Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
29-01-2008, 22:42   #1
Franjoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Ford Focus instrument panel

Hi All,
Has anyone had a fault on their instrument panel/cluster? I have an 2003 Ford Focus Estate 1.8 TDI and in the middle of last year the speedo and rev. counter dials started dropping back to zero and mileage reading disappeared on an intermittent basis. Later on the engine warning or battery warning light started coming on and off at regular intervals. When eventually checked by my local ford dealer, I was told that the panel would have to be replaced. Cost €380+
Contact with Henry Ford & Sons Cork has offered no joy as car is outside warrant period. Replacement means you lose all mileage history.
To me this is an obvious manufacturing defect and Ford should cover the replacement cost.
Anyone else had this problem?

see weblink on. http://forum.rac.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1926
Franjoe is offline  
Advertisement
29-01-2008, 22:48   #2
crosstownk
Registered User
 
crosstownk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Terenure, Dublin
Posts: 8,784
Send a message via Skype™ to crosstownk
I've seen this before - usually it results in replacement dash clocks.

I know you say it's a manufacturing defect, but warranty does have a specific period which, in your case, has expired. A line needs to be drawn somewhere. Your car is now 5 years old - warranty in 2003 was 1 year.

Surely it is possible to reprogram the new dash cluster with the previous mileage?
crosstownk is offline  
29-01-2008, 23:14   #3
TychoCaine
Registered User
 
TychoCaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Shannon
Posts: 348
Send a message via ICQ to TychoCaine
This has started happening to my wife's Focus, and has happened her friend's one in the past. Her friend took hers into our local Ford dealer who has a mechanic who seems to know all the tricks with the Focus. Apparently the alternator on these things aren't the best, and the dash electronics don't tolerate much less than 12V. A swift thump with a hammer later and the dash started behaving.....
TychoCaine is offline  
30-01-2008, 10:48   #4
Healyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by TychoCaine View Post
Apparently the alternator on these things aren't the best, and the dash electronics don't tolerate much less than 12V. A swift thump with a hammer later and the dash started behaving.....
I wouldnt hit it with a hammer but it does sound like a voltage supply issue.

Most likely the PCM module is faulty (The unit that controls all the cars accessories, interior lights, central locking etc.....) but this will be a costly fix also. Get another Ford garage to have a look at it.

As crosstownk said they should be and can be reprogrammed with the previous mileage and service history.
Healyc is offline  
30-01-2008, 11:24   #5
lubie76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 824
Yes, have the same problem with a 2001 focus. Speedometer keeps dropping back to 0 intermittently when I'm driving it. When my partner is driving it rarely happens. He is a more experienced driver than me, more fluid gear changes etc so I am wondering if this has something to do with the problem. I done my driving test a few weeks ago and was praying the whole way through it wouldn't happen entering a different speed zone in case the tester was checking the speedometer.
lubie76 is offline  
Advertisement
30-01-2008, 22:53   #6
Franjoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
The guy in Ford's HQ in Cork told me that you can't programme the previous mileage into the new instrument panel. Who do you believe?

Meantime, maybe it's not the panel but the alternator or PCM that's faulty.

Sorry crosstownk, I don't accept your warrant limitations. I expect the instrument panel to last the reasonable lifetime of the car. It's to easy for Ford to walk away.
Franjoe is offline  
30-01-2008, 23:59   #7
maidhc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 6,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franjoe View Post
Sorry crosstownk, I don't accept your warrant limitations. I expect the instrument panel to last the reasonable lifetime of the car. It's to easy for Ford to walk away.
What can you do. Even the law recognises there is a period of time when defects are no longer the manufacturers problem.
maidhc is offline  
31-01-2008, 08:29   #8
Healyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franjoe View Post
Sorry crosstownk, I don't accept your warrant limitations. I expect the instrument panel to last the reasonable lifetime of the car. It's to easy for Ford to walk away.
Crosstownk is correct, warranty is their for a reason and your car is probably the focus mk1 and the focus mk 3 is about to be launched.
Healyc is offline  
13-04-2008, 20:37   #9
jimogr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 608
Sorry, old thread I know but did anyone with this problem get it fixed - what needed to be done?

Reading around the net it seems like the speedo dropping to zero on the focus can be caused by a number of different things and it’s a mater of expensive trial and error - alternator, speed sensor in the gearbox, instrument panel...
jimogr is offline  
Advertisement
13-04-2008, 20:42   #10
bluemachaveli
Registered User
 
bluemachaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Limerick
Posts: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimogr View Post
Sorry, old thread I know but did anyone with this problem get it fixed - what needed to be done?

Reading around the net it seems like the speedo dropping to zero on the focus can be caused by a number of different things and it’s a mater of expensive trial and error - alternator, speed sensor in the gearbox, instrument panel...
9 times outta 10 its the Insrument Panel.

If ur lucky it mite be the sensor on the box, which is a pretty cheap fix.

I work in a parts dept for ford parts so i'm selling these everyday.

Get a good mechanic to have a look.
bluemachaveli is offline  
13-04-2008, 21:34   #11
jimogr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemachavel View Post
I work in a parts dept for ford parts so i'm selling these everyday.
How much is the Instrument panel, do you know, approx? I saw numbers like £400 sterling floating around...
jimogr is offline  
13-04-2008, 22:19   #12
bluemachaveli
Registered User
 
bluemachaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Limerick
Posts: 1,146
i think there about 280 + vat, not 100% sure tbh.

ill check it out tomorrow and i can give a definite price if u like!
bluemachaveli is offline  
13-04-2008, 22:27   #13
jimogr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 608
Great - thanks.
jimogr is offline  
13-04-2008, 22:31   #14
Captain Slow IRL
Registered User
 
Captain Slow IRL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Connaught
Posts: 3,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franjoe View Post
The guy in Ford's HQ in Cork told me that you can't programme the previous mileage into the new instrument panel. Who do you believe?
It can be done, I've done it many times.

It's most likely the cluster - you'll have to bring it to a ford dealership or specialist to diagnose correctly.
Captain Slow IRL is offline  
14-04-2008, 11:53   #15
bluemachaveli
Registered User
 
bluemachaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Limerick
Posts: 1,146
my mistrake, i underpriced a bit

326.99 + vat is the correct price
bluemachaveli is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet