Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
11-10-2009, 17:53   #1
bvid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Accessing UPC Router Net Access (Cisco EPC2425)

Hi,
I've been trying to access my routers net access settings (I think thats what it's called) to turn wireless off on my UPC broadband.
The router is a Cisco EPC2425 and was issued to me by UPC when I signed up to their service.
I have tried many variations of 192.168.XXX including:

192.168.1.1 (UPC Guide)
192.168.0.1 (Cisco Manual)
192.168.100.1 (Found on a boards.ie post)

Still though I can't access the preferences to the Router.
If it helps anyone i'm on a Mac with 10.5 Leopard.

Thanks.
-bvid

Last edited by bvid; 11-10-2009 at 17:54. Reason: Edit: Changed 'my' to 'me' on second line
bvid is offline  
Advertisement
11-10-2009, 20:48   #2
anbrutog
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by bvid View Post
Hi,
I've been trying to access my routers net access settings (I think thats what it's called) to turn wireless off on my UPC broadband.
The router is a Cisco EPC2425 and was issued to me by UPC when I signed up to their service.
I have tried many variations of 192.168.XXX including:

192.168.1.1 (UPC Guide)
192.168.0.1 (Cisco Manual)
192.168.100.1 (Found on a boards.ie post)

Still though I can't access the preferences to the Router.
If it helps anyone i'm on a Mac with 10.5 Leopard.

Thanks.
-bvid
Need to do the same thing myself. Just got UPC broadband ( slightly off topic but so far its amazing ) and need to reset the default wireless key. The router should be available by opening up 192.168.1.1 but for some reason that isnt working. I can telnet to that address on port 80 so it should be working. Any ideas??
anbrutog is offline  
12-10-2009, 00:42   #3
bvid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
No luck

Quote:
Originally Posted by anbrutog View Post
Any ideas??
Sorry but no. In my case I want to access it to turn off the wireless...
I might try and ring UPC tomorrow but their wait times for customer service are horrendous!

Please post if you figure this one out.

-bvid
bvid is offline  
12-10-2009, 12:33   #4
_Sidhe_
Registered User
 
_Sidhe_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 192
Reboot your modem and try again.
It should be 192.168.1.1


It'll ask you for a username and password, and you just leave them blank.


If not you'll hae to ring them I guess.
_Sidhe_ is offline  
12-10-2009, 13:01   #5
vibe666
Registered User
 
vibe666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Clonee, Co. Meath
Posts: 11,896
Send a message via ICQ to vibe666 Send a message via MSN to vibe666 Send a message via Skype™ to vibe666
on your Mac, if you check the network settings in system properties it should tell you the IP address of your router. on a windows PC is is listed as the default gateway, but i'm pretty sure it's just listed as 'router' in the network settings in OSX.

that's the address you need anyway, it's normally 192.168.1.1 but it can be any one of a number of options depending on how it's been set up. seems unusual that it would be set up differently, but who knows.
vibe666 is offline  
Advertisement
12-10-2009, 22:38   #6
bvid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Solved

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Sidhe_ View Post
Reboot your modem and try again.
It should be 192.168.1.1


It'll ask you for a username and password, and you just leave them blank.


If not you'll hae to ring them I guess.
Sidhe your a lifesaver! Never thought to reboot the modem. It worked perfect after that. Thanks guys for your input.

-bvid
bvid is offline  
14-10-2009, 15:29   #7
iMADEtheBBC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 292
I have found the modem to be flaky in that respect - sometimes it does not respond to the http://192.168.1.1 request and I have to restart it.

Is this typical of this hardware or is it indicative of a different problem I (and the OP) should be investigating ?
iMADEtheBBC is offline  
15-11-2013, 13:54   #8
horse7
Registered User
 
horse7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 924
Has anyone got the upc one for a thomson modem, the installer said it was 192.168.101
horse7 is offline  
17-11-2013, 02:16   #9
Cushie Butterfield
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by horse7 View Post
Has anyone got the upc one for a thomson modem, the installer said it was 192.168.101
Try 192.168.0.1 Leave username blank & password is admin
Cushie Butterfield is offline  
Advertisement
13-12-2013, 13:27   #10
Spudzzmurphy
Registered User
 
Spudzzmurphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cushie Butterfield View Post
Try 192.168.0.1 Leave username blank & password is admin
Have just tried logging in with your instructions,but with no luck.
Spudzzmurphy is online now  
13-12-2013, 13:36   #11
Dave..M
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spudzzmurphy View Post
Have just tried logging in with your instructions,but with no luck.
If it's the TC 7200 try the same address with admin as both login & password.
Dave..M is offline  
13-12-2013, 16:17   #12
Spudzzmurphy
Registered User
 
Spudzzmurphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave..M View Post
If it's the TC 7200 try the same address with admin as both login & password.
Thanks a lot,that gave me access
Spudzzmurphy is online now  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet