Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
25-10-2007, 21:25   #1
Moanin
Registered User
 
Moanin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,581
Fitting outdoor security sensor lights?

I am about to fit2 outdoor security sensor lights, one at the back and one at the side of my house.These are the lights that come on once they sense body heat or when you pass a sensor beam.Now there are already outdoor lights in place but are controlled like any other light i.e when switched on and I want to replace them with the security lights.Is it just a simple case of disconnecting the current light and reconnecting the security ones?I attach a link of a similar light that I wish to install

http://www.woodiesdiy.com/productdet...=P&catid=6.7.1




Thanks
Moanin is offline  
Advertisement
25-10-2007, 23:14   #2
DO0GLE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Straight forward enough....you just need to run a mains voltage to the sensor and light to work. You can buy a good sensor in B&Q or Woodies for about €25. Not sure it those cheaper sensors last.
DO0GLE is offline  
25-10-2007, 23:18   #3
johnnyrotten
Registered User
 
johnnyrotten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Dublin
Posts: 3,338
Just replace the current light with the new sensor light. Obviously if you turn it off at the switch it won't work - Best to leave it switched on all the time, the light will only come on after dark anyway
johnnyrotten is offline  
26-10-2007, 00:20   #4
northdublin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 457
if the sensor light has a built in photocell you can leave it on perminantly as it will only allow the pir to activate the light in darkness.if it does not have a photocell an external one is easily wired.
northdublin is offline  
26-10-2007, 07:31   #5
Moanin
Registered User
 
Moanin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,581
Thanks lads.Seems simple enough so
Moanin is offline  
Advertisement
26-10-2007, 18:23   #6
northdublin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 457
just a quick note, when drilling the holes for the new fixture make sure you dont drill into the cable that is there for the existing light, ive seen a lot of ppl do that and if it happens its time consuming and messy to fix.
northdublin is offline  
26-10-2007, 18:54   #7
Moanin
Registered User
 
Moanin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by northdublin View Post
just a quick note, when drilling the holes for the new fixture make sure you dont drill into the cable that is there for the existing light, ive seen a lot of ppl do that and if it happens its time consuming and messy to fix.
Thanks for the tip.Got one in Woodies today €16.99 with motion sensor.handy to have especially at back of house
Moanin is offline  
26-10-2007, 21:21   #8
northdublin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 457
yep there a good idea and we sell loads of them, ive a few up here myself . the only differance is i used a separate pir and a separate photocell. its about 5 times as exspensive as the combi unit like you bought but it gives you more adjustment and more scope on the field of vision on the pir. when the pir is built into the lamp it can only look in what ever the direction the lamp is facing. the combi lamps are great for straight forward installs. if you have it put a dab of grease on the screw that holds the glass closed as it usually oxidizes quickly and can snap the head off when opening up to change a bulb in the future.
northdublin is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet