls and the sale of fish tanks under 30 litres (still far too small for a goldfish but probably okay for some minnows or shrimp).

In general, if you want to keep fish, you need a tank of at least 60l and to do a fair amount of research on the species (and numbers of them) you can humanely keep in a tank of that size. The advice from specialist aquatics stores (e.g. Seahorse Aquariums) can be helpful but, even then, do some reading of your own on-line before committing to any purchase. Anything you're told in a more general pet-shop should usually be treated as outright lies ime.

Of course, the naysayers concentrate on the goldfish when in reality the focus of the article was on the condition of the guinea pigs, who were found "terrified" and uncared for in the dwelling following a call from a concerned member of the public.

The guinea pigs were incredibly undernourished, with a fifth guinea pig having already died. If you discount that suffering and blatant abandonment of defenceless animals is says a lot about your lack of humanity.

Pure deflection.

Most people saw through it though.

If yer man got put into jail for starving animals, I dont think I'd be starting a campaign for miscarriage of justice. I think hitting the scumbag in the pocket is better though.

Message needs to be sent to animal abusers that it wont be tolerated.